Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eastgate Auto, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Eastgate Auto, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 2008 Business started: 01/21/1975 in IN Business incorporated 01/27/1975 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Theresa Kraft, President Ms. Kathleen Stegmann, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Theresa Kraft, President
Related Businesses
Westgate Chrysler JEEP Dodge, Inc.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Eastgate Chryslet JEEP Dodge Ram
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Eastgate Auto, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 500 N Shadeland Avenue

    Indianapolis, IN 46219 (317) 352-9361


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. This is the 4th year in a row that I have taken my vehicle to Eastgate Chrysler Dodge Jeep (“Eastgate”) for repairs to the air conditioning for its failure to function. I have enclosed copies of their receipts and invoices totaling more than $3700.00 in repairs to date; 2. In July of 2015, supposedly a new compressor was installed in my vehicle; 3. In May of this year, 2016, the first time I turned on the air conditioning in my car, no cool air blew at all. We immediately took it in to Eastgate for repairs yet again because it was still under the warranty for the compressor installed in July of 2015; 4. We picked my vehicle up on June 29, 2016 and took it back today, July 19, as the air conditioning is not working, again.

Desired Settlement: I request that you perform an independent investigation of the repairs that Eastgate is performing on my vehicle. I do not believe that they are performing correct repairs or not making repairs at all, they are using after-market parts or not making the replacements they are saying that they are. Something is not being done correctly. I can’t believe that a vehicle has to be taken in for air conditioning repairs 4 years in a row, especially in light of a new compressor being installed.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint filed by ******* *****, I am enclosing documentation supporting the recent repair history referred to in the complaint.

All repairs made have been performed with MOPAR parts designed fro Mr. *****'s vehicle by a  Chrysler trained mechanic. The technician's time working on the vehicle is documented on the enclosed repair orders for repair order ****** and ******. The third repair (repair order ******) was performed by the shop foreman and was simply a reprogramming of the computer so no technician time was punched.

The repairs performed were reviewed by the customer's service contract company before they issued payment for the repairs and they gave no indication of any concerns with the repairs that have been made.

As of this time, the vehicle is back in or service department so we can continue to work on a fix for the customer's concern. I talked to Mrs. ***** today and she is aware of the current state of repairs. We will continue to work on her vehicle until we are able to find the cause of the problem and get it fixed. Our goal is to make sure Mrs. *****'s vehicle is performing to the specifications to which it was designed and Mrs. ***** is happy with her vehicle.

Please let me know if you have any questions.


Kent G*****

General Manager

Consumer Response: Eastgate is working with me, however, the problem is still not resolved. At this point they have had my vehicle for 2 weeks and we are still back to square one. They do not know why my vehicle is not working correctly. They are having the same issues with it that I am having. Mr. G***** has finally gotten involved and he is working with me. Dealing with the service department got me no where and they were unresponsive. While I agree that he is working with me and I accept that response, my vehicle is still not properly repaired after 2 weeks.

7/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After the service dept has had my Liberty since June 17, and it has previously been in several times for the same issue (check engine warning light), I am currently (as of today, June 28) waiting for a call back from the service advisor (since Thurs 6-23), service manager (since Fri 6-24) and the dealership general manager (since Mon,6-27). Communications and Customer Service are non-existent from this dealership!!! I will be contacting Fiat/Chrysler next!

Desired Settlement: I want a status update, estimate of repair costs and completion date. I will also expect some negotiations and monetary consideration for my frustration and inconvenience.

Business Response:

Eastgate has since been in contact with Ms. ******. The general manager, Reese M******, has had conversation with Ms. ****** and apologized for the inconvenience. We are dealing with a parts back order and there was a communication issue. We have resolved most of this and are in the process of fixing the 2003 Jeep. Reese M****** apologized for the lack of communication on Eastgate's part and we are making sure to keep Ms. ****** updated on the vehicle's return to her.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the voices business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was promised delivery/completion of repair(s) and service Friday, July1. As business closing time approached, I called to speak with the service advisor and was told she was gone for the day. The person I spoke with checked and told me my Jeep was ready for me to pick up. They were completing paperwork on it.

When I got to Eastgate, I had to wait again (another 30 minutes approximately) before my invoice ($742) was completed so I could pay and take my vehicle.

Drove home less than 10 miles

Drove to drug store and farmers market then back home Saturday morning less than 5 miles

Drove to library in Greenfield Sat. afternoon  approximately 10 miles

During the return trip home from Greenfield, pproximately 5 miles, the CHECK ENGINE warning light came on AGAIN !!!

After 2 weeks, some of the worst communications and poor customer service I have ever experienced,  I paid $742+ and the problem on theJeep persists!



****** ******

Business Response:

I will gladly work with Mrs. ****** to try resolve any issues she has. This is not a problem. We will be in contact as of today 7/5/16. Thank you.



Reese M******

General Manger Eastgate Chrysler.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution MIGHT be satisfactory to me. They have my Jeep again for another week , but they have provided a loaner vehicle while trying to resolve the issue. And communication has improved except I have not gotten an update since Fri, July 8.


****** ******

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 Dodge Challenger from Eastgate Auto August 4 2015 and two weeks later the check engine light came on. Service had my car for a week and car is still not fixed yet. I was provided a loaner car but having my car a week and telling me it still would not be fixed and parts are not available is unacceptable when I haven't had the car for a month. I was told by Brian that me my mother and my 1 year old nephew had to find a way home since I wanted a loaner that was a Challenger which I put 3000.00 dollars for. When I told Joe in service I'd be contacting the BBB he told me he didn't care. This is the worst service I've ever had and now I'm paying for a car that is still not fixed. I can't believe how men could get over on a hard women working and take what she had saved for and provide a bad car. If I was a man I'd probably have a working car. This who situation has been awful.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed in a timely manner even though timely manner has passed or the same make and model car at equal value.

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a check for $649.32 on July 6, 2015. I purchased a Jeep through Eastgate and put $4,000 down and $1,000 went towards the vehicle and $3,000 went toward the extended warranty. I did not have the jeep thirty dollars or made a payment on it. So I am wanting to know what happened to my remainder which would be $2,350.68 that I am still owed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my remainder of $2,350.68 that is still owed to me.

Consumer Response: Yes this is for the unused portion of a extended warranty and the vehicle was purchased on 04/24/2015

Business Response:

In reference to Ms. ******** complaint....the reimbursement that she received came directly from Eastgate Chrysler for the money she spent that was not covered under her extended service contract. I personally made sure she was reimbursed due to the fact that she only had the vehicle for a short amount of time and had to spend money not covered under her service contract. The service contract was then cancelled by Ms. ******* and because there is currently a loan on said vehicle, the lien holder gets the prorated amount back to them. That amount comes off of what she currently owes the lending institution. Ms. ******** down payment was applied to her total amount financed; lessening the amount that her payments would be on a month to month basis. The only way you can determine what portion of a down payment is applied to any individual product purchased during an automobile transaction, would be to pay for that product separate from the amount that you intend to have financed. Eastgate is sorry for any misunderstanding on this matter, but Ms. ******* can definitely give her lending institution a call to verify that her amount financed has been lessend. Thank you for your time on this matter.

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please be advised the following is a letter I wrote to the Chrysler Corporation of which outlines my complaint please read and enter it in as my complaint.Dear Sir; My name is ***** ** ***** and I have a huge problem. I took my 2006 Chrysler 300 Vin. #***************** with 86458 actual miles to East Gate Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge in Indianapolis, Indiana to have it checked out as it was found on a previous examination during a routine oil change that the 3rd cylinder was miss firing. They assured me it would not be any great expense as I have taken the car to them on numerous occasions for routine maintenance. I wrote to you before stating: I regret that I must resort to trying to resolve this issue by contacting you however all efforts at the lower levels have failed. I am well aware that normally you would pass this on to another for attention but i pray you will take a moment and please read my complaint.I bought a 2006 Chrysler 300 one owner car and even opt to purchase the owner Edge warranty. The car's third cylinder was missing and I took it in for repair and that was the biggest mistake of my life. The service representative started in right away telling me that I would be charged for every single thing they did. Thus far they have charged me three times for a diagnostics at the rate of $92.00 X 3 then went on to charge me for an alleged coolant leak, There is none. $73.00 labor $286.00 for 1.8 hrs labor, $142.00 to remove upper intake,Windshield wipers $26.00, not authorized just replaced myself. Lower intake gasket 1.5 hr. $222.30 and then wanted to put new tires on it. They called me several times a day telling me that I needed more and more. I had my attorney/mechanic talk to them and all they did was try to make him look silly at which time he suggested I submit a bad review, write the BBB of Indiana and try and contact you. My relatives all retired from Chrysler and I have always bought and driven them since 1956. So why am I treated like an idiot. This is a discriminatory act against my female gender and my age thinking I am old and don't know any better. All I would like is my car back in good running working condition yet they have raised the price so high it is almost impossible for me tom do so. These individuals are representatives of Chrysler and as such you are responsible for their actions.(Technician: 7460 Debro Xavier, Service Adviser: 736 William S**** repair order 229342 tag T8912) If nothing else at least correct the attitudes of your employees. Me and my family are done with Chrysler and I will be an advocate for spreading the word as to what they have and are doing to me due to my gender and age. Since such time someone contacted me and assured me all was remedied and it is most certainly not so I talked to the service manager Mr. M******* and told him all I wanted done was the motor fixed and nothing else. At that time he stated that the bill would be significantly lower. he quoted me a price of $00 and some odd dollars and I asked if that included spark plugs and he surprisingly stated no it did not. In order to fix number three from missing the upper intake manifold had to be taken off just as though you were doing a tune up as the plugs are directly under such. So it would make since to replace the plugs at the self same time as you replace the injector. Mr. M******* quoted me a price of just over $600. 00 and I told him to proceed. I just got off the phone from the self same hateful individual from before and was told the car was indeed done and the bill was back to $1160.73. I told him that was not the price agreed upon when the authorization was given to have the work completed. He said well the car has been done and is waiting to be picked up and stated he would call me back to which he has not done. This dealer of yours is the most double dealing back stabbing place I have ever seen. I have talked to my relatives some whom have retired from Chrysler and I can assure you we will never ever purchase or deal with such ever again.This is not the Chrysler we all use to love and own. This is a hateful and despicable version. Sir please fix your dealers before you lose a lot more business because of such a practice as these.***** ***** ********.*****

Desired Settlement: I only desire that Eastgate Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram do as they are supposed to do and quit trying to take advantage of females and the elderly. If you would look at the estimate they wanted to put on windshield wipers that I just put on at a cost of $26.00 excuse me. As I wrote in the letter I agreed to let them repair the car at a specific price of just over $600.00 and now they tell me it is back at $1160.73. WHAT? Someone needs to put a halt to these discriminatory actions and the lies. Ple.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

Thank you for your time in reaching out to us on this matter. I have researched the complaint and found that some of the complaint issues are inconsistent with the facts. Mr. S**** (advising service writer)  communicated with Ms. ***** that there were a myriad of things wrong with her vehicle. Ms. ***** did not want most of the things done that we found wrong with her vehicle. The estimate of the work was roughly $1152. Ms. ***** and Service Manager M******* Wilson communicated and decided that she did not want all of the found items done. From that conversation, they were able to get the bill down to shown amount in the PDF file above of $700. Mr* ********, who had been advising Ms. *****, told our Service Manager to do the work of $700. We aren't able to take any 3rd party authorization from anyone, so M******* asked who he was in relation to Ms. ***** and he immediately handed Ms. ***** the phone. She communicated with her advisor and authorized the amount as well. So unfortunately, we never charged any amount of $1100  or so to Ms. *****. I apologize for the misunderstanding in this matter, however we did not discriminate nor did we treat anyone unfairly. I apologize for the time and resources that the BBB has had to use in this matter. We are more that open to have future dialogue concerning this matter if necessary.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]


***** ***** ;

                    Please be advised that it was the attitude and constant telephone calls from Mr. S**** that prompted all actions. We i.e. Mr* ******** Esq. and I did authorize the repairs noted AS THOSE WERE THE MATTERS THAT NEEDED TO BE ADDRESSED. The fact that I had just had the windshield wipers replaced and showed the receipt to Mr. S**** and for him to still keep pressing me to have them changed for $26.00, (see previously sent document) and also the tires were NOT the issues for which I brought the car to them. They were to address the miss firing or malfunction of the 3rd cylinder and get the car back to operating as if I had just bought it. I nor Mr* ******** should of had to involve yourselves or Mr. M*******. The repairs should have been done and a thank you would have ensued and all be fine. While it is a companies duties to illicit business and to point out need repairs that may or may not be known to the owner of a said vehicle those needed repairs should be of an urgent must do case not wiper blades or the pointing out tires LOOK like they need addressing. To constantly badger me about them and to be rude over the phone is not acceptable and in lies the issue. The car in fact was repaired and the bill paid in full. This will be the end of myself and/or my family communication or business with any and all Chrysler products.

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put $4,000 down on a 2013 jeep grand Cherokee overland on 04/24/2015. The issues that I am having are about contract, repair, and sales issue. The vehicle was not thoroughly checked out like it should have been. I believe I was sold a lemon. The vehicle was taken in on 5/5/2015 to have the brakes fixed because of vibration. I took the vehicle back on 5/11/2015 because of the rearview camera in the vehicle not working. The service man was very disrespectful he went on to tell me because I asked for clarification that he did not say I had to pay out of pocket $500 for the rearview camera to be fixed. I needed to wait until 30 days was up and then pay $100 deductible and he did not know what was included in my warranty. I let the manager know and the other manager said things happen. $3,000 of my money went to a extended warranty I did not asked for. The salesman Kurt told me the vehicle came with 100,000 mile warranty. The dealer put in a extended warranty without my permission. Now that I want to cancel which is my right Paula whom I spoke with on 5/12/2015 claims that $3,000 goes to the bank. I spoke with a lady name Judy W**** on 5/12/2015 before Paula called and she stated it would be no problem in canceling the extended warranty. And the manager said the check would just take 6 weeks to receive. I needed to wait until Kurt came in to talk with the finance manager to cancel the extended warranty. I will not in the future obtain another vehicle from this dealership.

Desired Settlement: My desired settlement description is that they refund me my $3,000 and canceled the extended warranty that I have requested.

Business Response:

We were more than happy to accommodate Ms. ******* with her vehicle issues. When the sales manager got involved and took care of repairing the brakes at no cost, we told Ms. ******* that she would need to pay the $100 deductible that her warranty called for. She got upset and walked out on our sales manager, who was more than willing to help. Ms. ******* signed for the extended warranty at her own discretion. She has to sign 4 documents for said warranty. The problem comes in that the warranty takes 30 days to be put into effect with the company that underwrites the warranty. She did not like our answer to how we had to handle that, but we were more than accommodating in our approach to helping her until the warranty went into effect. We are still very much happy to help Ms. ******* with her vehicle issues, but we would like to sit down and talk in a respectful and reasonable manner. I will reach out to Ms. ******* and see if I can help any further.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and I have spoken with the General Manager. And he had someone come and get my vehicle as well as said that it would be repaired at no cost to me. And has given me the form to sign to cancel the extended warranty for my $3,000 to be refunded to me.


***** *******

5/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went on there website to look at cars, one car that I found I watched for a couple of days and decided to schedule test drive. Talk to employee via chat and schedule, noticed after I had schedule appointment car jumped in price by 4000.00. Went ahead and visit and asked about it and they said it was computer error and the price I saw was wrong and would not honor. Later that night went to True Car website and noticed that same car for the original price I saw it for. Went ahead and locked in price through True Car and they still will not honor price. I can see error on there website but a totally different website had the original price I saw. Once I locked in price it is suppose to be guarantee. I feel like they should honor price it's not my fault Eastgate doesn't know how to work a site.

Desired Settlement: Feel like Eastgate should honor original price that I had locked into with True Car. Eastgate advertisement was for 15750.00

Business Response: Unfortunately our prices feed from a website that manages our inventory. There was a computer glitch that caused the prices to drop way below what we owned the car for. The fix takes a while to feed into all the other sites that we list our prices on. Those sites being,, Autotrader, Lotlinx and, TrueCar. We always try our best to accommodate each customer, but unfortunately we cannot sell anything for $10000 less or $4000 less than we own it for. It was an honest mistake done thru our hub and we cannot control that. It is still up to our discretion to sell vehicles to whomever and always have disclaimers on our site for different things that may pop up. We had an issue that we could not help. 

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Mon. I had my Jeep towed to dealership. When the towing co. picked up my vehicle, IT STARTED & he was able to drive it onto his flat bed. When he dropped it off at dealership, IT STARTED & he was able to drive it off of his flat bed & into dealership parking lot.The engine light was on so I had it towed to dealership to be tested on the diagnostic machine******** ***** was service employee. I went in yesterday & asked for a printed result of the diagnostic test. He told me that there was no print out & gave me a handwritten paper. I also brought it in for a safety recall to inspect & install a trailer hitch due to problems w/fuel tank having a chance of experiencing fuel leaks & Mr. ***** said this service was completed.On 9/25/14 I brought my vehicle in for an oil change. My engine light was on then & service employee (** *****) advised me to change my gas cap. I purchased a new gas cap there & Mr. ***** changed it for me.At the time of my oil change, no one ever said I had any problems w/oil, oil leaks, sludge, etc. When I brought my Jeep home last night, there was no oil in my vehicle & the engine is completely locked.When the same towing service picked up my vehicle the very next day from dealership, it WOULD NOT start & the engine is now COMPLETELY LOCKED. When the towing service dropped my Jeep off at my home, it WOULD NOT start & the engine is COMPLETELY LOCKED & there is NO OIL in my vehicle.The towing service will testify to this.I do understand that my Jeep had serious issues that needed to be addressed but now after bringing it to dealership, it is beyond repair.Mr. ***** had also mentioned that I may need to scrap my vehicle. What better place to tell me I need a new car than at a car lot?

Desired Settlement: I want my Jeep to be repaired. I do not want to scrap my Jeep. My husband has contacted the service department and received a hostile response. I sent an email to District Manager ***** ******* and received no response.

Business Response: I apologize, but I was under the impression that this matter had been solved. I will check into this, but Mrs. ******* says she has never heard back from me, but here is the email where it clearly shows that she talked with ***** ******* on that matter. I tried to come to a solution with her, but was told she was letting her "husband deal with it". I will see what we can do to resolve the issue, however this was a vehicle in dire straits prior to it coming to Eastgate.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


****** ******

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been having both of my vehicles serviced here for several years. Recently I began to hear some grinding on my Dodge Dakota when I applied the brakes so I took it into a local ******* Brake shop and was appalled at what I discovered - brake pads wore down to nothing, which had ruined the rotors - an $800 repair. There had not been any warning sound that the break pads were low. What I am complaining about in regards to Eastgate is that they have been the one's doing the maintenance on my truck for the past several years, and I have invoices from this year and last year when they did extensive maintenance work in which they should have noticed and alerted me that the break pads were severely in need of being replaced. The service done in 2013 was supposed to be a complete inspection and repair of anything that was needed. It was at 150,000 miles and I told them to look over everything and that I wanted all systems evaluated for any necessary repairs. That means they should have checked the brake system, which I assumed that they did and found it to be fine, since no recommendation was made for brake work. At the service visit earlier this year they flushed the breaks, which should have required them to pull the wheel, and yet nothing was mentioned about needing brake pads. It should be noted that from the service visit in 2013 until now I have only put 5,000 miles on the truck, so with the brake pads worn down to nothing today, they should have shown up as significantly low at the last couple of service visits. I went into the dealership and spoke with the service manager, ******** ******, and he acknowledged that the pads should have been noticed and doesn't know why they weren't, but he offered no compensation of any kind. I think they should at least compensate me for the rotors that had to be replaced, since that wouldn't have been necessary had they done their job earlier. I take my vehicles to the dealer thinking they will receive top notch maintenance and I have assumed that everything that needs to be watched and inspected and and maintained and repaired, etc., is being done.

Desired Settlement: At no point in the conversation with the service manager, ******** ******, did he apologize - even though he acknowledged that the technician should have caught the low brake pad - nor did he offer any kind of rectification. I think they should compensate me for the expense of the rotors, which was over $400.00, and that doesn't even address the labor, which was over $200.00. I can provide documentation for the breakdown in service at Eastgate and well as the invoice for the recent repair at *******.

Business Response: Eastgate Chrysler would like to say we apologize for any misunderstanding in this particular matter. As everyone is aware; we are in the business of servicing vehicles as well as helping with any maintenance at the customers request. According to all of the info that we have, there are no documents containing any request for any type of brake job, nor "full vehicle inspection". The only documented requests that are specified are "customer states something is hanging up in the wheel when turning left" and "the a/c blows warm, heard a pop noise when first using, thinks it's electrical.". Those two items are all that were asked to be looked at with our service department changing the oil and a brake flush. Neither of these would have required any maintenance tech to remove tires and inspect for brake work. We would have loved the opportunity to help in this particular matter however, this was never requested. We serviced all concerns that Mr. and Mrs. ******* requested. Again, we would have loved the opportunity for the work, but it was never requested and we are not at liberty to do any non requested work. Again Eastgate values every single customer and would have loved to have had the priviledge of working on Mr. and Mrs. *******'s brake concern, however this was never brought to our attention until a later date when it was too late to have the opportunity. Again we would have loved to have had the opportunity and hope we can continue our relationship going forward. Thank you so much for your time.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response does not address the claims that I made in my complaint:

1) Their response says nothing of the service done in 2013 in which the whole reason for taking the truck in was that it was at 150,000 and I told them that I wanted every system checked to make sure everything was operating correctly and not in need of maintenance or repair.  Of all things, why would they not have checked the brakes?!   Because I asked them to check everything I assumed that they checked the brakes and determined nothing was needed, which in hind sight, given that there was virtually no pad left on the breaks 5,000 miles later, obviously they did not do.

2) In reference to the service that they did cite in their response (the service done earlier this year), now they are changing their story.  ******** ******, the service manager, specifically told me that flushing the brake system should have required the technician to remove the wheels, in which case he should have noticed the severe wear on the brake pads and alerted me.  This is very neglectful and, as stated before, resulted in the brakes digging into the rotors.

So, the request to inspect everything in 2013, which would, of course, include the brakes, and the flushing of the brake system earlier this year, which would have required the technician to pull the wheel as the service manager stated - both should have revealed the need for new brake pads. The negligence in not doing so cost me to have to get new rotors.  I don't do my own maintenance work; I trust my vehicle to the service department to make sure everything is maintained - but obviously that trust was misplaced.  As I stated in my original complaint, I think they should compensate me $400 to help cover the cost of having the rotors replaced.  

After a person has service done with them, a recorded message is phoned to the person asking if they are satisfied with the service.  This is an opportunity to show that that message is more than a nice gesture.


***** *******



Business Response:

I am respoding to the complaint filed by Mr. ***** *******.  ID.#********.  We issued a check to cover his $400 request. This was done as a way to continue doing business with Mr. ******* and move on from this.

***** *******

Eastgate Chrysler Jeep Dodge


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and this solution is acceptable to me.  In fact, the new general manager of Eastgate, ****** *******, called me personally to tell me what they would do to resolve the issue and that he hopes I will continue to do business with them.  I have today received the check for $400 that he promised, and I am very grateful for Mr. ********s integrity in making this right.  If his attitude and action is indicative of how they will do business going forward I will certainly continue to take my vehicles there.

I consider this complaint now addressed in full and the case may be closed.

Best Regards,

***** *******


2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 27, 2014, I delivered my 2001 Dodge Ram 3500 pickup to the Eastgate Chrysler Service department to have a heating issue checked. Later that day the service advisor Derek *******, called me and told me that he recommends having the heater core flushed, or replacing the heater core. He also stated to me that the flush would be a cheaper repair for the heat issue. I asked him if that would make the heat hotter, and he said yes. He being the service advisor, I went with his recommendation. I picked up my truck on January 30th 2014, drove it for 45 minutes and I still had the same heating issues, so I immediately took the truck back to Eastgate Chysler. I talked to Mr. ******* about the issue, and he said that because I had the same heating issue, I would need a heater core. I asked him why would I pay for a heater core flush, if I needed a new heater core. Trying to resolve this issue, I asked Mr. ******* if any of the monies I paid would go toward the purchase of a new heater core. His answer was NO! So I left frustrated and with $515 less in my pocket. And that is why I'm filing this complaint.

Desired Settlement: I desire Chrysler Dodge to repair my truck properly, I would have gladly paid for a new heater core instead of having nothing done at all. I wasn't told it was a possibility the flush wouldn't resolve the issue. I was told it would fix it.

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Eastgate Auto, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart