BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Indiana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Seven Corners, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Seven Corners, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 23
Total Closed Complaints 34

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Seven Corners, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 05, 1997 Business started: 12/19/1993 in IN Business incorporated: 09/05/1997 in IN
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Indiana Department of Insurance
311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis IN 46204-2787
http://www.in.gov/idoi/
Phone Number: 317-232-2395
Fax Number: 317-232-5251

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curt Carlson, Vice President of Sales Mr. Jim Krampen, Executive Officer Mr. Justin J. Tysdal, Executive Officer Mr. Edwin W. Tysdal, Executive Officer Mr. Dennis Wood, Administration
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curt Carlson, Vice President of Sales
Principal: Mr. Jim Krampen, Executive Officer
Principal: Mr. Justin J. Tysdal, Executive Officer
Customer Contact: Mr. Dennis Wood, Administration
Business Category

INSURANCE COMPANIES INSURANCE - TRAVEL Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)


Additional Locations

  • 303 Congressional Boulevard

    Carmel, IN 46032 (317) 575-2652

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 23, 1013 we purchased 3 airline tickets through OneTravel booking with ticket agent ****** *********, and bought insurance through Seven Corners Inc. The trip was to Orlando Florida, Disney World for 5 days and we know this trip would require about 4 miles of walking each day. In November of 1013 my husband started having severe pain and difficulty walking due to his knee. After an x-ray the VA Clinic, doctor told him that his knee was bone on bone and would require surgery that could not take place until some time in 2014 as his blood sugar levels needed to test lower. We contacted Travel One and cancelled the airline tickets with them and filed a claim with Seven Corners in January. My husbands doctor completed a claim form that they sent with information on it that did not depict the fact that my husband would be unable to take the trip planned, walk 4 miles a day for this trip. All it asked for was if my husband could get on an airplane which is silly, as yes, I could put him in a wheelchair and get him on a plane but he would not be able to participate in the trip. I verified with US Airways that our tickets had been cancelled for March so we know OneTravel got their money back. We received a letter back from Seven Corners Re: ******** Trip Cancellation on March 27. 2014 that stated they were unable to make payment because of the fact my husband Doctor, Dr. ******, had indicated on the form that my husband could ride on a Airplane. This does not make any sense as of could I could get him on an airplaine but he could not participate on the trip. They state that should we have any information which they may have a bearing on this matter kindly forward it for out further review and consideration.

Desired Settlement: We feel that the money paid for my husband ticket should be refunded as he is not able to take any type of trip possibly until October or November of 2014 once he recovers from his surgery, so he cannot just utilize the ticket until after is is expired on August 23, 2014.

Business Response: Date Sent: 4/18/2014 10:44:52 AM

Seven Corners, Inc. is in receipt of complaint ID # ******** as submitted to Better Business Bureau on April 14, 2014, and sent to the attention of ****** **** on April 15th 2014. The complaint was filed by ***** and ****** **** who object to the denial of their claim.

Mr. and Mrs. **** purchased their trip insurance coverage with travel provider, One Travel, when making their online flight arrangements on August 23, 2013 for travel dates March 4-12, 2014.

On March 20, 2014, Mr. and Mrs. **** filed a trip cancellation claim due to medical reasons, with Seven Corners, Inc.   The submitted claim form included a completed physician’s statement section, where Mr. ****** treating physician, Dr. ***** ******, indicated that he had been scheduled for orthopedic surgery on November 20, 2013.  Further,  Dr. ****** indicated on the claim form that Mr. **** was not prohibited from travelling via air or otherwise due to this illness/injury.

The trip insurance plan purchased by Mr. and Mrs. **** contains the following pertinent policy wording:

BENEFITS - TRIP CANCELLATION & TRIP INTERRUPTION

The Company will pay a benefit, up to the maximum shown on the Confirmation of Coverage, if You are prevented from taking or unable to continue Your Covered Trip due to:

(a) Sickness, Accidental Injury or death of You, Traveling Companion, or Family Member; which results in medically imposed restrictions as certified by a Physician at the time of Loss preventing Your continued participation in the Covered Trip. A Physician must advise cancellation of the Covered Trip on or before the Scheduled Departure Date.

Based upon the above policy provision, a benefit denial letter was sent to Mr. and Mrs. **** on March 27, 2014.

Should Mr. and Mrs. **** have further verification from the treating physician that Mr. **** was prohibited from travel due to this illness/injury, such documentation should be forwarded to this office for further consideration.  

Please contact this office if you have any further questions regarding this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
2/11/2014 Delivery Issues
11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2012 I purchased travel insurance for my grandson and daughter in law. They were coming from Italy for the US for the holidays. My grandson arrived sick and visited the Dr. office 5 times over a 3 month period. The vendor denied the claims until a copy of the child's passport was provided showing entry and exit stamps. Nothing else was requested of me to process this claim. I provided the passport showing entry stamps due to the child still being in the US. Seven corners lost part of the documentation I sent to them, did not process the claim or contact me. I contacted the vendor after my daughter in law and grandson left the country and was told they did not receive the documentation which had the exit stamp. It took me a few months to get the passport copied and sent to me from Italy which I submitted to the vendor in late June. I followed up several time to verify the vendor had received and was processing the 5 claims. At this point the Doctor that provided the service was contacting me for payment due to over half a year passing without the claim being processed. After approximately 30 + days of waiting for the claim to be processed I again contacted the vendor and was told that the claims department denied the claim until the have a copy of the mothers passport showing exit and entry stamps. This information should have been requested on day 1 if it were required.

Desired Settlement: At this time I only want a refund of the premium I paid to this vendor in full. I have never worked with such an incompetent organization and never witnessed such poor customer service in over 20 years. I am truly disappointed with the organization and the poor treatment myself and my claims have received.

Business Response:

We are in receipt of an online complaint *******, dated August 1, 2013, attention ****** ****.  This complaint is filed by ****** ***** ******* and objects to the handling of the travel insurance claims.  

We received the passport for the child, ******* *******.  However, in order to establish eligibility, we also need the complete passport for the mother, ****** *********.  We need to establish citizenship of what country the mother is from as well.  

We requested the passport from the mother, ****** ********* on March 1, 2013 and July 31, 2013.   

Once the requested information is received the claims will be processed accordingly.  

Should you have additional questions, please feel free to contact our office.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******


This is my response to the response from Seven Corners regarding my complaint about the organization, regarding their claim processing practices. Although the respondent noted that they had sent a request ********* *********** to provide a copy of her passport showing entry and exit stamps, this supposed request was not received by me or by my daughter in law who lives in Italy. It is also worthy of mention that I contacted Seven corners customer service department at least 6 times trying to obtain a status of the claim and was never told by any representative of the company that there was a pending request for ******’s passport information. In reality I was only instructed that the pending item was a copy of **** (the patient for whom the claim is filed) *******’s passport. In fact, as soon as I provided this passport information for **** was supplied to Seven Corners customer service, the 5 claims were submitted to the claims department for processing. It was only after 30 days of supposed processing by the claims department that this additional requirement was told to me, and it was only told to me because as I normally do, I contacted Seven Corners to see if the claim was approved yet.  I do not accept Seven Corners response, I expect a full refund.

*** *******

 

Business Response:

We are in receipt of an online rebuttal complaint on *******, dated August 7, 2013, attention ****** ****.  This complaint is filed by ****** ***** ******* and objects to the handling of the travel insurance claims for ******* *******, certificate *************.  

On August 2, 2013 we responded to Mr. ******* advising we received the passport for the child, ******* *******.  However, in order to establish eligibility we also need the complete passport for the mother, ****** *********.  We need to establish citizenship of what country the mother is from as well.  

The child is a U.S. citizen. Therefore, as a dependent, in order to verify eligibility, we need to verify that the mother is eligible.   

On March 1, 2013 a letter was sent to **** ******* ****** ********** ** *****, the address we have on file.  We requested the passport from the mother, ****** ********* on March 1, 2013 and July 31, 2013.   

We apologize that the requested information was not provided to Mr. ******* during the phone calls to Seven Corners, Inc.  

Once the requested information is received the claims will be processed accordingly.  

Should you have additional questions, please feel free to contact our office.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2013 Delivery Issues
5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1