Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

H E McGonigal Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (765) 459-0381 1220 E Boulevard, Kokomo, IN 46902 http://www.mcgonigal.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H E McGonigal Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for H E McGonigal Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on H E McGonigal Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2008 Business started: 01/19/1928 in IN Business incorporated 09/28/1928 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rex A Gingerich, President Ms. Lisa Birkhimer, Vice President Ms. Debra Butcher, Executive Assistant Ms. Amanda Jollisse, Marketing Director Ms. Melissa Soper, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rex A Gingerich, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Melissa Soper, Controller
Related Businesses
Button Motors, Inc. Twin City Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
Buying A Used Vehicle Contracts

Additional Locations

  • 1220 E Boulevard

    Kokomo, IN 46902 (765) 459-0381

  • PO Box 3066

    Kokomo, IN 46904

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2003 Cadillac DHS from McGonigal at the end of 2012. I bought the car there because of their Warranty Forever which provides coverage for the major power train portions of the car as long as maintenance is kept up. One requirement for the warranty forever is that oil changes be made by McGonigal or an otherwise pre-approved business. Another requirement is that tune-ups be made at scheduled times as well. When I went in for my most recent oil change (Wed. June 25th), it was seen that a previously known oil leak had gotten so bad that it would need that the engine would need a total reseal. I was told this would be covered under the Warranty Forever. I was ask to bring it in Monday June 30th at 8 a.m. Though I called to check on the progress on my car within a couple of days, no report was able to be given because the technician assigned to my car that day was not in. I was told I would receive a call the next day with an update. I did not receive a call until Monday, July 7th, at which time I was informed that nothing had been done to my car yet and that it was just discovered that day that Warranty Forever would not cover my car because I was over due (about 9,900 miles) for a tune-up, which was accurate. While I understand that I disqualified myself from the Warranty Forever and that getting the tune up done on time was my responsibility (with no help from the experts that regularly took care of my car otherwise), my complaint center's around the timing of when the first oil leak was spotted. The oil leak was spotted at least 8 months prior to it become as severe as it was. When it was first spotted I was told that it was something that would be covered by the Warranty Forever and that they would keep an eye on it for me. I would ask about the oil leak when I brought the car into be serviced. Once I was told that it was leaking no more then the "typical North Star." Another time, I told the technicians that I had to put 4-5 quarts of oil in the engine before coming into get the oil changed. They never said that the engine needed to be resealed until after I had missed the tune-up which voided the Warranty Forever. While I do not believe this was on purpose, a reseal should have been offered for my engine months and miles earlier. According to service manager Kevin Polland, whom I talked to (after the fact) in regards to this complaint, McGonigal recommends reseals when leaks are found. This was never done for me. Nor was the leak "kept an eye on" as I was told it would be. I am not a car expert or even a novice. I am not mechanically inclined. I trusted McGonigal service department to do what they told me they would do and they did not do it. Now I face a $3,500 repair job (they did offer me a discount of $1,000 to lower it to $2,500). Moreover, I am upset that they had not problem telling me it was time to purchase a new cabin air filter a few months after I purchased the vehicle but they could not tell me when it was time for a tune-up, even though they keep all the records and such on the cars they work on. Also, I never received a hard copy of the owner's manual. I only received a link to an online version which was only successful in pulling up the manual once. Please note that the dates listed on the next page are approximate.

Desired Settlement: I want my car repaired at no cost to me.

Business Response:

The Warranty Forever Service Contract Company operates under the same guidelines as the manufacturer to determine the appropriate time to repair a leak. There are a few conditions that occur before a repair is diagnosed as a leak. If there were a broken component or line that causes an immediate fluid loss it would be fixed at the time of initial concern. If there is a gasket type of leak it typically begins as a seep, most all engines especially vehicles with higher mileage have one or more seeps that are considered normal. The process to determine if it is an actual leak is to clean off the area and continue to monitor it at each service interval. If the fluid begins to run down the side of the component in which it's located and drips on the ground it is then considered a leak.

Warranty Forever sends an adjuster to inspect reported leaks such as engine reseals to validate repairs similar to insurance companies in the collision repair business. Before we can submit an engine reseal claim we have to follow the process as described above; therefore we were required to monitor the seep and determine that it was going to actually develop into a leak. If we call a Warranty Forever Adjuster in for inspection before the leak diagnosis process has been followed the coverage will be denied.

In reference to the adding of oil between service intervals; GM has documented that one quart of oil consumption for every two thousand miles is normal. The North star engine has exhibited some characteristics of oil consumption as it gets later in its life cycle; the vehicles use of oil in itself does not determine the diagnosis of an external leak.

You

 

 

Tube

DealerRater

 

 

 

 

 

 

2

 

Because this vehicle no longer has coverage under the Warranty Forever Program we have offered to absorb $1,000.00 of this repair as customer goodwill. If you have any further questions please contact me at the number below or I can be reached via email at ************@mcgonigal.com.

*** ******** Service Director H. E. McGonigal Buick Cadillac GMC Button ChryslerJeep Dodge Ram 765-459-0381

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on H E McGonigal Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)