BBB Accredited Business since

Dreyer & Reinbold Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (317) 573-0200 Fax: (317) 573-0208 9375 Whitley Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46240 http://www.dreyerreinbold.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dreyer & Reinbold Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dreyer & Reinbold Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dreyer & Reinbold Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 29, 2008 Business started: 02/19/1968 in IN Business incorporated 02/14/1966 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Reinbold, President Mr. Paul Brown, General Manager Mr. Brian Gauker, General Manager Mr. Scott Kenney, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Brown, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dennis Reinbold, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
B M W/Infinti Dreyer & Reinbold Mini
Industry Tips
As Is Vehicle Purchasing Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1301 U S 31 South

    Greenwood, IN 46143 (317) 885-4800

  • 9333 Haver Way

    Indianapolis, IN 46240 (317) 574-5511

  • 9370 Whitley Drive

    Indianapolis, IN 46240 (317) 573-0222

  • 9375 Whitley Drive

    Indianapolis, IN 46240 (317) 573-0200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2011 528i with 44k Mille on it and the car has a bad battery . They are telling me that warranty will not cover it ... The warranty covers everything up to 50k or 4 years and my 4 year are not up until July ... And the crazy thing is they are even recommending it .... They told me they would pay 50% ... Why should I pay for something that is should be covered under the warranty

Desired Settlement: Replace the battery

Business Response:

5/9/2014

 

We are in receipt of the complaint from ******* ***** on his 2011 BMW 528i battery issue.  I have researched this, and these are my findings.

 

Mr ***** states that “The warranty covers everything up to 50k or 4 years and my 4 year are not up.”  Well, that is not exactly true.  Warranties cover defects in materials and workmanship.  Warranties do not cover items arising from customer caused issues.  This car’s ignition was left on without the car running, in the accessory position, long enough to run the battery low, and the car is smart enough to tell us so.  Mr ***** has just recently purchased this car (on or about Feb 26th of this year from an out of state used car lot), and it is very, very possible that this condition happened before he bought the car.  It happened at 43,860 miles.  Not sure if he owned it then or not.  No matter, this is not defective materials or workmanship, so, it is not a covered repair.  Dreyer & Reinbold has extended a goodwill gesture to have BMW pay for half, and the customer sees that as recognition of fault.  It is not, we just like to help out in some situations, and this is one of those situations.

 

I am very sorry that Mr ***** thinks that “everything” is covered.  A battery is covered…if it fails due to the car running it down (bad component, for instance), but not if someone leaves the lights on, or the ignition in the accessory position.

 

The 50% offer stands until June 1st, 2014.  I hope this helps to explain why this happened, and that we are actually trying to help.

 

**** *****

GM

Dreyer & Reinbold BMW

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *****

 

 Well they did say that would go50/50 on the battery .. But why should I pay for something ,when the problem stated when I got my car back after they towed and worked on it . They say it was left on around 43800 miles . We'll that is when it was in there shop ... So no I do not accept what they are saying . That I or someone else left they car on... It was the tow driver or someone who worked on my car ... And I have told them that several times ... They just don't want to cover the cost of something that they messed up on.&nbs

Business Response: Mr. *****'s car had 44,408 miles on it when it was here with the battery issue.  The low battery memo retained in the car's memory was at 43,860 miles.  I seriously doubt that we or the wrecker driver put 852 miles on Mr. *****'s car.  This car was also in at 43,556 miles with no battery issue mentioned, so about 300 miles after the car was in, and 850 miles before we saw it again, the car had an issue with the ignition being left on.  Not us, not the wrecker driver. 

This car is equipped with a "push-button start", and when turning the car off, you have to push the button twice to fully turn it off.  One push only stops the engine, but leaves the car in the accessory position.  We see this happen with some regularity.  Frequently the customer doesn't even know they did it, and if they let someone else drive the car, that person can easily do it, as they are not familiar with the "double push" need.

Offer stands until 6/1, as previously mentioned and offered.

**** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *****

 

 That is not true I called and talked to *** several different times . After I picked up my car and asked him why I was getting the warring light . And know one drove my car but me. And yes I know how to tune my car off and on .. So thanks for the training cl

4/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2012 I was in need of a new vehicle. After visiting several dealerships, I purchased a 2012 Subaru Impreza WRX STI Limited from the Dreyer and Reinbold Subaru dealership in Greenwood. The dealership has performed all of my services and oil changes. The manufacturer recommends an oil change every 7000 miles, but in fact I take it in every 3750 miles to change the oil. The last service and oil change was 3000 miles ago, and it has 27000 miles with a 60000 mile warranty. Well, on January 18th as I was driving I broke down on the side of the road. Since it was late on a Saturday afternoon I had it towed to my residence because the dealership was closed at the time. On the following Monday it was towed to Dreyer and Reinbold where I was told that they would need to tear the motor apart to find the cause of the problem. On January 28th they informed me that the engine failed due to oil starvation, that the pistons broke and the turbo cracked due to excessive heat. They also informed me that this was not a manufacturer defect, that it was in fact my fault because they said that the car must have been modified and I had neglected/ and or abused it. The car has not been modified. I have a family to take care of so extra money I have goes towards things for our children and household, not modifications on a car. Also, they perform all of the oil changes so any lack of oil couldn't be any fault of mine. I have service records showing when I took the car in, and they never noted any "damage or abuse" like they are saying is part of the cause. I have 33000 miles left on a 60000 mile warranty and the dealership and Subaru themselves are doing nothing to help me. This was a major purchase for me, its what I rely on to get me to and from work to support my family. I put my faith and confidence in them, I believed them when I was told the warranty "covered everything", and I trusted not only the product I was buying but them as well. When I talk to anyone at the dealership, I get an "I'm sorry" and "let us know if you want us to fix it". When I call Subaru corporate I get the same customer service guy who does nothing but tell me to get a lawyer. Currently, my car is sitting at the dealership in pieces....the engine and other various parts are in the trunk. I have an almost one thousand bill that they told me I need to pay before I can even pick it up, as is with the parts in the trunk. I've asked them for a letter stating why they are denying it, and all it says is it's not covered due to "modifications" and the evidence of "driver abuse and neglect". However, when I ask for more details concerning what they are saying they found they can't give me any details. They can't specify any modifications or abuse and neglect. They told me to get it repaired it would be about $7000. I purchased a new car so I would have a warranty so if something like this happened I would be covered. As of now, I have been without my car for two months. I've been making car payments on a vehicle that I don't have and I am having to find ways to work. Now when I try to contact anyone I'm ignored. I need your help.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I don't want the dealership to make the repairs because I feel like theydon't stand behind their product or their work. I would like a check for the money to have it repaired elsewhere.

Business Response:

Thank you for speaking with me on Friday morning, 04/04/2014.

I am responding to a complaint the Better Business Bureau received from Mr. **** ******* (BBB #*******). As this complaint was received here via posted mail, on 04/03/2014, I will reply via posted mail also.

Mr. ******* did in-fact have his vehicle, a 2012 Subaru Imprezza WRX STI VIN# *****************, delivered here 01/20/2014 with a complaint of "engine rod knock noise present from vehicle". After our initial investigation of the vehicle, Mr. ******* was advised of catastrophic internal engine damage to his vehicle and that we would need to disassemble the engine to determine the extent and cause of the damage. Mr. ******* was advised at that time that the repairs may not be warrantable due to exhaust system modifications that were present on the vehicle. Mr. ******* was also advised, prior to any disassembly, that because of the potential for non-warranty coverage, the labor charges for the tear-down would have to be authorized by him, in advance. Mr. ******* did authorize us to perform the needed disassembly.

On Thursday 01/23/2014 we did contact Subaru of America for warranty coverage. We were asked to provide information about the vehicles modification/s and condition. We did comply with the Subaru Service Bulletins concerning vehicle modifications or damage and did report same.

On Tuesday 01/28/2014 we did receive a reply from **** ********, Senior Representative, of Subaru of America, Customer Dealer Services. In this reply (see below) Subaru did notify us "The failure is not a result of a manufacturing defect and would therefore not be covered by the manufacturer's limited warranty".

We did contact Mr. ******* and inform him of the decision, by Subaru, to decline warranty coverage.

On 01/30/2014 We called Mr. ******* to inquire of his intentions concerning the repair. Mr. ******* declined any further repairs. We advised Mr. ******* we would need him to return the courtesy vehicle we had provided, which he did. Mr. ******* was also provided the phone number to Subaru Customer Dealer Services.

On 02/21/2014 After making several phone calls and leaving voicemails, we did email Mr. ******* inquiring of his intentions. (see below).

On 03/20/2014 We did receive a reply from ** **** (Mr. *******'s wife) questioning the decision to deny warranty coverage. We did replay to her in an attempt to explain that it was Subaru that had denied the claim.

** **** did send an email to our sales department, detailing her frustration and family situation. We did respond to that email with a more detailed explanation, with pictures, of the reasons for warranty denial. She was invited to visit the dealership for an in-person review of the vehicle and it's modifications.

We have not heard from Mr. **** ******* or ** **** since that time.

*****, we would very much like to help resolve this situation with our good customer. We are sympathetic to their plight and have offered to work with them on the cost of these repairs. You may wish to review the email thread, and pictures, below.

2

I will follow this email with a posted mail copy to your physical address. Sincerely

 

*** ***********

Assistant Service Manager Dreyer & Reinbold Subaru 1301 US 31 South

Greenwood, IN 46143

 

****,

I apologize for not getting back to you sooner.

Please understand, we at Dreyer & Reinbold try to do whatever it takes to provide the absolute best in professional, honest, automotive services to our customers. We have made every effort on your behalf, to obtain warranty coverage for your husband's vehicle. As part of our Dealer agreement with Subaru of America, we are required to provide honest accurate information to them when requested.

In the case of ****** WRX, Subaru examined the pictures and data from his vehicle and they determined, the vehicle has been modified, with non-factory parts, designed for off-road or racing use. These modifications may not even be legal, for emission controlled vehicles, used on public roadways. Modifications of this type put the engine under tremendous strain and often cause catastrophic failure.

In addition the engine oil was very low, was thick and burnt and past due for an oil change when the vehicle was brought into our facility.

I have attached the following images to help you understand the decision of Subaru of America.


3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello I hate to do this but I do feel that I have to let people know about dryer and reinbold BMW in indianapolis IN.I buy my 2005 bmw m3 from a local car dealer from indianapolis,IN.my car sat there for 5 days before it goes to the service department. any way the guy was incharge of servicing the car was *** I left him few voice mails and he never caled me back but I kept calling till he answers my phone and says they are looking at my car in the service department.The next day I call and talked to *** asking him if there is any information about the car he says good and bad news he was the good news wqe can fix the car and the bad news it is about $1500 to fix it explaining to me the problem is with the valves of the car. He said they need to do the valves adjustment and i was ok go ahead and get it ready. i was so happy that my car will be ready in two days and with no engine noise no more.any way when I called to ask if my car was ready *** he was like well the car is ready but there is still engine noise in it I was but *** you said car will be good and no engine noise no more he told me to go pick up the car and drive for few days and the noise should go away.I did like he told me drove for few days nothing was changed when i called back i told *** that i am not happy with this and this is what he answers me with there is nothing we can do it is about $10000 to fix your car you may need to change the vanos and take the heads out to work on I did not like that and said but why I have to spend $1399.00 for nothing you said it will be fixed and then he shoked me buy saying well IT IS NOT MY PROBLEM IF YOU GO AND BUY A CAR FOR VERY CHEAP AND EXPECT TO GET IT FIXED FOR $1500.00 *** TO LET YOU KNOW I DID BUY THE CAR FOR $19000.00 NOT FOR CHEAP YOU DONT KNOW HOW MUCH I BUY IT FOR.YOU ARE UNPROFESINAL AT ALL THIS IS NOT HOW YOU TREAT YOUR CUSTOMERS.

Desired Settlement: I like to get my car fixed at what *** told me $1500.00 or get my money back.

Business Response:

We are sorry that there seems to be a misunderstanding about the repairs to the BMW M3 that was brought to us for diagnosis and possible repair.  We are a little confused about whose car this is, as the phone number that was given us is the same as we have on file for a used car dealership in town, **** ******, Inc. on Lafayette Road, and, the car was brought in to us by an employee of **** ****** on Lafayette Road, not Mr. *****.  Mr. ***** states that he bought the car from a local car dealer, which is even more confusing to us. In looking into this complaint, I find that a Mr ***** ***** is a co-owner of **** ******. 

 

This car was brought to us on or about February 5th, by an employee of **** ******, and is a 2005 BMW M3 convertible with 104,180 miles on it.  This car was sold at an auto auction in Ohio on 2/3/14 with 104,173 miles on it.  That is a 7 mile and two day difference from when it was brought to us for diagnosis.

 

No matter, we advised the customer, **** ******, that the noise coming from the engine was valve related, and that we needed to start by adjusting the valves, a routine service on a 2005 M3, due approximately every 30,000 miles, which is what we charged for.  Before starting any work, we told them that the noise could be several different things, and that we would start with the least expensive item.  Upon completion of that work, which was both the least expensive item AND a needed repair (they were out of adjustment), the noise was (is) still present, and we advised that additional work would be needed, starting with VANOS work, which the customer declined.  VANOS work is very expensive, and requires a fair amount of engine disassembly.  We understood their decision.

 

We completely informed the employee of **** ****** that the repair was a step by step procedure, and we had to complete one before we could move on to the next.  The work we finished and charged for was authorized by the used car dealer.   There will be no refund to **** ****** or Mr. *****.

 

**** *****

GM

Dreyer & Reinbold BMW