BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Rohrman Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Rohrman Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 43 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

43 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 33
Total Closed Complaints 43

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews on Bob Rohrman Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 11

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1963 in IN Business incorporated 11/13/1973 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Rohrman, President/Owner Mr. Craig Gipson, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Craig Gipson, Director of Operations
Principal: Mr. Robert Rohrman, President/Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Bob Rohrman Collision Repair Bob Rohrman Honda Bob Rohrman Kia Bob Rohrman Lincoln Mercury Hyundai Bob Rohrman Mitsubishi Suzuki Bob Rohrman Motors, Inc. Bob Rohrman Subaru Bob Rohrman Toyota Scion Jeep Bob Rohrman's Used Car Superstore Five Star Motors of Lafayette, Inc. Indy Honda Indy Hyundai Suzuki Superstore Indy Motorwerks Rohr-Ette Motors, Inc. Rohr-Indy Motors, Inc. Rohr-Tippe Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bob Rohrman Auto Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: August-my fiance and I went to the annual Tent Sale located in Lafayette, IN in hopes to find a new car for us. We ended up working with Bob Rohrman Kia and purchased a Nissan Murano from them. We got established with ******* *** (car loan), put down a cash deposit of $300, signed all paperwork and drove off the lot with our Murano. It wasn't until a few days later that we received a call from Bob Rohrman Kia stating that they had messed up on the initial deposit we had paid them ($300) and needed to pay another $150 in order to keep the car. We were confused by their explanation as to why we had to pay that amount but we ended up paying the $150 anyways. September came and we went to pay our car payment through ******* *** (automated system) and they couldn't find any history of us. Confused, we called customer service at ******* *** and they informed us that Bob Rohrman had stopped contacting them and they could not get our information from them to fund the car. Irritated, we contacted Bob Rohrman and spoke with Terry *****, Finance Manager, to see what was going on. He did admit to "misplacing" our information but ensured us that it would be found and he was going to contact ******* ASAP and to pay our car payment in October. October rolled around, went to pay car payment and they still had no history of us. This time, we went in to see Terry *****. He had no idea who we were or why we were there. We talked for a bit and he told us that he found our information and was going to send it over to ******* and to pay in November. November, no history again. I called ******* and they flat out told me they had already backed out because Rohrman took too long. Went online to check my credit and found that they had illegal ran my credit 16 times between Sept./Oct. to try to finance. Irate, we decided to give the car back. Terry promised us the trade in value, $450 and letters for both of us to send out to creditors. Never received letters or money like promised.NEED HELP,stopped returning phone calls

Desired Settlement: The business did pay our trade in value back to us but we still have not received other items promised per their contract. The business owes me $450 still. I also would like corrections to my credit report taken care of. They illegally ran my credit 16 times and have taken my credit report down 98 points. There is more to the situation that I had to leave out - some very important details but I ran out of characters and had to summarize the best I could. They are no longer returning our calls.

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took took my Subaru Forester to the Fort Wayne Subaru dealership to have my head gaskets replaced, among other repairs. It took two weeks (as opposed to the promised four days) to complete the repairs and the lead mechanic attempted to overcharge me at every turn, including charging me for services he had previously told me the shop would complete for free as part of the other work involved or adding fees elsewhere where no fees should have been). He also complained about me to various employees within earshot while I waited to collect my car. Now, less than six months later, my car is back in the shop for more engine repairs--repairs that will require that I pay to have the head gaskets replaced again at a cost of $1,500 or more (not including the cost of the work I actually need done), repairs that this mechanic says are customarily done or at least discussed when the engine is already dismantled for a repair such as head gasket replacements. The lead mechanic at Bob Rohrman Subaru did not mention that I would need this kind of work in the near future, either to ask if I would like it addressed while the engine was dismantled, nor did he discuss holding off on the head gasket replacement because these other repairs were imminent and best addressed in one pass.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund totaling what I paid to have the head gaskets replaced with Bob Rohrman Subaru.

Business Response:

August 6, 2015

 

 

BBB Complaint ID #10728614

 

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

 

Ms. Ledbetter brought us her 1999 Subaru Forester with 171,643 miles on it, on or around February 9, 2015.  Customer had numerous concerns.  We did an inspection of the vehicle and found that coolant was leaking from the head gaskets.  We recommended that the head gaskets be replaced.  Customer approved the work.  We informed the customer that we needed to send the heads out to be machined and that process alone would take four business days. 

 

During the process, the technician noticed that the timing belt had not been changed, which is recommended at 100,000 miles.   We informed the customer that the timing belt need to be changed and that since the car was apart, it would save her labor cost to do it at the same time.  Customer declined the repair along with other recommendations.  As far as trying to charge her for things that "should have been free", we gave Ms. Ledbetter a $656.00 discount on work performed.

 

We provided Ms. Ledbetter a 2014 Subaru service loaner, at no charge during the process and delivered her vehicle back to her 10 days later on February 19, 2015 Bob Rohrman Subaru of Fort Wayne will not be providing a refund.

 

Gene Davis

General Manager

Bob Rohrman Subaru of Fort Wayne

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10728614, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I had my timing belt replaced at approximately 135,000 by a AAA certified mechanic in Bowling Green, KY in June 2013 and am not now requesting that Bob Rohrman Subaru cover the cost of replacing it again. The lead mechanic told me that my car would be ready by the end of the first week, with probable pick-up on that Thursday. As I had already made plans to be out of town that weekend, I called late Thursday afternoon to request an update on my vehicle. The lead mechanic told me that it would be ready soon but that they would loan me a car in the interim so that my plans would not be affected. Every day after that I was told my car would be ready that day, until I was finally able to pick it up 10 days later. I was forced to spend several nights in a hotel that I had not planned on (I intentionally drove to the Fort Wayne Subaru dealer because I had had a positive service experience with a former automotive manager). Jason (the current manager) knew this and did nothing to expedite the service I had made an appointment for in advance.
 As to the additional repairs I have been said.to.refuse, none of them involved engine work and, in fact, the service department failed to address all of the issues with my car that I asked them to. For example, the left front tire sometimes makes a grinding sound when turning. I asked Jason about this problem specifically and he told me that it was probably due to the hub bearings that needed replacing on my back tires. The discounts referred to were the result of a special Bob Rohrman Subaru was running at the time: 13% off all services. This promotion was one reason I brought my car to this particular dealership. I am not asking for a complete refund of services, nor am I asking for Bob Rohrman Subaru to pay the entirety of the cost of my engine rebuild. I am simply asking that the portion of my bill that covered the unnecessary and ineffectual replacement of my head gaskets be refunded to me.


Regards,

********* *********

Business Response: Subaru of Fort Wayne will not be issuing a refund.  

Thank you for your time in this matter.


Gene Davis
General Manager

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 3,2015 I had called to get a quote for a rear differential pinion seal that was leaking and to have it replaced. I was told that everything labor,parts, and oil would be $99. I scheduled an appointment for that and also to have a recalled air bag modular replacement scheduled. I asked the man on the phone what would happen if I kept driving my truck and if there was any way of checking/adding oil to ensure until I got into the appointment that my engine would be ok. He was very helpful and explained things that I could do. On Monday july 20,2015 I waited in the waiting room for 2 1/2 hrs and finally got ready to pay and they told me the service was $201. I asked and the lady got some one else and they changed the price to $99. I was initially happy with the service hat had been done until later that evening I saw fresh oil leaking out of the same place that was supposed to be fixed! I called and they agreed to get me in right away. They then proceeded to tell me that I needed a pinion seal replaced and that what I scheduled my appointment for was rear differential service. (Which is flushing the oil and putting in new) so the new oil that I paid $99 for is leaking persistently still!!!!! I asked to speak with the manager and he manager said there wasn't really anything that could be done. He said that he would give me $60 off of the $163 it was going to cost for the oil since it already had new oil on top of the $99 that I had already paid for a service that I didn't even want!!!

Desired Settlement: Rear differential pinion seal replaced like originally asked for at the cost I was told it was supposed to cost the original $99 I paid to begin with!!! I shouldn't have to pay for a service I didn't ask for!!

Business Response: Called the customer and left a message, we will replace the pinion seal at no charge for the miscommunication.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

Brook King

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently bought a car from them & all parties signed the financing contract & got contacted 3 days later that they did not have my Co signer sign all documents, then over a week later they made an error not by any wrong doing on my part & want me to redo a contract for their benefit, when I went in to discuss the issue I was bullied into making a correction of a mistake that was not my doing. I refused & they threatened me by saying they would not follow the contract. I am now in the process of obtaining a lawyer to assist me in this mistake that they made on the contract. Product_Or_Service: Toyota camery

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Contact by the Business I would like to continue with the contract that all parties have signed & it is not changing due to a mistake on their end.

Business Response:

Fort Rohr Motors, Inc., acknowledges the sale of a 2015 Toyota Camry to ***** *******. Attached is the negotiated agreement revealing a $16,250.00 trade-in allowance for the ******* vehicle. The Used. Vehicle Trade Appraisal Form is also attached to this document as is the Quote Worksheet revealing the $16,250.00 trade-in value.

It is accurate that a scrivener's error occurred on the Buyer's Order providing a trade of $19,000. Upon discovery of the error, Ms. ******* was contacted. Ms. ******* now refuses to honor the transaction that was negotiated and claims wrong doing by Fort Wayne Toyota in failing to pay the loan off of her trade.

Fort Wayne Toyota has offered to unwind the transaction and return the ******* vehicle in exchange for a return its Toyota Ceunry and has further offered to accurately reflect the negotiated transaction with new deal documents which was then refused by Ms. *******. FW Toyota stands behind its negotiated agreement consistent with the attached documents. It was a mutual mistake as it relates to the trade value on the Buyer's Order and FW Toyota has taken no action to harass,  bully or otherwise harm Ms. *******.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.] 

I have a buyers agreement that states it supercedes any other agreement. Fort Wayne toyota did make a mistake however I had no notice of this error until 9 days after my purchase I am not willing to resign a document when I have one that is a legal contract that is signed by all parties including the dealership. When I told them this they proceeded to threaten me by telling me they will not pay off my previous vehicle until I resign a contract that they are ok with. I have had an attorney send them a letter on my behalf agreeing with me that it is a legal document.  I would like fort wayne toyota to acknowledge that this contract is legalized due to the fact that it is signed document by all parties involved. They want to inconvenience myself and family because they are not wanting to accept their mistake. I do ask u to have fort wayne toyota to send u the legal documents that I signed as did they that will hold up in a court room because as u will see the buyers agreement clearly states that it supercedes any other agreement.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:

Please be advised that at this time this matter is being handled by the parties attorneys.




5/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I test drove a 2013 Subaru Legacy and took it to a mechanic shop, who I'm familiar with. They told me the front brakes were at 30% and the rear brakes were at 20%. While test-driving the car, I noticed how incredibly dirty it was. There was a thick layer of dust on the dash and center console area and the floor was especially dirty as well. Upon returning to the dealership, My wife and I made an offer to our salesman (Craig) that we would pay the full asking price of the vehicle as long as the front/rear brakes were replaced with Subaru factor brakes and that the inside was fully detailed and cleaned. My wife and I left to go get our financing done and to finalize the sale of my previous vehicle. When I returned to the dealership I handed the finance manager the check, the temporary plate was put on, and everything was finalized. After all of that, the sales manager (Jim) informed me that their technicians didn't think the front brakes needed replaced and did not replace the front brakes. In addition to this, the car's interior was only briefly cleaned, and still was incredibly dirty. I have contacted him since and he refuses to replace the brakes. This is in clear violation of our agreed terms of purchase.

Desired Settlement: I want the car fully cleaned and detailed, the front brakes REPLACED with brand new Subaru factory brakes, and a 3-year service contract for how unprofessionally everything has been handled and my headaches for having to deal with these unnecessary issues while I was on vacation.

Business Response: The issue has been resolved with the customer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *********

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently we bought a car from Steve G**** at Teal Rd Used cars Rorhman. Steve the salesman assured us that the car was dependable and there were some issues that would be fixed prior to receiving the money and agreement for the vehicle. There was a noise to begin with that sounded like chirping crickets and Steve agreed that whatever was causing this noise would be fixed before we purchased the car. In addition to this Steve guaranteed that the A/C and Heat worked on the car and that there would be no issues with major mechanical failure. Steve also assured us that the battery was fine although it was originally dead. Steve stated that it was just a dead battery and not the alternator, Steve also agreed that he would replace the power switch to the back seat passenger radio and also that he would replace the knob on the stereo in the front seat. Steve had the vehicle taken to the mechanic and claimed that the noise was gone. We had the car for one and drove it from Rohrman's to our house in West Lafayette. By the time we got home the noise was back again. Steve claimed that he would take care of this he also said it was costing him alot of money out of his own pocket. Every time we adressed Steve about the issues he began to complain that he, and I quote "wasnt making any money on this deal." Steve replaced the tires and repaired a damaged driver seat he takced 300.00 on the price for the job he said was by a professional for the driver seat. When we received the car it was apparent that something was not right with the vinyl fix on the seat, it appeared to be silly puddy-like in appearance.. we were skeptical of this 300.00 silly puddy fix and now in addition to other dilemmas the fix is beginning to fray and crack on both the section of the seat and also an arm rest. I would say that this 300.00 fix is at best a 10.00 can of vinyl spray on with some kind of cheap filler underneath. This items needs to be strictly adressed as well and many others. The A/C blows air but does not work properly.

Desired Settlement: FIX THE CAR! The noise is still there it was just in Honda Service Rorhman by the GM for TEAL (KEVIN) who stated that he would make sure this was fixed. The A/C does not work he said it worked, so fix it! Honda says its the Tensioner for the A/C and they are not going to fix it even though that is the source of the noise. I forgot to mention that the battery was dead. They put a new battery in and a new alternator, the battery light is still coming on, fix it! They claimed that a professional

Business Response: Tell us why here...  Our apologies.  On 4/9 ***** ******, General Manager/Teal Road Superstore, thought Bob Rohrman Honda was fixing the vehicle.  Honda thought they still needed Kevin's final approval.  Today, 4/13 at 4:30 ***** ******'s wife is bringing the vehicle to Bob Rohrman Honda for repairs to be done on Tuesday, 4/14.  The ******'s will be given a loaner car today to drive until their vehicle is repaired.

We would be happy to send you a copy of the finalized repair order when repairs have been completed.

Thank you,

Craig G*****, Director of Operations

4/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this particular dealership Bob Rohrman Nissan dealer in Chesterton Indiana, advertise a $25 off service coupon, & a $20 Target gift card, if you came in and test drove a car and they couldn't get you into a car at a reasonable price that you can afford. So I went in test drove a car and they couldn't get in my price range so I asked for the gift card before I left and they said that they were locked up in the managers office. They said that they would mail them out to me. That was on March 26 its been about 3 weeks and I call every other day it seems like and I'll stop in there once a week on my day off and I always get the runaround of like all there in the mail or you didn't get up somebody. I talk to the sales manager zach is his name. And he took my name down the last time I was in there Wednesday the 7th of April he took my name and number on a little booklet of his and said that he will mail them out immediately and said he would call me back that day confirming email them out. It is now April 13th and I have not received a phone call from Zack, so I called that today he says I have information right here let me get the card and I will mail them out and I will give you a call right back. Five minutes later my phone rings its not that its the sales person who tried to get me in my supposedly new car his name is Tony. he says that they mail them out I should have got him a must be lost in the mail stream or somebody must have pulled them out of the mail Street and stole from the post office. I work for the post office and that is highly unlikely. They're just liars I would never deal with Nissan Chesterton anymore especially with Zack or Tony of the salesman stay away from this company. They just blame everything on everybody else and won't live up to their advertisements. Product_Or_Service: sales

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like my $20 Target gift card and my $25 service coupon even though I do not prefer to service coupon cuz I will not participate in this business anymore there I will not go to this business anymore. So I think a $50 Target gift card or a 50 dollar Walmart gift card mailed to my home address would be great.

Business Response: In response to Mr. ******'s complaint, I personally mailed him the first $20 Target card and $25 coupon. I do know for certain his was mailed along with other customer's at the same time. His was the only not received. I have followed up the other customers just to make sure. Tuesday April 14th I became aware of Mr. ******'s complaint via Tony M****** our sales associate who originally spoke with Mr. ******, I immediately contacted Mr. ******  apologized of the confusion and I personally delivered his $20 Target car and $25 off $100 service coupon, to his home in Valparaiso. I asked Mr. ****** to please contact me if there where any further issues. I left him ALL of my contact info, no response. I also attempted to follow up with him since, no response yet. I did physically place the gift card and coupon in his mailbox. I do hope this matter is now resolved. Thank you.

Emily G**** 
Owner Loyalty Mgr.
Bob Rohrman Nissan of Chesterton
(219) 787- 1777

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ******* *****

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We showed up Saturday 2/28 in the evening, and after 2-3 hours of test drives, waiting, paperwork wait, and an agreed upon purchase price and terms, after we were done with the paperwork, we noticed that we had Pivotal Protection $399 fee added to the contract papers. The sales manager just X'd where we needed to sign, and never discussed this "theft protection" plan. It was never mentioned, and the next day when we discovered this in the paperwork, they told us they do this on all vehicles, basically saying it was "mandatory", even when the paperwork that we signed had a slot for "declined coverage" stating it wasn't necessary for a sale. This type of contractual bloat is unacceptable, and when this wasn't covered in the original "here is your trade value, here is the price of the vehicles, and fees will total around $200" verbal agreement. We would like this canceled and refunded. Product_Or_Service: 2015 Toyota

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We would like the $399 refunded, it is not a required purchase, and it was covered over in all discussions and even during the signing of paperwork. The only "optional" item covered was the extended warranty, where they make you sign a "decline" line, to try to make you feel like you really should get it. This other "pivotal protection plus" was never discussed that we could decline it, just an x on the line where we sign that we accepted it. 9:30pm at night with 2 r

Business Response:

Mr. **** ****** was contacted today regarding the concern expressed in his complaint.  Upon review of the worksheet on which the transaction was negotiated it clearly shows that theft protection was negotiated as part of the transaction.  Theft protection is not required.  While it is on all of our vehicles at the times of purchase, it is optional for the purchaser to transfer the coverage to themselves.  We have agreed to cancel the theft protection for Mr. ******.  He is coming to sign and pick up new paperwork this afternoon.  We apologized for any inconvenience. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

The sales manager was great, and I was incorrect in my original complaint, it was the finance manager that we had an issue with. Theft protection was never verbally discussed during the signing process, nor was it called out as being optional, with an x placed in the authorized box for us to sign. However, after our meeting with them on this the 2nd time, Fort Wayne Toyota agreed to send a notice to Toyota Financing to cancel the theft protection and credit the amount financed to the loan balance. I have made a copy of that letter for my records.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. We will wait until our next statement to see if this indeed was credited by Toyota against our balance, and if it had been, this matter can be closed. If not, we will need further action.

Regards,

**** * ******

1/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2014, we were in search of a new vehicle. We visited Fort Wayne Toyota, Lexus. We found the vehicle we wanted, and started the approval process. We spoke to the Sales Manager John S****. We advised John S****, via text message, that we would only go through with the purchase if he could get the financing approved with three (3) lenders. We gave him our approval to submit our application to three (3) of their top lenders. Two days later, we were informed by our credit protection that Fort Wayne Toyota had submitted our application to over twenty (20) lenders. This has now caused my credit score to tremendously drop, and now has adversely affected my ability to make the home purchase I had planned on making.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want Fort Wayne Toyota Lexus to get these "Hard Inquires" off of my credit at their expense and they should have to do the work to do it. I should not have to take the time to fix their mistake, or pay to get their mistake fixed.

Business Response:

 

We have received the complaint that was submitted to your office by Mr. *******. On November 26, 2014 Mr. **** ******* and Ms. ***** ******* originally negotiated the purchase of a vehicle at Fort Wayne Toyota Lewis Kia. They requested that we obtain financing for them. Mr. ******* signed the "ADDITIONAL TERMS FOR RETAIL INSTALLMENT SALES CONTRACT." His signature on this document allows us to submit the credit application to such prospective lender or lenders as Fort Wayne Toyota shall select, in the exercise of its sole discretion. Enclosed is a copy of this document. Ms. ******* asked Mr. S**** to let her know what the top Three approvals were, as credit approvals based on credit worthiness, length of term, and interest rate will vary by lender. In order to obtain the top three lenders, it was necessary to submit the application to a number of lenders in order to obtain the top 3. At no point was it Mr. S****'s understanding that the application was only to be submitted to 3 lenders. Our records indicate that application was not submitted to over 20 lenders. Our record indicates that it was submitted to 13 lenders.

Ms. ******* called our location stating that the application was not to have been submitted to more that 3 lenders. This was not the understanding of Mr. S****. It was explained to her that the application was submitted to obtain the best 3 approvals as requested. Subsequently, on December 10, 2014, Mr. ******* returned to our location and completed the transaction purchasing the vehicle.

While credit inquiries can affeot a credit score, there are other factors that can do so as well, such as an increase in debt to income for purchases. An increase in debt to income can negatively impact a credit score.

Our position is that we acted according to the agreed terms in order to obtain an approval for the negotiated purchase. Therefore, no further action is required on our behalf. We are committed to ensuring that Mr. and Ms. ******* receive exceptional service throughout the ownership of their vehicle.

Respectfully,

Larry K****

&nb

1/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a coupon for an oil change, 27-point inspection, and car wash for $24.95 from Fort Wayne Toyota. Nowhere on the coupon did it say exclusions apply. I called and made the appointment, but when I brought my 2008 Lexus RX 350 to the dealership, they told me my appointment was with the "Lexus part" of the dealership. When I questioned them about the coupon, they flat out refused to honor the price on the coupon, or to even change the oil in my Lexus, stating "They can't undercut their(Lexus') prices." I said, "That's false advertising! You can't print a coupon to get people in the door, and then suddenly not honor the coupon. It's illegal." The man went in the back, with the coupon, and then came back out saying, "Everyone agrees, the coupon is not valid on your vehicle." We left, taking the vehicle to the "Lexus part", hoping they MIGHT honor the coupon. They did not, but they did give us a coupon for $39.95 for the same service. The dealership is Fort Wayne Toyota/Lexus/Scion, so there was no way for me to know they are all "different or separate entities" all working under the Toyota name. Product_Or_Service: oil change

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would honestly like to be refunded the difference in price of $15.00. I think that is only fair. Also, maybe to change their wording on their coupons to allow for exclusions, so other (former)customers don't get hosed.

Business Response: January 12, 2015

Ms. ******* has been contacted and was given a cerficate for a complimentary oil change for her inconvenience.. She has indicated that her concern has been resolved to her complete satisfaction.  The coupon in question that was presented was for Fort Wayne Toyota not Lexus of Fort Wayne. At this point no further action is required.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have received the coupon and consider this matter resolved.

Regards,

********* *******

12/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lexus of fort wayne has sent me an invitation to go to their dealership and test drive one of their model in September and receive $50 certificate for ***** ****** restaurant. On September 3 2014 I went in and I met ***** ******** and test drive Rx350. He completed all paper work to get me the certificate and told me I will get in mail in few days.I have called ***** and *** at least four times. Tom told me twice that he has dropped the certificate in mail himself. I still has not received received it.Please help.Thanks.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Send me two $50 certificates for ***** ****** restaurant ASAP.

Business Response:

We have reviewed the complaint regarding the gift card that was to have been sent to Mr. ** ****. We appreciate his bringing this matter to our attention. We have sent a gift card to him which he may receive any day. We apologized for any inconvenience that he may have incurred. At this point our position is that no farther action is required.

Sincerely,

***** *****

General Manager

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday September 22nd, I brought my husband’s Nissan Altima in for a repair. The trunk was not opening with the controller or the button inside the car. I was told that the fee for “diagnostics” was $65. I thought this seemed a bit steep, but I was willing to pay this to fix this irritating problem. An hour after I dropped off the car, I received a phone call explaining that nothing was found with the initial diagnostic testing and that they were concerned that it was an electrical problem. This was going to cost more for diagnostics. The fee for this teir of diagnostics was $315. This, to me, was a ridiculous amount to pay for just the diagnostics. I told them that I did not want them to do that and I would pick the car up later that evening. I picked the car up, paid $65 (for absolutely nothing), and left. I had a friend of the family check into the problem. He ran an initial diagnostic check on the trunk (I’m assuming the same sort of initial test Nissan did) and found that it was not an electrical problem. He said that there was a button in the glove box that is a safety feature to allow you to lock your trunk so if somone gets a hold of your keys, they cannot get into your trunk. He pushed the button and the issue was fixed. I cannot tell you how angry and dissappointed I am in Nissan of Chesterton. This is an obvious case of ripping people off. They know very well how all of these cars work and this should have been one of the first things that they checked. I thought that going to the dealership would keep me safe from creeps that steal money from trusting people.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full reimburesment of $65. I’m not entirely convinced that a diagnostic test was even performed. If it was, it would have shown that it was not an electrical issue. Furthermore, I’m sure that the mechanics are aware of the button in the glove box.

Business Response:

results: After recent research realize that the problem was a over sight and a miss communication . Mrs. **** will be refunded in full $65.00 . The General Manager ****** ***** called and personally apologized and also awarded Mrs. **** dinner on us and a couple of free oil changes for this aggravated situation . Mrs. **** is Happy and will continue to support Chesterton Nissan as her place for Service.

Thank You ****** ***** General Manager Bob Rohrman's Nissan of Chesterton

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hyundai Genesis R-Spec was dropped off for Service to fix the Front End and add new decals on front and back and window tent. While away at work I received a call from service desk asking for a pre payment for the services because of the costs was over $1,000. I gave my credit card information over the phone to the attendant. Later I learned from the attendant (female) that I would not be charged until I looked at my vehicle first to inspect it. Yesterday on June 13th I was told to inspect my vehicle prior to payment. I went to go pick up my car and during the inspection noticed that their was a gash, not a dent in my bumper. It was directly below where the new decal was placed. As if a tool scraped a dent on the bottom end my car. When I inquired about it to the Service desk manager, he immediately got offensive and yelled at my wife and I stating it was already there. My mother and my wife were present when the car was dropped off and confirmed there was not a gash in the bumper at the time it was taken in for service. It's a fairly noticeable gash. There was female attendant present during the time of drop off who talked with my wife about the service details and walked around the car with her. She was not available yesterday for us to speak with. Also I dropped off our other car Hyundai Genesis Coupe for an oil change and requested to have the wind shield wipers replaced the attendant who was upset about us asking him nicely about the damage to our other vehicle would not even get up from his desk to add the additional service to our work order request for the Genesis Coupe.

Desired Settlement: I spent 1500 dollars to get my car to like new condition. Only to discover that it was damaged in the process at pickup. I would really appreciate a formal apology to my wife and I about the rude and unprofessional behavior experienced. All I did was ask a question about my car and received the most rude response as if I was wrong for asking a question. Also I would like the dealership to take ownership of their faults and repair the gash damage on the bottom of our vehicle at no additional cost. If you look at the vehicle you can clearly see the damage is not ordinary. As far as the Genesis Coupe we will be taking it to another location for service on the windshield wipers once it is available for pickup.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern, my name is *** *******. I'm service manager of Bob Rhorman Indy Hyundai. I tried to contact Mr. ****** to have him come in to repair rear bumper. I have not received reply.

Thank you,

7/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor warranty, and had to pay out of pocket for repairs that should have been covered under warranty March 8, 2014 I purchased a 2006 Kia Sorento with 108,765 miles on it. At this time of purchase I was given a warranty through the company of 3,000/3 months for the powertrain. I also bought an exented two year warranty. On April 29th at 111,007 miles my vehicle broke down and the dealership came and got it. The crank pully had broke and the dealership had to pull the motor to replace the crank. The dealership would not cover the fix of the part. This part was covered under my warranty. They also charged me for other things that they said they would fix when I bought it. The dealership got the car in the night before (a couple traded it in) before they sold it to me. That is why they promised to fix some of the items because they did not have a chance to go through it. The car still had the trash from the old customers pushed under compartments. Also the dealership didn't disclose the vehicle was involved in an accident back in 2010. I will be contacting BMV if this does not get settled. * There are no exclusions on the paperwork I have full powertrain warranty

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the money of the parts that were under warranty $2467.21

Business Response:

We have received your letter regarding Mr. ****** concerns. On March 8, 2014 Mr. **** purchased a 2006 Kia Sorento, *****************, with 108,765 miles on it. At the time of purchase we agreed to fix the fuel light and tail light. Enclosed you will find a copy of document which he signed indicating repair of these items. There was no agreement to repair any other items. In addition, at the time of purchase, he was provided a copy of the vehicle "CARFAX." It clearly disclosed that there was accident damage reported. Enclosed is a copy of the signed document. In addition at the time of purchase, Mr. **** purchased a "Wynn's Plus" extended warranty for the vehicle. A copy is also provided.

