BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of One Call Air Conditioning Heating & Plumbing Services?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

One Call Air Conditioning Heating & Plumbing Services

Phone: (713) 880-5200 Fax: (713) 522-7269 4411 Greeley, Houston, TX 77006 http://www.onecallhouston.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in residential and commercial air conditioning, heating, and plumbing services and repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that One Call Air Conditioning Heating & Plumbing Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for One Call Air Conditioning Heating & Plumbing Services include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for One Call Air Conditioning Heating & Plumbing Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1994 Business started: 01/28/1997 in TX Business started locally: 01/28/1997
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.license.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 475-2871

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Edgar Connery, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edgar Connery, President
Business Category

AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING

Products & Services

One Call Air Conditioning Heating & Plumbing Services sells the following brand(s): Amana, American Standard, Delta, Goodman, Kholer, Lennox, Moen, Nortiz, Rheem, Trane

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, financing options available, checks, and cash
Industry Tips
AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING - SELECTING A COMPANY

Additional Locations

  • 4411 Greeley

    Houston, TX 77006 (713) 880-5200

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called One Call for a Heating Furnace repair. Technician, ******* showed up and showed me a catalog with ***** ****** and told me that it was a heating furnace costing $3427. I agreed for the work to be done. Only when they showed up & installed ***** furnace (Model ******** ****), I realized that they had charged me for AC, but installed a heating furnace which is much cheaper. I called ***** and they confirmed that ****** is external Air Conditioner Unit and is sold independent of *** *****. I think it is deceptive of One Call to take advantage of the fact that I did not know that ***** ****** was not a furnace, but AC Unit. They are charging me for a higher priced item in their catalog, and have installed a completely different and cheaper component in my house. I had paid $1713.50 as deposit before the installation. Now One Call is demanding rest of the money, which is outrageous. I feel completely cheated by their fraudulent sales practices. Please help.

Desired Settlement: The fair thing for One Call to do is to accept my deposit of $1713.50 as full payment of their services and consider the matter settled. I have searched around and $1713.50 is a fair payment for ***** ******** Heating Furnace which retails for around $999, plus the remaining amount is more than fair payment for the installation services.

Business Response: We have spoken to this customer and resolved the matter. It was simply a confusion over our printed price list. He has agreed to a discount on the furnace he purchased. We have sent him a revised invoice and are awaiting payment.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments:  Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to the BBB.

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They installed a AC unit in ******** **** and is currently not working. We called and they sent a technician out who evidently didn't know what he was doing. A week later (no phone calls) they sent out someone else who was as clueless. He was given no info from the company as to the problem and what the previous tech had seen or done. He left and said parts had to be ordered. Another tech showed up after another week with no calls from them and said parts had to be ordered but promised to be here first thing in the morning. We got a phone call at * ** to say they would not be coming but someone would be here the next day. Needless to say there was no call or tech. I called this morning and was told that the dispatcher was on the phone and would call me back. I told her that I did not wish to talk to him as I was really mad and did not wish to say things I wouldn't want my grandkids to hear. Needless to say their customer service sucks.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to send out an experienced technician, fix the new unit they just installed and have a comfortable place for my customers to sew in. They do not deserve an A+ rating from you.

Business Response:

We installed the ***** unit back in ******** ****, they were unable to pay the full amount of $******** so we agreed to finance it at $**** per month. In the meantime they became 2 months behind on their monthly payments. We received notice from them that the unit was not cooling and sent our technicians out to diagnose the unit they determined that there was an issue with a solenoid within the *** in which was a special order pert that needed ordering. This parts was also not part of the warranty because this was not included in the equipment that we had previously installed. One Call spent several man hours trying to resolve the issue for the customer who was 2 months behind on payments from the financed amount The end result is that One Call has repaired the system and it is function and cooling as it should. Thank you

Consumer Response:

[I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* One Call installed new AC/Heat system with 10 Yr Mfg warranty.****** Compressor failed. ****** One Call service men replaced compressor but refusef to give me proof of work done nor description of compressor installed. this proof of work done by licensed technician is needed for future warranty work if ever needed.******* One Call servicemen ,Mr. **** ******, replaces thermostat and in Recommendation section of his work order Notes for *** in One Call office to send me paper work on compressor replacement job to include Make & model# of compressor installed to include specifications of new compressor.****** call/speak to ***** *******, ********* ** *** ****.He says its on his desk and he will send out that today. ******* call/speak to Mr *******. He says due to heat wave he is behind in papework but will send it that day. ******* call/speak to Mr *******. He says he lost paperwork but will get it from Mfg but it takes a few hours to do so.He will mail it next day.******* One Call *********, ****, emails sends me cost invoice for a WATER HEATER!! I email **** same day and inform her even though my name is on her invoice One call has never done water heater work for me and I dont need a cost invoice for compressor but industry standard installation work order.******** call/speak to Mr. ******* am told its in the mail.******* call leave message for Mr ******* to call me. ******* call leave message for Mr ******* to send me my paper work . TO DATE I HAVE NO RESPONSE. I AM CONCERNED THAT WORK WASNT DONE BY PROPERLY LICENSED TECHNICIAN AND THAT COMPRESSOR INSTALLED IS NOT OF SAME SER RATING AND SPECIFICATIOPNS AS THE ONE ORIGINALLY PAID FOR.

Desired Settlement: I want my proper, normal industry standard paperwork and if another licensed contractor proves the info shown is inaccurate I will contact you, my attorney,Texas Dept that licenses AC cotractors and State Attorney General of Consumer affairs.thank you.

Business Response: Attached you will find the proof that the warranty compresor that One Call installed on the condensing unit was a matched compressor with the proper SEER rating. I have attached copies of the ******* invoices for the Condenser, coil, and warranty compressor along with the product specs for the condensing unit outside. **** can contact ***** directly to provide them with the model numbers of both the condensing unit and compressor, they will reassure him that the system is matched all with the proper SEER ratings.

One Call sent Mr ***** a large packet in the mail a few months ago which contained all the necessary literature on his new HVAC equipment, unfortunately, this has somehow slipped Mr *****'s mind. The attached information should be sufficient for Mr ***** to obtain the information needed.

Regards,



*** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID , and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My original complaint is that  "I never received the proper paper work".  I still have not .

 (1)Their reply states they attached it for the BBB.  I did not recieve the referenced attachments.  I  do not have any such paper work!! 

 (2) I did not receive their referenced "large packet of necessary paper work they claim they "mailed me several months ago". It did not "Slip my mind" as they suggest.  If I had received such,  I would not have keep calling into November of 2012 !!!  And why did they not mention that during all my phones calls to them regarding the paperwork? 

(3)Their reply to the BBB states:  "Attached, is proof the warranty compressor installed was a matched compressor with the proper  SEER rating". I have no such paper work. Please provide.

(4)ALSO NOTE: their reply further states  " attached are copies of the Goodman invoices for the Condensor, Coil,  and warranty compressor along with the product specs for the condensing unit outside". I have not received such. Please provide.

I REPEAT: My complaint is that I never received the proper paper work . I still have not !

 

  Regards,

**** *****


 

Business Response: As previously stated I attached all of the documents in the previous response, you will need to open up the attachments and print them so you will have them for your records.

Thank You,
*** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

THEY SAY THEY ATTACH PAPERWORK,  I REPEAT:  THERE WAS/IS  NOTHING ATTACHED !!!!!

Regards,

**** *****


 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  However, the information provided  still does not prove that the replacement compressor is  the proper  16 SER rating. ;  I will contact the Manufacturer with the information One Call has finially povided  . If it is not such  a 16 SER , I will address that as a separate issue with the proper entities. .

Thank you for the BBBs help in completing a long over due , worrisome  issue for me.  

Regards,

**** *****

 


 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1