Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Butler Hyundai

Phone: (317) 848-4200 View Additional Phone Numbers 4200 E 96th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46240 http://www.butlerauto.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Butler Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Butler Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Butler Hyundai
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 08, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1988 in IN Business incorporated 10/08/1988 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob G. Butler, President Mr. Rob A. Butler, Vice-President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob G. Butler, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Products & Services

Butler Hyundai sells the following brand(s): BMW, Cadillac, Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Jeep, Kia, Lexus, Lincoln, Mercedes, Mercury, Nissan, Pontiac, Toyota, Volvo

Butler Hyundai offers the following product(s): New Vehicles, Pre-Owned Vehicles

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Visa, Checks, Mastercard.
Refund and Exchange Policy
See dealer for details, policy is different per department.
Alternate Business Names
Butler Automotive Group
Licensing

This type of company may require licensing. To verify if licensing is required and/or if the company is properly licensed, contact the BBB of Motor Vehicles at 317-233-6000 or visit their website at www.in.gov/bmv.

Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Butler Hyundai has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4200 E 96th Street

    Indianapolis, IN 46240 (317) 848-4200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/5/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT from Butler Hyundai and had it delivered to me in South Carolina on 27 May, 2016. The vehicle came with the remainder of the 3 year, 36000 mile manufactures warranty as well as the dealers limited warranty where they agree to pay 100% of the parts and labor for covered systems that fail. Since I took delivery of the vehicle, it has been in the shop for an electrical issue. I took the vehicle to two reputable, Jeep dealerships in my area and they both uncovered an issue with the wiring harness to the Jeeps Uconnect system. The findings showed the wiring was tampered with in a way that would void the manufactures warranty for that issue. I contacted the selling dealer and made them aware of the issue, only to be told that they will not take the word of a dealership from another state and would not honor the warranty. They offered to inspect the vehicle themselves but I would have to ship the vehicle back to them. They sold a vehicle that does not operate as it should and with faulty wiring that affects many of the safety features of the car. I feel that I should not have to pay to send the vehicle back to them as they are liable for breach of the implied warranty of merchantability.

Desired Settlement: Butler Hyundai to honor the warranty and pay the $3,500 it will cost to replace the wiring harness and bring the vehicle back to manufactures standards without any further push back as I have already been without a vehicle for two weeks.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern;

We apologize for Mr ****** issue, and inconveniences.

Mr ***** purchased this vehicle with the remainder of the 3yr/36k manufactures warranty as he stated. 

Any mechanical issues outside of what is covered by the manufactures warranty is at the owners expense. 

What is/is not covered is at the manufactures discretion, not Butler Hyundai. 

We did offer for Mr ***** to bring the vehicle back to us to inspect, and he declined.  

At this time we can not pay for repairs that we can not prove whom/or if the harness was tampered with.

Thank you

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below

Butler Hyundai sold me the vehicle implying it was in working order and still under manufactures Warrenty.  It arrived to me and I immediately had to take it in for repairs that they should have caught if the so called "inspection" they said they did was completed.  They wanted me to pay to ship the vehicle back to them to perform an inspection when they should either pay for shipping themselves, or accept the word of one of the three certified Jeep dealerships that have all inspected the vehicle and came to the same conclusion.  This all happened within days of me recieving the vehicle and Butler Hyundai does not seem concerned about customer satisfaction.  They offer a Warrenty as well on the buyers agreement and they failed to mention that in their response.  What is the purpose of the Warrenty if when something goes wrong, there is this type of resistance to the customers complaint?  I would advise anyone to steer clear of this dealership.  Although dealing with the salesman, Josh B***** was great, it seems the customer service after the fact is horrible!  I paid over 50k for this vehicle and you would think they would treat a customer better than this.  I retired from the US Airforce after 21 years of service and thought I'd treat myself and get the vehicle I've been wanting for years and this dealership has thoroughly ruined that experience!  Bottom line, Butler Hyundai sold me a vehicle that was not in working order and will not honor their warranty and make this right.  

Regards,

****** *****


3/5/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about April 29, 2015, Butler employee Richard ******** contacted me about a 2006 Volvo S40 (the “Vehicle”) displayed on Butler’s premises. That same day, Mr. ******** made several written representations about the Vehicle to me including that: “[he] drove it,” “[r]uns and stops,” “[e]verything works,” and “brakes are awesome” (the “Written Representations”). On April 30, 2015, in reliance upon the Written Representations, I agreed to test drive the Vehicle with Mr. ********. During the test drive, Mr. ******** made several verbal representations about the Vehicle to me including that: the Vehicle was “fully inspected,” that the Vehicle was in “great shape,” that the Vehicle was owned by a manager at Butler and then used as a “service car” at the dealership; and that the Vehicle “road a bit rough” because it was a small car with European sport suspension (the “Verbal Representations”). In reliance upon the Written Representations and the Verbal Representations (collectively, the “Representations”), I purchased the Vehicle for $9,766.72 (the “Purchase Price”). I discovered that the brake fluid reservoir was completely empty and that there was a serious problem with the brakes and the suspension. I approached Mr. ******** about the problems with the Vehicle on multiple occasions but Mr. ******** proved non-responsive and unhelpful. On July 16, 2015, I spoke with Butler manager RJ **** via telephone. I informed Mr. **** of Mr. ******** Representations and the problems with the Vehicle and requested that Butler repair the Vehicle. During that conversation, Mr. **** acknowledged the falsity of many of the Representations. Specifically, Mr. **** indicated that the Vehicle was owned by a girl in Ohio (not a manager) and that it was never used as a “service car.” Mr. **** acknowledged that Mr. ******** had acted improperly in selling the Vehicle to me by stating that Mr. **** would use the ordeal as a “training experience” for Mr. ********. Although Mr. **** represented that he would contact me to resolve the problems with the Vehicle, Mr. **** never contacted me and failed and refused to respond to my messages. On or about July 24, 2015, after failing to hear from Butler, I took the Vehicle to ******* **** ******* ******* identified problems with the Vehicle’s front and rear brakes, front strut, front strut mounts, rear shocks, front pads, front rotors, rear caliper, front axle, shocks, and alignment. ******* mechanic indicated that these problems were older problems and that they should have been discovered in any inspection of the Vehicle. ******* charged me $2,650.04 to repair the Vehicle (the “Repair Cost”). On August 21, 2015, my counsel transmitted a letter to Butler asking Butler to either (1) accept the return of the car and pay me $12,416.76 (which amount represents the Purchase Price plus the Repair Costs) or (2) pay me $3,500.00 (which amount represents the Repair Costs plus my attorneys’ fees and costs). On September 3, 2015, Butler's counsel responded indicating that Butler would not comply with my demand and falsely asserting that, inter alia, I “had the [Vehicle] a significant period of time” before the problems arose and that I “refused to return [the Vehicle] to the dealership for them to inspect.”

Desired Settlement: I am asking Butler to either (1) accept the return of the car and pay me $12,416.76 (which amount represents the Purchase Price plus the Repair Costs) or (2) pay me $3,500.00 (which amount represents the Repair Costs plus my attorneys’ fees and costs).

Consumer Response:

I purchased the Vehicle "As-Is," however I was given the following, false representations as to its "AS-IS" condition:

  That Butler employee Richard ******** “drove it,” it “[r]uns and stops,” “[e]verything works,” and “brakes are awesome” (the “Written Representations”).  

That it was “fully inspected,” that the Vehicle was in “great shape,” that the Vehicle was owned by a manager at Butler and then used as a “service car” at thedealership; and that the Vehicle “road a bit rough” because it was a small car with European sport suspension (the “Verbal Representations”).

These representations turned out to be false and Butler confirmed that fact, as to a few of the representations.  Later, Bandy's repairs confirmed that fact as to the rest of the representations. In the end, Butler provided me false information to purchase the Vehicle and enter into the contract, which provides the as-is condition, therefore that condition is not and should not be an impediment to my recovery.

 

Business Response:

This complaint has been settled between our attorneys.

Thank you,

Jamie ****

9/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought a used Mercedes c300 4matic from Butler Hyundai. All my paper work and all 3 sales consultants convinced me that the car was in fact a 4matic but when I took it to the BMV is wasn't. It was a rear wheel drive. Emailed and called Butler and got no response. Very deceptive and dishonest.

Desired Settlement: Compensation for being lied to.

Business Response: The GM, Scott S****** talked with Mr. ******.  
Mr. ****** is considering what he’d like for us to do to resolve the issue. 
He appreciated the quick response & has Mr. S****** direct contact information.
Thank you

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 2011 ford explorer from Butler Kia on 4/3/15. A week and a half later i had to take it to **** ****** Ford in Lafayette, IN for vibration issues. The front and back rotors need replaced. When i contacted Butler regarding this issue they informed me they were fine at inspection. A week and a half of me driving the vehicle would not of caused this. Also, during this time at the shop they found a cover that was missing under the vehilce. I would think this would of been caught during an inspection as well. The hood has rust spots they are not willing to work with me on besideds touch up which is not going to fix the problem. Basically I've been told they can give my employee pricing to fix the things that need repaired but that is all they can do. I am looking at over $1500 in repairs to get the things done to my vehicle that need done. I feel Butler is liable for the rotor repairs definitely and when it hasn't been 30 days they should be working with me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the money i have put into the vehicle for repairs in addition to them fixing the otehr issues. So far i have resurfaced the front rotors and replaced the cover which was $250.00

Consumer Response: The vehicle was not purchased as is. There was no sticker of this sort on the vehicle. The warranty I have is 12 months or 12000 miles power train. 

Business Response: ******
Hello, in regards to Ms. ******** complaint, we offered for her to bring the car back to us to check the vibration/rotors, as she stated, that offer was declined. 
Regarding the rust spots on the hood she was also offered to have them touched up, as she stated. 
At the time of purchase these items where not an issue and I have attached the "WE OWE" signed by Ms. ******* showing nothing was promised to her.
We tried to do the right thing by offering to look at the vehicle for the vibration issue and to touch up the spots on the hood.
I have attached a copy of the We Owe & Buyers Guides showing that the only warranty given or implied was on the power train.
At this time we can not refund Ms. ******* the money she is requesting. 

Thank you,

Jamie ****
Butler Automotive Group

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference,

 details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *******

10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Butler Hyundai
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart