BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Indiana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Butler Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Butler Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Butler Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 07, 2008 Business started: 07/19/1967 in IN Business incorporated: 05/24/1978 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob G. Butler, President Mr. Rob A Butler, General Manager Ms. Kim Kingery, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob G. Butler, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Rob A Butler, General Manager
Related Businesses
Butler Toyota Scion Butler Automotive Group
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Butler Auto Group Butler Motors, Inc. Butler Toyota Butler Toyota Body Shop
Industry Tips
As Is Vehicle Purchasing Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 3232 Harper Road

    Indianapolis, IN 46240 (317) 846-9600 (317) 848-4210

  • 931 N Rangeline Road

    Carmel, IN 46032 (317) 848-2471

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (317) 848-4210(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2006 Prius and simultaneously traded 2003 Chevy Trailblazer on 5/30/14. Took car to a few auto repair/body shops for estimates on cosmetic flaws. Was told by 2 separate mechanics that the vehicle appeared to have been wrecked and or severely damaged in the past. This was not disclosed on the Carfax. Called around 6/14/14 to ask for more info about Prius. Was sent detailed service report on all repairs made and noted a broken front axle was replaced among many other things. Was advised by dealer that Carfax doesn't show everything and that they could do nothing more to explain broken axle. First payment was due 7/14/14. By 7/9/14 had not received loan info and called the gentleman who handled financing to inquire. Within 48 hours and with no response called and was eventually connected with sales manager who took payment over phone and apologized saying she would personally rectify the issue. Received payment info within 2 weeks, began making payments. By 8/14/14 received repeated emails regarding a missing power of attorney document from salesman. When further investigated, discovered trade in was sold but the POA form had been misplaced, lost, etc. was informed that finance employee was terminated over said oversight. Sales manager said that they would be willing to take care of some minor cosmetic issues in exchange for our continued difficulty with service and lack of legible warranty info. She agreed to have the used car sales manager contact me to set up a time to meet and discuss replacing possibly one or both bumper covers. Used car sales manager contacts in very hostile manner, yelling, threatening to sue and make us pay fees as well as that his children attend the school where I teach (unsure if this was a threat). Also mentions that we were attempting to hold them "hostage" to get a document they needed? None of prior conversations with sales manager indicated that anything was due other than some type of gesture on BTS's behalf to "make it right" so we continue to consider them for future vehicle purchases. After calming down was told to bring vehicle for inspection and only one bumper cover repair in conjunction with dropping off signed POA form. At appointment POA was given to used car sales manager who says only Wednesdays are available to have car inspected and that I would have to pay cost which was not what I was guaranteed on multiple phone calls with the two managers. When asked what Wednesday would be available, was told next few Wednesdays were bad due to vacation. Asked me to come in and request him in a few weeks and he would see what they could do but ultimately there would be no compensation for poor service nor would any guarantees that he made over phone be honored.

Desired Settlement: Honor at least the promise of a free bumper cover with no labor, only the part or the repair of aforementioned bumper whichever is cheaper.

Business Response:

Ms. ****** came in saw and drove a 2006 Prius that she ended up purchasing. During the process she never made the deal contingent on any work or parts. Her paperwork was held up by the bank due to a form that the bank requested be redone. After the form was redone and the bank funded us we discovered that a Power of attorney form was missing and needed to process her title work. We contacted Ms. ****** to let her know that we needed another form signed by her at that time so requested our sales manager replace a bumper on the car. The sales manager told her we could not do that. She was insisting on getting a new bumper before she would come in and sign the document. I did call her and told her that we had to have the document signed and she then requested that we replace the bumper at that time I told her we could not replace it and that I felt like she was holding us hostage and that I would contact our attorney to get the paper work signed. She then shared her frustration over the paper work. I told her if she brings the car in on a Wednesday I would look at it with a vendor that does minor paint work and if it could be touched up I would take care of it for her. After looking at it touching it up would not be the better solution, repainting would look better. She said she wanted to replace it I got her a price to place it including painted she said she had gotten a cheaper price at ****. She said if I just gave her the bumper she could put it on I said I couldn't do that either. I told her I would get a price for her on just the bumper and she said no she would get one herself. No one ever promised to replace or repaint the bumpers to the Prius. I will still have bumpers touched up for her or help her purchase a new bumper. Thank you for your time with this matter.

**** ******

Used Car Manager Butler Toyota Scion

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service