BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Rohrman Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Rohrman Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 46 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

46 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 10
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 35
Total Closed Complaints 46

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Bob Rohrman Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1963 in IN Business incorporated 11/13/1973 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Rohrman, President/Owner Mr. Craig Gipson, Director of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Craig Gipson, Director of Operations
Principal: Mr. Robert Rohrman, President/Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Bob Rohrman Collision Repair Bob Rohrman Honda Bob Rohrman Kia Bob Rohrman Lincoln Mercury Hyundai Bob Rohrman Mitsubishi Suzuki Bob Rohrman Motors, Inc. Bob Rohrman Subaru Bob Rohrman Toyota Scion Jeep Bob Rohrman's Used Car Superstore Five Star Motors of Lafayette, Inc. Indy Honda Indy Hyundai Suzuki Superstore Indy Motorwerks Rohr-Ette Motors, Inc. Rohr-Indy Motors, Inc. Rohr-Tippe Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
As Is Vehicle Purchasing Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We showed up Saturday 2/28 in the evening, and after 2-3 hours of test drives, waiting, paperwork wait, and an agreed upon purchase price and terms, after we were done with the paperwork, we noticed that we had Pivotal Protection $399 fee added to the contract papers. The sales manager just X'd where we needed to sign, and never discussed this "theft protection" plan. It was never mentioned, and the next day when we discovered this in the paperwork, they told us they do this on all vehicles, basically saying it was "mandatory", even when the paperwork that we signed had a slot for "declined coverage" stating it wasn't necessary for a sale. This type of contractual bloat is unacceptable, and when this wasn't covered in the original "here is your trade value, here is the price of the vehicles, and fees will total around $200" verbal agreement. We would like this canceled and refunded. Product_Or_Service: 2015 Toyota

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We would like the $399 refunded, it is not a required purchase, and it was covered over in all discussions and even during the signing of paperwork. The only "optional" item covered was the extended warranty, where they make you sign a "decline" line, to try to make you feel like you really should get it. This other "pivotal protection plus" was never discussed that we could decline it, just an x on the line where we sign that we accepted it. 9:30pm at night with 2 r

Business Response:

Mr. **** ****** was contacted today regarding the concern expressed in his complaint.  Upon review of the worksheet on which the transaction was negotiated it clearly shows that theft protection was negotiated as part of the transaction.  Theft protection is not required.  While it is on all of our vehicles at the times of purchase, it is optional for the purchaser to transfer the coverage to themselves.  We have agreed to cancel the theft protection for Mr. ******.  He is coming to sign and pick up new paperwork this afternoon.  We apologized for any inconvenience. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

The sales manager was great, and I was incorrect in my original complaint, it was the finance manager that we had an issue with. Theft protection was never verbally discussed during the signing process, nor was it called out as being optional, with an x placed in the authorized box for us to sign. However, after our meeting with them on this the 2nd time, Fort Wayne Toyota agreed to send a notice to Toyota Financing to cancel the theft protection and credit the amount financed to the loan balance. I have made a copy of that letter for my records.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. We will wait until our next statement to see if this indeed was credited by Toyota against our balance, and if it had been, this matter can be closed. If not, we will need further action.

Regards,

**** * ******

1/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lexus of fort wayne has sent me an invitation to go to their dealership and test drive one of their model in September and receive $50 certificate for ***** ****** restaurant. On September 3 2014 I went in and I met ***** ******** and test drive Rx350. He completed all paper work to get me the certificate and told me I will get in mail in few days.I have called ***** and *** at least four times. Tom told me twice that he has dropped the certificate in mail himself. I still has not received received it.Please help.Thanks.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Send me two $50 certificates for ***** ****** restaurant ASAP.

Business Response:

We have reviewed the complaint regarding the gift card that was to have been sent to Mr. ** ****. We appreciate his bringing this matter to our attention. We have sent a gift card to him which he may receive any day. We apologized for any inconvenience that he may have incurred. At this point our position is that no farther action is required.

Sincerely,

***** *****

General Manager

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday September 22nd, I brought my husband’s Nissan Altima in for a repair. The trunk was not opening with the controller or the button inside the car. I was told that the fee for “diagnostics” was $65. I thought this seemed a bit steep, but I was willing to pay this to fix this irritating problem. An hour after I dropped off the car, I received a phone call explaining that nothing was found with the initial diagnostic testing and that they were concerned that it was an electrical problem. This was going to cost more for diagnostics. The fee for this teir of diagnostics was $315. This, to me, was a ridiculous amount to pay for just the diagnostics. I told them that I did not want them to do that and I would pick the car up later that evening. I picked the car up, paid $65 (for absolutely nothing), and left. I had a friend of the family check into the problem. He ran an initial diagnostic check on the trunk (I’m assuming the same sort of initial test Nissan did) and found that it was not an electrical problem. He said that there was a button in the glove box that is a safety feature to allow you to lock your trunk so if somone gets a hold of your keys, they cannot get into your trunk. He pushed the button and the issue was fixed. I cannot tell you how angry and dissappointed I am in Nissan of Chesterton. This is an obvious case of ripping people off. They know very well how all of these cars work and this should have been one of the first things that they checked. I thought that going to the dealership would keep me safe from creeps that steal money from trusting people.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full reimburesment of $65. I’m not entirely convinced that a diagnostic test was even performed. If it was, it would have shown that it was not an electrical issue. Furthermore, I’m sure that the mechanics are aware of the button in the glove box.

Business Response:

results: After recent research realize that the problem was a over sight and a miss communication . Mrs. **** will be refunded in full $65.00 . The General Manager ****** ***** called and personally apologized and also awarded Mrs. **** dinner on us and a couple of free oil changes for this aggravated situation . Mrs. **** is Happy and will continue to support Chesterton Nissan as her place for Service.

Thank You ****** ***** General Manager Bob Rohrman's Nissan of Chesterton

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hyundai Genesis R-Spec was dropped off for Service to fix the Front End and add new decals on front and back and window tent. While away at work I received a call from service desk asking for a pre payment for the services because of the costs was over $1,000. I gave my credit card information over the phone to the attendant. Later I learned from the attendant (female) that I would not be charged until I looked at my vehicle first to inspect it. Yesterday on June 13th I was told to inspect my vehicle prior to payment. I went to go pick up my car and during the inspection noticed that their was a gash, not a dent in my bumper. It was directly below where the new decal was placed. As if a tool scraped a dent on the bottom end my car. When I inquired about it to the Service desk manager, he immediately got offensive and yelled at my wife and I stating it was already there. My mother and my wife were present when the car was dropped off and confirmed there was not a gash in the bumper at the time it was taken in for service. It's a fairly noticeable gash. There was female attendant present during the time of drop off who talked with my wife about the service details and walked around the car with her. She was not available yesterday for us to speak with. Also I dropped off our other car Hyundai Genesis Coupe for an oil change and requested to have the wind shield wipers replaced the attendant who was upset about us asking him nicely about the damage to our other vehicle would not even get up from his desk to add the additional service to our work order request for the Genesis Coupe.

Desired Settlement: I spent 1500 dollars to get my car to like new condition. Only to discover that it was damaged in the process at pickup. I would really appreciate a formal apology to my wife and I about the rude and unprofessional behavior experienced. All I did was ask a question about my car and received the most rude response as if I was wrong for asking a question. Also I would like the dealership to take ownership of their faults and repair the gash damage on the bottom of our vehicle at no additional cost. If you look at the vehicle you can clearly see the damage is not ordinary. As far as the Genesis Coupe we will be taking it to another location for service on the windshield wipers once it is available for pickup.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern, my name is *** *******. I'm service manager of Bob Rhorman Indy Hyundai. I tried to contact Mr. ****** to have him come in to repair rear bumper. I have not received reply.

Thank you,

7/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to honor warranty, and had to pay out of pocket for repairs that should have been covered under warranty March 8, 2014 I purchased a 2006 Kia Sorento with 108,765 miles on it. At this time of purchase I was given a warranty through the company of 3,000/3 months for the powertrain. I also bought an exented two year warranty. On April 29th at 111,007 miles my vehicle broke down and the dealership came and got it. The crank pully had broke and the dealership had to pull the motor to replace the crank. The dealership would not cover the fix of the part. This part was covered under my warranty. They also charged me for other things that they said they would fix when I bought it. The dealership got the car in the night before (a couple traded it in) before they sold it to me. That is why they promised to fix some of the items because they did not have a chance to go through it. The car still had the trash from the old customers pushed under compartments. Also the dealership didn't disclose the vehicle was involved in an accident back in 2010. I will be contacting BMV if this does not get settled. * There are no exclusions on the paperwork I have full powertrain warranty

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the money of the parts that were under warranty $2467.21

Business Response:

We have received your letter regarding Mr. ****** concerns. On March 8, 2014 Mr. **** purchased a 2006 Kia Sorento, *****************, with 108,765 miles on it. At the time of purchase we agreed to fix the fuel light and tail light. Enclosed you will find a copy of document which he signed indicating repair of these items. There was no agreement to repair any other items. In addition, at the time of purchase, he was provided a copy of the vehicle "CARFAX." It clearly disclosed that there was accident damage reported. Enclosed is a copy of the signed document. In addition at the time of purchase, Mr. **** purchased a "Wynn's Plus" extended warranty for the vehicle. A copy is also provided.

On May 7, 2014 the vehicle was towed to our location with a power steering issue. There were a number of other items that Mr. **** requested to be checked. Upon inspection of the vehicle it was determined the bolt from the crankshaft "backed out causing the pulley to fall off." The vehicle was inspected by a representative of the warranty provider. It was determined that this was not a warrantable repair. Warranties most generally cover the failure of internally lubricated mechanical parts. Mr. **** elected to have other items repaired for which he was provided a discount.

It is unfortunate that Mr. **** experienced this failure that was not covered by the warranties. If Mr. **** would like to consider trading the vehicle, we would be happy to work with him. At this time our position is that no further assistance is required.

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my Kia Sedona Mini Van off at the Kia service department in Ft Wayne Indiana on a Tuesday,I was told it would be $80 just to diagnose the problem. Diagnosis: it would be $35 for a gear shift solenoid switch and $100 for labor. I gave them the Okay to start the work and I had to rent a car costing me $90 out of pocket to wait for my van to be fixed. (Grand Total= $305). The Kia service department called me on Friday of the same week and told me that they had made sure that the gear shift locked into place but there was ANOTHER problem (surprise, surprise). I declined to have the additional work done but They assured me that my vehicle now locks into park and is SAFE to drive and the new problem they found was minor. After paying the Kia service department in cash and picking up my Van, I soon realized that the problem was NOT fixed. I went back to the KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT and I was told that if I wanted my money back I would need to wait for the van to be re-evaluated. I waited patiently with my 2 children for a half an hour before I had to ask again to speak with the service manager. He came out and told me there was nothing he could do, they did the work and replaced the part so I still owed the money. Unless I wanted to pay more money for another problem that MAY OR MAY NOT have anything to do with the first problem they cant help me. After demanding to talk to the General manager who wasn't in his office they contacted the HR manager who helped me get most of my money back. They still made me pay for the part that they replaced. When I returned to my vehicle ready to get out of there I noticed that the dash around my gear shifter was still disconnected and dangling on the floor by electrical wires. They didn't even put my car back together after they attempted to fix the problem. Product_Or_Service: soenoid switch for gear shift

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be reimbursed for the $35 dollar part that was replaced, which I don't think was actually replaced since it wasn't actually fixed. I will never take my vehicle back to their service department.

Business Response:

We have reviewed the concerns that Ms. ******* expressed in her complaint. Ms. ******* brought her vehicle, a 2006 Kia Sedona with 135,424 miles, to our location. The vehicle came to us with multiple issues. The primary concern was that the vehicle would not shift in or out of park without pushing the manual release. Replacement of the switch solenoid allowed vehicle to shift in and out of park without pushing the override button. Further, Ms. ******* stated that the vehicle had been in an accident. She wanted us to state the concerns that she was experiencing were related to the accident. She explained that she had already paid a $500.00 deductible and did not have funds for all of the repairs. She was told that we would not be able to state that the needed repairs were the result of an accident as we had not inspected the vehicle previously. The keys of the vehicle were stuck in the ignition. She did not authorize that repair. She was told that there were other issues. She said that she would have to do them at a later time. After paying for the repair she returned stating that the gear shift would move without pressing the brake. She said that she did not want anything else done. She said that she was not in a position to spend any more money. We offered to review the work completed. She declined. She said she just wanted her money back. She was refunded the labor but was told that she would have to pay for the part. She agreed and the labor was refunded. At this time our position is that no further assistance is required. We will not refund the money for the Shift Interlock Solenoid Switch. Please feel free to contact ***** ********, Parts and Service Director, with any questions that you may have.

Sincerely,

***** *****

General Manager

6/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues