BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Indiana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Champion Chrysler Jeep Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Champion Chrysler Jeep Dodge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Champion Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 25, 2008 Business started: 10/20/2003 in DE Business incorporated: 08/20/2003 in IN
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fernando Falcon, General Manager Ms. Katherine Doering, Controller/Corporate Office Mr. Art Hesselious, Service Manager Mr. Steve Pardue, General Sales Manager Ms. Ardeanna Techau, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fernando Falcon, General Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Ardeanna Techau, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Carmel Chrysler Jeep Dodge
Industry Tips
As Is Vehicle Purchasing Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 4505 W 96th Street

    Indianapolis, IN 46268 (317) 872-6200

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 931-6200(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2014 Delivery Issues
10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/22/12 I had Champion service department replace the clutch in our 2008 Jeep Wrangler, picked up vehicle on 10/24/12. On 11/12/12 I returned to the service department with concern over noise and performance of clutch. After the service tech tried blaming the driveshaft for the noise, we agreed that the throw out bearing (part of the clutch) had failed and replacement part ordered. On 11/15/12, returned to Champion to have new throw out bearing installed. On 12/03/12 I returned to Champion with same concern over noise and performance of clutch, found throw out bearing faulty again and ordered part. On 12/05/12 I returned to Champion to have new part installed. On 12/10/12 I returned to Champion with concern over clutch performance and an apparent leak coming from slave cylinder, parts were ordered. On 12/14/12, work was completed and vehicle picked up on 12/15/12 only to find slave cylinder hadn't been bled and there wasn't any resistance in clutch pedal. Since rental car had been returned and service department now closed, drove vehicle home. Tried contacting service manager and after calls went unreturned, was able to make contact at the end of the day on 12/17/12. Returned to Champion on 12/18/12 to have different technician completely redo all clutch work previously performed. Work finally completed and vehicle picked up on 12/28/12. Clutch was acceptable for about a month and then started making noise again and clutch pedal still feels spongy. After expressing concern over excessive heat coming from floor pan of vehicle found two (2) heat shields were damaged while clutch work was performed and I bought replacement parts from another dealership. Found a bolt laying on top of the transmission skid plate after hearing a metallic noise, appears to have fallen out of transmission. Have a witness that states he observed the technician, who originally installed clutch, not following proper procedures while installing causing the damage that lead to the follow up visits. On 3/25/13, went to Champion to get the "free" oil change that they had offered me for all my inconvenience (which they charged me for) and had them also perform the coolant flush/fill maintenance and informed the service advisor that the clutch still wasn't right. After returning from vacation (drove Jeep to FL), found that there were holes in the heater hoses. Bought new hoses from different dealership and took to independent service shop to have replaced. They found the retaining ring for the heater hoses had been removed and hoses were laying on tube on top of the upper plenum causing holes to be worn in hoses

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $1338.98 for the clutch install that still isn't correct, $79.78 for the heat shields that they damaged, $71.60 for the heater hoses they left laying in wrong position causing damage to them. Totaling $1490.36. Should an agreement not be reached and this situation continue to litigation, I will be seeking the labor costs to repair their damage, my time and fuel costs, as well as the replacement costs and cleaning expenses due to the oil spilled on the various parts of the vehicle during oil changes as well as any court costs and legal fees

Business Response:

In response to Mrs. ************** BBB complaint:

 

Mrs. ************** 2002 Jeep Liberty with 178089 miles on it was towed in to Champion on 3/6/13 in a non-drivable state. We diagnosed the drivability issue and found that a wrong size tire had been installed on the vehicle which triggered a chain of mechanical and electrical failures. There were recommendations made at that time in addition to that repair that we had observed on the vehicle. There was an issue of cost for the customer so not all of the recommended repairs were authorized. These recommendations were from our free inspection process. We were not asked nor aware of any other issues that customer wanted us to “diagnose”. Concessions were made and we performed the bare necessary repairs to get the vehicle safely back on the road. We performed our labor at $90 an hour as opposed to  the normal $110 an hour. We also provided a company vehicle for her to drive at no cost.  As you can see from the repair order, we were diligent in keeping customer well informed and often. Upon picking her vehicle up, Mrs. ************** asked me about the fifth tire she had authorized and did not receive. Originally all tire replacements were declined and then after some time, we were authorized to replace the tires. I accepted that it was partly Champion’s responsibility on the communication of the tires. I Offered to pay for half of the tire and not charge at all for mounting and balancing of the tire. When she returned for the tire, we had recommended that she replace the upper control arm bushings for the rear were in need of being replaced. This can be seen on the inspection report provided. I received a call from Mrs. ************** about a week ago when she had stated that there was noise in the rear of the vehicle and that two shops had advised her that the differential we had installed had no fluid in it; thus, causing her noise. I have never read those reports from the other shops. I immediately offered for her to bring the vehicle back in for us to inspect. As seen in the photos provided, the level of fluid was to the exact level of what it should be. The noise was coming from the upper control arm bushings as we had previously advised. Those bushings were never touched by Champion and as the pictures show, they have decayed over years and are in bad shape. Champion has made every effort to provide exceptional service in our communication, pricing, transportation,  and communication. There certainly is a repair that is in need, but it has been declined twice now and is not a result of anything that Champion has touched on this vehicle.

 

**** *****

 

Service and Parts Director

Champion Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9575842, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In response to a few things Mr. ***** mentioned. The vehicle does have a lift and larger than stock tires and does get used off road occasionally as well as the daily driven work vehicle. The incident that originally led me to Champion to have the clutch replaced was an off-roading event. The single offer to upgrade to aftermarket clutch parts was only mentioned after several attempts to correctly complete the original install. Had I made the choice to have them install the aftermarket parts, it would have been at my expense, which I had already paid them to do perform a job that they hadn't done properly, and it would have voided the Chrysler lifetime powertrain warranty. And since  Mr. *****'s service department had already violated the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act 15 U.S.C. by refusing to warranty an axle seal without attempting to prove modifications were the cause of the seal failure, I don't have faith that Mr. ***** would honor any work on such aftermarket parts. As to a "sealed" clutch unit, to my knowledge, there isn't one available from Chrysler (or anyone) for the 2007 and newer Jeep Wranglers, and the issue doesn't stem from weak OEM parts as much as it does the lack of attention to detail and improper techniques used to install them

 As far as the offer on 03/05/13 by Mr. ***** to pull the transmission and inspect it being declined by myself, that is correct. After giving them several attempts to properly do a job that I had paid them to do and damage being inflicted to my vehicle, I feel that I have gone above and beyond in giving them the opportunity to "prove" that they are capable of doing the repairs, rather they have "disproved" themselves. I offered to let them refund the clutch install price and the price I paid for the parts that they damaged while doing the repairs repeatedly. Contacting the BBB is a final effort on my part to allow them to do the right thing and to avoid going to court.

 As to the '"free" oil change, thank you but I will pass on that offer. As I mentioned before, I usually end up with oil spilled on various parts of my vehicle by the technicians, such as the interior, the bumper lights, the hood, the winch. 

 

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

Business Response:

<o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t">

 

 

 

4505 Want 96th Street • Indlanapolle, IN. 46268 • (317) 872.8200 - Fax: (317) 384-1094

July 19, 2013

 

 

 

 

Better Business Bureau Complaint ID*******In response to the rebuttal from Mr. ******, our General Manager **** *********** met with Mr. ******. Mr. ****** accepted a goodwill offer of $700.00 to settle this claim. A copy of this settlement check follows.

Sincerely,

********* ** *******

Controller

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1