Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Don Hinds Ford, Inc.

Phone: (317) 849-9000 View Additional Phone Numbers 12610 Ford Drive, Fishers, IN 46038 http://www.donhindsford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Don Hinds Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Don Hinds Ford, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Don Hinds Ford, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2008 Business started: 07/01/1955 in IN Business incorporated 08/07/1940 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Linda Butler, CFO Mr. John Colglazier, President Mr. Robert M. Hinds, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Butler, CFO
Principal: Mr. John Colglazier, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Fishers Collision Repair
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Don Hinds Ford, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12610 Ford Drive

    Fishers, IN 46038 (317) 849-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/21/2015 , my wife and I went to Don Hinds to shop for a car. Knowing our financial situation from earlier conversations we were paired up wit a sales consultant. We found the car my wife wanted and would also fit into our tight budget. The Toyota Camry was advertised both on the internet and by the sales consultant for $15,995. After speaking with the sales desk the consultant presented an offer of $15,995 for the car, $1,200 for our trade, $1,000 down, 16% finance rate, and a monthly payment of $ 360 dollars. We declined as this was over our maximum monthly budget and asked to see something else. The sales consultant then went back to the desk and returned with what he said was great news. He said his manager ran the deal by another bank and got a much better interest rate, 10%, that the monthly payment would come in just under $300. We settled on what we thought was a $15995 car ,with our money and trade ,10% finance, at just under a $300 a month payment. We arranged to return to sign papers on Monday 2/23/2015. During the signing process I noticed that the selling price was changed by $1,000 dollars. I questioned the change and the finance person said that was always the price. I disagreed and asked him to recheck and when he did he found I was correct the asking price was $15,995. He then proceeded to stumble through other explanations that clearly were not accurate. We were told the selling price was $15,995, and knowing our maximum monthly budget amount, I believe he saw the opportunity to raise the selling price, being we were trading payments. Instead of making the car more affordable he chose to take advantage dishonestly meeting our maximum monthly budget. My wife wanted the car so I didn't spoil it for her by walking away. But this is very dishonest and trying to fool us and slide it by is insulting. He nullified our money down, or got our trade in for $200 dollars, while getting $1000 more than the dealership advertised the car for. Very disappointed in this treatment we were not told the price would go up just because.

Desired Settlement: A truthful explanation for raising the advertised sales price and trying to slide it past us without explanation. Not sure anything at this point can produce a positive outcome. They should decide if there is anything that needs to be done, and if they want to repair their reputation with us.

Business Response: Tell us why here...Our business manager made sure the customer understood all the numbers before they signed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
When we agreed to purchase a car, we were told by the sales person that the selling price was $15995, this was the same price that was advertized on the internet. When we came back 2 days later during the paper signing they told us that the selling price was 16995. I questioned him and at first he said the price was always $16995 then after he checked into it further he found the price was $15995. He then came back with a story that they had to add docking fees, and pay cash for a better intrest rate both of which I found out by calling back were not true. They changed the selling price and tried to slide it by us. My wife really wanted the car so I did not walk away. Still after being upset their business manager made promises and did not keep them either. Bottom line is they knew our situation and the need for an afford car, gave us a selling price, then raised it by $1000 trying to slide it by. Then lie after being confronted.

Regards,

******* ******** 

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was driving from Columbus, OH to Indianapolis, IN the early morning of Friday, December 6th, 2013 when I had an amber wrench light come on and my engine started stalling while I was driving. I went onto multiple Ford websites/message boards that discussed the issue for my 2007 Ford Mustang and every one said that the throttle body needed cleaning, which I've had done on older cars that typically run less than $75. I was going to a friends' house in Fishers, and Don Hinds Ford was the nearest Ford Service Center. Being from out of state I was unfamiliar with any local business and had no prior vehicle experience with any so I took my car to Don Hinds Ford at 7:30am on Friday morning and asked them to have the throttle body cleaned. The service associate I spoke with, Jim **** stated they couldn't do that and that they needed to run their own $72 diagnostic test to determine the issue. I got a call 90 minutes later from Jim telling me that the throttle body wasn't the issue, the issue was an Exhaust Gas Recirculation Valve was faulty, which they quoted me as costing $364.84 to fix. Being from out of state and not wanting to risk having my car break down on the trip back to Columbus, OH, I agreed to the service requested and picked my car up that afternoon. On Sunday December 8th, 2013 on my drive back to Columbus from Indianapolis, the amber wrench light came on and my engine started stalling again the same way it was doing before the repairs were done. I then took my car to my local service shop on December 11th, 2013 and again requested to have the throttle body cleaned. This service shop completed my request and informed me that the throttle body was dirty and was absolutely the reason for my engine stalling the way it was. The cost of those repairs was $65.90 and now my car runs the way it should, with the engine running smooth and no amber wrench light. I feel like I was given an improper repair and was held by gunpoint because I was out of state and that Don Hinds took advantage of me to sell me on an incorrect repair that cost $300 more than what I had originally requested to be done when I took my car in. The fact that they didn't even check the throttle body before selling me a faulty repair is inconceivable to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the difference between the incorrect repair cost of $364.84 and the correct repair cost of $65.90, which equals $298.94, to be refunded to the credit card that I used to pay for the incorrect repairs with.

Business Response:

I've attached multiple pages regarding Mr. ******* Mustang and more specifically, the throttle body referred to in his letter. We feel our tech followed proper factory procedure when doing the EEC test. The pinpoint test indicated an EGR failure and was replaced. When it was test driven, all warning lights were out and the vehicle was performing normally.

According to the manufacturer (Ford Motor Company), "a sealant/coating on the throttle bore and throttle plate makes the throttle body air flow tolerant to engine intake sludge accumulation. These throttle body assemblies must not be cleaned and have a white/black attention decal advising not to clean." Our tech feels that not only did the EGR need replaced but now obviously needs a new throttle body.

Mr. ***** did not contact us for any explanation - this is the first we have heard of his issues. We also believe that although his vehicle is running ok for now, the throttle body will quickly revert to the original problem.

Bud ********** President

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Don Hinds Ford, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart