Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ray Skillman Ford & Southside Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ray Skillman Ford & Southside Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ray Skillman Ford & Southside Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 07, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2001 in IN Business incorporated 12/16/1991 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Everet, Co-Owner/General Manager Mr. Ray Skillman, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Everet, Co-Owner/General Manager
Principal: Mr. Ray Skillman, Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles Auto Dealers - Online New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Ray Skillman Ford, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ray Skillman Ford & Southside Hyundai has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1250 US 31 South

    Greenwood, IN 46143 (317) 885-9800 (317) 881-6100 (800) 416-5555

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this location earlier this month. I told the salesperson that I was looking for a car with several features, and one "nice but not necessary" feature was Remote Start. During the sales process, my wife and I were told about their Blue Link program, and that one of its packages had Remote Start as a feature. We asked a little about it, finding out that the programs were $99 each, with a discount for subscribing for multiple years, and that we could pick and choose which programs we wanted. I even expressed my distaste for the (what we found out a week later was the "base") base program with no mention that I had to get it. After purchasing the car and trying to set Blue Link up, I find out that you have to get the base program for $99, AND the Remote Start program for $99, effectively doubling the quoted price. I contacted the salesperson immediately after, and got a response that seemed to reflect unawareness. He informed me that, of course, I couldn't return the car and go elsewhere. After filling out an online survey for the location, obviously he remembers none of this, although my wife and I both do. We also found out that the multiple-year discount ONLY applies to the Remote Start program, and not the base program like we were told- not that I'm interested in paying for something I wasn't informed that I had to. The first time I contacted Blue Link, the operator quickly got upset, and said something about [this happens all the time, those sales people need to get their stuff straight], which leads me to believe that I am far from the only person who has been sold a secondary program with the guise of it being a stand-alone purchase. I don't comprehend how a company can quote a price, especially for a long-term, un-returnable purchase like this, and simply not honor it. This approaches fraud, which, to my knowledge, is still against the law. Thanks for your time.

Desired Settlement: I would first like the Remote Start program available to me for the duration of my vehicle ownership for the quoted price of $99/year, with the 15% discount when I subscribe for three years at a time. I would also prefer Hyundai dealers to have to provide a pamphlet that openly describes that the base package is a required purchase.

Business Response:

Dear ******* *****,

 Ray Skillman Ford and Southside Hyundai has been in contact with customer *** ******* about a complaint filed with the BBB.  Ray Skillman Hyundai at no time intended to misguide or deceive our customer about Hyundai Blue Link product.  After further review this seems to be a simple miscommunication between Ray Skillman and our customer *** *******.  We pride every Ray Skillman dealership in having nothing but the best customer service and feel as if Ray Skillman's reputation has a proven track record of this.  Although we feel as if this is a simple miscommunication on both sides we have decided to refund our customer $504.90.  This refund will pay for the customer to have Remote Blue Link coverage for the rest of the customers auto contract.  A portion of the complaint also asked that our dealership provide information about Hyundai Blue Link packages and this information is explained and shown to every Hyundai Blue Link customer at the time of sale.  It seems our customer *** ******* is happy again and has better understanding.

Ray H*****
Sales Manager
317-885-9800

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

*** *******

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an offer from Ford to test drive a Ford Transit vehicle on or before January 31, 2016 and I would receive a $50.00 gift card from Amazon. I went to Ray Skillman Ford on Nov. 18, 2015 and test drove the Transit vehicle, sent the info through the web site and the info stated that cards would be sent out within 8 weeks after January 31, 2016. I contacted the company via the email address listed on my paperwork on April 9, 2016 to inquire about the gift card. I first received a response stating that they had no record of my completing the information. I explained that I sent it on Nov. 18th. Eventually, I was asked to resend the information showing the dealer name and person I dealt with and that should be sufficient. Here is the email I received... ( Ford Means Business Test Drive Apr 12 (8 days ago) to me Hi ********, I've rechecked our records and have confirmed that you did not successfully redeem the test drive. The information you sent below would not have been accepted because the dealer code is not in the correct format. There were 77 successful redemptions on November 18 so it appears there was no issue with the web site. (and we had no reports of problems.) While we do try and err on the side of the consumer, we are legally and ethically bound to follow the rules of the promotion. This protects both consumers and our clients. Do you happen to have the original form filled out by the dealer? If so, can you send a copy? A cell phone photo would suffice as long as it is readable. Failing that, the name of the dealership and employee you worked with there should be enough to confirm the test drive with the dealership.) We don't sign our names to these emails because there is more than one person responding to them. If you also need copies of the items I sent to Ford, I will be happy to send to you as well..

Desired Settlement: I want the $50.00 Gift Card. Why would they have asked me to resend the information if they weren't planning on honoring the gift card. I feel this is ridiculous. I did exactly what was asked of me and now I am being refused a gift card that I feel I am entitled to receive.

Business Response:

******* *****

Better Business Bureau

151 N Delaware Street #2020

Indianapolis, In 46204-2599

317-488-2222

ID # ********

 

 

Dear ******* *****,

 

It appears this complaint should go to Ford Motor Company and not Ray Skillman Ford as we are not responsible for sending out certificates and/or paying for $50 test drives.  Our involvement stops after taking the customer for a test drive and signing a test drive form for the customer to redeem with Ford Motor Company.   However, I would be happy to personally get involved and make sure ******** receives any money due to her.  Please forward any documentation that would confirm that there was an offer extended to ******** from Ford and I will make sure it gets paid. 

 

Sincerely,

 

Dave *******

Ray Skillman Ford

General Manager

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

I did receive the Gift Card Finally!! And the business is correct in that I received it from Ford Motor Company

 

Regards,

******** *****

8/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a vehicle on July 7, 2015. Since purchasing the 2011 Ford Taurus Limited, it has been in their repair shop TWICE - for the same issue. After the first incident, Miles explained to us that the transmission "needed a software update" and they found that the "rear shocks were dry so they were replaced as well." We were advised that the vehicle did NOT go through their inspection process properly prior to us purchasing the vehicle so a "quick" inspection was done due to the fact that we were at the dealership and our sales papers had already been signed. WE WERE TOLD THE CAR PASSED THEIR INSPECTION PRIOR TO SIGNING THE SALES PAPERS! WE WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT A VEHICLE THAT HADN'T BEEN INSPECTED. Legally, the dealership has 21 days to provide us with our title. We have made multiple communication attempts regarding having not received our title, and have yet to receive communication back. Our vehicle went into the repair shop for the second time on 7-30-15 at which time the title was mentioned and our concern was blown off. I left a voicemail last night with the dealership, received a return call from a gentleman named Jeff this morning - who advised he didn't know and transferred me to yet another voicemail. Our paper plate expires tomorrow and the dealership has NOT held up to their legal requirements regarding the title of this vehicle. I have also contacted our finance company who has yet to receive a copy of the title nor are they showing that a transfer of title has been initiated. This whole process has been an absolute nightmare.

Desired Settlement: Due to the dealership failing to legally provide the title within 21 days - we are currently on day 30 and still do not have our title, we as consumers are legally entitled to return the vehicle in same condition as purchased - which they have the vehicle in their repair shop currently. We are asking for our trade in vehicle to be returned to us, or if it has been sold, the amount the vehicle was sold for be issued to us. We would like to return the Ford Taurus that was purchased and in doing so, have Ray Skillman Ford refund Capital One Auto Finance the amount that was issued to the dealership for our loan plus the interest we would have been charged - making the loan null and void and in doing so will allow us to purchase a vehicle from a dealership that values its customers, holds up to their end of their legal responsibilities, and have the opportunity to purchase a vehicle that has actually been through the inspection process PRIOR to purchasing.

Business Response:

 
At Ray Skillman Performance Ford we sell vehicles two ways, either "certified" or "as is" depending on the miles and year of the vehicle.  On July 8, 2015 ****** **** and ******* ******* purchased a 2011 Ford Taurus with 80,175 "AS IS".  I am including copies of paperwork that was signed by them acknowledging that they purchased the vehicle 'AS IS'.  When we sell a vehicle "AS IS" we do put it through a safety inspection, which is what we did with this vehicle as well. I am also including copies of the service ticket where the Taurus was put through a safety inspection, and passed, the day ****** and ******* purchased the Taurus.  An "AS-IS" safety inspection is more of a 'quick' inspection then a certified inspection based on the fact that there are fewer things to check which makes it less time consuming. 
 
The first time ****** and ******* reached out to us was for a concern with the way their Taurus shifted.  They stated that the transmission was "slipping" and sometimes "slamming" into gear.  ****** also stated that he had driven another Taurus since they purchased this one and it was a much smoother ride.  Even though the vehicle was sold "AS-IS" we elected to diagnose and repair the vehicle free of charge. The transmission control module was reprogramed and 2 new shock absorbers were replaced as a good will gesture.  The vehicle is currently in our shop with a totally unrelated concern of a brake vibration  and a vibration at high speeds.  We were able to duplicate at 70 miles per hour and  I just instructed our service department to one last time repair the vehicle at our expense as a final good will gesture.  None of these issues have been safety related.
 
In regards to the title work, it was completed on August 5th.  The hold up on getting the title work processed was that we were waiting on ****** to provide us with a current pay stub to verify his income.  It is my understanding that this was a clear requirement from the lender at the time they purchased the vehicle.
 
 
 
Sincerely,
 
Dave E******
General Manager
Ray Skillman Ford
 
 
  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Let me be the first to correct the statement that the car is "AS IS."  IF the care was sold to us "AS IS" then why do we have a warranty?  A 12 month, 36,000 mile warranty?  And AUGUST 5th to send us our title paperwork is not acceptable.  The dealership LEGALLY had 21 days FROM THE DATE OF SALE to provide us with that documentation and they FAILED to do so.  We received our title paperwork in the mail on August 8th, after the BMV had closed for the day.  So now, ****** has had to take a day off work today as our PAPER PLATE provided on the date of sale of the vehicle was EXPIRED prior to us receiving our title paperwork.

The comment regarding waiting on a pay stub?  Income was verified at time of purchase.  And again was requested from our finance company a couple days after purchase as they had not received documentation from the dealership for proof of income.  So "waiting on a checkstub" that was provided the day of sale and again a couple days after the sale directly to our finance company is not a valid excuse.    And if they were waiting on  a "paystub" then why was I advised TODAY, upon contacting the BMV that they have had the correct and necessary documentation for titling / plating purposes since JULY 8, 2015 from Ray Skillman and advised due to the expired plates on our vehicle, to seek private legal counsel regarding this matter.  If they received the necessary paperwork on the 8th of July - there is NO excuse for the dealership to have not provided us with our paperwork within the LEGAL 21 DAY time-frame, let alone having us receive it once our paper plate expired.  

At this point - a complaint has been filed with the Attorney General's Office regarding this dealership not adhering to their legal responsibilities.  Their advisement will be taken under consideration along with that of the BMV.  




Regards,

**** Roberts ****** Mace

Business Response:

The car was sold AS-IS as documented in the attachments sent with the previous e-mail.  The safety inspection was completed as documented in the attachments sent with the previous e-mail.  **** and ****** elected to purchase an extended service contract (administered from a 3rd party provider) that does in fact cover certain components of the vehicle for 36 months and 36,000 miles.    **** and ****** have not had any out of pocket repair expense, Ray Skillman Ford has taken care of the expense. 
 
Ray Skillman Ford is fully aware of our responsibility to provide our customers with their title work within 21 days.  Ray Skillman Ford is also aware if the title work is not provided within 21 days the customer may give us written notice demanding delivery of a valid certificate of title within 10 days and may return the vehicle if the title work is not provided within that period of time.  This did not happen.  The only written correspondence we received  was the letter from the BBB dated 8/6/2015.  **** and ****** stated that they received their title work on Aug 8th, just 2 days after we received their correspondence through you.  We regret that **** and ****** are unhappy with their experience here and have tried very hard to overcome that.  I have attached a copy of the 21 day Affidavit signed by both Ray Skillman Ford and ****** Mace.

 

Sincerely,

 

Dave E******

General Manager
 

6/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new 2014 Rouch stage 3 mustang from John Trichler in December of 2014. While I was making the business deal I asked the sales man if there was anything way that I could get any more horsepower out of it and he stated that I could put a programmer on it. John ordered it and said that he would send it to me. Finished the purchase and drove it home. The programmer was installed in April and I drove it with it in for around 500 miles and noticed it had a miss to it so I took it to a local Ford dealer in Forest City Iowa and they did a compression check and number 5 cylinder lost compression. The spark plug tip is also missing. They didn't have the time and they are also not a Rouch authorized dearship. I then took it to a Roush authorized dealer in Britt Iowa. They ran there tests and noticed the same issues. They also called Rouch. Rouch tied into the computer on the car and noticed it had a aftermarket tuner in it and they immediately said it voided all warranty because it was not Rouch certified. The dealership then called Ford with the same result and Ford dropped all warranty. I then called the salesman at Skillman Ford and told him of my issues and he asked what fuel I was running. I told him it was at least 91 octane. He then asked where I got the fuel from. I told him that I had my own fuel tanks and that I had one fuel tank that had premium fuel. He couldn't believe it so I sent a picture of the tanks and he also called the dealership in Iowa to verify it. Very few stations up here have premium fuel so that's why I have it on hand. He then asked if I could get it tested to verify it didn't have any contamination in the fuel. I called the provider of my fuel and they came and got a sample of it and had it sent out. It came back clean and up to specs. No one has figured out the exact cause of the problem but Ford and Roush will not warranty it because of the tuner that salesman sold me. John has emailed me that he would sell me a new motor at cost and I would have to pay to have it installed. I talked to two Ford dealerships and asked them if they sell aftermarket products that void factory warranties. They both said absolutely NO! The dealerships are Forest City Ford and Pritchards Ford, both in Iowa. This has been going on since April 3rd . The car still sits at the dealership as I make the payment and carry insurance on a car that can not be driven. I wouldn't put something on my car that's going to void warranty.

Desired Settlement: Skillman ford replaces then engine with a long block that is a match to what is in there now at there cost. They pay the dealership that has it now to do the work on it. As long as Ford and Roush will warranty the car after this fix I would like to continue with the car. If I cant get a factory warranty on the car from Ford and Roush then Skillman Ford Purchase the car back and they do what is needed.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* did purchase the car from us in December.  I remember he was very insistent that it be ready by a certain time with very short notice.  We did everything we could to make that happen.  He then stated he would like more power in his vehicle and asked what upgrades were available.  We stated there are many aftermarket components for Mustangs, but about the only thing really left that could make much difference on his car would be a custom tune from a custom tuner.  We explained we do not tune vehicles, but we work with an aftermarket mod shop as most performance dealers do.  He insisted we order him one and take it out of his original deposit.  We did at his request.  The Mustang aftermarket industry is vast and there are a lot of companies that supply aftermarket upgrades to enhance the performance of these cars.  We did explain that any modification whether it be a spark plug or an air filter or anything NON OEM, if related to a failure would not be covered by the manufacutures warranty, and that warranty is strictly up to the manufacturer/s not the dealer and it is what YOU are comfortable with.  There are customers all over the country with these products and no issues.  He stated he was aware of that and mentioned Turbo Diesels and tuners.  He stated he was coming by to pick up the product when it came in and we told him we could show him how to use it.  He didn't make it in and asked us to ship it instead, so we did via Fedex.  He installed it on his own, we did not install it for him.  When he first indicated he had an issue with the car around the end of January, he had taken it to a small unequipped dealer in Iowa.  We talked with them and tried to find out what the issue was, but they were not really equipped to deal  with it.  The customer said himself, "These guys don't know what they are doing." We told him, lets get it here so our guys can diagnose the issue and figure out how to fix it. He asked how much it would be to transport it here and we gave him a quote from a shipper. (He picked it up in person originally and often works semi local to us) He said, "I will bring it myself on my trailer."  We said ok.  We awaited his arrival....He never showed up.  About 6 weeks later in the middle of March, we received a call from ANOTHER dealer in Iowa asking what to do with the car....We were a little confused because he was going to get the car here for us to look at, and try to get the problem solved.  Instead he again took it somewhere else.  If it could be warrantied, that's great, if not, we could try to at least diagnose and help him in whatever way possible as the selling dealer.  Since he never brought the car, all we could do is blindly try to assist in any way we could think of to a third party dealer on what would essentially be a non warranty repair.  The issue is, since he had the car, you just don't know what could have happened without seeing it.  There could have been bad fuel in it, he could have installed his tuner on his own incorrectly.  There are a number of things.  Without seeing how he installed his equipment.  Without having the car and knowing what this issue is, if it will happen again, all we could offer was to sell him a replacement motor at cost and ship it to his dealer of choice.  He has been uncooperative in letting us assist him.  If the car were her and we could have diagnosed the true issue is, if it will happen again, all we could offer was to sell him a replacement motor at cost and ship it to his dealer of choice.  He has been uncooperative in letting us assist him.  If the car were here and we could have diagnosed the true issue, and the programmer who designed the tune was at fault, we could address that with them and try to help that way since we deal with that company.  We no way of doing that remotely via a 3rd party dealer on a non OEM warranty repair if he doesn't want to cooperate.  If he was at fault for the failure and not the tuner company, all we can do is sell him the replacement engine at dealer cost.  Again, we have no idea what happened with the car since it left.  He took delivery of the car in OEM condition.  We have always tried to do everything we could to accommodate this customer to the best of our abilities.

Sincerely,

David E******

General Manager

Ray Skillman Ford

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

 I **** ******* have been cooperative in this hole process.  When I talked to John from Skillman Ford when I first had problems, He did say get it there and they would take care of it. I then asked were they going to pay to have it hauled there and he said no that getting it there would be at my expense. Since the car only had 1600 miles on it I thought Ford would take care of it but I took it with a grain of salt and said I would try and get it there. I'm self employed and to try and get it there was not possible and if it was a minor issue as a O2 sensor or something simple why pay or haul it 11 hours for a 5 minute fix.  I then took it to Forest City Ford and let them figure out if it was something simple.  I hauled it there and they ran their tests and  #5 cylinder had lost compression. Forest City Ford is a authorized Ford dealer but the car also has the Roush upgrade from ford. They did not want to do the work as they were not Roush certified. I then called another Ford dealership that was close and they are Rouch certified.  I then took it to them and they ran their tests and came up with the same conclusion that # 5 lost compression. We still don't know what caused the issue. Its been in a dealership since April 2nd with nothing done to it. When I purchased the car I did ask John if there was anything else that could be done performance wise to it and he said yes we have sold a tuner that would enhance the motor even more to take it from the 675hp to 700hp plus. I had him order it as he said the tune would have to be special ordered for the car. He NEVER once said by putting this tuner on that I would automatically lose all my factory warranty. I tried getting Ford to warranty and Roush and they both said with a different tuner on it they wouldn't. I collect older and newer sports cars and wanted this for my collection. This car has not been abused in any way. The tires are mint and has not been hot roddd in anyway shape or form. John has emailed me and said he would sell me a new motor for cost to help me out and that I could write it off on my business. I told him he could buy it and write if off on his own business. I also talked with the two Ford dealers that have looked at it and asked them if they sold this car would they recommend a product that would void the Ford manufactures warranty and they both said absolutely no!! John also stated that they would have had a better chance at getting it warrantied than the Authorized dealers I took it to. As long as its a Ford Authorized and a Roush Authorized dealer , I believe it shouldn't matter where its fixed at. If I buy a car from a dealer in Texas brand new and have it shipped to me and I have a problem with it after 1600 miles am I suppose to drive to Texas if I have a issue?? In my opinion, John from Skillman Ford advertises that they are the #1 in Roush sales and they will do anything to keep the # 1 spot. He was questioning the fuel I was running and I told John that I ran the premium 91 octane fuel as it says that im suppose to use. He then said that maybe I got some bad fuel from a place where I got the fuel.  I told him that was impossible because I have my own premium tank at my shop. He found this hard to believe so I sent him a picture of my fuel tanks to verify. He then asked why I had my own tanks and I told him up here in the Midwest there are very few fuel stations that have premium fuel. Since we are in the corn belt ethanol fuel is highly pushed. He even called Pritchards Ford and talked with the shop manager to see if this was common around here which he verified. Never the less I told John I would call my fuel provider and have it tested by a independent lab which they did and it came back clean of water and 91 plus octane and also forwarded the email to John. Skillman Ford says I have been uncooperative is ridiculous. The car has been in the shop for over two months and I didn't contact the bbb till 5/26/2015 hoping that Skillman would get the car back on the road. There is a warning sticker that Pritchards Ford noted on the side of the computer that Roush states any alteration to the computer voids their warranty. Plain and simple, I feel John from Skillman should not have recommended the tuner he sold me. It should not matter where I take a new for vehicle to have work done as long as its a certified repair shop. When selling something that is going to void a factory warranty there should b a disclaimer to sign off on that states this item will void factory warranties. Last but not least we still have no idea what has caused this issue but no one wants to cover it. Skillman Ford keeps passing the buck and hoping it will get thrown under the bus!

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *******


10/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Ford Explorer from this dealership last year. During the finance portion I was completely rushed through the entire process and the finance officer assigned to me seemed to talk really fast and would cover up questions with a lot of distractions and jokes. At the time I purchased the driver care package I was told what was covered and for how long. What the finance officer left out was that supposedly there is a $100 deductible for every time I use the driver care package to make repairs to my vehicle. I have been through the paperwork I received I did not see anything about a deductible but a service guy named ****** said that I signed a paper and it was on file but refused to provide it when asked. I went back through my paperwork and still did not locate the agreement. I originally took my car by the service department back in August to see about getting some repairs done and the gentlemen working at the time told me I would have to pay for cigarette lighter covers but he would see if he could get them replaced at no cost. He never mentioned anything about a deductible nor did he ever call me back about the covers or to schedule service for the other issues. I finally called the service department on 10/06/2014 and spoke with ****** and he asked me to bring the car in the next day and I did. At that time ****** wrote up all the issues and assured me that he could get the covers at no cost. At this time ****** said everything else would be covered and he would have the vehicle back to me the next day. He never mentioned any deductible. On 10/08/2014 ****** called to let me know that the vehicle was finished and I can stop by, pay the $100 deductible, and pick up my car. This is when I found out about the deductible. He did apologized and said he would get with his supervisor. In the meanwhile I contacted the GM for this dealership, left him a message, and then never heard back from him. I never heard back from the service supervisor or ****** either. My boyfriend and I went to pick up my car and also was asked at that time to pay tax on the deductible which again was not what we were told at any time. I am completely frustrated with the lack of communication and customer service out of Ray Skillman Ford. No one has returned any of my phone calls and I have been lied to from the start in order to purchase a vehicle and their driver care from them. I feel like I have been betrayed as a valuable customer and now feel that Ray Skillman does not deserve my business.

Desired Settlement: At this time I would like for Ray Skillman Ford to refund the $107 deductible because I was never given the paperwork I supposedly signed nor was I made aware of this deductible at the time the vehicle was dropped off for service. Ray Skillman Ford never gave me the option to decide rather or not I would want to spend the money I did not have on the repair of the sensor. After leaving the dealership I did contact another service department who told me that they could have replaced the same sensor for less than $107 and if I was made aware of this beforehand I would have choose the other business and not left my car with Ray Skillman Ford for this particular repair.

Business Response: *****, customer purchased vehicle, 2011 Ford Explorer, on 8/13/2013 and also purchased a 84 month / 100,000 mile ESP warranty that carries a $100.00 deductible per visit. The customer did receive a copy of the contract because the customer copy is not in her file but the dealer copy is which i have made a copy of and will fax to you. i will also be faxing to you a copy of the Indiana law that requires us to collect sales tax on deductibles. I have talked to the General Manage (**** *******) here at the dealership and he is willing to refund this customer the $107.00 that she paid here yesterday as a goodwill adjustment, but that she would be responsible for paying the deductible on future visits being that she did sign the contract.

 
Please contact me with any questions.
 
***** ********
Ray Skillman Ford
317-884-6751

9/5/2014 Delivery Issues
4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ray Skillman Ford & Southside Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart