BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Blossom Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2008 Business started: 09/07/1979 in IN Business incorporated: 09/07/1979 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Chase, President Ms. Denise Miggenburg, Executive Assistant Ms. Deborah C Turner, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Chase, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
As Is Vehicle Purchasing Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1850 N Shadeland Avenue

    Indianapolis, IN 46219 (317) 375-3400 (317) 357-1121 (800) 462-7507

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was dropped off to have body work completed to the back end. When my car was there my Garmin GPS system was stolen out of my vehicle. I contacted the body shop several times with the promise of a return call which they never did. I finally called on the 26th and spoke with the body shop manager who informed me that he personally never saw the GPS therefore he wasn't going to do anything to provide any assistance. When I tried to explain he stayed he had no reason to lie about seeing the GPS and refused to offer any assistance.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my GPS that has MY address programed in it. If that is not possible I want A GPS of the same make and model. It's an older GPS system.

Business Response: Monday, December 29, 2014


    Re: ID ******** - ***** ****** Complaint


After speaking with our fixed-operations director, **** ******* this morning and then contacting the customer it was agreed to send the customer a check for $50.00 which exceeds the current asking price for the Garmin GPS that the customer stated was left within her vehicle.  We checked eBay and other online sources for the Garmin Nuvi 255w unit that Ms. ****** referenced in her complaint and found several for less that $20.00 plus shipping.  Mrs. ****** approved and agreed to Mr. *******'s $50.00 offer via telephone at approximately 10:35am this morning.

Though Blossom Chevrolet clearly states and requests that customers remove all valuables from their vehicles and shall not be responsible for any lost or missing items, the ******** are clearly good customers, thus Blossom Chevrolet has decided to make an exception in this particular situation.  Please allow up to 5-business days to receive this check.

Respectively yours,
***** *******
Business Development Director
Blossom Chevrolet, Inc.

317-357-1121 x****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

12/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2010 chevy hhr went in for a recall that was on the car and when we got it back 5 months later the Chevy emblem on the front the gold part of it was missing and i didn't get our key fob back and when i drove the car home it was shaking uncontrollably when the speed got up to 50 mph. We called and left a message to the supervisor of the service department and when I talked to him he said the emblems can peel off its a sticker. He said he can get me a price to get a new one and he wouldnt charge me for the labor. I told him no I am not paying for anything the car was in your care and it was on there when I left it with you and about the shaking he said it is probably a soft spot in the tires from it sitting for so long but they should have taken care of our vehicle while it was on there lot it was their responsibility since they had it. I just want things taking care of that should be. I didn't bring it in that condition. I except to get it back in the same condition as it was brought in. The customer service there is horrible I will never buy a car from them again. The supervisor didn't seem to care at all.

Desired Settlement: I want a new key fob and a new emblem put on and the shaking taken car of it is my only car and I have a family that rides in this vehicle.

Business Response: Monday, October 27th 2014 Mr. ******, I am going to go to work looking into this for you. Please allow me till the end of this week if necessary to let you know what can and will be done. Regards, ***** ******* Business Development Director Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. 317-357-1121

Business Response:

I just finished speaking with our Fixed-Operations Director, **** ******* who informed me that Mr. ******'s complaint is being handled already by ***** *****, our Service Shop Foreman. In fact, Mr. ****** may have already heard from ***** regarding this issue.

Sounds as if they intend to take care of the Chevy emblem and the key fob. As to the issues with the tires, Mr. ******* stated that they were simply older worn-out tires of which he stated that he would be willing to arrange for special pricing on replacing those if Mr. ****** would like to pursue that as an option.

As to the tires having a soft spot from sitting in one place for a time, they should naturally begin to round out from normal driving again but the condition due to age and wear already affecting the tires is something beyond Blossom's control. However, with that being said, Mr. ******* has extended to offer special pricing as mentioned in the previous paragraph for replacing the tires.

Please have Mr. ****** feel free to contact our service department foreman, ***** ***** by calling 317-250-**** with any additional questions or comments. If he is tied up a voice message may be left and ***** will be happy to call back as soon as he is available to do so.

Regards,

***** * *******

Business Development Director

9/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had made arrangements to purchase a 2011 Chrylser 200 from them in May of 2014. After putting $250 as a down payment we brought the vehicle in for service due to an issue. The dealer had the vehicle for almost 3 weeks before returning the vehicle stating it was repaired. The vehicle was NOT repaired and when I confronted the service team regarding it, I was lied to about the needed repair (I am a mechanic). The service department stated that they were NOT going to repair the vehicle because it was 'not making any noise currently'. The bank then contacted us to verify that we were satisfied with the vehicle before they finalized the funding. I informed them of the situation with the repair and the bank returned the sales contract to the dealer. We then worked with the dealer to finance a different vehicle and one was selected that we were satisfied with. The vehicle was in our possession for 3 weeks when we were contacted by the dealer that the bank had rejected the contract due to my wife working through a staffing agency. We were instructed to return the car immediately which we did. We then continued to work with dealer to find a different vehicle that was acceptable and one was found. Prior to taking the vehicle off the lot, we were told that they were going to verify everything with the bank prior to letting us take it. The bank then stated that as we are currently behind on our mortgage they were not going to finance the car. At this point we went to a different dealer and found a vehicle. I then contacted the dealership and requested a refund of the $375 we had put down towards their vehicle. They stated I needed to present myself to the dealer with the debit card(s) used for the down payment. I did that and they refunded $125 to my account. I was told that since the other $250 was done on my wife's card, she needed to be there to sign for the refund. I informed the dealer that I would have her come in on 08/13/14 to do so. I then received a call at 3:08pm on 08/12/14 from *** stating that they were NOT going to refund the $250, that they were going to keep that as a rental charge for the use of their vehicles. I acknowledged that we had signed an agreement stating that we agreed to rental charges IF the loan was unable to be funded through failure to respond to information requests.

Desired Settlement: Refund the remaining $250

Business Response: August 15, 2014 Hello, I contacted the customer and arranged for the requested refund for the customer which was processed on August 14, 2014. I was happy to assist the customer in getting a resolution. Regards, ***** ******* Business Development Director Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. 317-357-1121

6/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 chevy uplander on 9/12/12 through BLOSSOM CHEVROLET. It currently has (what I thought ) 55k miles on it. The transmission went out. BLOSSOM said they can REBUILD the transmission for $3000. GM agreed to pay half, leaving me with the other half. Upon talking to GM , they inform me that my vehicle is registered with them as a trade in from CANADA and the mileage is in KILOMETERS. I had no knowledge of this at time of sale. SO the 55k I thought was correct MILEAGE ... I am being told is actually 34K MILES conversion from KILOMETERS TO MILES. That is EVEN WORSE FOR A TRANSMISSION TO GO BAD AT ONLY 34K. I feel deceived by BLOSSOM. I also did my research and found that the price of a BRAND NEW TRANSMISSION is around $3k and a REBUILT TRANSMISSION is around $1500. My husband and I have 4 kids and both work hard . Times are hard right now for most Americans. I TRUSTED BLOSSOM CHEVROLET to sell me a good running car as well as I trusted GM to build a good running car. GM has taken ownership and is paying for half the transmission REPAIR. (MEANING BLOSSOM IS PROBABLY PUTTING A BANDAID ON IT AND PUTTING IT BACK IN MY CAR) I sure hope its safe for me and my 4 kids. BLOSSOM thinks they are doing me a favor by letting me drive one of their cars til its fixed.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I am entitled to not only the free loaner car, but that BLOSSOM should pay for the remaining balance (or just take what GM is giving them) and call it a day. I would also like to know why the EXPENSIVE REBUILD.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ***********I represent Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. in responding to the consumer complaint your office received from **** ***** ***** ******). She cross-filed with the Attorney General's office. I accordingly enclose a copy of our response to her consumer complaint to the Attorney General as the response to the BBB.

Since Ms. ***** has elected to enlist the aid of the Attorney General's office in this matter, Blossom with deal exclusively with the Attorney General. This has been my policy regarding cross-filed consumer complaints for many years.

Very truly yours,

**** * ****** **

**** ** ****

Dear Mr. *******:

I represent Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. ("Blossom") in responding to the above-captioned consumer complaint of **** ***** ***** ******).

Ms. ***** correctly states that she purchased a 2008 Uplander from Blossom on September 12, 2012. At the time she purchased that vehicle, it had 35,110 miles on it. See Exhibit "A" (copy of odometer statement from title reassignment). On or about October 3, 2013 — one year and 20,000 miles later — the transmission of the vehicle developed problems. At that time, the vehicle was no longer under the remaining manufacturer's power train warranty. That warranty has a duration of five (5) years. The in-service date for this vehicle was July 31, 2008. Thus, the power train warranty expired due to elapsed time (not mileage, which extends to 100,000) on July 31, 2013.

Apparently in light of the fact the warranty had only been expired by a little over two (2) months, General Motors agreed to pay for half of the transmission repair under an extension of good-will warranty credit.

Blossom is in no way at fault for the fact that the transmission on this vehicle went out over a year and 20,000 miles after its sale. Blossom's contractual warranty obligation to Ms. ***** was limited to three (3) months and ninety (90) days. A copy of the Buyers Guide reflecting this circumstance is attached as Exhibit "B."

Finally, I address Ms. *****'s ruminations regarding whether the odometer reading is stated in miles or kilometers. The speedometer/odometer display on this vehicle can be switched at will between miles and kilometers by simply pressing a switch. The odometer statement she received when she purchased the vehicle correctly stated it had 35,110 miles. When it arrived for repairs, it had a bit over 55,000 miles. And, as noted above, in any event the question of mileage versus kilometers is moot because the power train warranty expired by virtue of elapsed time, not elapsed mileage.

Based upon the foregoing, Blossom has no liability in this case and there will be no adjustment forthcoming. Should you wish to communicate further regarding this matter, please contact me and refrain from contacting Blossom directly as it is an entity represented by counsel.
 

 

Very truly yours,

**** * ****** **

 

 

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my wife and I purchases a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro (new) it was ordered and delivered , we have been having problems with the right rear tire from time of purchase and still having problems, being that I am away in the military my wife have been taking the car back for service on the tire and have not got any help, I am home on leave and took the car in yesterday and ask to speak to the service supervisor about the problem , he said he is in a meeting to leave my number and he will call me, haven't hear from him....my monthly OnStar report always shows the tire is low. Putting air in a tire every week in a new car is not what we ask for, and not getting help from Blossom in BAD BUSINESS.......three years of putting air in a tire is unacceptable and not taking care of customer.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********** 

 

We have received your notification concerning the complaint by Mr. ******* about our service department. Mr. ******* states that he has been having problems with his right rear tire from time of purchase and still having problems. He further states that his wife has been bringing the car back for service on the tire and has not received any help from Blossom Chevrolet. 

 

I have checked our service records for Mr. *******'s vehicle. It was in our service department one time for a tire complaint. That was on 8/20/2010 and the vehicle had 3,833 miles on it at the time. Our technician found a nail in the tire, removed the nail and plugged the tire. 

 

We have no record of any tire complaint from the *******s' since that date. The *******s have returned to our service department and body shop 9 times since the tire repair and we have no record of another tire complaint on any of these 9 repair orders. 

 

I have printed a summary of the service history for their vehicle and attached it for your information. I can make copies of the detailed repair orders if needed. 

Thank you for your time. Feel free to call with any further questions. 

Sincerely,

**** * *******, Fixed Operatopms Director

Blossom Cheverolet Inc.

 

  

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service