Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AlarmSystemStore.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 811-0727 2450 W 300 S, Columbus, IN 47201 http://www.alarmsystemstore.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We cater to DIY consumer and commercial markets and provide toll free technical assistance for all alarm systems and security equipment we sell. We also offer 24 hour alarm monitoring services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AlarmSystemStore.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AlarmSystemStore.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AlarmSystemStore.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 2005 Business started: 11/01/1997 in IN Business incorporated 11/26/1997 in IN
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andy Bowman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Bowman, President
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service SECURITY CONTROL EQUIPMENT & SYSTEM MONITORS

Products & Services

AlarmSystemStore.com sells the following brand(s): 2Gig, 2Gig Technologies, DSC, DSC, Fire-Lite, Honeywell, Honeywell Security, Interlogix, Interlogix, iSmartAlarm, Silent Knight

AlarmSystemStore.com offers the following product(s): access control, access control, alarm systems, alarm systems, fire alarms, fire alarms, medical alarms, security cameras, security cameras, Z-Wave Home Automation

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover and Paypal.
Refund and Exchange Policy

Protech Systems offers a 45 day return policy for most all products on our website with the exception of consumable products such as wire, batteries, food items, and pepper sprays. Additionally special order items and Pre programmed systems are not returnable for refund. Alarm monitoring service is refundable providing that the service has not been activated. GSM and other alarm communication equipment is returnable for a refund under this policy providing it has NOT been activated also. Activated GSM and other communication products are NOT returnable for refund. Any items prohibited for refund are generally returnable for exchange if defective and under warranty.

We do not charge any restocking fees whatsoever providing the following conditions are met:

1. You must obtain an RMA number from us via email (alarms@alarmsystemstore.com or phone, 888-811-0727).

2. Your RMA number must be clearly marked on the outside of the shipping package.

3. Product (s) being returned must be packed securely in a separate shipping box. You cannot simply affix shipping labels / postage or write directly on the product package box itself and ship it in that manner.

4. Product must be received at our warehouse location within 45 days of the order date.

5.  Products being returned must be in new and resale condition, including the product's packaging and any manuals and documentation included with the product.  Any product returned appearing used, improperly packaged, with items missing, without the complete documentation materials or any of these documents being marked or tattered will either be refused for return or incur a 25% restocking fee.  Customer will be responsible for any reshipping fees for any item(s) that are refused for return.

Please note that shipping charges are not refundable. If the item was shipped to you using "Free Shipping", then the original shipping cost to send the package will be deducted from your refund. Also be advised that all costs associated with returning a product are the sole responsibility of the purchaser regardless of the reason for the return.

Alternate Business Names
Protech Systems Secure Systems Plus, L L C

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AlarmSystemStore.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2450 W 300 S

    Columbus, IN 47201 (888) 811-0727

  • P O Box 2523

    Columbus, IN 47202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a complete alarm system for my new home back in July 2014 I spoke with Ryan at this company back in April 2014 He recommended I purchase a DSC Alexor system after I explained what I was looking for in an alarm system and letting him know what I currently had. I installed the system and after many phone calls and emails finally got it working to where it would report to a central station. I kept getting phone calls telling me there were troubles at my home even though there were no troubles. After calling and calling to the east coast from the west coast . (their hours are only while i am working or 1 hour before I leave for work)and talking to these guys they determined that the BAT device that they sold me was not working properly and that I needed to exchange it for a different style to make my system work properly. I did this last week and have spent hours trying to figure out how to re program this system to work properly I took some time off of work yesterday afternoon to hopefully be walked through the programming of my system to make it all function. After this I still am not able to arm or disarm my system from the internet like i was told I could do, I can not see when my kids get home from school and disarm the system or when they arm the system when they leave for school. I need to have a fully functioning system in my home. Jon has tried and tried to get my system working for me... but I think we need someone who understands this system to help us out.. Jon has been wonderful to work with but it has been months and I still have an alarm system that does not work as advertised.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have someone who is knowledgeable of my alarm system and the BAT (Broadband Alarm Transceiver) to walk me through programming on a Saturday or after 5pm pacific time so I do not have to miss anymore work.. And show me how to use the individual applications to arm/disarm my system remotely. I would like to receive a credit for monthly monitoring for the time my system was not working properly. I would like a refund for the cost of the wifi bat and the shipping charges . ($177.90 & $5.95 my fee to return the old BAT to them) i believe this is in the works they just received the defective BAT that I returned today.

Business Response: After speaking with all parties involved, my understanding is that this customers issues were resolved the day after this complaint was filed. According to my investigation of the matter the service / product issues were a result of mis programmed main panel and the devices itself requiring a firmware update from the mfg. I have also confirmed with accounting that credit was issued for the returned part as well.

