BBB Accredited Business since

Hare Auto Group

Phone: (317) 773-1090 Fax: (317) 770-2118 View Additional Phone Numbers 2001 Stoney Creek Road, Noblesville, IN 46060 http://www.hareauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hare Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hare Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Hare Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 2008 Business started: 01/18/1847 in IN Business started locally: 07/01/1847 Business incorporated 09/01/1927 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Monica Peck, Vice President Ms. Courtney Cole, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Monica Peck, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Hare Chevrolet W. Hare & Son, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hare Auto Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2001 Stoney Creek Road

    Noblesville, IN 46060 (317) 773-1090

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle into Hare Chevrolet 8/1/15 to have a inspection for my lease and brake service. I waited about a hour and a half the service representitive came out to let me know I didnt need new brake i just needed my rotors resurfaced and a new oil pan plug. The service representitive quoted me a price. I agreed, then 11 which was about 2 and a half hours that i had been there they later tell me i need a new oil pan plug. I called the last service center i had my oil changed at and they assured me that the did not use this helix coil. Valvoline offered to send me the video footage of my last too previous oil changes and request to speak with my car dealership. Valvolibe called ne back and stated to me that the Hare service center employee told him i came in for a oil leak. I would not have driven 130 plus miles for a oil leak as i live in louisville kentucky. They service center Hare chevrolet told me they could not give me my car back unless i had it service and instructed me to purchase a rental. I have phoyos of the stripping the part that was falsely used to repair my car. I would like for one of the service center to confess to their careless error and repair my vehicle and take care of my rental fees at their expense. I had no issues with my car before this servicing.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money and rental fees paid back to me

Business Response: Customer came in 8/1/15 for an inspection and a brake concern.  After the inspection, we found that the brake rotors need to be resurfaced and a small oil leak from around the oil pan drain plug. After the estimate was approved for the brakes and the drain plug, we proceeded with repairs when the drain plug was removed we found the threads were stripped and had been repaired some where previously and the drain plug would not screw back in due to being stripped.   The only way to repair properly would be to replace the oil pan. After talking with the customer, we agreed we would fix it at no cost to her and pay for the rental car, but did explain that we did not cause this and it would have happened no matter who removed the drain plug.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******

6/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed for an auto lease where salesman, Darrell L**, promised me that my first payment would be 4/28/15 when signing on 2/28/15. When we got the paperwork from the servicer, GM Financial, we were instructed that our payment was due 3/28/15. We were induced into making the sale that day for the opportunity to "not have our first payment for 2 months"

Desired Settlement: Adjust our account to make the first payment on 4/28/15, as promised.

Business Response:

*****,

    ****** leased two vehicles at the same time. We paid their complaint for goodwill purposes on their original BBB claim. However, the payment due date is clearly

printed on the paperwork on both leases. We are declining to participate in this second claim.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Both comments made by ****** **** are patently false. Firstly, I did not lease 2 vehicles; my sister and I each leased separate vehicles. The only connection between both of these leases were the facts that we used the same sales associate and finance manager: Darrell L** and Theo E*****, and the lies they offered regarding our first payment dates. We had successfully done business with Darrell in the past and placed our trust in his assurances that the first payment was April 28, 2015. Secondly, the FIRST payment date is nowhere listed on our documentation and we have 3 witnesses for both transactions where we were promised a first payment date of April 28, 2015. Additionally, there were multiple errors and revisions on our paperwork for both my deal and my sister's and we have retained copies for our records. If the business refuses to participate in this claim we will proceed to contact the Office of the Indiana Attorney General to settle this matter.

Regards,

****** ******

5/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed for an auto lease where salesman, Darrell L**, promised me that my first payment would be 4/28/15 when signing on 2/28/15. When we got the paperwork from the servicer, GM Financial, we were instructed that our payment was due 3/28/15. We were induced into making the sale that day for the opportunity to "not have our first payment for 2 months"

Desired Settlement: Adjust our account to make the first payment on 4/28/15, as promised.

Business Response:

My name is Brian D******, and I'm the General Sales Manager at Hare Chevrolet. On 4/16/2015 I spoke to Mr. ****** about his purchase that occurred on 2/28/2015. I explained to him that with a lease contract, the first payment Is due the day of lease inception. In this case his first payment was already made 2/28, and he was informed that his second payment would be due 3/28. After our conversation he said that he would be in to speak with us for a further explanation, and we were going to call GM Financial to see about switching his payment due date. As far as the $245 he is wanting from us, it's already been paid. Thank you in advance for your help in this matter.

Best Regards,

Brian D******

General Sales Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Brian D******, to this date, has not spoken to our sales associate, Darrell L**, or returned our phone calls as requested. Darrell promised us our first payment would be April 28th when he made the sale on, February 28th. It may be worth mentioning that Darrell and Theo seemed exceptionally jumpy and overly assuring on the last day of the month; however, we trusted in the work of Darrell as we have closed on 3 other car deals with him in the past. In retrospect, we think that Darrell was taking advantage of our trust to get this deal closed.

 The $245 we are requesting indeed has already been paid by us; that is the very root of our complaint, we had to pay an extra payment of $245 on account of the lie of Darrell regarding our first payment date. It seems the lie has been covered by the ignorance of the finance manager, Theo E*****, who set up our paperwork. We first called Darrel when the letters started showing up from GM Financial alerting us to a 4/1/15 first payment date. Darrel told us “that is a finance issue” and referred us to the finance team. The finance team then said that the first payment in and always had been planned for 4/1/15. This is patently false; Darrel ultimately persuaded us to move forward with the deal because of the financial ramifications of not having our first payment until 4/28/15.

We have already paid the disputed amount to protect our credit profile as GM Financial claims our first payment was due 4/1/15 and has received nothing to the contrary from Hare Chevrolet’s finance team. Tyrone agreed with the due date told us by Darrel L**, confirming to us that our first payment would be due 4/28/15, when we signed the final paperwork. It should also be mentioned that the final paperwork drafted by Tyrone had multiple errors on important details of the contract including: the VIN, Manufacture’s Standard Warranty and failing to disclose the rate for excessive mileage. We have all the paperwork to prove this in our file, including multiple letters from GM Financial and the contract with the wrong VIN.

We are in no way satisfied with Brian’s response and will be escalating this issue by making contact with Chevrolet’s headquarters regarding the customer satisfaction survey that they made us sign under the pretense of this lie on the day of the sale. We want the $245 payment credited to our account with GM Financial; if this does not happen, we will also be reaching out to the Indiana Attorney General.


Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

   We will send a check in the amount of $245 to the customer to resolve the misunderstanding.

12/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent the following email to the owners of Hare Chevrolet, Courtney & Monica as well as Jason (GM) and the Finance Director on 12/17/14. SITUATION: We have a problem. I have tried to resolve this issue multiple times with multiple people since Friday and have NOT had any response from anyone at this point. BACKGROUND: My husband and I spoke with Reneau ******* over the phone in early November with regards to a 2012 GMC Yukon XL you had for sale. We decided on the deal and made the proper arrangements over the phone as we live in North Georgia. We made the 7.5 hour drive up to your dealership that following Saturday (November 15) to purchase the vehicle. Prior to our arrival, I had communications with Reneau via text messaging ensuring that the tax, TAGS and title fees were ALL included in our loan as GA tag fees are different. In GA - they charge a percentage of the vehicle's "worth" and then our yearly stickers are only $20. That being said, our tag fees are just over $1400 for our new Yukon. I was assured by Reneau that yes, that would all be included in the loan amount. We were also NOT made aware the large, deep gash in the right passenger side of the fender, until after we arrived. It was not described on the internet and you could not see it from the pictures, nor could you see the "spiderweb" look to the front bumper nor the two large gashes in the rear bumper - NONE of which were disclosed to us prior to our arrival. To which they only wanted to take $100 off the price of the vehicle for - even though it will cost us much more than that to have them fixed. Upon our arrival, before we signed any paperwork, I again asked Reneau about the tax, TAGS and title fees and again, he assured me everything was included, but told me to have the conversation with Theo as well. ACTION: When we sat down with Theo as we signed the paperwork, we AGAIN indicated to him that we needed to make sure that tax, TAGS, and title fees were all included in the loan and AGAIN explained how GA does their tags and how we did NOT want any "surprises" when we went to get tags that we now owed $1500-$2000 for tags. I remember very distinctly laughing about that kind of surprise with Theo. We were assured at that time by Theo that "yes, everything will be included and we will have the tag paperwork to you no later than December 6 (that is in the paperwork we signed) - that way our office had time to get everything done how GA wants it so it's done right." We were satisfied with that answer as we were told multiple times how your dealership works with people all over the country selling cars all the time and it wouldn't be an issue and he seemed very knowledgeable. On December 5, I called Reneau as I had not received my tag paperwork yet. He assured me it would get there. By Monday, I still didn't have it and again called, being told that he would ensure it got done. I called again on Tuesday as I had not heard back from anyone in your tag paperwork office. My dealership tag was set to expire on Monday, December 15. By Wednesday, I got a message from Reneau that the paperwork was being overnighted. RESULT: I received my paperwork on Thursday, December 11. I took it to my local tag office on Friday, December 12. Since there was no check for the tags in the envelope, I assumed that the dealership or Chase bank had electronically transferred the money to the tag office. Much to my surprise, that was not the case. When I called your dealership while at the tag office, I asked to speak with Lori in your tag paperwork office. Her answer to me was simply, "we don't pay for tags, you'll have to talk to someone else." I called the main number back - I was transferred to Reneau at my request, who suggested that I speak with John (GM). I called and asked for John and was told he was in a meeting. I called back and asked for another GM and was given someone named "Mike". Mike told me he didn't "broker the deal so he had no idea what was agreed upon." When I told him that Theo was the finance manager, he told me that I could speak to Theo. When I asked to be transferred to Theo, I was told he was busy. SO - I left a message asking for him to call me back ASAP. That didn't happen. I emailed Reneau twice on Friday asking for help - no response. No one called me Monday or yesterday. I called back today - and your receptionist, Jessica, that answered, when questioning who I was when I asked for a GM, after giving her my name and what my "issue" was, response was "OH, I remember you." I had to cut her off to get to a GM - which I was told that they were all in a meeting - again. I left a message for Brian ******* today around 11 am. He just returned my call at approximately 2:15 pm. I tried explaining to him all of the above, his response was simply "it wasn't in the paperwork, so we're not responsible. We didn't even charge you sales tax and you want us to include excise tax. I'm sorry - this conversation is going no where, have a nice day." I asked him if he was seriously ending the conversation without resolving my issue and he stated "Yes, there was nothing more to discuss or resolve." I explained to Brian that my husband and I were both in the room with Theo and that we ADAMANTLY discussed the GA tag issue and was called a LIAR by Brian as he told me we did not discuss or agree on that as it wasn't in the paperwork and that you all keep EVERYTHING in writing that is discussed. I have always had tax, TAGS, and title fees included in my loan and don't know anyone that doesn't. I don't have an extra $1400 laying around to pay out of pocket for my tags - HENCE why we were ADAMANT about them being included in the loan amount. At this point, with the complete lack of response that I have received and the overall feeling of "we don't care, you're out of state and no longer our problem" towards this, I am prepared to go to your local Fox 59 news to ensure that this doesn't happen to anyone else from your dealership as well as the BBB if need be. I am not threatening any of this - but just letting you know my intent if I do not get an immediate resolution to this issue which does not include that I have to fork over an extra $1400 that I don't even know where I will get it from - gosh only knows after the price we paid for this Yukon if I could get another loan to cover that amount. I do not appreciate being called a liar by anyone - especially someone that I just spent a great deal of money with. I more especially don't appreciate the lack of customer service that I am being shown. The simple fact that we were not charged sales tax has no bearing on this conversation, nor were made aware by Theo that we weren't being charged sales tax NOR is it our FAULT that we weren't charged sales tax. I don't know what your tax rate is - but since we were out of state buyers with a trade-in, we weren't responsible for paying sales tax. So I don't know if you were trying to use that as the "out" for the difference - but that, as my daddy would say, "dog don't hunt!" I would hope that for the reputation of your business, Courtney & Monica, that you both will see how serious of a mistake this is by your employees and that you would want to do everything possible to make it right by the customer. Again - this is in no way a threat, but my hope as a consumer. Thank you very much in advance for your time and attention to this issue that I was sincerely hoping we could have resolved in a manner to ensure happiness with both parties - even if someone had offered to split the cost of the tags with us due to the oversight, that would have made me somewhat happy with this entire situation and would have avoided this very lengthy and very upset email I am now forced to compose.

Desired Settlement: I did receive an emailed response from Jason ******, GM to the above email yesterday. His solution was to call Chase bank, cancel the original loan and then have the $1400 tags added to a new loan - making my loan payment higher, even though this was their mistake, not ours. They need to either pay for the cost of my tags since they messed it up or at least offer to split the $1400 cost with me. I shouldn't be penalized by having my loan now even higher because they messed up - to which NO ONE there will admit that they messed up. We accepted the damages that they didn't tell us about for the measly $100 they supposedly, knowing full and well it would cost us several hundred dollars ore more to have it corrected, took off the car price as we really do LOVE the car - this is NOT a case of buyer's remorse - I truly love my Yukon! It is everything I was looking for - minus the undisclosed damages and screwed up loan paperwork. Moreover - they have done NO real service recovery here and I was even called an actual LIAR by one of their GM's Brian *******. That was WAY out of line and completely uncalled for. I can almost tell you the conversation verbatim that my husband and I had with finance manager Theo when signing the paperwork with regards to the tags and we were so adamant it be done correctly. There has been a similar BBB complaint about Hare Chevrolet written on 11/18/14 from a buyer from Ohio - for reference.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

    There was no sales tax collected on the transaction. Georgia shows no Sales Tax according to our charts. I believe this was an excise tax. We are not responsible for the excise

tax. We offered to try and redo the paperwork to add the tax in so they could avoid having to come out of pocket. However, that option is no longer available. Had we known about the

excise tax, it would've been added in to the original loan. The payment would've been higher from the beginning. We emailed the customer multiple times regarding this issue.

We are sorry for the confusion, but the tax is the consumer's responsibility.

Sincerely,

****** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Yes, that is correct that they did offer to re-do the loan - however, the larger complaint here is that the lack of customer service I have received and the lack of the dealership to try and resolve my issue before I had to take it to the owners was terrible.  At one point, one of their GM's, Brian *******, actually called me a liar about discussing the GA tax with the finance manager Theo.  We discussed to Theo in detail at the time of signing how GA does their taxes.  While I most certainly realize that the taxes ARE my responsibility, since this was a mistake on the dealership's part, I would have hoped that they would have taken some responsibility for their mix-up and at least offered to pay for half - as now I have to come up with $1400 out of pocket, that I don't have.  They have had a total and complete disregard for great customer service and it is disheartening to me as a consumer to be so excited over a new vehicle to have them completely ruin the total experience with their lack of service. 

We drove 7.5 hours to purchase the vehicle, paid for hotel and gas up there only to find a vehicle with 3 separate cosmetic issues that were not disclosed to us prior to arrival.  We were only offered a measly $100 off of the price of the vehicle at the time of signing, knowing full and well it would cost upwards of $1000 to have them corrected.  However, we had driven such a long way and really liked the vehicle other than that and agreed to it.  Then, to be hit with the $1400 tax screw-up on their part and their disregard for the customer - it is just not acceptable.

This is the first response from the owner I have received, even though I have sent them several emails. 


Regards,

**** *****

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a care from Hare, the car had to be returned. I was harassed (being called 19 times in a one hour time frame) Inappropriate messages were left on my voicemail, and after returning the car my down payment has not been returned, nor have any phone calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I would like my down payment returned

Business Response:

This customer was approved with the stipulation that her open auto was traded or proof paid in full. She stated that it was totaled and had GAP Insurance and would produce documents that it would be paid in full.  After a couple of weeks without the documents, we began to call her, left her messages stating this information was needed ASAP for the bank to do the loan. After repeated calls, and our salesman stopped by her house, she would not respond to us or provide the documents to complete the loan, all the while, she was driving our car. She eventually brought the car back with excessive miles on it as well as kept both sets of keys thus the reason not to return her deposit.  

7/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've owned a 2009 Chevy Malibu since 2011. On 5/31 took my car up to Hare Chevy to report a problem of a strong vibration coming from the hood, which is similar to driving over speed strips when approaching a toll booth. I diagnostic test was performed and concluded a solenoid malfunction. Upon receiving this information I also received two additional recommendations of preventative maintenance (loose/leaky transmission fluid hoses, and fuel emissions). Given the price of each repair, I opted to get the solenoid repair worked on first, which occurred the following Thursday on 6/5/14. I picked up my car and still noticed the original problem of shaking as well as noticing error messages on my dash. On 6/13/14 my car would not start up and left me stranded at work. I called the dealership once they opened and explained that my car would not start and that since the repair it had been operating differently in regards to the error messages. They tow the car the same day and later conclude the computer had fried which is why I was unable to start the car and proceed to quote me a price on the repair. I waited a week to pay since I didn't have the funds for it and rented a car in the process. When I picked the car up on 6/19/14, it started but I still noticed my original issue of the vibration. Within two days I had error messages on my dash again and the car would not start again. This was on 6/22/14. I called the dealership on 6/23/14 and they took the car in for examination. I did not receive a call to know what the findings were. I had to call up there. When I did get ahold of someone, I was told that nothing was wrong with the car and that it kept starting up but they were going to keep the car overnight, drive it and put some miles on it. I said okay to that and asked that the car be driven at speeds in excess of 60mph because that is when I noticed the issue that I originally brought the car in for. I had to call up there again on 6/24/14 to be enlightened on the findings of my car. I was told again that there were no findings of any error messages and that the car had no problems starting up. I proceeded to ask about the vibrations and was told it had not been checked yet and that I would get a call later in the afternoon. I get a call two hours later stating that the vibration was due to my wheels being bent and that the other finding was a loose battery cable. Then I was asked if I wanted to get a quote on the wheels, to which I declined. I was infuriated because I paid for two separate issues of which were not what I went expecting or wanting to have fixed. The money that should have been allocated towards the repair of the wheels has been applied towards these other two repairs. I strongly believe the computer issue was a result of the engine work done that did not necessarily need to be completed at this time. I was told the reason my computer went bad is because water had got in it. I immediately saw a red flag because up until this point, I have never had any issues of this extent. I questioned how such a thing would and could happen and was told it was possibly due to corrosion over time or somehow water got on it. I was never given a specific reason and still do not know why it happened. I have taken my vehicle to this location numerous times and have never been told about any corrosion! Again, none of these issues occurred until I had the solenoid repaired. (which was not what I came to the dealership to get fixed) Today, 6/24/14, I just got my car back but I've had to call of work because of a lack of having a car. I've spent $1,015.13 in fees directly associated with this ordeal, which basically cleared out my bank accounts! It is highly frustrating that it took up to three weeks and that much money just to find out the issue I originally brought the car in for 1. was completely unrelated to what I paid for and 2. was still not fixed. The dealership, as experts, should have been able to pinpoint the issue based off of my description, which was explained the exact same way as is in this complaint. Another thing that was highly skeptical to me was the fact that I was told, "If the car not starting is a result of what we did while working on the solenoid we will take ownership of it and split the tow fee." The tow fee was indeed split and even the price of the computer repair was lowered yet, it was not their fault. Again, none of these issues occurred BEFORE I had taken my vehicle in for examination and repair. My original request was basically ignored until today, 6/24/14, when I specifically asked about it.

Desired Settlement: I am unable to fix the issue that I wanted to have fixed due to improper evaluation. I paid for the first repair in belief that I would resolve my issue of vibration as I drove the car. The second repair was made and paid for because the car would no longer function for driving, which I along with others I have explained the situation to, strongly believe was due to the engine work that was completed. My desired result would be having my original request repaired, which is the vibration that is caused by the wheels. To put this in another perspective, if someone goes in for surgery for a heart transplant but they receive a blood transfusion and breast implants instead, they are going to be highly upset and confused as to why they did not receive what they went in for. I did not receive any benefit from this situation. My car did not drive any differently and still does not and the vibrations because of the wheels are still prevalent but I did lose my money. I spent $249.13 for the solenoid repair, $572.21 for the computer repair, and $193.79 for a rental car because I did not have my car to drive. I also missed out on three days of work which is roughly $650.52 in net dollars. This means I am at a $1,600 loss just to find out my original issue is still prevalent.

Business Response: On 06/03/2014, Mr. ******s brought in his 2009 Malibu with 136,745 miles.  The customer stated the "Service Engine Soon" light was on and the vehicle misses out when above 50 MPH, seems like the engine shakes.  We diagnosed the vehicle, what gave us a code of "P0014" stating Internal Failure in the exhaust cam solenoid assembly.  The customer was quoted $225.21 to do the repairs.  He declined, so he was just charged the diagnosis fee of $49.75.

 
On 06/05/2014, Mr. ***** returned to have the repairs completed.  The exhaust cam solenoid assembly was replaced and codes were reset.  Mr. ***** was charged a total of $249.13, including tax, etc.
 
The exhaust cam solenoid fixed the issue of the vehicle "missing out" and the "engine shaking".  We never heard anything back from the customer about a "vibration not being fixed" or anything until the vehicle was towed in 8 days later and had been driven about 500 miles.  No phone call, nothing from the customer.
 
On 6/13/2014 -  137,323 on the odometer, the vehicle was towed in.  Mr. ***** stated the vehicle won't crank or start, the traction control and esc lights are coming on.  The vehicle was diagnosed with an internal failure in the electronic control module.  We removed and replaced the electronic control module assembly and reset the codes.  Mr. ***** was charged $572.12 including the tow bill of $116.00.
 
On 06/23/2014, the vehicle was towed back in with 137,398 miles on it.  Mr. ***** stated the vehicle "cranks but won't fire".  We were unable to duplicate the concern at all.  The car was having no issue starting.  The only thing we could find was a loose / corroded battery cable.  We replaced the cable and told the customer to inform us if anything happens again.  We replaced the cable at NO CHARGE to the customer and we paid for the tow bill.  
 
The customer has been charged a total of $871 for the previous 4 repairs.  We took care of one of the tow bills and replacing the battery cable at no charge.  I guess where we feel there is a miscommunication is that the customer states we never fixed his "vibration problem coming from the wheels" and we were focused on fixing the missing out and engine issues, as well as the Service Engine Soon light and what the vehicle codes were telling us as to why the Service Engine Soon light was on.  When we didn't hear back from the customer after the fix on 6/5/2014, we assumed we had fixed the vehicle.  Again, when it was towed, we fixed the vehicle.  When it was towed again, we started it right up and couldn't find anything wrong, replaced a corroded battery cable at no charge AND paid for the tow.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** *****

 

I absolutely agree with the very first paragraphed response.  As far as the exhaust cam solenoid assembly repair is concerned I can only go by the word of the dealership that the job was actually completed.  What I can confirm is that I paid $249.13.  Again, this repair was one of THREE repairs initially recommended upon inspection when the vehicle was brought in for questioning.  Yes, the shaking still existed and I did not speak upon it because I was under the impression that maybe that wouldn't go away until every recommended repair was taken care of.  I spoke to ****** directly inquiring if the quote would still hold true to price if I brought the car in at a future date.  This is a common practice of process of elimination that people tend to use because the average consumer does not have that kind of money to put towards repairs!  I was told yes I can bring it in later (which was a week later for the solenoid repair)  I intended on waiting another week for the second repair for a couple of reasons: 1.  At the time I worked six days a week at twelve hour shift intervals.  That is 72 hours per week and I was working nights.  2.  I get paid weekly, which I also addressed to ******.  So that should have signaled to him that, of course, there would be a time frame in between repairs.  To assume the issue was corrected is unwise in my opinion considering I was given a list of three repairs and had, at that point, only had ONE repair done.
 
"The exhaust cam solenoid fixed the issue of the vehicle "missing out" and the "engine shaking".  We never heard anything back from the customer about a "vibration not being fixed" or anything until the vehicle was towed in 8 days later and had been driven about 500 miles.  No phone call, nothing from the customer." -Hare Chevy
 
I disagree with this because as stated above I had been working nights for 6 days a week.  The exact mileage on my car would have been 337 miles.  I had not driven my car anywhere besides work and daycare for my son which is 6 miles from my home.  Work is 23 miles from my home.  23*2=46 (to and from work) 46*6=276miles  Daycare is 6.1 miles from my home.  6.1*2=12.2.  Daycare is open mon-friday (5 days)  12.2*5=61.  The total milage from work and daycare equal 337 miles which is a difference of 163 miles of the stated 500 miles.  So to reiterate, Hare would not have heard anything back from me until the next scheduled repair, which would have been the following thursday, the day I was paid.  Of course if the car is unable to function before then I will contact.  I need the car.
 
"On 6/13/2014 -  137,323 on the odometer, the vehicle was towed in.  Mr. ***** stated the vehicle won't crank or start, the traction control and esc lights are coming on.  The vehicle was diagnosed with an internal failure in the electronic control module.  We removed and replaced the electronic control module assembly and reset the codes.  Mr. ***** was charged $572.12 including the tow bill of $116.00." -Hare Chevy

This was NOT apart of the original three recommended repairs.  Again I cannot confirm that anything was replaced, I can only confirm that I paid $572.12.  I was also told by ****** that the tow bill would be split so I should have only paid $58 NOT $116.  
 
"On 06/23/2014, the vehicle was towed back in with 137,398 miles on it.  Mr. ***** stated the vehicle "cranks but won't fire".  We were unable to duplicate the concern at all.  The car was having no issue starting.  The only thing we could find was a loose / corroded battery cable.  We replaced the cable and told the customer to inform us if anything happens again.  We replaced the cable at NO CHARGE to the customer and wepaid for the tow bill." -Hare Chevy

This "repair" was slightly frustrating considering I was left without a car for three days.  During this time I did NOT receive any calls from Hare Chevy.  I had to call repeatedly to find out the status on my vehicle.  The car was towed from the Walmart parking lot which is less than half a mile from the dealership.  It could have been put into neutral and pushed, it was that close.  I was not even called regarding a tow amount, of which i would have declined to tow because it was literally so close to the dealership.  This was the "repair" that clued me in that a proper diagnosis had not been performed!  I brought up the issue of my car still "shaking" (which is the ONLY reason I came for repair) and was told it would be checked out but first they wanted to duplicate the car not being able to start up.  Two days later I called and was told about the battery cable replacement.  I said okay, what about the shaking when the car reaches over 50mph.  I was told that had still not been checked on and that I would receive a call later that after noon.  This was roughly at 2pm when I was told that.  I get a call around 5pm stating that the wheels were bent and that was the reason for the shaking, was asked if I wanted a quote on the repairs and I declined because I have already spent $871 in repairs I did NOT want.  Other than the shaking from the wheels, my car has driven the exact same as it had been driving since I bought it in 2011!

The main problem is this,  why would I need to pay $871 BEFORE a proper diagnosis was taken?  The only time the car had been tested for the "shaking" is when I specifically told them to drive the car at speeds up to and passed 50mph.  I'm not the expert in this situation but if someone says they have an issue with the car at certain speeds, would you not need to duplicate the situation in order to gather a proper analysis?  I have a small understanding of machinery and recognize there can be more than one issue, however, you can rate them from major to minor with major being something that needs high priority.  
I even stated when I FIRST brought the car in that the car was not driving abnormally besides the shaking that seemed to come from the engine.

"The customer has been charged a total of $871 for the previous 4 repairs.  We took care of one of the tow bills and replacing the battery cable at no charge.  I guess where we feel there is a miscommunication is that the customer states we never fixed his "vibration problem coming from the wheels" and we were focused on fixing the missing out and engine issues, as well as the Service Engine Soon light and what the vehicle codes were telling us as to why the Service Engine Soon light was on.  When we didn't hear back from the customer after the fix on 6/5/2014, we assumed we had fixed the vehicle.  Again, when it was towed, we fixed the vehicle.  When it was towed again, we started it right up and couldn't find anything wrong, replaced a corroded battery cable at no charge AND paid for the tow." -Hare Chevy  

I'm confused, I should have only paid for TWO repairs (the solenoid and the fried computer) Please tell me what the other two repairs are that I paid for and provide an invoice that shows the pricing for parts and labor.  It is wrong that the issue I wanted fixed was not fixed.  You, Hare Chevy, said in plain bold words that you completely disregarded my request.  "we were focused on fixing the missing out and engine issues, as well as the Service Engine Soon light and what the vehicle codes were telling us as to why the Service Engine Soon light was on." (Hare Chevy)
I do not know how to further explain that I brought the car in for the shaking issue.  I will restate that the car drove normal besides the shaking. I will restate that while under the impression that the vehicle needed three repairs done for the shaking to cease that I was in belief the problem still would exist until such repairs were completed. 
As experts in car repairs, why is it assumed that a problem is fixed when only ONE of THREE repairs have been made?  Why are customers issues not being properly addressed and communicated?  Why do the customers have to pay a substantial amount of money before a proper diagnosis is performed to isolate the malfunction addressed by the customer?  

Business Response:

There has been 4 service visits, the original one for the diagnosis, the second visit was for the replacement for the cam shaft actuators, the third visit was for replacement of the electronic control module, (these three invoices are ones that the customer has paid for) and the fourth invoice for the tow and the replacement of the battery cables we, Hare Chevrolet, took care of the cost.

Back on June 3 that was the only time that the customer has ever said anything about engine shaking/car shaking. We were under the impression that with the drivability concern with the engine missing out and engine shaking was all one concern considering the fact that the check engine light was on and the car was  running poorly.  We have on file that on 6/3 the customer concern was that the "check engine light is on and the vehicle misses out when above 50 mph seems like engine shakes, check and advise".  We were not aware that there were any addition issues that the customer had at that time. The vehicle came back on 6/5, 6/7/, 6/13 and there was never any mention of there being any issues with the car vibrating, until 6/23 when the customer picked the vehicle up from us for replacing the battery cables. The customer has signed off on all repair work that has been completed and has never said anything to the service advisor about additional concerns. As part of our 27 point safety inspection, we noticed that the tires on the vehicle were extremely warn and needed replaced, so as a courtesy we had one of our GM technicians inspect the car upon the advisors request and found that the vehicle needed 4 new tires, 3 wheels, and realigned for a total of $1150.85. When the service advisor told the customer that this is what his car needed, the customer told us that he did not have the money to fix this.

We have advised the customer of the repairs that were needed at the time of service, but unfortunately with the mileage and age of the vehicle it is unclear of what may happen with the vehicle in the future.

5/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service