BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Indiana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Blossom Chevrolet, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 2008 Business started: 09/07/1979 in IN Business incorporated: 09/07/1979 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Motor Vehicles
100 N. Senate Avenue, Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.state.in.us/bmv
Phone Number: (317) 233-6000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Baas, President Ms. Denise Miggenburg, Executive Assistant Ms. Deborah C Turner, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Baas, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Industry Tips
As Is Vehicle Purchasing Auto Repair Tips

Additional Locations

  • 1850 N Shadeland Avenue

    Indianapolis, IN 46219 (317) 375-3400 (317) 357-1121 (800) 462-7507

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (317) 375-3400(Phone)
  • (800) 462-7507(Phone)
  • (866) 704-8081(Phone)
  • (866) 725-7158(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2008 chevy uplander on 9/12/12 through BLOSSOM CHEVROLET. It currently has (what I thought ) 55k miles on it. The transmission went out. BLOSSOM said they can REBUILD the transmission for $3000. GM agreed to pay half, leaving me with the other half. Upon talking to GM , they inform me that my vehicle is registered with them as a trade in from CANADA and the mileage is in KILOMETERS. I had no knowledge of this at time of sale. SO the 55k I thought was correct MILEAGE ... I am being told is actually 34K MILES conversion from KILOMETERS TO MILES. That is EVEN WORSE FOR A TRANSMISSION TO GO BAD AT ONLY 34K. I feel deceived by BLOSSOM. I also did my research and found that the price of a BRAND NEW TRANSMISSION is around $3k and a REBUILT TRANSMISSION is around $1500. My husband and I have 4 kids and both work hard . Times are hard right now for most Americans. I TRUSTED BLOSSOM CHEVROLET to sell me a good running car as well as I trusted GM to build a good running car. GM has taken ownership and is paying for half the transmission REPAIR. (MEANING BLOSSOM IS PROBABLY PUTTING A BANDAID ON IT AND PUTTING IT BACK IN MY CAR) I sure hope its safe for me and my 4 kids. BLOSSOM thinks they are doing me a favor by letting me drive one of their cars til its fixed.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I am entitled to not only the free loaner car, but that BLOSSOM should pay for the remaining balance (or just take what GM is giving them) and call it a day. I would also like to know why the EXPENSIVE REBUILD.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ***********I represent Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. in responding to the consumer complaint your office received from **** ***** ***** ******). She cross-filed with the Attorney General's office. I accordingly enclose a copy of our response to her consumer complaint to the Attorney General as the response to the BBB.

Since Ms. ***** has elected to enlist the aid of the Attorney General's office in this matter, Blossom with deal exclusively with the Attorney General. This has been my policy regarding cross-filed consumer complaints for many years.

Very truly yours,

**** * ****** **

**** ** ****

Dear Mr. *******:

I represent Blossom Chevrolet, Inc. ("Blossom") in responding to the above-captioned consumer complaint of **** ***** ***** ******).

Ms. ***** correctly states that she purchased a 2008 Uplander from Blossom on September 12, 2012. At the time she purchased that vehicle, it had 35,110 miles on it. See Exhibit "A" (copy of odometer statement from title reassignment). On or about October 3, 2013 — one year and 20,000 miles later — the transmission of the vehicle developed problems. At that time, the vehicle was no longer under the remaining manufacturer's power train warranty. That warranty has a duration of five (5) years. The in-service date for this vehicle was July 31, 2008. Thus, the power train warranty expired due to elapsed time (not mileage, which extends to 100,000) on July 31, 2013.

Apparently in light of the fact the warranty had only been expired by a little over two (2) months, General Motors agreed to pay for half of the transmission repair under an extension of good-will warranty credit.

Blossom is in no way at fault for the fact that the transmission on this vehicle went out over a year and 20,000 miles after its sale. Blossom's contractual warranty obligation to Ms. ***** was limited to three (3) months and ninety (90) days. A copy of the Buyers Guide reflecting this circumstance is attached as Exhibit "B."

Finally, I address Ms. *****'s ruminations regarding whether the odometer reading is stated in miles or kilometers. The speedometer/odometer display on this vehicle can be switched at will between miles and kilometers by simply pressing a switch. The odometer statement she received when she purchased the vehicle correctly stated it had 35,110 miles. When it arrived for repairs, it had a bit over 55,000 miles. And, as noted above, in any event the question of mileage versus kilometers is moot because the power train warranty expired by virtue of elapsed time, not elapsed mileage.

Based upon the foregoing, Blossom has no liability in this case and there will be no adjustment forthcoming. Should you wish to communicate further regarding this matter, please contact me and refrain from contacting Blossom directly as it is an entity represented by counsel.
 

 

Very truly yours,

**** * ****** **

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my wife and I purchases a 2010 Chevrolet Camaro (new) it was ordered and delivered , we have been having problems with the right rear tire from time of purchase and still having problems, being that I am away in the military my wife have been taking the car back for service on the tire and have not got any help, I am home on leave and took the car in yesterday and ask to speak to the service supervisor about the problem , he said he is in a meeting to leave my number and he will call me, haven't hear from him....my monthly OnStar report always shows the tire is low. Putting air in a tire every week in a new car is not what we ask for, and not getting help from Blossom in BAD BUSINESS.......three years of putting air in a tire is unacceptable and not taking care of customer.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********** 

 

We have received your notification concerning the complaint by Mr. ******* about our service department. Mr. ******* states that he has been having problems with his right rear tire from time of purchase and still having problems. He further states that his wife has been bringing the car back for service on the tire and has not received any help from Blossom Chevrolet. 

 

I have checked our service records for Mr. *******'s vehicle. It was in our service department one time for a tire complaint. That was on 8/20/2010 and the vehicle had 3,833 miles on it at the time. Our technician found a nail in the tire, removed the nail and plugged the tire. 

 

We have no record of any tire complaint from the *******s' since that date. The *******s have returned to our service department and body shop 9 times since the tire repair and we have no record of another tire complaint on any of these 9 repair orders. 

 

I have printed a summary of the service history for their vehicle and attached it for your information. I can make copies of the detailed repair orders if needed. 

Thank you for your time. Feel free to call with any further questions. 

Sincerely,

**** * *******, Fixed Operatopms Director

Blossom Cheverolet Inc.

 

  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues