Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company states if offers full-service foundation repair including patented cable lock pilings, bell-bottom piers, block and base, drainage correction, plumbing testing, polyurethane injection and under-slab plumbing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Olshan Foundation Repair Co. of Houston, LLC. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Olshan Foundation Repair Co. of Houston, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 5
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Complaint Information

Based on BBB files, this company has a satisfactory record with the BBB. A satisfactory record means a company has been in business for at least 12 months, and properly addressed matters referred by the BBB. The company does not have an unusual volume of complaints or any government actions involving its marketplace conduct. The BBB understands and has no concerns about the company's products, services, and type of business.

When considering complaint information, please take into account the company's size and volume of transactions, and understand that the nature of complaints and a company's response to them are often more important than the number of complaints.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Olshan Foundation Repair Co. of Houston, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1933
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
929 E. 41st Street, Austin TX 78751
http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us/about-us.html
Phone Number: 512-458-2145
Fax Number: 512-302-5090
info@tsbpe.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Chris Cates, General Manager Mr. H. L DeShazer, President Ms. Renee Lepley, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Chris Cates, General Manager
Related Businesses
Olshan Foundation Repair Co. of Houston, LLC.
Business Category

FOUNDATION CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS - PLUMBERS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING WATER HEATER - REPAIRING WATER HEATER - TANKLESS FOUNDATION REPAIR & HOUSE LEVELING DRAINAGE CONTRACTORS

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Olshan Foundation Repair Olshan Foundation Solutions
Industry Tips
Foundation Repair - How to Select a Company Plumbing - How to Choose a Company

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Olshan Foundation Repair Co. of Houston, LLC. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5902 W 34th Street

    Houston, TX 77092 (713) 223-1900 (877) 465-7425

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a home less than a year ago in August 2016 with an existing transferable foundation warranty for work that was completed on the home in 2013. I received the work order and receipt paperwork from the seller whom I bought the home from and I was told that at closing the warranty would transfer. I called Oshan and they are telling me the warranty is still in the previous owner's name and that the paperwork was never filled out to transfer the warranty. I never received any paperwork from the owner or agents. Olshan is now telling me I need a tech to come out to re assess the property and I will have to pay to reinstate a transferable warranty. This was less than a year ago and I do not believe this is in any way fair or good business practice.

Desired Settlement: I want the foundation warranty transfered to me as it should have been. I am the new owner of the home and I was told the warranty would be transferred to me and it wasn't.

Business Response:

Olshan performed foundation repair work under a portion of the home in October of 2013 for the previous owner.  This work came with a lifetime transferable warranty.  The Warranty Certificate and the Request for Warranty Transfer form that included the terms of transferability were provided to the owner, copies of these documents are attached. 

It was the pervious owner’s responsibility to supply this information to the buyer.  It would seem that the seller did not do so, and unfortunately the terms of transfer were not met, voiding the warranty.   In good faith, we scheduled an appointment to visit the home when Ms. ******** (new owner) contacted us. Our intent is to assess the area repaired by Olshan as explained in the Request for Warranty Transfer.  If there are no intervening issues, we may be able to reinstate the warranty with a fee.  Best case scenario is that we would ask for the proper documentation to be completed and the $100 transfer fee by paid, as is required in the Request for Warranty Transfer form.  We will be able to determine what path we can take after assessment of the home on June 16, 2016.

12/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in May I requested my foundation be evaluated prior to a new tenant occupying the property. During that evaluation, I was made aware of failures in the foundation and was told that I'd be sent an estimate. At that point, I told the technician that I had a LIFETIME warranty on the foundation from a previous owner that was transferred to me during the sale. He told me that he would look into it and would get back to me. Finally, on July 22, 2015 Naudie I******* finally emailed me back stating that the home did not have a warranty on it at all and that the repairs would cost $11,385 and would only carry 5 year warranty moving forward. I spent the next few months scouring my documentation from purchasing the home, and did in fact find the existing lifetime warranty and emailed it over to Naudie on Oct. 21, 2015. A few days later I received a voicemail from him saying he'd take a look at it and would get back to me. Since then, I have resent the copy of my warranty to one other employee at Olshan, a Ms. Melissa in the Houston Office. She said she would bring it back to Naudie's attention. Then about 3 weeks ago again, I called the office and spoke with another young woman there and explained this entire situation again - she admitted they were aware of the existing lifetime warranty (apparently the street name was spelled incorrectly) and would make sure that someone would return my call to let me know how to begin the process of having the failures repaired. Not since October has anyone from Olshan called or emailed me back. It truly seems as if they do not want to do the work unless they're making money on the project.

Desired Settlement: I expect that they complete the repairs as stipulated in the existing lifetime warranty without any further delays.

Business Response:

Our representative emailed the customer on October 21 in regards to transferring the warranty and need for additional repairs in areas not previously underpinned.  The customer says they did not receive the email.

Since receiving this BBB complaint, our representative reached back out to the customer and also forwarded her the email from October 21.  As per the attached email, we feel this issue should be resolved shortly. 

11/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the 'lifetime warranty' statement is false. the warranty does not apply to the product but rather the purchaser

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) the claim of a 'lifetime' warranty needs to be adjusted to reflect the true maniacal nature of the statement. the warranty is 'limited' on who it applies to, it does not cover the product.

Business Response:

Olshan performed foundation repair work on a portion of this property in 1996 for a previous owner.  The warranty was never transferred to the current homeowner in accordance with our transfer guidelines, which voided the warranty.  This was explained to Mr. ******** in May of 2014 when we inspected the property.  At that time we also offered to reinstate the warranty for a fee, but Mr. ******** declined.

Recently Mr. ******** filed a BBB complaint against another Olshan in Memphis, Tennessee.  That location disputed the claim since it was not in their territory or under their contract, and also notified us that Mr. ********’s dissatisfaction.  Our representative that met with Mr. ******** last year reached out to him at that point and offered to reinstate the warranty without a reinstatement fee, but would require the transfer forms be completed and the $100 transfer fee be paid.  Mr. ******** was to discuss this option with his wife and let us know what he wanted to do.  We have heard nothing until this BBB complaint.

Olshan still offers to reinstate the warranty without the reinstatement fee, but we will need the transfer form signed and the $100 transfer fee paid. 

10/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid $ 10,000.00 for our foundation work with a lifetime warranty coverage. Then, I noticed the house was sagging, etc. in areas they had done the work. I called them back out and notified them of the warranty in place. Then I had to beg for over a month for a written estimate, promised in 7 days by Mr. S. I eventually had to contact the manager over the phone, and he agreed to meet with me, he but got sick had to cancel. He never contacted or followed up anymore, this was January 2015, it is now July 2015. I wanted to discuss the estimated prices of $ 31,000.00 with him, considering this was involving work that was previously warranted and one-half of a bedroom added after the initial work was done.

Desired Settlement: They should consider refunding the initial $ 10,000.00 we paid since this is not a lifetime warranty. if they can't finish the job as they wrote in the original contract.

Business Response:

In 2006 Olshan underpinned a portion of the exterior of Ms. *****’ home.  This work came with a lifetime foundation warranty that covered adjustments to the Olshan installed pilings.

On October 14, 2014 Ms. ***** called our office due to signs of settlement at her residence.  An appointment was scheduled for October 21; however our representative noted that no one was there for the appointment and we were not able to assess the home.

Another appointment was scheduled for November 14, 2014.  During this assessment it was determined that more settlement had taken place in areas not previously underpinned and the home was in need of foundation work.  Our recommendations were to underpin new areas experiencing settlement along with adjustment of some of the existing work, the adjustments being covered by the lifetime foundation warranty.

On January 21, 2015 Ms. ***** asked to speak with a manager because she had questions about the pricing and proposed job design.  Our general manager, Chris *****, scheduled an appointment to meet with her on February 16, 2015, but again Ms. ***** did not show for the appointment.  Chris called a few times to attempt to reschedule the appointment, but was not able to connect with anyone.  At that point we put the file back in place, waiting for Ms. ***** to return our calls.  This BBB complaint is the first we’ve heard from her since February. I am surprised that Ms. ***** contacted the BBB without contacting us after missing her scheduled appointment with Mr. *****.

We still stand ready to meet with Ms. ***** and address her foundation issues and questions.

Business Response:

I do not know where the confusion on the appointment lies but I did not miss the appointment, the home has a narrow “U” shaped entry and wrought iron gate that that was closed preventing me from getting to the front door.  I waited at least 30 minutes and called both numbers I had.  I could not get anyone to come to the door or the phone.  Nevertheless, I am willing to schedule another appointment to meet Ms. *****, if she will call our office and schedule that appointment. I am usually 1-2 weeks booked out in advance.

 

As far as the original work, our records indicate we only supported a portion of the perimeter and none of the interior. Unfortunately the home needs the rest of the exterior and most of the interior done at this time according to my Sales Manager. I am ready and willing to meet with Ms. ***** to discuss pricing, other options of repair and or the option of Olshan adjusting our work and her having another company do the additional needed repairs at this time.

 

Yes, we offer financing to all our customers. According to my technician’s CAD the home has two additions on it.  What I would like to do is look at the home, verify the need as described by my Sales Manager and explain her options. All Ms. ***** has to do is set an appointment with me to look at the home.

 

Our warranty covers the adjustment of our piling if the pile or piles settle, it does not cover areas of the home that have not been supported by our piling. I am willing to work with her on pricing. What I cannot change, is the home’s need for additional underpinning. Our elevation readings show that the home has settled in areas that were not previously supported by Olshan when we did the original repairs, nine years ago.

  

Thanks,

Chris ***** C.F.R.S.

General Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indi***** your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 

6/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Plumbing installation does not function properly. Request to get it corrected have been denied. Price of the work excessive.

Desired Settlement: Correct the work and reprice the added work.

Business Response:

Olshan performed plumbing work in 2012.  This work was done in accordance with state code and was inspected and passed by the **** ** *******.  The work had a one year limited warranty.

We have no documentation on a conversation between Mr. F***** and Bill B******* last year, and unfortunately Bill is no longer with our company and we are not able to ask what he recalls on this matter.

We would like to suggest a site visit and possibly a leak isolation test (we will waive the isolation fee) to better see what the plumbing issues are.  Once we have a better understanding, hopefully we can work towards resolution of Mr. F*****’s concerns.

If you would like to schedule the site visit and/or the leak isolation test, please contact Pat D*******, our Master Plumber.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  
I have the email communication with Olshan. I will send copies to you. 
[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,


  R****** F***** 

Business Response:

Please forward the email to us at *************************** so we may review the information and discuss further.

Thank you.

 

6/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Olshan leveled our house foundation and we have a lifetime transferable warranty. They had to come back and re-level several times as the house settled. Two supports were installed inside the house and all others installed around the outside. However, the outside supports were the ones that were always jacked up. Now they say the house is low in the middle and the company wants 7500 dollars to put supports in the middle of the house. Why did they come back to re-level if not under warranty? I let this go for sometime but its bothered me that the company is not doing what they were paid to do, nor honoring their warranty.

Desired Settlement: Level house at no additional expense

Business Response:

Olshan installed pilings around the majority of the perimeter of the home in ****.  This came with a lifetime transferable warranty that covered only the underpinned area.

We have performed warranty work on our pilings in the past and have also installed an interior piling at no charge. 

The elevations we took in **** indicated that the center of the home had settled.  Since this area was not underpinned and was not covered by Olshan’s warranty, we offered an estimate for the recommended repairs.  With the center being low we were limited on what we could accomplish by only adjusting the exterior pilings, risking the potential of increasing a “bowl” effect (the exterior of the slab being higher than the interior).

We stand ready to honor our warranty as it is written, which is the adjustment of existing pilings; however if the home needs additional underpinning in areas not worked on by Olshan, there would be a charge for an new pilings.  Since it has been two years since our last elevations and we have gone through several seasonal changes, it is recommended that new elevations be taken so we may verify the current condition of the slab.  If it is feasible to make only exterior adjustments, we will gladly do so under the terms of our warranty.  If the interior is still low, we may still be limited as to what can be done until that is corrected.

Please call me if you are interested in scheduling this appointment.

6/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Olshan to correct my foundation issues. They came out to check the house and made a recommendations as to what needed to be done to correct the problem. I contract them to do the work, which took one day to complete. Within six months of completion of the work, my doors began sticking again in the same rooms. When I call to informed them of the problem, I was told that they were busy and it would take 3 to 4 months before they could come out to check. When they finally came out, I was told that the work they did was not enough to fix the original problem and that I would have to pay for additional piers on the opposite side of the house. This estimate was an additional $5000. My response to them was that I was told by the Representative that made the original estimate that the initial work would fix the problem. They replied that the Representative that made the estimate had died and they couldn't confirm with him what I was told. Bottom line is they refuse to honor the warranty and I have not heard from them since. There Warranty is not worth the paper it is written on.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the work completed to fix the initial problem I paid for. If the number of piers installed were not sufficient to fix the problem, I should have been told that before the work was begun.

Business Response:

Olshan is happy to honor the warranty which is stated in the contract, the adjustment of existing piles. The area that the customer is questioning, was given as an option to repair for an additional charge, she elected not to do the additional work. Now that area has settled an additional 3/4 of an inch from where is was before which is a 30% increase in the settlement from our initial appointment. Our warranty does not cover areas that we do not repair. And it certainly does not cover areas that are priced to repair and the customer elects not to spend the money to repair that portion of the foundation.

I will be happy to look at the price and make some considerations in the pricing since this is our slower time of the year and she is a previous customer.

***** *****

GM

Olshan Foundation Repair of Houston

************

5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the repair process was explained to us, we were told to possibly expect windows, pipes,tile and sheet rock to break, all of which (excluding the windows) did break and we've spent considerable funds to repair. However, we were never told to expect additional breaks in our slab resulting from the Olshan foundation repair. Specifically, the front porch which is part of our monolithic slab had previously been piered (our foundation had been repaired by another company over 30 years ago)and was showing no signs of damage and was unbroken. I did tell our Olshan sales representative ** ** ******** on two separate occasions that I thought it would be best if they did not try to re-pier the front porch since it really does not have the weight to leverage when driving the piers, but each time he assured me that it was necessary. While the house was being jacked, there was a very loud crash and our front porch was initially broken into several pieces. Upon noting the damage, we were issued a change order and they proceeded to jack the porch and carport slab using a different method to try and minimize the damage. Throughout the entire job we continued to hear the crashes as more and more areas of our slab were broken into pieces. All said and done, our entire slab is now in many, many more pieces than when the job began and our front porch, carport and planter box (brick structure which was part of the original construction and on the monolithic slab) and which were already piered and had NO breaks before the Olshan repair, are now an unsightly mess. We've talked with several Olshan reps about the damage but we've been told to cover our porch with AstroTurf and that they just would not do anything about the damage they caused.

Desired Settlement: The foundation repair cost $25,869 which we had to take out a loan to pay; but it is going to cost us MORE than that to repair the damage they did to just the visible areas of the porch, carport and planter box, not to mention the unseen areas hidden under the flooring materials. It would seem more than fair that they reimburse us for the repair amount as we are going to have to expend that and then some thanks to Olshan's poor judgement and engineering.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

This is the first I have heard of a problem with this job. the work appears to have been completed in October of 2012.

As I review the file there are several things that stand out;

One is that we had the homeowner Mr. ****** sign an acknowledgement of the slab being thinner than normal and having wire mess rather than rebar in the mat.

Secondly the more times a foundation is worked on and the more times additional holes are broken to install pilings, the more issue you can have with the concrete holding together (especially one with poor reinforcement and thin concrete). We don't replace concrete that comes apart due to multiple repairs and adjustments and poor initial quality.

I also noticed that Mr. ****** had given our crew a 9 out or 10 rating on our post job inspection review sheet after the job was complete...I am not sure what has changed Mr. ******'s mind about our work but I will be happy to meet with him and look at this situation.  

Planter boxes usually are a lost cause, most of the time they cannot be underpinned and are not covered under our contracts as this one was not.

If Mr. ****** would like to contact me directly and set an appointment to look and see if there is any adjustments under our warranty we can make to help out his situation, I am more than willing to do that.

 

***** *****

GM Olshan Houston

************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ******


 

 Mr. ***** from Olshan is coming out on Thursday, April 10,2014.  We will let you know what the out come is.  Thanks

Business Response: I met with Mr. and Mrs. ****** and based on the emails sent to the BBB, I expected to find the porch and planter box destroyed. Mr. ******, for what ever reason, in my opinion, has grossly exaggerated the condition of the porch and planter box. To my amazement the planter box is intact and the porch is a typical porch that has been broken through to make foundation repair. I observed evidence of water leaching thorough the concrete due to poor drainage and built up flower beds that dam water against the front porch, there is also an exposed area on the right side of the home where water is running under the slab. I offered to fill the holes even though they are well past our obligation to do so,  and suggested that they install some drainage where they have built up the flower beds. I am not sure why Mr. ****** continues to exaggerate the condition of the front porch. The appearance is typical for a porch that has been broken out  to make foundation repairs. When a customer chooses to make repairs by breaking through the porch rather than tunneling it. The cracks that occur during the breakouts and or driving the piling are to be expected. Our contract spells out the fact that these conditions may occur. I did suggest if Mr. ****** wanted to cosmetically cover up the cracks and patches he could use pavers to do so, I did also tell him that a tile slate or outdoor carpet would do so as well. Based on our contract, we are not obligated to do any repairs to Mr. ******'s porch or planter box. I understand Mr. ****** is not happy with the porch but Olshan has done nothing that contractually we are obligated to repair or anything that is not out of the norm for our daily business practices or the foundation repair industry.

3/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My elderly Father entered into a contract with Olshan for foundation leveling. After the contract was signed, the salesman ****** *****) would never return calls. During the leveling process, plumbing was damaged and we are STILL waiting for completion. The workers are NEVER on time and we have to call several times to get anyone to show up. I believe they took advantage of an elderly person (asking for money for things they damaged) and have dismissed us while trying to get the project completed. Shameful!!!

Desired Settlement: Post for unsuspecting future customers.....buyer beware of this company.

Business Response:

To my knowledge, we were late the first day getting the plumbers to the home to make the repairs because they had been given an incorrect address from dispatch.

The home had settled over 5 inches and when raised created a break in the plumbing waste water system. Anytime a home is allowed to settle that much the risk for needing plumbing repairs after the fact, become much greater, (the average settlement to a home we work on is approximately 1 and 1/2 inches). Plumbing breaks caused by lifting the home is not covered under our contract. This is a standard in the industry.

The Urethane injections where offered as a lower cost option for foundation repair other than tunneling the home and it was made clear to the owner, at the time the job was bid, that this option comes with the risk of filling a plumbing line

After the line broke and a portion was filled with Urethane, we gave the customer a price to repair the plumbing (our standard pricing) and then reduced it considerably to help the customer. We also went out on a Saturday and dug the tunnel to make the plumbing repairs in order to get it done quicker rather than trying to fit it in around other scheduled work. The customer was under no obligation to use us for the plumbing repairs, they could hire another plumber of their choice to make the repairs. I don't think they would be able to find another plumber to do the repairs at the price we offered to do the repairs due to the discount we gave them.

Communication with our production manager and the homeowner (mainly his daughter) has been ongoing throughout the entire process.

Our contract is very clear on this issue and it was explained to the customer, prior to the job starting and again during the installation. I believe the biggest issue is that the person that forwarded the complaint to the BBB and posted a complaint on line, was not present for the pre construction meeting at the time the job was sold.I am wondering if this is a different person than we have been dealing with all along because the tone is a 180 degree turn from the way the flow of communication has been between our customer and our companies representatives.

I have reached out to this person when she posted a complaint on line, since that is the first time I had heard they were upset and she has not responded to my request.

***** *****

************

General Manager

Olshan Houston

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before Olshan's did work I couldn't hide from the field tech, he called, texted and emailed. I arrived the first day of the job, signed what needed to be signed and gave money. I arrived on second day, questioned slope in breakfast room and door closing, there was a language barrier between myself and contract manager because I don't speak Spanish. He didn't understand what I was saying. I had spoke to field tech the day before and questioned slope, how long to disappear and seem less noticeably he said immediately. We'll that isn't the case because 2 weeks later slope still there. My job was a 12k job, according to Olshan's an average job is 9k. I have called my field tech 2 times since the job was complete and haven't gotten a response. I finally called the office to discuss with a GM. At this point I have received no follow-up, survey, final diagram NOTHING, from Olshan's. We'll the GM, obliviously doesn't respect their customers because I told him my concerns and he interrupted every time I mentioned a concern; slope in breakfast area, field tech not contacting me back, final diagram, follow-up call on job, and the fact that I used the financing company they suggested and instead of honoring my financing approval they cashed my two checks because according to them I had to write a check and they would hold and then destroy once financing information came across. We'll my checks have cleared my account and I'm sure they have been funded the financing amount as well. Yeah for Olshan's they made double money off of me. The customer service I received from the GM today was truely disrespectful and uncalled for. I was very polite but after only hearing apologies and not how can we make this better or I'll have the field tech out right away, I could tell they truly don't value their customers. I had two bids on this work one for $3800 and the other from Olshan's $12k. To top it off the GM told me that I was important because he had spent the last 22 minutes on the phone, SERIOUSLY?

Desired Settlement: I would like my approved financing to be honored. I would like another look at my slope in the breakfast room and appropriate adjusting to be done to doorways as well. I would like a current final copy of diagrams with measurements. I would like for the GM to be addressed in the way he arrogantly told me I was important because he spent the last 22 minutes. As the customer I understood that as I was wasting his time. I would like them to represent the customer service the advertise.

Business Response:

Dear Sir/Madam:

Olshan manager ******* ********* visited Ms. ******’s home on Wednesday, ******** *** **** and we believe that questions and concerns about the work originally performed on her home were addressed at that time.  After this discussion, slight adjustments to her home are to be scheduled.  Further, we are working to address Ms. ******’s request to finance a portion of the work the work, and refund her this amount once the financing is approved.

Please let us know if you need anything else from us.

Sincerely,

******* ************

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Olshan Foundation Repair Co. of Houston, LLC.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart