Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Southport Pet Hospital, LLC

Phone: (317) 786-1483 6955 Madison Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46227 http://www.southportpethospital.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Southport Pet Hospital, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Southport Pet Hospital, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Southport Pet Hospital, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1974 in IN Business incorporated 05/14/2003 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Professional Licensing Agency
402 W. Washington Street, Room W072, Indianapolis IN 46204-2247
http://www.pla.in.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Ronald Baumgart Jr., Co-Owner/Veterinarian Dr. Ronald Baumgart Sr., Co-Owner/Veterinarian
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Ronald Baumgart Jr., Co-Owner/Veterinarian
Principal: Dr. Ronald Baumgart Sr., Co-Owner/Veterinarian
Business Category

Animal Hospitals KENNELS & PET BOARDING Pet Grooming Veterinarians VETERINARY EMERGENCY PET BOARDING - DOGS PET SERVICES

Industry Tips
Contracts Licensing/Registration-Animals

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Southport Pet Hospital, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6955 Madison Avenue

    Indianapolis, IN 46227 (317) 786-1483

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called them this morning and made an appt. I talked to a woman, Tina. She asked what was I bringing my pets in for and I said just the annual. I adv her that all I wanted was the vaccine shots. She said, "you want the $50 package" and I said yes. I gave my husband the post card I recd in the mail with the package highlighted in PINK. He handed this to her when he arrived for the appt. She verified to him that I had called with instructions. However, she failed to give it to the staff or Dr that was performing the service, so they asked my husband, what do you want done. He did not know exactly, as I take them to the vet, hence, the reason for the call ahead and the post-card with what services I wanted, highlighted in pink. He said I guess what he got last yr. There was no reason for this if Tina would have done her job and advised them of my wishes or even gave them the card. They had to sedate my female, Sam to do what they had to do, which meant another $40, plus the $50 each for vac = $140. I get a bill for $210. I called and discussed this with Mary, then she had the mgr call me. I explained to them both. Hung up and even called back later to talk to the Dr. Tina verified that the card was in the file when I called back again. The Dr or mgr either one felt they had done anything wrong when I explained to them exactly what happened. They said we took our direction from your husband". I informed them of the above and stated you didn't NEED to verify with him if Tina would have done her job and gave you in writing what I wanted done. They have this in writing in the file, but refuse to take responsibility for the wrong doing of their employee. The Dr even said I didn't know all this. I said well now you do, but he STILL would not make it right. I did everything right, and they still messed up. If a dr isn't going to read the patient's file in order to determine the services that were requested in writing, then he should take responsibility for performing the wrong services.

Desired Settlement: Refund the difference of what was supposed to have been done and what they did - $70.

Business Response: Mr. ****** brought his two cats in for vaccinations and apparently his wife had called in earlier and had requested for low cost vaccines.  It is valued at $50 each.  We suggested to her husband, a legal representative of his wife, that he get the complete package; so, that his pets could get all the testing and vaccinations required to protect them.  We gave him an estimate and gave all the vaccines as he requested.  Often times people bring their pets in for low cost vaccines and upgrade because they want to get the best care for their pet.  We gave him an estimate to ensure that he understood exactly what the cost would be.  The vaccines are an $85 value for each pet and $40 for sedation.  We had to sedate one of his cats because it was difficult to restrain the pet properly.  He talked to his wife about the sedation and she agreed.  We gave all the vaccinations and ran the heartworm test.  All of these things cost the clinic money, it was done in good faith, it was agreed upon by her husband (a representative of his wife who is of sound mind and over 18 years of age).  She called complaining and blaming my staff because we gave the wrong vaccine package.  Her husband admitted that he agreed to the vaccinations and understood what he was getting.  I feel that this is a simple misunderstanding; however, I cannot give her money back for services that I gave her in good faith.  I will stand my ground because this is my policy and I feel it is unreasonable for her to make the request for me to give her money back.  If you force me to do so I don't wish to be a part of the BBB anymore.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that the response would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The facts are:  I called ahead, advised HIS receptionist what I wanted done, she confirmed. When my husband arrived, he gave her the post card, highlighted with a pink marker the SAME services discussed with HIS receptionist when making the appt of what I wanted done. She failed to relay that info to the Dr or his other 2 employees. He also failed to ck the file which according to my conversation with HIS staff was in the file. What kind of vet doesn't ck the pet file prior to performing the services?  If they would have done their job, there was NOT a reason to ASK what needed to be done.  The fact that the Dr suggested the HIGHER priced services is typical of my dealings with them. They talk about the extra protection trying to omply you don't care enough about your pet if you don't. My cats are inside cats & did NOT need those other services. I feel they took advantage of my husband because he did not know, because I normally take Max. Hence, the call ahead & the card which showed in WRITING, highlighted in bright PINK EXACTLY what I wanted them to get.  If his receptionist would have simply done her job & gave the Dr the instructions IN WRITING, there would not have been this problem. This dr is unwilling to make something right that was done wrong by his employee, says a lot about his integrity & his business practices.  The fact he would rather lose 2 customers instead of admitting he did NOT do his job, admit there was a lack of communication with his employee, failed to even offer some other option to right this wrong (& IT WAS WRONG) speaks volumes about him & his lack of business sense.

I never had a problem with his dad, who was our original vet. MAYBE he should ask his dad, who was always so prof, nice & helpful, did not take advantage like he did, for some advice in how to run a business and deal with patients & customers. I REALLY do not believe Sam needed to be sedayed either. He just did not want to try other methods like the burrito, which was a method used at a prior vet when Max was sick, was really scared, and would not allow the vet to perform the services. She had no problem, nor did I when I used this method. Another means of adding unnecessary costs to increase his bill.






Regards,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Southport Pet Hospital, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart