BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Indiana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

HCCMIS® offers travel medical insurance and short-term U.S. domestic insurance.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that HCC Medical Insurance Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for HCC Medical Insurance Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 22
Total Closed Complaints 35

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on HCC Medical Insurance Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 07, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1998 in IN Business incorporated: 03/27/2006 in IN
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Carney, President Mr. Andrew Bard, Vice President of Sales Mr. Bryant Tutterow, Assistant Vice President of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Carney, President
Business Category

INSURANCE-HEALTH Direct Health and Medical Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524114)

Products & Services

HCC Medical Insurance Services, LLC offers the following product(s): Atlas Corporate insurance, Atlas Group insurance, Atlas Professional insurance, Atlas Travel insurance, CitizenSecure® Economy insurance, CitizenSecure® insurance, GroupSecure® insurance, HCC Life Short Term Medical insurance, Health Insurance, IC+® term life insurance, StudentSecure® insurance

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express

Additional Locations

  • 251 N Illinois Street #600

    Indianapolis, IN 46204 (317) 262-2132 (800) 605-2282 (317) 262-2472

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (317) 262-2472(Phone)
  • (800) 605-2282(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HCCMIS does not comply with their policy agreements. I have submited 2 claims. HCCMIS mentions that after a claim has been done an answer/refund will be done within 30 to 45 days. This has not been my case. I purchased a 1 million dollar policy with zero deductible. In the middle of my trip I started felling sick. I went to the ER, in this ER told me they didnt have an agreement with HCCMIS. I called HCCMIS and told me to go to another hospital which I did. In this hospital they told me they didnt have an agreement with them and I had to pay out of my pocket. Next I went to a doctor as an outpatient. Same thing, I had to pay out of my pocket. The doctor recomended to perform a lot of medical examinations. I submited all documents to HCCMIS so they could take care of this bills directly...to my surprrise the time passed and I believe HCCMIS intentionally just waited for my policy to end so they would not pay for those exams. Now my coverage with HCCMIS has expired and never got a reply from them. The two claims I made for my out of pocket payments are still pending and the timeframe they mention has already passed and I have not received payment. I am really disapointed with this company. I dont understand how with so many complaints they have an A+ rating on the BBB. I hope you can do something about this. Thanks!

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund on the 2 claims I made to the company which I had to pay out of pocket. I want HCCMIS to pay for the exams requested by the doctor which they never paid and finally I would like a complete refund of the money paid to this company for the international health insurance policy.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** was covered under our Atlas International policy which is issued on a non-admitted basis to The Atlas / International Citizen Group Insurance Trust out of Hamilton, Bermuda. The insurance is underwritten by Lloyds, London and HCC Medical Insurance Services (HCC MIS) is the administrator.

We have processed all of Mr. *****'s claims and he should receive payment shortly. While we attempt to work directly with a hospital to bill us directly, a provider is under no obligation to do so and a member is instructed to pay his claim and submit it to us for reimbursement.

I hope this information will allow the Bureau to conclude handling of this file. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Respectfully,

******* ** ******** (800) 447-0460 — Ext. **** (770) 693-6485 — Direct *********@hcclife.com Mailing Address:

225 Town Park Drive, Suite 350 Kennesaw, GA 30144

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the "Atlas America" traveler's comprehensive medical insurance for my mother who will visit us for three month from China for about $700. My mom felt sick and I tried to make an appointment using the insurance card with a ************** Health in network facility. I searched online (http://www.providerlookuponline.com/coventry/po7/Search.aspx) and found the facility was within their PPO network (************** Health). But the nurse told me they couldn't verify our insurance using the 800 number on the card ( 1-800-605-2282). I tried myself. After 5 times I finally got through. I told customer service that we tried to make an appointment using their insurance and couldn't get verified by the facility. I asked her to give facility a call so that I could use this insurance. She said she need to verify the facility first and let me hold. After holding 35 min I got automatically hanged up. I tried again and again and every time I got hanged up automatically after waiting half an hour, just like the nurse told me. Now I feel this traveler's insurance is a scam since you can not use them and they will hang up your call when you tried to call them. No medical facility would accept this insurance if they got hanged up by their customer service whenever they call them.

Desired Settlement: I need to use this insurance for my mom's doctor visit.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****:

I have attached our response to Ms. **'s inquiry.  the member has been contacted and I believe the matter is resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was visiting from India here, and had an acute exacerbation of atrial fibrillation. I presented to the Emergency department and they treated me appropriately. An acute onset of pre-existing condition was covered under the insurance coverage, however the company is denying our claim. I am filing a complaint against them.

Desired Settlement: Full payment of my emergency department visit after the deductible.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** was covered under our Atlas America policy which is issued on a non-admitted basis to The Atlas / International Citizen Group Insurance Trust out of Hamilton, Bermuda. The insurance is underwritten by Lloyds, London and HCC Medical Insurance Services (HCC MIS) is the administrator.

 

We have reviewed the claims and medical records concerning this matter. It is clear that Ms. ***** was taking medication for her condition on a daily basis. The policy contains a preexisting condition limitation for conditions existing prior to the effective date. Although the policy also provides for an acute onset of a condition, this does not cover a chronic condition. Consequently, we are upholding our decision in this matter.

 

I hope this information will allow the Bureau to conclude handling of this file. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

 

Respectfully,

 

******* ** ******** (800) 447-0460 — Ext. **** (770) 693-6485 — Direct *********@hcclife.com

Mailing Address: *** ******** ****** ***** *** ********, GA 30144

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *****


 

Thank you so much for the response. The company's insurance policy covers acute onset of a pre-existing condition. My pre-existing condition (atrial fibrillation) was stable and I was without any symptoms for more than 1 year. However, there was an acute onset of atrial fibrillation. This resulted in a visit to the Emergency department as my symptoms were acute in onset. When the policy says that an acute onset of pre-existing condition is covered, the insurance company should cover for it. I still do not understand what an acute onset of pre-existing condition would be, if this was not. My trip to the Emergency department was short and my heart rate went back to normal after that. Could the company give another example of acute onset if this was not?

Please find attached the copy of the insurance coverage and policy document with this mail. I have highlighted the areas that mention pre-existing condition in the document. Please let me know if any further information is required.

 

Business Response:

I apologize that I missed the second complaint by Ms. *****. Ms. *****'s certificate provides the following:

"Acute Onset of Pre-existing Condition: The term "Acute Onset of a Pre-Existing Condition(s)" shall mean a sudden and unexpected outbreak or recurrence of a Pre-existing Condition(s) which occurs spontaneously and without advance warning either in the form of Physician recommendations or symptoms, is of short duration, is rapidly progressive, and requires urgent care. The Acute Onset of a Pre-existing Condition(s) must occur after the effective date of the policy. Treatment must be obtained within 24 hours of the sudden and unexpected outbreak or recurrence. A Pre-existing Condition that is a chronic or congenital condition or that gradually becomes worse over time will not be considered Acute Onset. This benefit does not include coverage for known, scheduled, required, or expected medical care, drugs or Treatments existent or necessary prior to the Effective Date of coverage. (emphasis added)

As previously stated, Ms. *****'s condition is chronic in nature requiring daily medication. Consequently, we are upholding our decision in this matter.

I hope this information will allow the Bureau to conclude handling of this file. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Respectfully,

******* ** ******** (800)

 447-0460 — Ext. **** (770) 693-6485 — Direct

*********©hcclife.com

Mailing Address:

*** ******** ****** ***** *** ********, GA 30144

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2014 Delivery Issues
4/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a visitor from Pakistan and unlike most visitors who (don't have insurance for travel) bought a policy from HCCMIS. I read their policy and they claimed to have a great coverage. I bought a policy for over $2000 online covering up to $500,000 and $100,000 (if pre-existing). A few days after my arrival I developed severe neck pain which eventually led to hospitalization and major surgery. My bills including multiple hospitalizations and rehab amounted to over $650,000. HCCMIS refused to pay a dime stating that this was preexisting. This was totally false since I had no prior issues or surgery in the area and this was thought to be secondary to an infection. By their own policy even if this was pre existing, they were supposed to cover up to $100,000 which they didn't. I sent for an appeal in august 2013 which they were supposed to respond to within 30 days (per their bylaws). We have to date not received any response to the appeal even after multiple queries. I even filed complaints with two different state agencies (Indiana and Texas) and they started their process but HCCMIS attorney was able to get them off the case by buying more time stating that there was a delay in getting medical records and that they were still working on the appeal. It has been over 7 months since then and I have been sent to collections by various medical institutions who cared well for me. I feel betrayed by the system and the fact that a company who sells insurance by advertising certain facts is still in business. I don't have the resources to go after a company that misrepresents itself with lies. Who knows how many other people have been affected by similar issues. I am not a US resident and was just visiting and feel that is a fact that this company uses to make a quick buck. You can even check their website and they still sell the same product.

Desired Settlement: Payment of dues to doctors and hospitals. Changing their policy of misrepresentation and falsehood.

Business Response:

Ms. *****, a citizen of Pakistan, purchased insurance coverage effective May 21, 2013 under our Atlas Series Group policy. The master policy is issued on a non-admitted basis to The Atlas / International Citizen Group Insurance Trust out of Hamilton, Bermuda. The insurance is underwritten by Lloyds, London and HCC Medical Insurance Services (HCC MIS) is the administrator.

Ms. ***** had extensive surgery that has been denied under the terms and conditions of the policy. Ms. ***** has appealed that decision, but has not provided records of her treatment in her home country. Although we have obtained extensive records from her treatment here in the United States, we have asked for an independent medical reviewer to consider the appeal made by her son, Dr. ****** *******.

We hope to have a fmal decision shortly.

Respectfully,

(800) 447-0460 — Ext. **** (770) 693-**** Direct

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in June I had to go to urgent care as I was sick. I used my HCC Life short term insurance, and went to a pre-approved urgent care facility. The insurance was then billed and nothing has been done to get the bill paid in a timely manor. It is now going on 5 months since I was seen at the facility and I am no being sent to collections for failure to send payment. I have called HCC many times to find out what is going on and try to get the payment expidited to no avail. Everytime they say it will be processed they instead send out more paperwork requesting more information. This should have been handled 4 months ago! I am now being sent to collections as the insurance is failing to pay their portion. I spoke to someone today to try to find out why it took them 5 months to send out a request for my medical records and got no where. No one can answer me as to why this has taken months to resolve and I am seeing no end in sight. I have paid for medical insurance to avoid thousands of dollars in medical bills but instead I paid monthly premiums for insurance that is useless and I am now sitting with over $2000 worth of medical bills that should have been covered by the insurance but have not, and I am not being threatened with collections if the payment is not recieved in full in less than 30 day and the insurance can't tell me if this will be taken care of or not.

Desired Settlement: Immediate payment of medical bills so my unblemished credit does not get hit and I it would desired to receive a refund of my monthly premiums for the complete and utter insanity that they have put me through.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****:

Ms. ******** was covered under our Group Short Term Medical Insurance Policy issued to the Consumer Benefits Association of America. Ms. ********' s coverage was effective June 10, 2013.

While there have been some issues recording the submission of her medical claims by her provider not being complete, I have asked that the claims be adjudicated without the request of further medical records since the amounts at issue will be applied to her deductible.

Ms. ******** will receive new Explanation of Benefits statements shortly.

I hope this information will allow the Bureau to conclude handling of this file. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Respectfully,

******* ** ****

Assistant Vice President

(800) 447-0460 — Ext. ****

(770) 693-6485 — Direct *************.com  Mailing Address:

225 TownPark Drive, Suite 350

Kennesaw, GA 30144

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This does not get applied to my deductible as this was an urgent care visit not a doctors visit, which under the plan, is covered at 80% by the insurance company. I called prior to going to urgent care to make sure this was in fact the case and was told it was by their representative and was also told which facility to use to make sure this was correct. The 80% needs to be paid by the insurance as it is stated in the plan. 

Regards,

******** ********

 

 

Business Response:

Ms. ******** is correct that she was treated at an urgent care facility. HCC Life incorrectly indicated in the previous letter that her claims would be applied to her deductible. We made an administrative exception to not request further records and her claims will be adjudicated in accordance with the urgent care provisions. The claims in question are being repriced and Ms. ******** will receive new Explanation of Benefits statements shortly.

I hope this information will allow the Bureau to conclude handling of this file. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Respectfully,

******* ** ********

Attorney, Regulatory & Compliance

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2012 Delivery Issues
7/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/15/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1