BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Olshan Foundation Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

Olshan Foundation Repair

Phone: (713) 223-1900 Fax: (713) 895-8160 5902 W 34th Street, Houston, TX 77092 http://www.olshanfoundation.com/regions/texas/houston/ View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states if offers full-service foundation repair including patented cable lock pilings, bell-bottom piers, block and base and under-slab plumbing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Olshan Foundation Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Olshan Foundation Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Complaint Information

Based on BBB files, this company has a satisfactory record with the BBB. A satisfactory record means a company has been in business for at least 12 months, and properly addressed matters referred by the BBB. The company does not have an unusual volume of complaints or any government actions involving its marketplace conduct. The BBB understands and has no concerns about the company's products, services, and type of business.

When considering complaint information, please take into account the company's size and volume of transactions, and understand that the nature of complaints and a company's response to them are often more important than the number of complaints.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1933
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E. 41st Street, Austin TX 78751
http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us/about-us.html
Phone Number: 512-458-2145
Fax Number: 512-302-5090
info@tsbpe.state.tx.us

Business Management
Ms. Renee Lepley, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Susan Bryan
Related Businesses
Olshan Foundation Repair
Business Category

FOUNDATION CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING WATER HEATER - REPAIRING WATER HEATER - TANKLESS FOUNDATION REPAIR & HOUSE LEVELING DRAINAGE CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Olshan Foundation Solutions Same Day Water Heaters
Industry Tips
Foundation Repair - How to Select a Company Plumbing - How to Choose a Company

Additional Locations

  • 5902 W 34th Street

    Houston, TX 77092 (713) 223-1900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

Discount CouponsX

Discount Coupons for Olshan Foundation Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Olshan to correct my foundation issues. They came out to check the house and made a recommendations as to what needed to be done to correct the problem. I contract them to do the work, which took one day to complete. Within six months of completion of the work, my doors began sticking again in the same rooms. When I call to informed them of the problem, I was told that they were busy and it would take 3 to 4 months before they could come out to check. When they finally came out, I was told that the work they did was not enough to fix the original problem and that I would have to pay for additional piers on the opposite side of the house. This estimate was an additional $5000. My response to them was that I was told by the Representative that made the original estimate that the initial work would fix the problem. They replied that the Representative that made the estimate had died and they couldn't confirm with him what I was told. Bottom line is they refuse to honor the warranty and I have not heard from them since. There Warranty is not worth the paper it is written on.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the work completed to fix the initial problem I paid for. If the number of piers installed were not sufficient to fix the problem, I should have been told that before the work was begun.

Business Response:

Olshan is happy to honor the warranty which is stated in the contract, the adjustment of existing piles. The area that the customer is questioning, was given as an option to repair for an additional charge, she elected not to do the additional work. Now that area has settled an additional 3/4 of an inch from where is was before which is a 30% increase in the settlement from our initial appointment. Our warranty does not cover areas that we do not repair. And it certainly does not cover areas that are priced to repair and the customer elects not to spend the money to repair that portion of the foundation.

I will be happy to look at the price and make some considerations in the pricing since this is our slower time of the year and she is a previous customer.

***** *****

GM

Olshan Foundation Repair of Houston

************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the repair process was explained to us, we were told to possibly expect windows, pipes,tile and sheet rock to break, all of which (excluding the windows) did break and we've spent considerable funds to repair. However, we were never told to expect additional breaks in our slab resulting from the Olshan foundation repair. Specifically, the front porch which is part of our monolithic slab had previously been piered (our foundation had been repaired by another company over 30 years ago)and was showing no signs of damage and was unbroken. I did tell our Olshan sales representative ** ** ******** on two separate occasions that I thought it would be best if they did not try to re-pier the front porch since it really does not have the weight to leverage when driving the piers, but each time he assured me that it was necessary. While the house was being jacked, there was a very loud crash and our front porch was initially broken into several pieces. Upon noting the damage, we were issued a change order and they proceeded to jack the porch and carport slab using a different method to try and minimize the damage. Throughout the entire job we continued to hear the crashes as more and more areas of our slab were broken into pieces. All said and done, our entire slab is now in many, many more pieces than when the job began and our front porch, carport and planter box (brick structure which was part of the original construction and on the monolithic slab) and which were already piered and had NO breaks before the Olshan repair, are now an unsightly mess. We've talked with several Olshan reps about the damage but we've been told to cover our porch with AstroTurf and that they just would not do anything about the damage they caused.

Desired Settlement: The foundation repair cost $25,869 which we had to take out a loan to pay; but it is going to cost us MORE than that to repair the damage they did to just the visible areas of the porch, carport and planter box, not to mention the unseen areas hidden under the flooring materials. It would seem more than fair that they reimburse us for the repair amount as we are going to have to expend that and then some thanks to Olshan's poor judgement and engineering.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

This is the first I have heard of a problem with this job. the work appears to have been completed in October of 2012.

As I review the file there are several things that stand out;

One is that we had the homeowner Mr. ****** sign an acknowledgement of the slab being thinner than normal and having wire mess rather than rebar in the mat.

Secondly the more times a foundation is worked on and the more times additional holes are broken to install pilings, the more issue you can have with the concrete holding together (especially one with poor reinforcement and thin concrete). We don't replace concrete that comes apart due to multiple repairs and adjustments and poor initial quality.

I also noticed that Mr. ****** had given our crew a 9 out or 10 rating on our post job inspection review sheet after the job was complete...I am not sure what has changed Mr. ******'s mind about our work but I will be happy to meet with him and look at this situation.  

Planter boxes usually are a lost cause, most of the time they cannot be underpinned and are not covered under our contracts as this one was not.

If Mr. ****** would like to contact me directly and set an appointment to look and see if there is any adjustments under our warranty we can make to help out his situation, I am more than willing to do that.

 

***** *****

GM Olshan Houston

************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ******


 

 Mr. ***** from Olshan is coming out on Thursday, April 10,2014.  We will let you know what the out come is.  Thanks

Business Response: I met with Mr. and Mrs. ****** and based on the emails sent to the BBB, I expected to find the porch and planter box destroyed. Mr. ******, for what ever reason, in my opinion, has grossly exaggerated the condition of the porch and planter box. To my amazement the planter box is intact and the porch is a typical porch that has been broken through to make foundation repair. I observed evidence of water leaching thorough the concrete due to poor drainage and built up flower beds that dam water against the front porch, there is also an exposed area on the right side of the home where water is running under the slab. I offered to fill the holes even though they are well past our obligation to do so,  and suggested that they install some drainage where they have built up the flower beds. I am not sure why Mr. ****** continues to exaggerate the condition of the front porch. The appearance is typical for a porch that has been broken out  to make foundation repairs. When a customer chooses to make repairs by breaking through the porch rather than tunneling it. The cracks that occur during the breakouts and or driving the piling are to be expected. Our contract spells out the fact that these conditions may occur. I did suggest if Mr. ****** wanted to cosmetically cover up the cracks and patches he could use pavers to do so, I did also tell him that a tile slate or outdoor carpet would do so as well. Based on our contract, we are not obligated to do any repairs to Mr. ******'s porch or planter box. I understand Mr. ****** is not happy with the porch but Olshan has done nothing that contractually we are obligated to repair or anything that is not out of the norm for our daily business practices or the foundation repair industry.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My elderly Father entered into a contract with Olshan for foundation leveling. After the contract was signed, the salesman ****** *****) would never return calls. During the leveling process, plumbing was damaged and we are STILL waiting for completion. The workers are NEVER on time and we have to call several times to get anyone to show up. I believe they took advantage of an elderly person (asking for money for things they damaged) and have dismissed us while trying to get the project completed. Shameful!!!

Desired Settlement: Post for unsuspecting future customers.....buyer beware of this company.

Business Response:

To my knowledge, we were late the first day getting the plumbers to the home to make the repairs because they had been given an incorrect address from dispatch.

The home had settled over 5 inches and when raised created a break in the plumbing waste water system. Anytime a home is allowed to settle that much the risk for needing plumbing repairs after the fact, become much greater, (the average settlement to a home we work on is approximately 1 and 1/2 inches). Plumbing breaks caused by lifting the home is not covered under our contract. This is a standard in the industry.

The Urethane injections where offered as a lower cost option for foundation repair other than tunneling the home and it was made clear to the owner, at the time the job was bid, that this option comes with the risk of filling a plumbing line

After the line broke and a portion was filled with Urethane, we gave the customer a price to repair the plumbing (our standard pricing) and then reduced it considerably to help the customer. We also went out on a Saturday and dug the tunnel to make the plumbing repairs in order to get it done quicker rather than trying to fit it in around other scheduled work. The customer was under no obligation to use us for the plumbing repairs, they could hire another plumber of their choice to make the repairs. I don't think they would be able to find another plumber to do the repairs at the price we offered to do the repairs due to the discount we gave them.

Communication with our production manager and the homeowner (mainly his daughter) has been ongoing throughout the entire process.

Our contract is very clear on this issue and it was explained to the customer, prior to the job starting and again during the installation. I believe the biggest issue is that the person that forwarded the complaint to the BBB and posted a complaint on line, was not present for the pre construction meeting at the time the job was sold.I am wondering if this is a different person than we have been dealing with all along because the tone is a 180 degree turn from the way the flow of communication has been between our customer and our companies representatives.

I have reached out to this person when she posted a complaint on line, since that is the first time I had heard they were upset and she has not responded to my request.

***** *****

************

General Manager

Olshan Houston

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before Olshan's did work I couldn't hide from the field tech, he called, texted and emailed. I arrived the first day of the job, signed what needed to be signed and gave money. I arrived on second day, questioned slope in breakfast room and door closing, there was a language barrier between myself and contract manager because I don't speak Spanish. He didn't understand what I was saying. I had spoke to field tech the day before and questioned slope, how long to disappear and seem less noticeably he said immediately. We'll that isn't the case because 2 weeks later slope still there. My job was a 12k job, according to Olshan's an average job is 9k. I have called my field tech 2 times since the job was complete and haven't gotten a response. I finally called the office to discuss with a GM. At this point I have received no follow-up, survey, final diagram NOTHING, from Olshan's. We'll the GM, obliviously doesn't respect their customers because I told him my concerns and he interrupted every time I mentioned a concern; slope in breakfast area, field tech not contacting me back, final diagram, follow-up call on job, and the fact that I used the financing company they suggested and instead of honoring my financing approval they cashed my two checks because according to them I had to write a check and they would hold and then destroy once financing information came across. We'll my checks have cleared my account and I'm sure they have been funded the financing amount as well. Yeah for Olshan's they made double money off of me. The customer service I received from the GM today was truely disrespectful and uncalled for. I was very polite but after only hearing apologies and not how can we make this better or I'll have the field tech out right away, I could tell they truly don't value their customers. I had two bids on this work one for $3800 and the other from Olshan's $12k. To top it off the GM told me that I was important because he had spent the last 22 minutes on the phone, SERIOUSLY?

Desired Settlement: I would like my approved financing to be honored. I would like another look at my slope in the breakfast room and appropriate adjusting to be done to doorways as well. I would like a current final copy of diagrams with measurements. I would like for the GM to be addressed in the way he arrogantly told me I was important because he spent the last 22 minutes. As the customer I understood that as I was wasting his time. I would like them to represent the customer service the advertise.

Business Response:

Dear Sir/Madam:

Olshan manager ******* ********* visited Ms. ******’s home on Wednesday, ******** *** **** and we believe that questions and concerns about the work originally performed on her home were addressed at that time.  After this discussion, slight adjustments to her home are to be scheduled.  Further, we are working to address Ms. ******’s request to finance a portion of the work the work, and refund her this amount once the financing is approved.

Please let us know if you need anything else from us.

Sincerely,

******* ************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Olshan foundation has done foundation repair twice at my home. The recent repair was on Jan21 ,2013. They lifted the foundation in my kitchen and in the process broke the sewage drain line and did not repair it. I now have a large pool of water underneath my foundation that may cause a since hole and cause foundation collapse. I called the ******* ******* to ask to resolve the issue. His answer was buyer beware and that i did not read the fine print on the contract.On a previous repair to my foundation which was done by olshan around 2001, the same sewer line broke during the repair. My insurace company, **** Insurance, paid olshan 6000 dollars to reroute the sewage drainage line. Apparently they did not. They took the 6000 dollars and just reconnected the broken line. The is the same line that broke on January 21, 2013. I they had done the work that they were paid or back in 2001 I would not have this problem. Basicaly the stole 6000 dollars for a repair that they did not make and are now telling me it tough luck and not their problem. I have paid over 20,000 dollars to olshan for the two repairs and have a worse problem now than i had originally. What they did is criminal and should be stopped and prevent them from ripping people off.

Desired Settlement: I want olshan to make the plumbing repair that they were originall paid 6000 doloars for by **** insurance

Business Response:

A General Manager, ***** ********** spoke with Mr. ********* about his concerns with the plumbing but did not have his file readily available and so could not initially speak directly about the issues he was having.  Mr. ********* was told though that if the problem was the result of the piling adjustment, our agreement states that Olshan is not liable for the damage, but that he would review his file and get back with him promptly.  

  

Upon review of his file, it showed Mr. ********* did have leaks in 3 areas of his home after the original work was performed. Olshan Plumbing did repair 3 leaks for an amount around $2500.00 and this work had a 1 year warranty. A message was left to inform Mr. ********* and he was asked to return the call to discuss his issue but he has yet to return the call, but we would be happy to discuss the matter further. Olshan Plumbing would also be more than happy to come out and provide a quote for repair. 

Business Response:

A General Manager, ***** *********, spoke with Mr. ********* about his concerns with the plumbing but did not have his file readily available and so could not initially speak directly about the issues he was having.

Mr. ********* was told though that  if the problem was the result of the piling adjustment, our agreement states that Olshan is not liable for the damage, but the he would review his file and get back with him promptly.

 

Upon review of his file, it showed Mr. ********* did have leaks in 3 areas. of his home after the original work was perfomed. Olshan Plumbing did repair 3 leaks for an amount around $2,500 and this work had a 1 year

warranty. A message was left to inform Mr. ********* and he was asked to return the call to discuss his issues but he has yet to return the call, but we would be happy to discuss the matter further. Olshan Plumbng would

also be more than happy to come out and provide a quote for repair.

 

***** *******

GM Houston Olshan

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues