Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ray Skillman GMC Truck, Inc.

Phone: (317) 888-9500 8424 US 31 South, Indianapolis, IN 46227

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ray Skillman GMC Truck, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ray Skillman GMC Truck, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2008 Business started: 07/18/1979 in IN Business incorporated 07/18/1979 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ray Skillman, Co-Owner Mr. Dennis VanEmon, Co-Owner Mr. Cory Delp, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Cory Delp, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Ray Skillman, Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Dennis VanEmon, Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - Online New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ray Skillman GMC Truck, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8424 US 31 South

    Indianapolis, IN 46227 (317) 888-9500


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ray Skillman GMC added a $2000 extended warranty to the sale price of a 2014 Ford Fiesta I purchased on June 30 2016 without my permission. I was never asked if I wanted this add on and I would not have purchased the warranty if I was asked. I believe this type of loan stacking is unethical to say the least. I would like to either return the vehicle to Ray Skillman or have the price of the vehicle reduced to an amount decided on by both parties.

Desired Settlement: As stated above, I either want to return the vehicle to Ray Skillman, or have the price of the vehicle reduced to an agreed amount by both parties.

Business Response: Mr. and Mrs. ***** purchased this vehicle from us along with another vehicle while trading in one leased vehicle.  At the time of purchases, Ms. ***** elected to add an extended warranty to extend coverage on her vehicle.  As a part of that purchase, Mrs. ***** signed five different documents stating she was purchasing a warranty and two documents specifically accepting and acknowledging the purchase of the warranty.  If Mrs. ***** would like to cancel the warranty she purchased, she can do so by visiting the dealership to sign a cancellation and decline form and the purchase price will be remitted to the lien holder of her loan to reduce the overall principle amount.  This can be done at any time during dealership hours. 

7/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 6th 2016 I purchased a 2014 jeep from ray skillman with 31,969 mileage. I was told while purchasing this vechicle that I had until December 31st or 36,000 miles which ever came first for my warranty. On July 11th I contacted my local jeep dealer for transmission popping noises to find out my warranty actually ran out 4 days after my purchase and was told differently. According to the Vin the end of warranty was actually June 10th 2016 again 4 days after I purchased it. I contacted Joseph r. G**** who was rude refused to let me speak with his manager or Mr. S**** *** and was told that was not his problem because he tried to sell us an extended warranty and he could not do anything for us.I told him i declined because I had plenty of warranty left since I drive less than 300 miles monthly. I'm very upset over the type of business they are conducting and his UNPROFESSIONALISM. I was also told the day I purchased it they would fill up my tank. I was given 30.00 which encoded up costing an additional 30 when I left the dealership. I was given half a tank. on June 13th 1 week after my purchase Joseph r G**** contacted my husband stating he had not received the check for the jeep and needed to know how we were going to handle this issue. My husband assured him they got the check on June6th when we drove it home and Mr. G**** stated he didnt.. I got a copy of the check from my bank and when we called back 3 times he refused to take our call. We have been told so many things that are not true and I feel we have been victims of fraud. I would like Ray S******* to contact me. I was also told by Lisa that all updates were done and again this is not true according to my local jeep dealer. I have a pick paper from ray skillman dealer with my signature stating warranty with 4 months 4,000 miles and Joseph refuses to honor that.

Desired Settlement: I want this issue taken care. I want my transmission fixed I currently have 35,075 miles and now to find out my warranty expired 4 days after purchase.

Business Response: After the initial discussion with Ms. ***, we contacted Jeep and determined that the vehicle Ms. *** purchased was indeed still under the factory powertrain warranty.  We also contacted her local Jeep dealership to facilitate the diagnosis of the issue and scheduled an appointment the next morning for Ms. ***.  We are willing to further assist Ms. *** as necessary in diagnosing any issue with her vehicle. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


**** ***

7/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to Ray Skillman on 5/27/16 after I got off work at 5, got to their office building at 6 is what time I was told to be their anyways. I traded my 2002 Ford Taurus Car and my Chevy Venture Van as down payment and paid $500 more for the down payment. They had put me in a 2010 Jeep Commander but was still working on financing percentage and things. So they told me the jeep still needed serviced but to go ahead and take it for the weekend and Bring it back Monday (my mother was going to co-sign for me to make the interest rate cheaper.) Me and my mother came into the shop and worked with Joe G**** and signed papers, etc. They gave me a loaner car while mine was being serviced, said it would be done the next day, and they would call me. The loaner car they gave me was a dodge nitro, it was awful, dirty holes in the seat, trash everywhere, the brakes were slipping. I called and spoke to Lisa in financing to ask about what time the Jeep would be done since they had told me tuesday, and she said she had got my financing down to a great percentage but never told me what it was at that time. Also, told me my vehicle wasn't done. (it was fine, it was a holiday the day before.) So I went back down their 5/31 to sign more papers since the interest rate had went down, and make my 500 down payment. They gave me a different loaner car since the breaks were slipping on the other one (not safe and never apologized for this). I called again on Wednesday 6/1 to see about the Jeep, because there was no communication with this issue at all. Lisa I spoke with again and asked when it would be done, she said they had to order a part it will be done by Thursday 6/2 I will call you that morning and let you know. I said okey. Well Thursday came along and I called at 4:00pm that day spoke with Joe G**** since I had not heard anything once again. The vehicle was still not finished. The service department ordered a wrong part or something and they had to order it again and it would be here on Friday. I said are you sure that my vehicle will be done by 4, because im leaving to go out of town and I need to know. Well Joe G**** said listen (voiced raised and very rude) " Do you want me to just back out of the whole thing, and give your trade ins back and you can forget about the whole deal? Is that what you want?" I said NO that is not what I want, I was just asking a question, and I feel like there has been no communication because no one has gave me updates at all. I have had to call almost everyday asking about this issue. When you should have called to let me know what was going on. Joe G**** speaking" Well we shouldn't have to call and let you know, when we say your vehicle be ready we will call you, and you should be happy we put over $2,000 dollars of work into that car for you and you are getting that car for way cheap so you should be happy that your getting a good vehicle and not having to pay crap for it" I said wow I don't understand why you are yelling at me. I hung up the phone and called back and asked to speak with a manager at that time I spoke with Cory and he was very apologetic and went and personally found out what was going on with my vehicle and let me know that it will be done Friday by 4 and they will call me. Well no one still never called. I spoke with the general Manger COLT and told him the way I was treated by Joe G**** (very uncalled for and unprofessional) and let him know the things he said and how he yelled and had an attitude over this whole process. Lisa had called me 6/13/16 telling me Titles didn't match for a trade in. So I contacted BMV and the BMV told me that where I had bought the vehicle at gave me the wrong title. So I have been in contact with him trying to fix this issue. I called on Tuesday and let Nina know what was going on because everyone else was busy. She said she would pass the message along. I eventually got to talk to Joe G**** once again and he said " Well look we will not let you title your new vehicle until you give us the correct title. So until then you will not be able to drive it until you fix it." (while voice raised and attitude). I said ok. Then on 6/18 Lisa called and ask me what was going on with the Title I let her know I was working on it but it was going to take a while. And she said ok, and I told her I talked to nina and let Joe G**** the situation. I also said that I didn't know why Joe G**** did not like me and why he always has to have an attitude with me and yells at me all the time when I call. She said "oh Honey he likes you, don't ever think that here talk to him. And gives him the phone after I said I did not want to talk or deal with him any longer. He gets on the phone and says what is this stuff your telling my general manager colt about me yelling at you and having an attitude with you, and you telling him things that are untrue, he said he did not appreciate that because I was lying. I said you always treat me with disrespect and it is unprofessional and uncalled for. NO one wants to be treated this way by anyone especially not JOE G****. I don't think it is right that he gets talking to by his general manager and then confronts his customers about it. That is not right at all. The title is fixed and they everything they need. So I would like to be able to register my vehicle, and not have to go back here any longer. This place has been unprofessional from the very start of the transaction. Not getting everything they needed on their end and I have to go back in. I mean if I traded my vehicle in on 5/27 then why did it take them until 6/13 to match vin numbers to let me know this issues? My mother is supposed to be a co-signer but yet her name is on most papers and mine is not. I don't understand a lot of this.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my New vehicle Registered and Titled. It needs to be sent to the BMV. Joe G**** needs to step down in his position if he treats others this way. He is a very unprofessional person. You don't treat anyone that way especially customers. You cannot even go to the general manager without the person confronting customers about what he got a talking to about.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** purchased a vehicle and traded two vehicles.  There was an issue of mis-matched vin numbers on one of the traded vehicles.  Once the issue was discovered it was resolved and she was credited back the amount of her trade.  When Ms. ***** purchased her vehicle it had not been serviced so as a courtesy, she was given a loaner vehicle until the service was completed.  Additionally, we have tried to contact Ms. ***** as her vehicle paperwork has been sent to the BMV.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

******* *****


I want to thank you for finally getting the title over to the BMV right before my plates expired. Thank you. I am not satisfied with the customer service and how this was handled at all. Not only did I go through all the trouble and my time with this whole issue. But I also got disrespected by Joe G****. I reported him to the general manager Colt and then when I call and speak to Lisa about the title that was correct on my vehicle trade in. I told her I did not want to speak to Joe and she said no you need to and transferred the call. He gets on the phone, and says "Why did you lie to my boss, I never did any of those things you lied about to him" he was raising his voice to me the whole time. I explained to him that he should not treat customers this way. He should have never confronted a customer about a problem they had with him in that matter. Not only unprofessional but disrespectful. I would like an apology from being so disrespected and yelled at. I have been called a liar, poor, and totally uncalled for.

8/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/30/2015, my husband, **** *****, and I traded in a 1998 Ford Mustang GT and $500 cash for a 2005 Chevy Colorado from Ray Skillman GMC Truck. On multiple occasions, representatives from Ray Skillman called us, some of the calls where requesting copies of our driver's license, which we had already provided, and others were complimentary customer service calls. On 07/23/2015 at 10:08 AM, I spoke with Lisa in the finance department. I asked her about paper work for the title and was told they had already sent it to the BMV. On 07/29/2015 at approximately 11:15 AM, I went to the BMV in Greenfield, IN and was told they did not have the 2005 Chevy Colorado titled in either **** or ****** ******* name. At 11:26 AM I called Ray Skillman and Sam, a manager, told me there was an issue with the title and they did not have it. When I spoke with Lisa she stated she had been working on it and that the BMV showed a significantly higher mileage than the digital dash on the vehicle showed. Lisa then stated she would have to order a title search. When I asked if the truck had a rebuilt or salvaged title my question was ignored. She stated the dealership would take the truck back and give us a rental vehicle until the issue was resolved. Lisa and I were to meet that day around 5:00 PM to trade vehicles. I spoke with Lisa again on 07/29/2015 at 3:45 PM and she stated they were unable to meet me and she would call me when she was able to meet me. She has yet to call. However I did get a call from Nathan Wickersham who did meet me with a rental vehicle. It is well passed the 21 days the dealership has to provide me with a title. Not only are we disappointed that we do not have a title or a truck, we are extremely disturbed by the lack of communication from the dealership.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for purchase price, sales tax, finance expenses, insurance expenses, trade-in allowance, down payment and reimbursement for the inconvenience of this issue. If these terms are not acceptable we request a new vehicle of our choosing to replace our losses.

6/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing you in regards to our 2011 Dodge Durango we purchased on Nov 24 2014. When we came to look at the Dodge Durango we liked it but had a lot of places that needed painted or fixed ( front end and a lot in the back end) Our sales rep Chase W***** told us that wouldn't be a problem that they would take care of it and fix it right. We also told Chase that my husband is self employed and his schedule is pretty busy and he told us any time or day would be good. We called Chase a couple of times and he told us the paint guy was not in we would have to reschedule. Finally we were able to bring the Durango in on March 18 2015 to get it fixed. Upon dropping the Durango off to get fixed Chase told us to leave it there and they would be calling us in the afternoon. My husband gets a call from Chase saying that you will not fix the Durango due to it being passed 90 days. First off know one told me we had 90 days to get it fixed or we would of had the Durango in the shop. When calling Chase back after my husband talked to him he said the manager Dana Camel said no. Upon talking to Dana he was very rude and disrespectful towards me. When talking to him I told him I was going to go hire up then him and let them know how he was and he said he didn't care(laughed) and hung up on me. As being a manager he is not very professional at what he does and maybe needs to take a class on how to be a manager. Chase calls us back and says he would pay to get it done out of his own pocket.( in which I think was a cover up to save him ) but don't tell anyone. Also I told Chase the day after we bought it the change oil light was on He then told us they forgot to reset the light. Upon bringing it up there on March 18 he would get the oil thing taking care off, and till this day the oil light is still on.. I have sent a lot of people to Ray Skillman to buy there car. I don't think I am asking to much when I paid $21,409 for a car that I was told that they would get it taking car of. If I knew I was going to have this many problems I would of never purchased my car from there. I even wrote Ray Skillman himself and never received a response. I have called and complained I cant tell you how many times.

Desired Settlement: For my Durango to be fixed and fixed right like Chase W***** said.

Business Response: Mrs. *********s vehicle was brought back in and the touch up that she requested was performed free of charge to her.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]


******** ********

4/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put in a loan application day 1. Day 2 I was emailed and was told that a lender has accepted and is willing to work with me on a loan for a vehicle. I was contacted by a sales associate. They went over my information and made a prejudgment of me on the phone. One guy told me there was nothing they could do for me, then i spoke with Julie. She told me that she was going to process all of my info and see what they could do. I was then called and told that they found a lender for me, i was told that we would finalize and sign paperwork on Monday. Monday came around and Julie called to leave me a Voice the voice mail she stated that the "main loan guy got back from vacation today and he says there is no way we can put you in a car. If you want to try again in 6 months then you can" Wait...i was just told 2 days before that i would be in a car on Monday, then come monday im not longer eligible? Something isn't right here. Why is it that I got approved for a loan, and then told i could not get a car through them? Also, this process has caused several Hard Inquiries on my credit report which has dropped my score some. Ray Skillman wants to provide for all of these schools in the area and buy Southport HS a new stadium and pay for a big chunk of our referendum, but I (who went to Southport & other perry schools) cannot get a car through your dealership. I will NOT recommend ANY of my friends family or acquaintances to Ray Skillman (any location)

Desired Settlement: I want to buy a vehicle. If I can prove my income, why can I not buy a vehicle?

Business Response:

I want to start by apologizing for your experience.  It is always our goal with every customer we meet to work with lenders to get an approval for financing.  Unfortunately, due to many variables we are unable to achieve this goal with everyone we work with.  Thank you for contacting us for your vehicle needs and as your situation changes please keep us in mind.  Regards.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
They PROMISED they would find me a car and that they understood what i was going through but that they would for sure find something for me.


***** ******

2/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 4th 2015, I purchased a 2005 Ford Explorer that was recently traded in. I waited a few weeks for the title to come in so I could register the vehicle before my temporary registration expired. When it never came, I contacted the Dealer on 2 January 2015 and asked where the title was and requested that they locate the title immediately. I was told that they had sold me a vehicle that they never had the title for, because they previous owner couldn't find it. So, the dealership requested that I immediately return my Explorer and drive a rental until it comes in; I did as they asked. Well it is now the 28th of January and there is still no status on my vehicle and I have threatened to take legal action. It has been a total of 55 days since I purchased my Explorer and I have had it in my possession just over two weeks due to some transmission issues it had two days after I drove it off the lot and this title issue. I requested to return they vehicle so I could take my business elsewhere, but they have avoided doing so at all costs. They have openly admitted to me that they did not do the right thing and I do not want this to happen to anyone else. It is not fair for a business to break the law and the customer pay the price.

Desired Settlement: We would be willing to go a few directions. We would like to return the Vehicle for a full refund due to the failure to hold up to their end of the contract, a 2 year warranty for the bad transmission that they know it has but do not want to claim responsibility for, or give us full purchase price towards a different vehicle that they actually have the title for. I more than willing to work with the dealership, but it is completely unacceptable to break the law and have your customer pay the price

Business Response:

This issue has been resolved with Mr. ****.  We have provided all of the required paperwork for him to title the vehicle and reimbursed him for the fees.  Additionally, we resolved the transmission issue on the vehicle for Mr. ****.  Please contact me with any additional questions.


**** ****

2/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Toyota Highlander with gap coverage from Ray Skillman in 2012. This vehicle has been recently totaled in an accident where my car insurance covered the cost of the remaining balance of my auto loan. I was told that I am entitled to a refund for the gap coverage as the policy wasn't needed. I have contacted and spoken to numerous people at Ray Skillman and have been given the run around on this issue every time. They need to fax a cancellation agreement to gap guardian in order for me to get my refund and they have yet to do so, it has been over two months and I am really getting frustrated with this issue and would like to have it resolved.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the refund that I am entitled to in the amount of $460.00.

Business Response:

This issue has been submitted to our office and is in the process of being resolved. Per GAP regulations the pro­rated amount will be refunded to the customer. Please contact me with any questions or concerns.


Cory D***

General Manager

Ray Skillman Buick GMC

317-888-9500 phone 317-432-5002 cell

email: cow

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ray Skillman GMC Truck, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart