BBB Accredited Business since

Ray Skillman Northeast Mazda

Phone: (317) 357-8001 1630 N Shadeland Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46219 http://www.rayskillmannortheastmazda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ray Skillman Northeast Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ray Skillman Northeast Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ray Skillman Northeast Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 29, 2012 Business started: 02/01/2010 in IN Business incorporated 12/09/2009 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kiran Pinisetti, Co-Owner Mr. Ray Skillman, President/Co-Owner Mr. Mike Bragg, General Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Bragg, General Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Kiran Pinisetti, Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Ray Skillman, President/Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ray Skillman Northeast Imports, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle

Additional Locations

  • 1630 N Shadeland Avenue

    Indianapolis, IN 46219 (317) 357-8001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been working a deal with this dealership to buy a car, we came to a deal. the first day I was told the vehicle has not been in any accidents. We came to a deal on 1/12/2015 and I was to deliver the check the next day. when I was leaving the dealership I asked for a temporary tag and they gave me one and then I asked for the Temporary registration so I don't get in trouble if i get pulled over and they don't worry about it, I believe that is illegal practice at a dealership, correct. Either way I was on my way home and I was on my way home in the used car and the skid plate under the car flew under the car and hit a semi, a few seconds later another skid plate under then car flew out the rear of the car and almost kit a Dodge Magnum, if i were to have got pulled over i would not have had a registration and my insurance would have went up due to legligance on the part of their service department. When i got home I lifted the vehicle on jack stands and realized there was damage and missing parts on the from facia and the from bumper was zip tied on, i was told no accidents, no why is there missing parts and a bumper that has missing parts and zip tied together, I would have never considered purchasing the car if i would have know that

Desired Settlement: I do not want to the it is not as it was advertised and there were so many illegal issued that were done wrong on part of the dealership I will go to court, as far as the disclosure to to accident and letting me leave with no temp. registration is illegal.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to a complaint made by ****** ******** a few weeks ago. Mr ******** originally came to our dealership on January 10th, 2015. At that time he met with a salesman and drove a few cars, including the 2006 Audi A4 and loved it. We put some numbers together and he then wanted to go and speak with his bank about getting a loan from them instead of through us. We had to negotiate price a little more to get to a number that he bank would approve and Mr. ******** went home in the vehicle on the 12th.

At the time of purchase, the customer was given a temporary tag and was told that his paperwork was sufficient in place of a registration. The transfer of title comes after funding is completed and we have 21 days to get this to the customer — there is no reason we would need to give him the physical registration when he left, especially since we had yet to receive payment from him for the vehicle.

The salesman then followed up with the customer on the 13th and he stated that he was concerned about a few things that had happened on his way home. At that time, we decided that we would have it brought back to the dealership to have it looked at. Mr. ******** then stated that he only wanted it looked at by Audi and fixed by them at our expense. We explained that it was an AS-IS vehicle, which he signed off on at time of purchase and that we would not send it to another dealership to have it fixed. If he wanted it fixed there, it would have to be at his cost. Mr. ******** then stated that he was no longer interested if we were not going to fix what he wanted at the Audi dealership. We apologized and let him back out of the deal. Again, Mr. ******** had only signed paperwork — he has yet to present us with a check for the vehicle.

Attached you will find all service records on this vehicle — he had called and stated that we have never had the vehicle through service. You will also find the AutoCheck report which states that this vehicle has never been in an accident, copies of all paperwork stating that this vehicle was being sold AS-IS signed by Mr. ******** and a copy of a letter given to us from Mr. ******** stating his demands.

We did what we thought was enough to please this customer. He had denied any extra warranties that would cover this issues — that paperwork is also attached. Please call e-mail me with any further concerns.

Thank you,

******* * *****/General Sales Manager

 %

8/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 we leased a Mazda 3 for three years, Maturity date was Aug. 1, 2014. In January of this year, we were shopping around for my wife and went here since we had a good experience before. The salesman that we spoke too (*** *******) told me that Mazda was offering a Lease Pull Ahead (allowing us to get out of our lease early) for up to six months early if we purchased a new car. I had to wait until February 1st to purchase to take advantage of this offer, since that would have been my 6 month mark. Fast forward, February 3rd, I buy the new car. When we call Chase to turn in the car, they said that no such deal ever existed, and that if I turned the car in now, I'd owe a bunch of fees, the remainder of the lease and the difference between the cost of selling it at an action vs. how much it cost. I talked to *** at the dealership and he told me he would look into it. Every-time I called the dealership to find out what was going on, it was always someone different I talked to, and it would take them DAYS to call us back, even with repeated voice-mails and messages left. It took them almost 2 months to finally come out and tell us that there wasn't anything they would do for us, and that we would either have to turn the car in early and pay the termination fees, buy the car, or keep paying on it until Aug. The reasons why they said that we weren't eligible for the pull ahead, was that we didn't lease another car, and one was that we didn't purchase a car off their lot, we had them trade for another car at a different lot, even though we still purchased from Ray Skillman, and they took our money. Supposedly, they contacted the District Manager for Mazda and explained the situation with him, and he said there wasn't anything he would do since we purchased the car already. Then, to top the whole thing off. They signed us up for a warranty that we told them we DID NOT WANT. It was on the initial paperwork he drafted, and we told him, NO, we did not want the TireCare warranty, and we were ASSURED that it would be canceled, and that the amount would come off the principle of the loan. Here we are, 4 months later, and I find that it's not off the loan yet. I call them up and ask **** ***** and he said he didn't have any paperwork on it, and did not know anything about it. Which is incorrect, he was right there when we told *** we did not want that warranty, and he was the one that told us that **** was going to cancel it. **** told me that the warranty cancellation would be pro-rated because the car is 4 months old, and has 3k miles on it, and couldn't honor the original cancellation because he had no record of it. I have emails between *** Gettins and I talking about the cancellation of the warranty, and the lease pull ahead.

Desired Settlement: A) Acknowledgment from Ray Skillman that we were lied, knowing that there was not any type of early lease termination deals going on at that time. B) An apology. C) More Importantly, Reimbursement of the following items for purposely and falsely representing a offer to make a sale: 1: $700 - the warranty that was to be canceled. NOT Prorated. 2: $2,112 - lease payments paid 3: $300 - fee due at the end of the lease 4: $356 - storage costs for the vehicle 5: $253 - Insurance costs for the last 6 months Totaling: $3,721

Business Response:

I am writing in response to a complaint made by ******* ****** last month. ******* has purchased a few vehicles from our location and until recently, we were unaware of any dissatisfaction. Back in 2011, Mr. ****** came in and met with one of our salesman, *** *******. A few years down the road, he came back into the dealership looking for another vehicle for his family. At that time he asked if we had any incentives for early lease turn-ins. At that time, we did not but he had stated that he had spoken with a CHASE representative and they mentioned that they do offer it. We explained to him that we were unaware of any such incentives at that time and he would have to speak directly with CHASE if he was wanting to do that. Obviously, if we were running the special, he would have traded in his car at that time. He did not trade in anything and chose to keep the current vehicle and we would let him know about any future lease pull-ahead programs.

*** ******* continued to follow-up with the customer making sure that he was satisfied. The only thing concerning was that the day after the customer purchased, he had told *** that he was no longer interested in the TireCare Warranty. *** let him know that he would get with the finance department and get back with him with information on what they needed to do. On Feb. 20, ******* e-mailed *** and asked if finance had taken care of the warranty; "if he hasn't, don't worry about it.". After that, nothing else was mentioned about the warranty from the customer. If the customer had mentioned it at closing as he states, then it would have been taken care of before he left the dealership.

Fast forward to the middle of March, Mazda is now offering a lease pull-ahead program. In order to qualify for the lease pull-ahead you have to trade in your current lease for either a new lease or new purchase. Since *** was no longer with our company at this time, we had another individual contact ******* and let him know about the program - as we told him we would. He was upset because he did not want to purchase another and therefor did not qualify. At this point we contacted our district sales representative to see if there was anything we could do since he had recently purchased and he said there was nothing he could do either.

Through every step of both transactions we fully explained everything to the customer. The fact that he chose to keep both vehicles was his decision. We did what we could to help him get out of his original lease, but there is only so much we can do as a dealerhsip. Mazda and JPMorgan Chase make the rules, we do what we can to help the cusotmer. When the cusotmer called us back towards the end of his lease he was upset and wanted us to pay for his storage fees, plate fees and remainder of his payments - of course we were unable to do so. He at that time mentioned that he did not want TireCare and we took care of that issue the same day.

Thank you,

******* * *****

Genereal Sales Manager