On May 7, 2014 the vehicle was towed to our location with a power steering issue. There were a number of other items that Mr. **** requested to be checked. Upon inspection of the vehicle it was determined the bolt from the crankshaft "backed out causing the pulley to fall off." The vehicle was inspected by a representative of the warranty provider. It was determined that this was not a warrantable repair. Warranties most generally cover the failure of internally lubricated mechanical parts. Mr. **** elected to have other items repaired for which he was provided a discount.

It is unfortunate that Mr. **** experienced this failure that was not covered by the warranties. If Mr. **** would like to consider trading the vehicle, we would be happy to work with him. At this time our position is that no further assistance is required.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my Kia Sedona Mini Van off at the Kia service department in Ft Wayne Indiana on a Tuesday,I was told it would be $80 just to diagnose the problem. Diagnosis: it would be $35 for a gear shift solenoid switch and $100 for labor. I gave them the Okay to start the work and I had to rent a car costing me $90 out of pocket to wait for my van to be fixed. (Grand Total= $305). The Kia service department called me on Friday of the same week and told me that they had made sure that the gear shift locked into place but there was ANOTHER problem (surprise, surprise). I declined to have the additional work done but They assured me that my vehicle now locks into park and is SAFE to drive and the new problem they found was minor. After paying the Kia service department in cash and picking up my Van, I soon realized that the problem was NOT fixed. I went back to the KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT and I was told that if I wanted my money back I would need to wait for the van to be re-evaluated. I waited patiently with my 2 children for a half an hour before I had to ask again to speak with the service manager. He came out and told me there was nothing he could do, they did the work and replaced the part so I still owed the money. Unless I wanted to pay more money for another problem that MAY OR MAY NOT have anything to do with the first problem they cant help me. After demanding to talk to the General manager who wasn't in his office they contacted the HR manager who helped me get most of my money back. They still made me pay for the part that they replaced. When I returned to my vehicle ready to get out of there I noticed that the dash around my gear shifter was still disconnected and dangling on the floor by electrical wires. They didn't even put my car back together after they attempted to fix the problem. Product_Or_Service: soenoid switch for gear shift

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be reimbursed for the $35 dollar part that was replaced, which I don't think was actually replaced since it wasn't actually fixed. I will never take my vehicle back to their service department.

Business Response:

We have reviewed the concerns that Ms. ******* expressed in her complaint. Ms. ******* brought her vehicle, a 2006 Kia Sedona with 135,424 miles, to our location. The vehicle came to us with multiple issues. The primary concern was that the vehicle would not shift in or out of park without pushing the manual release. Replacement of the switch solenoid allowed vehicle to shift in and out of park without pushing the override button. Further, Ms. ******* stated that the vehicle had been in an accident. She wanted us to state the concerns that she was experiencing were related to the accident. She explained that she had already paid a $500.00 deductible and did not have funds for all of the repairs. She was told that we would not be able to state that the needed repairs were the result of an accident as we had not inspected the vehicle previously. The keys of the vehicle were stuck in the ignition. She did not authorize that repair. She was told that there were other issues. She said that she would have to do them at a later time. After paying for the repair she returned stating that the gear shift would move without pressing the brake. She said that she did not want anything else done. She said that she was not in a position to spend any more money. We offered to review the work completed. She declined. She said she just wanted her money back. She was refunded the labor but was told that she would have to pay for the part. She agreed and the labor was refunded. At this time our position is that no further assistance is required. We will not refund the money for the Shift Interlock Solenoid Switch. Please feel free to contact ***** ********, Parts and Service Director, with any questions that you may have.

Sincerely,

***** *****

General Manager

6/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service