Business Response: After speaking with all parties involved, my understanding is that this customers issues were resolved the day after this complaint was filed. According to my investigation of the matter the service / product issues were a result of mis programmed main panel and the devices itself requiring a firmware update from the mfg. I have also confirmed with accounting that credit was issued for the returned part as well.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** ***

have not received a credit yet

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** ***

have not received a credit yet

1/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/12/14 I requested and received a quote for an alarm system from alarmsystemstore.com. I received a quote from another online retailer located in California with a lower price. I emailed alarmsystemstore.com, (Jon) and asked if he could beat or match this lower price. He requested I provide him details on the price difference on specific items which I did. He agreed to price match two of the items reducing his quoted price by $25. The other online retailer with the lower price was located and shipping from California and told me that it could take up to 3 weeks to receive my order. I decided to order from alarmsystemstore.com which is located in Columbus Indiana about 60 miles away thinking it would reduce shipping time down to less than a week. I called and spoke with Jon at alarmsystemstore.com Friday afternoon and asked him to go ahead and place my order over the phone for the reduced price. He input my order and took my credit card information for payment. When I received the package from alarmsystemstore.com it was missing two items, 1 SSX-52 siren and 2 Honeywell 947-75 white steel door sensors. I called and spoke with Jon at alarmsystemstore.com and told him I was missing items. He told me that the siren shipped separately and that the Honeywell 947-75 sensors were not available. He asked if there was another sensor I could use instead. I told him I would research and get back with him. He is now telling me he can order the 947-75T sensors but that I will have to pay $7.56 each for them. I can provide emails from Jon at alarmsystemstore.com that document this purchase and agreement on price and support my complaint. I requested a quote for an alarm system including two 947-75 sensors and was charged $12 for them in the price of the system I purchased. I can provide an email of the conversation regarding this entire transaction that documents and substantiates my complaint.

Desired Settlement: I would like alarmsystemstore.com to send me two Honeywell 945-75T white steel door sensors free of shipping charges. I will pay $3.12, the difference between the cost of the 947-75 sensors I was quoted at $6 each and paid for and the 947-75T sensors at $7.56 each. If this is not agreeable I want a prepaid shipping label and an RMA # so I can return the alarm system for a full refund in the amount of $726.44

Business Response: Hello Mr. ******,

I have included a copy of your
order.  An order confirmation that is similar to this would have been
emailed to you when you placed the order.  You did not order or pay for
the contacts when you placed your original order as shown on order
attached.  These contacts are not on our website and this would have to
be special ordered from Honeywell.  We originally quoted you $ 6.00 ea
for the 2 contacts.  Later we discovered that these contacts have been
discontinued by Honeywell.  Unfortunately we have no control over this. 
We have however found some replacements that you can order but these
would be $ 1.56 more each for these contacts which the total price would
be $ 15.12 ($7.56ea)  In an effort to resolve this issue we will honor
the original quote of $6.00 each which would total $12.00 & free
shipping.  Please call me directly to place your phone order.
 
Sincerely,



Melody ******
Accounting Manager 

Protech Systems

www.AlarmSystemStore.com
888-811-0727
Ext. ***
Fax # 812-342-4367

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** ******
Please review the attached email transcript. I requested a quote and Alarmsystemstore.com provided me a price of $752.39 as you will note in email transcript. They then told me they could price match two items in the quote to match a competitor, Item 1 Envisalink 3 module with price diference of 21.15, Item 2 Potter SSX-52 with price difference of $5.70 for a total difference of $26.85. The door sensors were included in the quote, at no time did alarmsystemstore ever communicate that they were not part of the quote. Price they quoted was $752.39 - $26.85 price match = $725.54. I called alarmsystem store and they input my order into their system. I did not enter any order information. I trusted that I was dealing with a reputable company and that the e-mail transcript was sufficient record of our agreement. I never reviewed the order confirmation e-mail until I received the alarm system and was short items in addition to being overcharged 90 cents. The bottom line is the two sensors were included in the quoted price of $752.39 and I did not receive them!

Business Response: I think there is a misunderstanding here. We are offering to honor the price of the new part even tho the one you were quoted was discontinued and cost more. You seem to think you already paid for them however and you have not. We agree you were quoted $752.39 but that is not what you paid. The parts in question were not on that order and you paid $726.44 as shown on your previously attached invoice. We're happy to honor the previously quoted price, however we need to collect the difference between what you paid and the quoted price.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** ******
i was quoted a price for a complete system that included these two sensors. Your sales representative also agreed to price match two items available for a lower price from a competitor consistent with your websites advertised LOW PRICE GUARANTEE.
at no time did your sales person respond back via e-mail or verbally that these sensors were not available or that he was removing them from the quoted price.
a sales person with integrity would have mentioned to a customer that he could not obtain quoted parts and suggested comparable and compatible replacement parts or revised the quoted price to reflect the unavailability of these parts.
please credit my charge card with the quoted cost of these sensors and the cost to have them shipped and I will obtain them from another source and consider this complaint resolved.
 Respectfully,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on AlarmSystemStore.com
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart