BBB Accredited Business since

American Rental

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 707-7368 Fax: (812) 331-5527 View Additional Phone Numbers 1436 Liberty Drive, Bloomington, IN 47403

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Rental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Rental include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Rental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1980 in IN Business incorporated 12/29/1980 in IN
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Hammond, President Mr. David P David, General Manager Mr. Kevin L Rankel, Controller/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David P David, General Manager
Principal: Mr. James Hammond, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Full-O-Pep Appliances, Inc. RNR Custom Wheels and Tires
Additional Information

Company offers a Toll Free number for its customer's to call, which 800-707-RENT (7368).

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off a mattress and frame at the 180 day period and my contract reads 422.04 plus tax payoff price and they charged me 463.84 plus 32.47 tax and the receipt they gave me says next payment due 5/30/15 instead of paid in full like it should.I used a coupon for some money off of first payment when I purchased this or they offered free weeks now they added the money saved by the coupon or free weeks to the contract stated payoff price.

Desired Settlement: A decent receipt that states paid in full on the receipt and I want refunded the amount they charged me over and above what my contract stated as the payoff price

Business Response:

Attached you will find copy of the closed ticket inquire for this agreement showing that the amount of revenue paid in on the item was $1069.95, as well as the 180 days same as cash attachment to the rental agreement showing the 180 days same as cash price was $1069.98. The attachment is just an estimate of the payoff amount assuming that there is no free time of use involved. As you can see we actually undercharged the agreement by $.03.

Ownership certificates are printed and distributed from our home office on a monthly basis, midi will follow up with the store location on ensure that Mr. ******** gets his.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions at 812-360-4433.

Bill H*****

District Manager American Rental

We value Mr. *********** business and would like to offer him his disputed amount of $45.00 as a gift certificate towards another item from our store.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Their response dose not correct the issues I had with them.For the record I fill their business practices are in violation of the contact and disrespectful of the customer at the least.


***** *********

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service