Text Sizesmall medium large

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 5/6/2011

AdvoPay

(888) 570-2386

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 17

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this company has a pattern of customer complaints.  Specifically, complainants allege that the company misrepresented the terms of the contracts pertaining to cancellation policies and early termination fees.  BBB contacted the company to address the pattern of complaints, on October 13, 2014.

BBB met with company on November 11, 2014 and discussed the pattern of complaint.  After the meeting BBB requested in writing company's plan to eliminate the pattern of complaint. 

Company Response:

"As an industry leader in Merchant Processing Services AdvoPay take great measures to ensure the complete satisfaction of each and every merchant client. Our mission is to exceed expectations while assisting our client's position their companies with a superior, competitive advantage in today's marketplace".

"Our business directives are simple. Provide informative and effective education that empowers our clients to meet their objectives. Remain on the forefront of innovation and technology providing the most up to date solutions and services to our clients. And last exceed our clients demands for transparency, speed and efficiency".

"While we continually satisfy the specific needs of the majority of our clients, every once in a while we cannot. Our dedication and determination to satisfy any issues or concerns is 100%, but again and unfortunately, there is a very small percentage that we cannot".

"As a result, Advopay has implemented to add something to the effect of follow up procedures regarding ensuring their clients understand AdvoPays early cancellation fee/term of contract policy in their script. AdvoPay has already initiated this communication on our quality assurance call for new merchant accounts. Very specific policy and procedures ensuring the greatest attempt to accommodate any future concerns that may arise as well as enhanced our informative literature, paperwork and communication with complete disclosure that is acknowledged by every new merchant client."

"We have now created the Agent Support Representative Position (ASR) that will be working directly with each W2 sales agent, currently 7 are internally employed and going through training. In this role the ASR will conduct all quality assurance calls with the Merchant in the early stages of account set up. Meaning, upon account activation the ASR will provide the initial scripted welcome aboard call reiterating the program guidelines, policies and terms of the agreement. At 30 & 60 days the ASR will conduct a follow-up call and upon completion will monitor account activity. At 90 days and every 90 days thereafter, the ASR or customer service will conduct additional follow-up customer communication calls". The company stated the positions would start training in January, 2015.

BBB will continue to monitor the pattern of complaints. 

 



Industry Comparison | Chart

CREDIT CARD PROCESSING SERVICE

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.