BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Indiana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eastgate Auto, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eastgate Auto, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Eastgate Auto, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 24, 2008 Business started: 01/21/1975 in IN Business incorporated: 01/27/1975 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Theresa Kraft, President Ms. Kathleen Stegmann, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Theresa Kraft, President
Related Businesses
Eastgate Auto, Inc. Westgate Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
As Is Vehicle Purchasing Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 500 N Shadeland Avenue

    Indianapolis, IN 46219 (317) 352-9361

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 351-9361(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Mon. I had my Jeep towed to dealership. When the towing co. picked up my vehicle, IT STARTED & he was able to drive it onto his flat bed. When he dropped it off at dealership, IT STARTED & he was able to drive it off of his flat bed & into dealership parking lot.The engine light was on so I had it towed to dealership to be tested on the diagnostic machine******** ***** was service employee. I went in yesterday & asked for a printed result of the diagnostic test. He told me that there was no print out & gave me a handwritten paper. I also brought it in for a safety recall to inspect & install a trailer hitch due to problems w/fuel tank having a chance of experiencing fuel leaks & Mr. ***** said this service was completed.On 9/25/14 I brought my vehicle in for an oil change. My engine light was on then & service employee (** *****) advised me to change my gas cap. I purchased a new gas cap there & Mr. ***** changed it for me.At the time of my oil change, no one ever said I had any problems w/oil, oil leaks, sludge, etc. When I brought my Jeep home last night, there was no oil in my vehicle & the engine is completely locked.When the same towing service picked up my vehicle the very next day from dealership, it WOULD NOT start & the engine is now COMPLETELY LOCKED. When the towing service dropped my Jeep off at my home, it WOULD NOT start & the engine is COMPLETELY LOCKED & there is NO OIL in my vehicle.The towing service will testify to this.I do understand that my Jeep had serious issues that needed to be addressed but now after bringing it to dealership, it is beyond repair.Mr. ***** had also mentioned that I may need to scrap my vehicle. What better place to tell me I need a new car than at a car lot?

Desired Settlement: I want my Jeep to be repaired. I do not want to scrap my Jeep. My husband has contacted the service department and received a hostile response. I sent an email to District Manager ***** ******* and received no response.

Business Response: I apologize, but I was under the impression that this matter had been solved. I will check into this, but Mrs. ******* says she has never heard back from me, but here is the email where it clearly shows that she talked with ***** ******* on that matter. I tried to come to a solution with her, but was told she was letting her "husband deal with it". I will see what we can do to resolve the issue, however this was a vehicle in dire straits prior to it coming to Eastgate.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been having both of my vehicles serviced here for several years. Recently I began to hear some grinding on my Dodge Dakota when I applied the brakes so I took it into a local ******* Brake shop and was appalled at what I discovered - brake pads wore down to nothing, which had ruined the rotors - an $800 repair. There had not been any warning sound that the break pads were low. What I am complaining about in regards to Eastgate is that they have been the one's doing the maintenance on my truck for the past several years, and I have invoices from this year and last year when they did extensive maintenance work in which they should have noticed and alerted me that the break pads were severely in need of being replaced. The service done in 2013 was supposed to be a complete inspection and repair of anything that was needed. It was at 150,000 miles and I told them to look over everything and that I wanted all systems evaluated for any necessary repairs. That means they should have checked the brake system, which I assumed that they did and found it to be fine, since no recommendation was made for brake work. At the service visit earlier this year they flushed the breaks, which should have required them to pull the wheel, and yet nothing was mentioned about needing brake pads. It should be noted that from the service visit in 2013 until now I have only put 5,000 miles on the truck, so with the brake pads worn down to nothing today, they should have shown up as significantly low at the last couple of service visits. I went into the dealership and spoke with the service manager, ******** ******, and he acknowledged that the pads should have been noticed and doesn't know why they weren't, but he offered no compensation of any kind. I think they should at least compensate me for the rotors that had to be replaced, since that wouldn't have been necessary had they done their job earlier. I take my vehicles to the dealer thinking they will receive top notch maintenance and I have assumed that everything that needs to be watched and inspected and and maintained and repaired, etc., is being done.

Desired Settlement: At no point in the conversation with the service manager, ******** ******, did he apologize - even though he acknowledged that the technician should have caught the low brake pad - nor did he offer any kind of rectification. I think they should compensate me for the expense of the rotors, which was over $400.00, and that doesn't even address the labor, which was over $200.00. I can provide documentation for the breakdown in service at Eastgate and well as the invoice for the recent repair at *******.

Business Response: Eastgate Chrysler would like to say we apologize for any misunderstanding in this particular matter. As everyone is aware; we are in the business of servicing vehicles as well as helping with any maintenance at the customers request. According to all of the info that we have, there are no documents containing any request for any type of brake job, nor "full vehicle inspection". The only documented requests that are specified are "customer states something is hanging up in the wheel when turning left" and "the a/c blows warm, heard a pop noise when first using, thinks it's electrical.". Those two items are all that were asked to be looked at with our service department changing the oil and a brake flush. Neither of these would have required any maintenance tech to remove tires and inspect for brake work. We would have loved the opportunity to help in this particular matter however, this was never requested. We serviced all concerns that Mr. and Mrs. ******* requested. Again, we would have loved the opportunity for the work, but it was never requested and we are not at liberty to do any non requested work. Again Eastgate values every single customer and would have loved to have had the priviledge of working on Mr. and Mrs. *******'s brake concern, however this was never brought to our attention until a later date when it was too late to have the opportunity. Again we would have loved to have had the opportunity and hope we can continue our relationship going forward. Thank you so much for your time.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response does not address the claims that I made in my complaint:

1) Their response says nothing of the service done in 2013 in which the whole reason for taking the truck in was that it was at 150,000 and I told them that I wanted every system checked to make sure everything was operating correctly and not in need of maintenance or repair.  Of all things, why would they not have checked the brakes?!   Because I asked them to check everything I assumed that they checked the brakes and determined nothing was needed, which in hind sight, given that there was virtually no pad left on the breaks 5,000 miles later, obviously they did not do.

2) In reference to the service that they did cite in their response (the service done earlier this year), now they are changing their story.  ******** ******, the service manager, specifically told me that flushing the brake system should have required the technician to remove the wheels, in which case he should have noticed the severe wear on the brake pads and alerted me.  This is very neglectful and, as stated before, resulted in the brakes digging into the rotors.

So, the request to inspect everything in 2013, which would, of course, include the brakes, and the flushing of the brake system earlier this year, which would have required the technician to pull the wheel as the service manager stated - both should have revealed the need for new brake pads. The negligence in not doing so cost me to have to get new rotors.  I don't do my own maintenance work; I trust my vehicle to the service department to make sure everything is maintained - but obviously that trust was misplaced.  As I stated in my original complaint, I think they should compensate me $400 to help cover the cost of having the rotors replaced.  

After a person has service done with them, a recorded message is phoned to the person asking if they are satisfied with the service.  This is an opportunity to show that that message is more than a nice gesture.

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Business Response:

I am respoding to the complaint filed by Mr. ***** *******.  ID.#********.  We issued a check to cover his $400 request. This was done as a way to continue doing business with Mr. ******* and move on from this.

***** *******

Eastgate Chrysler Jeep Dodge

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and this solution is acceptable to me.  In fact, the new general manager of Eastgate, ****** *******, called me personally to tell me what they would do to resolve the issue and that he hopes I will continue to do business with them.  I have today received the check for $400 that he promised, and I am very grateful for Mr. ********s integrity in making this right.  If his attitude and action is indicative of how they will do business going forward I will certainly continue to take my vehicles there.

I consider this complaint now addressed in full and the case may be closed.

Best Regards,

***** *******

 

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues