BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Indiana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

HCCMIS® offers travel medical insurance and short-term U.S. domestic insurance.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that HCC Medical Insurance Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for HCC Medical Insurance Services, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 21
Total Closed Complaints 33

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on HCC Medical Insurance Services, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 07, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1998 in IN Business incorporated: 03/27/2006 in IN
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Carney, President Mr. Andrew Bard, Vice President of Sales Mr. Bryant Tutterow, Assistant Vice President of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Carney, President
Business Category

INSURANCE-HEALTH Direct Health and Medical Insurance Carriers (NAICS: 524114)

Products & Services

HCC Medical Insurance Services, LLC offers the following product(s): Atlas Corporate insurance, Atlas Group insurance, Atlas Professional insurance, Atlas Travel insurance, CitizenSecure® Economy insurance, CitizenSecure® insurance, GroupSecure® insurance, HCC Life Short Term Medical insurance, Health Insurance, IC+® term life insurance, StudentSecure® insurance

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express

Additional Locations

  • 251 N Illinois Street #600

    Indianapolis, IN 46204 (317) 262-2132 (800) 605-2282 (317) 262-2472

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (317) 262-2472(Phone)
  • (800) 605-2282(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2014 Delivery Issues
4/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in June I had to go to urgent care as I was sick. I used my HCC Life short term insurance, and went to a pre-approved urgent care facility. The insurance was then billed and nothing has been done to get the bill paid in a timely manor. It is now going on 5 months since I was seen at the facility and I am no being sent to collections for failure to send payment. I have called HCC many times to find out what is going on and try to get the payment expidited to no avail. Everytime they say it will be processed they instead send out more paperwork requesting more information. This should have been handled 4 months ago! I am now being sent to collections as the insurance is failing to pay their portion. I spoke to someone today to try to find out why it took them 5 months to send out a request for my medical records and got no where. No one can answer me as to why this has taken months to resolve and I am seeing no end in sight. I have paid for medical insurance to avoid thousands of dollars in medical bills but instead I paid monthly premiums for insurance that is useless and I am now sitting with over $2000 worth of medical bills that should have been covered by the insurance but have not, and I am not being threatened with collections if the payment is not recieved in full in less than 30 day and the insurance can't tell me if this will be taken care of or not.

Desired Settlement: Immediate payment of medical bills so my unblemished credit does not get hit and I it would desired to receive a refund of my monthly premiums for the complete and utter insanity that they have put me through.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *****:

Ms. ******** was covered under our Group Short Term Medical Insurance Policy issued to the Consumer Benefits Association of America. Ms. ********' s coverage was effective June 10, 2013.

While there have been some issues recording the submission of her medical claims by her provider not being complete, I have asked that the claims be adjudicated without the request of further medical records since the amounts at issue will be applied to her deductible.

Ms. ******** will receive new Explanation of Benefits statements shortly.

I hope this information will allow the Bureau to conclude handling of this file. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Respectfully,

******* ** ****

Assistant Vice President

(800) 447-0460 — Ext. ****

(770) 693-6485 — Direct *************.com  Mailing Address:

225 TownPark Drive, Suite 350

Kennesaw, GA 30144

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This does not get applied to my deductible as this was an urgent care visit not a doctors visit, which under the plan, is covered at 80% by the insurance company. I called prior to going to urgent care to make sure this was in fact the case and was told it was by their representative and was also told which facility to use to make sure this was correct. The 80% needs to be paid by the insurance as it is stated in the plan. 

Regards,

******** ********

 

 

Business Response:

Ms. ******** is correct that she was treated at an urgent care facility. HCC Life incorrectly indicated in the previous letter that her claims would be applied to her deductible. We made an administrative exception to not request further records and her claims will be adjudicated in accordance with the urgent care provisions. The claims in question are being repriced and Ms. ******** will receive new Explanation of Benefits statements shortly.

I hope this information will allow the Bureau to conclude handling of this file. If I can be of any further assistance, please let me know.

Respectfully,

******* ** ********

Attorney, Regulatory & Compliance

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2012 Delivery Issues
7/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/15/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1