Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bill Estes Ford, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Bill Estes Ford, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Bill Estes Ford, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2008 Business started: 01/19/1958 in IN Business incorporated 03/30/1999 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Estes, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Estes, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Bill Estes Chevrolet, Inc Bill Estes Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Inc
Industry Tips
Auto Repair Tips Buying A Used Vehicle Contracts

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bill Estes Ford, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4105 W 96th Street

    Indianapolis, IN 46268

  • 450 E Northfield Drive

    Brownsburg, IN 46112 (317) 852-2231

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approved through the mail for a loan by ******* *** to shop at this dealer. FYI, my credit is not good. I called and scheduled an appointment and submitted my credit information and their finance department submitted to several finance companies, including ******* ***. One company approved me, not ******* *** but for not enough for a new car. I got another offer through another dealer, *** ******** Kia/Mitsubishi and visited them and got approved by ******* ***. I called ******* *** and asked why Bill Estes did not get me approved. A supervisor told me that Bill Estes did not submit my income correctly or send a copy of my social security income verification document. I contacted Bill Estes again and told them about this. They submitted it again and got me approved through ******* ***, but not enough for a new car again, but *** ******** had. And, Bill Estes ran my credit through other finance companies again and got several hard hits on my credit. When I saw that I contacted them again and they denied it but based on ******* *** Credit Tracker and others which I can not think of their name right now, notified my of these additional hard hits. Bill Este's financial department does not know what they are doing, lied to me, and from both visits, I got multiple hard hits, even though ******* *** said I was qualified and I never gave Bill Estes approval to run my credit a second time, only through ******* ***. Their misrepresentation by the finance company was through the sales persona and then over the phone by the head of finance. By the way, their sales person was great. I did tell the finance and sales person I was filing a complaint.

Desired Settlement: Nothing else and an acknowledgement by the owner of all of Bill Estes that this location did not represent things fairly and I had to do the work with ******* *** and inform them of the issues.

2/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car into Bill Estes Ford in Brownsburg for a oil change on 10/08/2014. I got " The Works" package and my fuel filter replace. On Dec 7. 2014 I was driving from work to church when my "check engine" light and "low oil pressure" light came on with a loud knocking noise I pull over to see what was going on. Didn't see anything so I continue to drive down the highway to church. I took it to Mears Auto in Brownsburg the very next day and they notify me that my car is out of oil and my drain plug was put on improperly and that I need to contact Bill Estes since they did the oil change so I did. I spoke to ***** W******* (Service Manager) and he give me the run around and then told me there was no claim that can be done due to the fact I had a oil leak prior to service. So I spoke to Andy the General Manager who told me that he would call Mears Auto and talk to ***** (Service Manager) and see what was going on. Andy (General Manager) call me 2 hours later saying that he spoke to Mears Auto in Brownsburg and the best they could do is give me a discount on Labor and help me found a engine. I stated to Andy that I'm not about to pay for something that isn't my fault. He replied that the best he could do and there only doing that because I've been a loyal customer.....so for being a loyal customer your not going to fix a problem that your tech caused by not putting my drain plug on properly.

Desired Settlement: I want my engine fixed.....I'm not asking for a brand new engine because that would be crazy. I am demanding you fix my car since Bill Estes Ford in Brownsburg have broken it by improperly placing my drain Plug.

Business Response: With regard to the complaint of ***** ****** sent to us on December 16, 2014:

Mr. ****** first brought his vehicle to us on May 7, 2014 with a leaking oil pan plug. At the time his car had 167,952 miles on it. We explained that one available solution for the problem was to replace the oil pan at a cost of about $800; an alternative was to replace the drain plug with an oversized plug-- a common and much less expensive solution. Mr. ****** opted for the latter. He returned five months later, on October 8, 2014, for routine maintenance which included an oil change. The odometer read 175,395 on that date. No additional problems were noted at that time. Two months later, during the week of December 15, 2014, he called and said that the engine was making a knocking noise "due to a leaking drain plug". He added that he has taken it to an independent shop where they are telling him that it needs a new engine.

In short, Mr. ****** has been driving his vehicle for over seven months (and about 7,500 miles) since the date that we installed the oversized drain plug. Had his engine issue related directly to that repair, it would have manifested itself long before now. Consequently, we are not willing to accept responsibility for his current engine problem.
?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

I having a problem understanding when did I reject a oil pan or was told about it needing replace ?? Here are the work order for May 2014 and Oct 2014 neither shows  in comments from Bill Estes about a oil pan being rejected or being told about a " major leak". The May work order shows that a oversize drain plug was put on so I thought it was a fix but when I visited back in October not on my work order or on a vehicle report card that Bill Estes techs does is there mention about a "oil leak" not even in the comment section. When I visited Mears Auto in Brownsburg the GM Harold S****** told me that my drain plug was put on " improperly" and I needed to take it back to where I got it my oil change last....which is Bill Estes Ford in Brownsbrug.  It seem that Bill Estes doesn't want to repair what there techs has " neglected" to tell me because of how many miles my car has already.... which is irrelevant. Bill Estes has still not even look at my vehicle at Mears Auto in Brownsburg which is appalling you would think a company like this would show a " loyal customer" better customer service. I am not expecting Bill Estes Ford in Brownsburg to give me a " brand new " engine I am hoping that they would do what is right when there employees damage a customer vehicle. If you have any question about my vehicle BBB you can call Mears Auto Brownsbrug at 317 852 4621 ask for Howard S****** I am currently without a car to get back and forth to work which is 40 miles aways and if this isn't resolve will be contacting the Attorney General next.
?


Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

Please be advised that as of this date we have agreed to pay Mr. ****** $1,000 as a good faith offer to resolve this matter.

I hope this information is helpful In resolving this complaint. If you would like to further discuss you can reach me at 872-3315.

Sincerely,

William T. L******

Chief Financial Officer</

2/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a key made and was charged for shop supplies. No shop supplies were used to make my key. They said it is a standard procedure to charge for shop supplies even when they do not use them. The amount was only $6.76, but I wonder how many customers they are getting the extra money from when they are not actually using the supplies for their vehicles. It is not right to charge money to people for nothing.

Desired Settlement: Do not charge people for products that are not used for their vehicles.

Business Response: We should not of charged shop supplies.   We will refund her the amount for the supplies today.   I will call her and apologize.  

Thanks

Andy W*******
General Manager
Bill Estes Ford 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in a Ford F-150 which my wife ******* and I had previously purchased from Bill Estes. We had purchased an extended warranty that was to be pro-rated and refunded once I gave Bill Estes the loan paid in full notice from my bank lenders. I gave that paperwork to a **** ****** on or about late September and was told it would take two weeks to receive my refund. I have contacted **** ****** and his supervisor several times in the month of October and November with no resolution to this refund that I am owed. It is now going into mid December and still no refund.

Desired Settlement: I just want the refund of which is owed to me, in the timely, professional manner in which it should have been delivered.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to your letter of December 9 with regard to the above referenced file.

We have located Mr. ****'s service contract cancellation request and have Issued a refund check In the amount of $1,595.02 that will be mailed today. We have no excuse for the delay In processing this refund as it appears that the cancellation paperwork was simply misplaced, We offer our apologies to Mr. & Mrs. ****.

I hope this information is helpful In resolving this complaint. If you would like to further discuss It, I can be reached at 317-872-3315.

Sincerely,

******* ** *******

Chief Financial Officer<

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****

8/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 1992 Ford E-150, had a recall for some wire harness? Dropped van off on 7/17/2014 at approx. 9 am picked Dealer called said van was ready, picked up at approx. 5:45 (close at 6) noticed key was broken off in the ignition went back to Bill Estes and guy told me everyone went home they are closed come back tomorrow. Went in this morning spoke with ****** **** Shop Foreman, he told me he did see the key was broke yesterday that "he didn't know when in the day it got broke, that its an old van." I told him they broke it they should fix it. He said "it's your van we are not responsible. They have Complete Satisfied Guaranteed. I guess to is just for looks for satisfaction is out the window.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to fix what they broke. The key is broke the same key unlocks the doors. I cannot lock my van up due to there negligence!

Business Response:

I am writing in response to your letter of August 6 with regard to the above referenced file.

We have arranged an appointment with Mr. ********* for later this week to inspect and resolve this issue. We have explained to him that Ford has five different lock cylinder options and we cannot pre-order it without first examining the old part. We are hopeful that we will be able to then take care of this problem for him.

I hope this information is helpful in resolving this complaint. If you would like to further discuss it, I can be reached at 317-872-*****

Sincerely,

 

******* ** *******

Chief Financial Officer


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Bill Estes Ford, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart