Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue's Fence Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue's Fence Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Blue's Fence Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1966 in IN Business incorporated 09/12/1994 in IN
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Wright, President Ms. Connie Bickett, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Connie Bickett, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Greg Wright, President
Business Category

FENCE CONTRACTORS GATES FENCE - SALES, SERVICE & CONTRACTORS CHAIN LINK FENCE SALES, SERVICE & CONTRACTORS FENCES - VINYL FENCES - WOOD All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Grecon, Inc.
Industry Tips
Fencing General Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blue's Fence Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3276 Ross Road

    Lafayette, IN 47905

  • PO Box 148

    Lafayette, IN 47902 (765) 474-0713

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The only gate to my back yard shifted last winter resulting in the gate not lining up correctly and not being able to close. I have called Blue's Fencing since March and requested to have this problem fixed. I have been told repeatedly that it is covered under warranty and will be fixed for free "this week". I have been told to call several times and it will bump me up on the list. I have called dozens of times, left repeated messages, and spoken with the manager several times. I am told each time that they will be out to fix it "this week", but I still have a gate that I cannot secure.

Desired Settlement: I would like the gate and posts on either side of it replaced.

Business Response:

Service is our #1 priority. There is a reason we have had no complaints in all the years we have been BBB members. We do not have a "lifetime warranty" or a "limited lifetime warranty" All the paperwork we have states "We will warranty our WORKMANSHIP for the life of the fence". A wooden gate shifting is not a workmanship issue, it is an act of mother nature's elements. Wood outside is like a new house settling. Even with a new home the warranty is only 1 year. I find it odd that all the dates called were the 1st day of the month, each month? Regardless, the gates are not under a "warranty"  but we make an effort to continue service to the customer as a goodwill gesture free of charge even though a sagging gate after 4 years would be a billable service. In the complaint the consumer states he waited a month after noticing the gate to make that original call. The customer states he paid 800.00 even though he was charged only 75.00 for the gate. The demand that we replace a gate and gate posts is ridiculous at best. We would be happy to do that with the understanding that new posts and a gate would be a billable service as such measures need not be taken. Since the consumer filed a complaint we feel compelled to go repair the gate but only because we are A+ members of the BBB, not because the consumer is right.

Regards,

Connie *******

GreCon Inc. dba Blue's Fence Co.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have called many more times than the first of the month.  There were only three calendar fields for dates of complaints.  If there were 20+ calendar fields for dates of complaints I would have attempted to fill them out completely.  Since the consumer is only provided three calendar fields, and shouldn't need any more, I tried to show several months of attempts.  I have called, I have left voicemails, and I have spoken with the manager repeatedly.  I fully expected for this fix to be a "billable service", however I was advised when I called the business (and was finally able to speak with someone) that it would be fixed free of charge.  The manager knows my name and address as soon as I describe my issue.  I have told him repeatedly that I would pay for this service if it could make it happen quicker, or if it couldn't happen quicker I would just call another company.  He has told me repeatedly that another company will charge me, but Blue's Fence will do it for free.  I have gone to Blue's Fence's office, however the door has been locked and no one around.

I apologize that I neglected to note in my original complaint that on 08-29-14 at 9am Blue's Fence actually did show up to fix the gate.  Since I cannot get anyone to answer the phone or return my calls, I hoped that the original complaint would cause the owner, manager, and installer to compare notes and fix this issue swiftly and appropriately.  That obviously did not happen, as the installer who came to fix the fence on 08-29-14 told me that he could not fix the problem without setting new posts and installing a new gate.  The pointed response from the business on the ridiculousness of this request has left me very confused.  Blue's Fence staff has told me repeatedly that it would be fixed for free, and that it required new posts and a new gate.

This consumer does not feel the need to be right.  This consumer believes the business should feel compelled to fix the gate that they have promised to fix since March because it is the right thing to do, not because a complaint was filed.

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

Business Response:

The consumer is right in his statement that our crew went there and did in fact state they would need to replace the posts and gate. I was not made aware of this until after my response to the complaint. As I said in my previous statement there is no expressed warranty on a repair such as this however as a service to our customer we repair this type of thing free of charge. The statement the consumer made about the manager saying "keep calling and you will get bumped up on the list" is false. I have been an owner of Blue's fence since 1995 and the manager has been at Blue's Fence for 35 years. We would never make a statement like that, it makes absolutely no sense. Regardless I believe our crew has been there to set posts. If the consumer felt the time was too long instead of filing a complaint he could have hired another Fence Co. to do his repair. It's not as if we just did the fence, it was installed in 2010. I would suggest in the future with any company you are having an issue with you should ask to speak to the owner.  I'm sorry you feel your fence was not repaired in a timely fashion but this is not a BBB issue and I do not want this complaint on my record. There is no basis to have this filed  because the consumer had other options and we had no obligation to repair his fence. If you needed a car repair 4 years after you bought it and they were in their busy season and kept putting you off on the repair would you contact the BBB? It is unfortunate if you came to our shop and everyone was out to lunch. Obviously we had no idea you were coming so it was not like we were avoiding you. Your fence will be fixed, at no charge. Knocking heads over this doesn't solve anything.

Regards,

Connie *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am offended that each response from the owner of this business implies that I am somehow a liar.  The manager absolutely told me that I needed to call multiple times and it would move me up on the list of repairs.  I'm not sure what motivation the owner believes that I have to lie about the circumstances of this complaint or make things up but I would rather them focus more on correcting this issue than trying to somehow discredit me.

The owner has said several times that there is no warranty for this repair.  When I originally had the fence quoted the gentleman that came out (and identified himself as the owner) stated that if there was a problem they would fix it.  When asked about limitations and how long this warranty was good for I was told, "I've been doing fences for over 20 years, I'll fix whatever needs fixed."  If Blue's Fence has a specific warranty they should explain that to their customers, not give them a "whatever needs fixed" implied lifetime warranty.

I agree with the owner that I should have called a reliable company to fix my fence.  However, when I called Blue's Fence to cancel with them I was told repeatedly that this would be ridiculous as Blue's Fence would do it for free "this week".  I agree that "knocking heads" as the owner refers to is pointless, which is why I'm even more offended by their accusations.  I hope that this complaint does in fact go on Blue's Fence's record and hopefully consumers can see not only the arrogance and attitude conveyed by this owner, but also the lack of communication by this owner with their staff.  The owner claims that this is not a BBB issue, but thanks to the BBB something is finally being done after 7 months.  I'm told that there is a crew at my house now doing some work on the gate so hopefully there is finally an end in sight.

Regards,

****** *****

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Blue's Fence Co.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart