BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Indiana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Seven Corners, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Seven Corners, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 38 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

38 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 18 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 25
Total Closed Complaints 38

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Seven Corners, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 05, 1997 Business started: 12/19/1993 in IN Business incorporated: 09/05/1997 in IN
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curt Carlson, Vice President of Sales Mr. Jim Krampen, Executive Officer Mr. Justin J. Tysdal, Executive Officer Mr. Edwin W. Tysdal, Executive Officer Mr. Dennis Wood, Administration
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curt Carlson, Vice President of Sales
Principal: Mr. Jim Krampen, Executive Officer
Principal: Mr. Justin J. Tysdal, Executive Officer
Customer Contact: Mr. Dennis Wood, Administration
Business Category

INSURANCE COMPANIES INSURANCE - TRAVEL Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)


Additional Locations

  • 303 Congressional Boulevard

    Carmel, IN 46032 (317) 575-2652

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi! I'm a foreigner and I enjoyed my stay in USA in the past year. But my insurance issuese with Seven Corners Inc. is a nightmare. Their service and attitude to comsumer are my worst experience in USA! In their policy and website, they promised to process a claim in 3-4 weeks. My son went to hospital because of Otitis Media on January 22,but till now, after hafe a year has passed and I'm going back to my country, I still have several claims to be processed and can't get my reimbursement back. I called them many, many times. Every time there was a different representive to answer my phone, and gave quite different answers to my questions concerning my claim. After I have provided all the possible documents and forms, I was still required by the different representitives to provide those forms and documents again and again. Sometimes they said they hadn't got my email, and sometimes they said all the claims have been paid off(obviously not, according to the later findings). When I got so exhausted and angry after repeated emails and calls and was desperate, I finally located the person in Charge of my claim (but why didn't anybody tell me this all this time when I called?). She was very arrogant, indifferent and took a bully attitude. Her words and attitude was so insulting and unkind, I told her I will complain about her company and her. She then neglected my later emails and refused to pick up the phone when I called and didn't to call back to my voice messages. Then, when I tried to complain about her to the complaint department of the company, she reluctantly called back (maybe informed by someone, becuase I waited for so long and no one who was supposed to hadle the comnplaint pick up the phone). She again requested the documents I have sent to them many times before. When I was forced to email her the documents again, and asked her to call me back or write back, she again ignored. And now, I can't get through to any of the representitives. I was told to wait for 10 or 20 minutes before I can't bear any longer and hang up myself. Ir seems that they have put my phone number in black list so that I can't get through to any representitive at all! I don't what know what to do now. I'm leaving the country within a month. But They still don't want to pay me back back with all those excuses. Please help me!!!

Desired Settlement: Ask them to hurry up in their processing and pay me the reimbursement as soon as possible.

Business Response:

Seven Corners is in receipt of the rebuttal response involving complaint #********, filed July 21, 2014 and sent to the attention of ****** ****.  The complaint was filed by ******* **** who expressed concerns regarding the time-frame it has taken to complete handling of her medical expense claims.

Ms. **** purchased an Inbound USA plan on September 18, 2013 with policy effective dates: September 21, 2013 to August 18, 2014. The policy was purchased through *******, Inc.  We appreciate the opportunity to address the concerns of the complainant.

Per claim documentation from ******* ****, her child: ****** ** was taken to Flagstaff Medical Center on January 22, 2014 for an acute infection of the Otitis Medica.

On February 12, 2014, Seven Corners, Inc. requested medical records from Flagstaff Medical Center regarding ****** **** treatment and sent a claim form to be completed by the named insured:  ******* ****.  

On March 7, 2014 this office received a letter and an invoice from ****** ******* *********.

On March 14, 2014, ******* ****, returned to Flagstaff Medical Center with her son, for his follow-up medical visit.

On March 21, 2014, additional medical records, pricing statements and billing records were received by this office.

This office received the completed claim form from Ms. **** on April 11, 2014.

On April 15, 2014, Seven Corners, Inc. received the medical records from ******** ******* **********.

On May 1, 2014, Seven Corners, Inc. received additional medical records: Walmart pharmacy receipts.

On May 6, 20014, this office received a medical statement regarding Audiology test results.

On May 21, 2014, Seven Corners, Inc. received and email from Ms. **** that included itemized billing statements regarding her child’s medical care.

Based on the medical records received, the submitted claims documents and the nursing staff review, coverage benefits were afforded for the presented claims as follows:

Claim Number:                        Claim Payment:

*******                                 $55.00 (paid to ****** on 3/18/2014)
*******                                  $330.00 (paid to Flagstaff Medical Center on 4/21/2014)
*******                                    $81.00 (paid to Flagstaff Emergency Physicians on 4/21/2014)
*******                                    $0.00 (claim is pending an itemized bill from the provider with diagnosis)
*******                                    $55.68 (paid to member on 5/9/2014)
*******                                    $44.32 (paid to member on 5/9/2014)
*******                                    $43.00 (paid to member on 5/14/2014)
*******                                    $55.00 (paid to member on 7/25/2014)

 

Seven Corners, Inc. adjudicated the medical expense claims presented on ******* **** /****** **** behalf and those payments were appropriate per the terms and conditions of the purchased plan coverage. Claim payments were not issued within three to four weeks as medical records and claim documentation was received over an extended period of time.

Seven Corners, Inc. is still awaiting an itemized bill from the provider with diagnosis in order to process claim number:  *******. Upon receipt of this information, Seven Corners, Inc. will proceed to conclude handling of that claim.

 We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. ****’s concerns. Please contact this office if you have any further questions regarding this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ******* MD **** ***** ****** ****** *** Santa Monica, CA Billing Question: 310 ******** Billing Email: *************com #1. Please see ****** 1,2 images. I paid this bill in April. This bill includes 01/24/14, 01/31/14,01/14/14. But the provider regarded this payment, 85.86 dollars as 6/28/13. (Please see ****** 3 image) I protest the provider, but she didn't reply. #2. I attached my medical record summary that was written by Dr. ****** (See ****** summary). This summary defined clearly that the pregnancy was confirmed on 6/28/2013. And I attached the ultrasound image on 6/28/2013 that our baby in the image. But Dr. ****** sent the medical record to Seven corners that consultation on 6/28/2013 was preventive evaluation.(Please see ****** 3, seven corners) So the insurance company reject to pay 06/28/2013 This is alteration of the medical record. It was clearly that both the ultrasound image and the medical record that consultation on 6/28/2013 was confirmation of pregnancy. Ulynalysis on 6/28/2013 was related to the pregnancy. It was never related to the preventive evaluation. So this 15 dollar should be covered by Seven corners. These problems are related to the medical record, I think. I request the provider to correct diagnosis and the procedure on 6/28/2013 and send the correct medical record to the insurance company, Seven corners. But she never do. I sent the claims to Dr. ****** and the insurance company 3 times. I called the Dr. ******'s billing department and asked to correct the diagnosis that the consultation on 6/28/2013 was the confirmation of pregnancy, not preventive evaluation. But she didn't correct at all. I tried to consult and persuade about these problems since last year, but no one help me. Please help me. ******* ********* .

Desired Settlement: I want to be recieved a correct bills. At first, I send this issue to Los Angeles BBB because Dr. *******s wrong medical record and incorrect bill. But BBB in Los Angeles, ****** sent to me that this issue is due to Seven corners. I want to solve this troubles before I leave the U.S in August this year. Please help me.

Business Response:

Seven Corners is in receipt of complaint #********, filed May 23, 2014 and sent to the attention of ****** ****.  The complaint was filed by ******* ********* who objects to the handling of her claim.

Mrs. ********* purchased a Compass Benefits - Budget/Care/Elite policy on January 6, 2012 for coverage dates of January 7, 2012 to January 5, 2013.  Policy renewal coverage was purchased: December 13, 2012 with effective dates:  January 6, 2013 to January 5, 2014. Policy Certificate number: *************. Policy was purchased through Compass Benefits Group, ** ****** **** *********, MA 02184.

Seven Corners, Inc. received a claim for medical services provided to ******* ********* by Dr. ******* ******. The date of service was June28, 2013. The claim was presented as a “preventative evaluation.” The purchased benefit plan does not provide benefit coverage for Routine Tests, Exams, and Immunizations. The presented claim was denied due to no applicable benefit coverage.

The insured party is disputing the physician’s description of the medical visit. Per the presented complaint, Mrs. ********* has attempted to resolve the issue of the medical visit description with her physician, however the doctor’s office has not responded to her requests to correct the description of the medical visit.

Seven Corners, Inc. attempted to obtain medical records from Dr. ******’s office located at: **** ***** ****** ***** ***** ***, Santa Monica, CA 90404; that would verify the June 28, 2013 visit was not of a routine nature. Medical request letters dated: April 17, 2014 (1st request) and May 19, 2014 (2nd request) were mailed to Dr. ******’s office and as of today’s date, this information has not been received by this office.

Once the requested medical documentation has been received by Seven Corners, Inc., ******* *********** claim can be appropriately evaluated.

Please contact this office if you have any further questions regarding this matter.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *********


 

BBB helped me last time about this issue and seven corners pay the Dr. ******'s bill on 6/28/2013. However, Seven corners rejected to pay the examinations bill on 6/28/2013 because these examinations were not related to pregnancy but preventive evaluation. All the examinations that included chylamidia trach DNA AMP PROBE, N.GONORRHOEA DNA AMP PROB, HPV DNA AMP PROBE, CYTOPATHOLOGY C were not covered by Seven corners. But these examinations were related to pregnancy. You reconsider the consultation on 6/28/13 were related to pregnancy, so please reconsider these examinations. It was never related to the preventive evaluation.

Please pay the examinations on 6/28/2013.

 

Business Response:

Seven Corners is in receipt of the rebuttal response involving complaint #********, filed June 30, 2014 and sent to the attention of ****** ****.  The complaint was filed by ******* ********* who objects to the handling of her claim.

Our prior response to the BBB of Central Indiana, noted that our assessment of her claim(s) were pending additional medical records from Mrs. *********’s physician, and once received we would give her claim(s) our immediate attention.

Mrs. *********’s physician: Dr. ******, forwarded medical records which indicated that the insured’s medical visits were related to pregnancy and were not preventative examinations as previously noted.

On June 19, 2014, Seven Corners, Inc. processed claim payments per the Schedule of Benefits of the purchased Compass Benefits - Budget/Care/Elite plan as follows:

Claim Number: ******* – invoice amount: $233.25; issued payment for $94.50

Claim Number: ******* – invoice amount: $77.45; issued payment for: $39.23

Claim Number: ******* – invoice amount:  $390.00; issued payment for: $390.00

Claim Number: ******* – invoice amount: $41.64; issued payment for: $41.64

Claim Number: ******* – invoice amount: $11.47; issued payment for: $11.47

We hope this answers any outstanding questions in relation Yoshimi *********’s claim.  If you should have any further questions or need further clarification of the above, please do not hesitate to contact us. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Nov,2013,we(my wife and me)went fom New York to Australia for visit. Our travel agency,** **** Vacation Center advise us to get travel insurance which we did through Seven Corners Insurance who they recommend. During our return,we received two of our luguages,damaged, one so badly that I had to pay someone in airport to put tape all around it. This happened during transfer of our luguaged from cruise ship to airport. The cruise company denied any payment and per request of Insurance company, gave me a letter of explanation which I send it to Insurance company. The insurance company also ask for picture of damaged luguages, their receipt of purchase and many more things (at least 3 times and each time after a month or so). We also lost our connecting flight in Los Angles, got to N.Y many hours later (midnight)and in differnt airport (not in N.Y). The insurance company also denying to re-imburse us for ground transportation to get back to N.Y. For past 7 months, I have spoken to at least 5 people in the company, all promissed me to check and get back to me in 1-2 days. I never received any phone call or correspodant until last week, after MY call, someone e-mail me their letters of denial. Their reason; how do they know the damage did not happened before(in other word we picked up damaged luguages to go from N.Y to australia!!!). One of luguages was purchase few months earlier and they got copy of receipt.

Desired Settlement: Transportation $185. One luguage with receipt $167.40and one without receipt around $130, total of $482.40.

Business Response:

Seven Corners, Inc. is in receipt of Complaint ID Number: ******** and sent to the attention of ****** **** on June 26, 2014. The complaint was filed by ********* **********.


****** Vacation Center was the travel provider for ********* **********. The travel insurance that was purchased from April Travel Protection was an American Modern Home Insurance Company product. Seven Corners, Inc. is the third party administrator contracted by American Modern Home Insurance Company to provide customer service and claim adjudication services for that insurance product.


********* ********** purchased his ****** Vacation Center trip insurance on July 8, 2013; with travel dates: November 3, 2013 to November 17, 2013.


The complaint refers to customer service and claims handling concerns expressed by ********* **********. The customer states that his inquiry calls were not addressed and that his presented claims were denied.


In review of the claims file record, there were multiple calls made by Dr. ********** to Seven Corners, Inc. regarding the status of his claims and in each case, the representative assisted the insured while on the call. In one case, documented on March 27, 2014, the representative provided the correct fax number in which the insured was to forward claims documentation for review, as the customer noted that his documents had been faxed to a different/incorrect department previously. The inquiry calls were addressed and the customer was provided assistance and claim updates by claims support staff.


********* ********** presented claim(s) for damaged baggage/luggage (claim number: *******) and transport costs incurred due to a travel delay (claim number: *******). Dr. ********** submitted documents to April and the claims documentation was forwarded to Seven Corners for review.


The damaged baggage claim (claim number: *******) involved two Pullman suitcases that the insured believes were damaged while being transported from the cruise ship to the airline; however no report of damage was made by the insured at the pier/port and the cruise line (********* *******) did not compensate Dr. ********** for the sustained damage.


The customer submitted a claim form and photographs regarding the damaged property. A written request was made of the insured to submit a copy of a purchase receipt to verify ownership of the damaged baggage. Since the requested information had not been submitted by the insured, claim number: ******* was closed without payment on December 24, 2013.



Upon further evaluation of the presented damaged baggage claim; we have found that, ********* ********** submitted a purchase receipt to confirm the proof of ownership for one suitcase. Due to the presented receipt and photograph, we have proceeded to issue payment to Dr. **********. Should the insured party locate a proof of purchase receipt for the second damaged suitcase, he should submit that document to this office for further consideration.


Dr. ********** also presented travel delay claim number: *******. This claim involved the return travel date of: November 16, 2013. Per the presented claim form, an unknown delay caused the insured to miss a connecting flight from Los Angeles International Airport to John F. Kennedy Airport in New York. The insured noted that he was rebooked onto a flight from the Los Angeles Airport to the Newark Liberty Airport in New Jersey. Dr. ********** then arranged with a car service, to be transported from the Newark Airport to his residence.


On December 9, 2013, correspondence was mailed to Dr. **********, requesting that the insured provide additional information regarding the reported travel delay. This included: documentation from the airline to confirm the cause of the trip delay and determine the length of the trip delay; a copy of the original flight itinerary and the new flight itinerary; and the customer was asked if there was other available travel insurance. There was no response to this request and on December 24, 2013, claim number: *******, was closed without payment.


On May 13, 2014, the analyst spoke to the insured via telephone to discuss the claim status and what documents the insured needs to provide for review to conclude handling of the claim. The requested information was not received and on May 22, 2014, a claim denial letter was mailed to the insured party, regarding the travel/trip delay claim. As of this date, the information requested to address the presented travel delay claim has not been received by Seven Corners, Inc.


Please note that should Seven Corners, Inc. receive the additional requested information involving the insured’s reported travel delay claim, we will give that matter our immediate attention.


Please contact this office should you have any further questions regarding this matter.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 23, 1013 we purchased 3 airline tickets through OneTravel booking with ticket agent ****** *********, and bought insurance through Seven Corners Inc. The trip was to Orlando Florida, Disney World for 5 days and we know this trip would require about 4 miles of walking each day. In November of 1013 my husband started having severe pain and difficulty walking due to his knee. After an x-ray the VA Clinic, doctor told him that his knee was bone on bone and would require surgery that could not take place until some time in 2014 as his blood sugar levels needed to test lower. We contacted Travel One and cancelled the airline tickets with them and filed a claim with Seven Corners in January. My husbands doctor completed a claim form that they sent with information on it that did not depict the fact that my husband would be unable to take the trip planned, walk 4 miles a day for this trip. All it asked for was if my husband could get on an airplane which is silly, as yes, I could put him in a wheelchair and get him on a plane but he would not be able to participate in the trip. I verified with US Airways that our tickets had been cancelled for March so we know OneTravel got their money back. We received a letter back from Seven Corners Re: ******** Trip Cancellation on March 27. 2014 that stated they were unable to make payment because of the fact my husband Doctor, Dr. ******, had indicated on the form that my husband could ride on a Airplane. This does not make any sense as of could I could get him on an airplaine but he could not participate on the trip. They state that should we have any information which they may have a bearing on this matter kindly forward it for out further review and consideration.

Desired Settlement: We feel that the money paid for my husband ticket should be refunded as he is not able to take any type of trip possibly until October or November of 2014 once he recovers from his surgery, so he cannot just utilize the ticket until after is is expired on August 23, 2014.

Business Response: Date Sent: 4/18/2014 10:44:52 AM

Seven Corners, Inc. is in receipt of complaint ID # ******** as submitted to Better Business Bureau on April 14, 2014, and sent to the attention of ****** **** on April 15th 2014. The complaint was filed by ***** and ****** **** who object to the denial of their claim.

Mr. and Mrs. **** purchased their trip insurance coverage with travel provider, One Travel, when making their online flight arrangements on August 23, 2013 for travel dates March 4-12, 2014.

On March 20, 2014, Mr. and Mrs. **** filed a trip cancellation claim due to medical reasons, with Seven Corners, Inc.   The submitted claim form included a completed physician’s statement section, where Mr. ****** treating physician, Dr. ***** ******, indicated that he had been scheduled for orthopedic surgery on November 20, 2013.  Further,  Dr. ****** indicated on the claim form that Mr. **** was not prohibited from travelling via air or otherwise due to this illness/injury.

The trip insurance plan purchased by Mr. and Mrs. **** contains the following pertinent policy wording:

BENEFITS - TRIP CANCELLATION & TRIP INTERRUPTION

The Company will pay a benefit, up to the maximum shown on the Confirmation of Coverage, if You are prevented from taking or unable to continue Your Covered Trip due to:

(a) Sickness, Accidental Injury or death of You, Traveling Companion, or Family Member; which results in medically imposed restrictions as certified by a Physician at the time of Loss preventing Your continued participation in the Covered Trip. A Physician must advise cancellation of the Covered Trip on or before the Scheduled Departure Date.

Based upon the above policy provision, a benefit denial letter was sent to Mr. and Mrs. **** on March 27, 2014.

Should Mr. and Mrs. **** have further verification from the treating physician that Mr. **** was prohibited from travel due to this illness/injury, such documentation should be forwarded to this office for further consideration.  

Please contact this office if you have any further questions regarding this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/11/2014 Delivery Issues
11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2012 I purchased travel insurance for my grandson and daughter in law. They were coming from Italy for the US for the holidays. My grandson arrived sick and visited the Dr. office 5 times over a 3 month period. The vendor denied the claims until a copy of the child's passport was provided showing entry and exit stamps. Nothing else was requested of me to process this claim. I provided the passport showing entry stamps due to the child still being in the US. Seven corners lost part of the documentation I sent to them, did not process the claim or contact me. I contacted the vendor after my daughter in law and grandson left the country and was told they did not receive the documentation which had the exit stamp. It took me a few months to get the passport copied and sent to me from Italy which I submitted to the vendor in late June. I followed up several time to verify the vendor had received and was processing the 5 claims. At this point the Doctor that provided the service was contacting me for payment due to over half a year passing without the claim being processed. After approximately 30 + days of waiting for the claim to be processed I again contacted the vendor and was told that the claims department denied the claim until the have a copy of the mothers passport showing exit and entry stamps. This information should have been requested on day 1 if it were required.

Desired Settlement: At this time I only want a refund of the premium I paid to this vendor in full. I have never worked with such an incompetent organization and never witnessed such poor customer service in over 20 years. I am truly disappointed with the organization and the poor treatment myself and my claims have received.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of an online complaint *******, dated August 1, 2013, attention ****** ****.  This complaint is filed by ****** ***** ******* and objects to the handling of the travel insurance claims.  

We received the passport for the child, ******* *******.  However, in order to establish eligibility, we also need the complete passport for the mother, ****** *********.  We need to establish citizenship of what country the mother is from as well.  

We requested the passport from the mother, ****** ********* on March 1, 2013 and July 31, 2013.   

Once the requested information is received the claims will be processed accordingly.  

Should you have additional questions, please feel free to contact our office.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******


This is my response to the response from Seven Corners regarding my complaint about the organization, regarding their claim processing practices. Although the respondent noted that they had sent a request ********* *********** to provide a copy of her passport showing entry and exit stamps, this supposed request was not received by me or by my daughter in law who lives in Italy. It is also worthy of mention that I contacted Seven corners customer service department at least 6 times trying to obtain a status of the claim and was never told by any representative of the company that there was a pending request for ******’s passport information. In reality I was only instructed that the pending item was a copy of **** (the patient for whom the claim is filed) *******’s passport. In fact, as soon as I provided this passport information for **** was supplied to Seven Corners customer service, the 5 claims were submitted to the claims department for processing. It was only after 30 days of supposed processing by the claims department that this additional requirement was told to me, and it was only told to me because as I normally do, I contacted Seven Corners to see if the claim was approved yet.  I do not accept Seven Corners response, I expect a full refund.

*** *******

 

Business Response:

We are in receipt of an online rebuttal complaint on *******, dated August 7, 2013, attention ****** ****.  This complaint is filed by ****** ***** ******* and objects to the handling of the travel insurance claims for ******* *******, certificate *************.  

On August 2, 2013 we responded to Mr. ******* advising we received the passport for the child, ******* *******.  However, in order to establish eligibility we also need the complete passport for the mother, ****** *********.  We need to establish citizenship of what country the mother is from as well.  

The child is a U.S. citizen. Therefore, as a dependent, in order to verify eligibility, we need to verify that the mother is eligible.   

On March 1, 2013 a letter was sent to **** ******* ****** ********** ** *****, the address we have on file.  We requested the passport from the mother, ****** ********* on March 1, 2013 and July 31, 2013.   

We apologize that the requested information was not provided to Mr. ******* during the phone calls to Seven Corners, Inc.  

Once the requested information is received the claims will be processed accordingly.  

Should you have additional questions, please feel free to contact our office.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2013 Delivery Issues
5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1