Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tom Roush Lincoln Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tom Roush Lincoln Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tom Roush Lincoln Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 2008 Business started: 10/06/1972 in IN Business started locally: 12/01/1972 Business incorporated 10/06/1972 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Roush, President Mr. Steve Reynolds, Controller Mr. Jeffery S Roush, Owner Mr. Joe Rynard, Service Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Steve Reynolds, Controller
Principal: Mr. Thomas Roush, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Tom Roush Mazda
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tom Roush Lincoln Mazda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 525 W David Brown Drive

    Westfield, IN 46074 (317) 896-5561

  • P O Box 391

    Westfield, IN 46074

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dealership's work order states "ck and top off fluids" for vehicle. Their technician poured the WRONG chemical into the Master Cylinder which has resulted in the entire braking system failing. The other issue was the right rear stablizing link has shirred itself off. The dealership paid $200.00 toward the repair of the link. I have tried to settle this with them. The bill is $1,753.53 to fix the braking system. I offered to split the bill with them. They refused to go half. I have the work order.

Desired Settlement: Since I have had to pay the entire bill for the repairs I want to be reimbursed for the entire amount.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint made by ***** ******.

I would first like to point out that ***** has driven the vehicle 10,000 miles. It has been aprox 5 months since she purchased the vehicle. I have no idea who has touched or serviced this vehicle since it has not been in our possession. Her contention that the brake fluid was contaminated while In our possession does not hold water. Our mechanics are ASE certified and perform a visual inspection of all fluids. The only fluids that are topped off are the Windshield Wiper Fluid. The oil is changed and a new filter is used. All other fluids if not low are not touched. If these fluids are low they are drained and re filled only. As stated on our internal repair order no brake repair or fluid was changed or any other fluid other than oil.

***** had her vehicle worked on 4/2915 at her mechanic and at her request and rear brake work was performed. Hoses and calipers and rotors were replaced on the rear. Also the brakes were bled of fluid. I authorized $200 toward this repair. No problems were noted by her mechanic at this time with fluid or any other brake problems.

Then on 5/615 at same repair facility it Is noted that now fluid is contaminated. The brakes and fluids were checked and worked on 4/29 and now we have another brake problem at 5/6/15? Now they want . to replace some of same parts from first repair again in 7 days?

I told ***** at this time I would be willing to help out another $300 toward repair, but in no way felt responsible for someone else's work or problems they may have been caused by a previous repair and that this vehicle had been out of our possession for 5 months and 10,000 miles. I feel this offer was more than fair. She wanted another $300 toward repair and I refused since I have no idea how these got damaged and we did not perform the work as her mechanic preformed the repairs.

Please find enclosed the copy of both repair orders, Copy of buyer's order where ***** also acknowledged that this purchase was "as is" and she declined to purchase a service contract for future repairs that may arise. Please also find copy of Federal FTCsticker signed on front and back by ***** and initialed by ***** at "as is" and also signed above again where she was offered a service contract and failed to purchase. Then the 3rd as is document she signed as to the vehicle being sold "as is"

Tom Roush strives to maintain a great reputation for customer satisfaction and help a customer with a reasonable request when possible. A very reasonable offer was offered to *****, but she declined. !feel we are under no obligation to help this customer now or in the future since the parts in question have been serviced elsewhere and repairs previously made to the brake system and the 5 months and 10.000 miles that have passed.

Michael D B*****

Tom Roush Budget Centers Manager

11242 E Washingotn St. Indpls. In. 46229 (317) 622-1235

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
I am unsatisfied with the response from the business as they do not have their facts straight.  Yes I bought the truck As Is and relied and depended on the business to provide me with a safe and reliable vehicle, which includes a full functioning brake system as is the law in the State of Indiana.  

Attached is the Work Order that states the business ck and top off all fluids.  They were the last people to touch the Master Cylinder prior to May 6, 2015.

On April 27, 2015 I took the truck for an oil change.  My mechanic works at Darrell's Alignment and Brake service.  Eric N**** has been my mechanic for 10 years.  Eric is ASC certified and certified in Alignment and Brakes services as well.  Eric informed me that I needed rotors and brake pads and a right rear stabilizing link.  As he had to order the parts, I would return on April 29, 2015 to have the work done.  I notified Mick B***** at Tom Roush Budget Center East of the stabilizing link  and brake issues on April 27, 2015.

On April 29, 2015 I returned to Darrell's to have the rotors, pads and link replaced.  Eric then informed me the right rear caliper pins were frozen.  He was unsure why until he encountered a locked left caliper.  The locked left caliper caused the right caliper to overheat and caused the right rear caliper pins to freeze.  Eric and I both spoke to Mick B*****. Mick requested an estimate to be sent to him reg****ng the cost of the repairs.  Mick agreed and did send $200.00 on this repair order.  Sending the $200.00 will be looked at as admitting liability for the braking system and stabilizing link issues.  Eric was only able to obtain the left rear caliper immediately.  The right rear caliper had to be ordered.  Tom Roush knew the braking system was bad, if as they say they have ASC certified mechanics and is covering it up because they are losing money on the Budget Center East establishment.  This is not my problem.  I offered to split the $1,753.53 in half and believed I was being more than reasonable.  Now I am requesting the full amount.  If I have to take them to court to settle this it will cost them more money.

I returned to Darrell's to have the right rear caliper replaced on May 6, 2015.  At this time Eric drained the Master Cylinder as is customary when performing a brake system repair.  This is when the foreign chemical was found in the brake fluid.  There was NO other time, as the business alleges, that fluid was taken out of or put into the Master Cylinder. The foreign chemical has completely corroded the rubber hydraulic hoses in the brake system and now the vehicle requires the front left and rear braking systems to be repaired.

The business is attempting to smoke screen their responsibility for their mechanic's mistake.  IF the business has ASC certified mechanics, then the mechanics would have informed said business the vehicle was in need of brakes as the rotors could not be turned and it is the LAW, in the State of Indiana, that a vehicle has a working braking system even if sold AS IS.  It will cost the business more then the requested amount if I have them put on a list for military and DOD civilians to  avoid buying from this business.  There is also social media.  The Tom Roush Budget Center East has just 

  

Regards,

******* ******

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tom Roush Lincoln Mazda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart