BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Jack's Carpet

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 8433 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017 http://www.jackscarpet.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides retail sales and installation of flooring, including: carpet, hardwood, laminates, tile, and vinyl.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Jack's Carpet include:

  • 89 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 16 complaints filed against business
  • 9 complaints filed against business that were not resolved


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

89 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 14
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 65
Total Closed Complaints 89

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1994 Business started: 05/04/1994 in TX Business started locally: 05/04/1994 Business incorporated: 05/04/1994 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tim Woernley
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Woernley
Business Category

CARPET & RUG DEALERS-NEW


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1181 NASA Pkwy

    Webster, TX 77598

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13885 Southwest Frwy

    Sugar Land, TX 77478 (713) 640-1114

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    17418 NW Freeway

    Houston, TX 77040

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    26333 I-45 North

    The Woodlands, TX 77380

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5876 San Felipe

    Houston, TX 77057

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 Mason Road

    Katy, TX 77450 (713) 640-1114

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8433 Gulf Freeway

    Houston, TX 77017 (713) 640-1114

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9330 Broadway

    Pearland, TX 77584

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (281) 395-1115(Phone)
  • (281) 548-1115(Phone)
  • (713) 640-1114(Phone)
  • (713) 640-1118(Phone)
  • (713) 774-9781(Phone)
  • (713) 640-1118 (Fax)
  • (713) 847-6835 (Fax)
  • (713) 849-8615 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.jackscarpet.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered ( Katy Location ) and had the wood floors installed early last month and very unhappy with the product and install. We moved all our furniture into the living room expecting to move it back in once the install was completed. The installer started with the install we noticed he left the wood away from the wall board trim , the trim was either suppose to be removed or fitted under the trim to keep everything uniform. The installer left the trim on and then added paneling molding(1/4" board) and stapled it to the existing trim (brown on white) and it looks terrible. When we looked at the final install we noticed that the wood had a lot of flaws in it and was not what we ordered, wrong color from what we ordered. Two of the boards he install by our door were the correct wood out of 12 boxes, then the installer tried to fix the flaws with his crayon, unfortunately once you wipe the floor off the flaws will always show, the flaws are 4 times lighter than the wood was suppose to be. We immediately called ***** (salesman) and told we were very unhappy with the floor (wrong color and flawed), he came out and said he never saw this before and agreed with us, that he would get this handled. A week later he came back to measure the bad pieces of wood so they can replace them, I said that this is tongue and groove and the installer would damage the other wood when removing it and this would now be damaged and a sub-par install and not what we are going to pay for,we bought "New" and want the floor done correctly. On top of leaving everything messy and wood stains on our driveway from staining the molding,after many calls later calls later****** was instructed to bring out different wood samples to choose from to replace to defective flooring,I want what we picked out orignally not to be told that there samples fade out and all the other excuses we have heard . Its been 2 weeks now and no phone calls,so I called ***** and he told me that he is no longer involved with us and ****** was suppose to take care of this!Funny thing is ****** told me awhile back he is done with us and was very nasty to us when talking with him.Im afraid if they did do any work it would be very sub par work(installer) and do more damage to our house because they have to remove and replace the wood flooring.This has been going on since late September when I handed him a check.Now I have a ugly floor and looks like I’m stuck with it, I took pictures of everything if I have to go another way to solve this matter.I have put a stop on payment on my check 2 weeks ago which Im supprised they did not run to the bank and cash it yet and was told they credited my account (Checking account) from a box of wood that was also damaged goods . Question is how can they credit my account when they never cash the check it in the first place . I feel like they are just throwing me under the bus and I am to accept this floor anyways whether I like it or not ! I noticed after checking on this company they have a lot of complaints on BBB's site for the same issues and more !

Desired Settlement: Remove all the wood flooring , both wallboard trims, install the new flooring with the right product we ordered and white trim that conforms with the trim board that's already in place in our house. I want the baseboard trim to be fitted correctly as was stated before we agreed on this deal , not 1/4'boarding. I also want compensation for the time we could not use our living room for over 6 weeks, and a no hassle warranty from this company should a problem arise in writing .I will hand them a check once the floor has been completed properly and to our liking. If this can not be done in any way and they want to remove the wood flooring , they MUST credit us on the carpet /padding and all molding and this deal is completely off . I will then deal with this in another way if this can not be resolved in a timely manor . Not waiting any more and no attitudes from there employees.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet is doing an internal review and will response once review is completed

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]  Jacks carpet said they would order the new wood , received a phone call last week from ****** saying it would be ordered and Im still waiting . Its now going on 3 weeks and Im not happy as it does not take that long to order the wood flooring . Im just getting a run around as usual from this bussiness and about done with them ! At this point I have had it with them as my furniture is still stored in my livingroom and damaging my carpet /marks and there noteasy to get out . I was going to have Thanksgiving dinner with all the family at my house but that has gone to the wayside . So they can say what they may , there responce is not acceptable as I still have a sub par floor and its taking way too long to resolve this matter . Nothing to this point has been taken care and I want"New" floor molding as to replace the damaged molding , This must be in writing or they will not enter my house to do any work ,I also will inspect every box of wood to make sure its not something put together as the last one was . I have done my research to know what to look for on the wood , it better be the real ***** as I will not go though this again with them . 

Regards,


 

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 20, 2014, I purchased hardwood flooring from Jack's Carpet Store - The Woodlands and was told my flooring installation would be scheduled for November 1, 2014. I was also told the flooring would be delivered on Tuesday, October 28, however it did not get delivered and no one from the store even called. I was out of town and forgot about it until Thursday, October 30, and called the store on October 31 to ask about it. The store employee **** ****** said he had forgot about arranging the delivery and would have the flooring delivered on Saturday with the installation crew. I asked about the need for the usual 2-days of acclimation before installation, and *** ***** said he had checked with the installation supervisor and the flooring was already being acclimated in an office and would be no problem to install the next day. I was later called on October 31 and told by the Installation Dept that the installation crew would be at my house on Saturday, Nov. 1 between 9 am to 12 pm to do the installation. On Saturday, Nov. 1 at about 8:45 am the installation supervisor called and said that his crew was doing a job in Conroe but would be at my house at 2 pm to drop off the flooring to acclimate and would return on Monday, Nov. 3 to install. I told him I was promised my flooring would be installed on this day. He said that would not be possible as the wood must acclimate in the installation location for 2 days before he would install it. I was not happy with this information, but there was nothing I could do - I had been lied to from the very beginning. Then by 3 pm the flooring still had not been delivered and no call from the supervisor, so I called him and he said the crew was delayed and did not know when they would arrive. He called back 30-minutes later he called back and said the crew would not make it until near 5:30 pm. So this issue continues to get worse. Calls to *** ***** at the store were of no help. So I now have to take off work on Monday, Nov 3 to have this installation completed; I can only hope they will actually return

Desired Settlement: I think I should be refunded the installation charge for the lies and inconvenience, as well as having to take a day off of work.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet is doing an internal review on this complaint and will respond on review is completed.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New tile flooring was inst**led from ********* - ********* and we immediately noticed a loose tile at the entrance to our bedroom. Multiple phone c**ls have gone unreturned and a visit to the store resulted in more promises to send someone to repair but no one ever showed up and no one is answering our c**ls. The single loose tile has now resulted in surrounding tiles to become loose as well. Poor customer service, promises with no follow-up. Visited the store on ********* and was promised by the s**esman (**) that we would have the problem solved today and that his district manager, who happened to be at the store this day, has person**ly esc**ated to the owner. Still nothing.

Desired Settlement: Fix my floor and stop making empty promises.

Business Response: This complaint has been addressed and the customer is satisfied.

9/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for approximately $**** worth of carpet for our new home. At the time the salesman (****) called the 2 carpet mills that the carpet was coming from and verified that the carpet was IN STOCK. After that call we scheduled an installation date and time and he accepted payment for the order in full before they would order the carpet. Well, it didn't take but 2 days for the first call from **** to change the date for install(1st change). The next week, a portion of the carpet was installed and the job was well done; but it was at this time I was advised that all the carpet did not arrive when they had hoped and they would need to reschedule (2nd change). We scheduled our move into our new house around the date we were given to install the carpet (we considered this an important component of the move); and now this morning I was called and told the carpet will not be here for another 3 days...(3rd change) So, now we have to reschedule the moving company which will push our move into next month; and for a nice adder, we will have to stay in a hotel until the carpet is installed due to the new owners moving in ********* ***. I have Spoken to the salesman, ****; the Sales Manager *** ******* and the corporate office. Unfortunately, the owners were out of the office and I was instructed that they do not handle customer complaints...??? After all this, I have gotten no where. I have been told by everyone that answered the phone it was not their fault, that everything that could be done had been done. I ended calling **** (the carpet manufacturer in *******), they were more than happy to update me on the order; and what do you know, the order was placed almost a week after I had initially purchased the carpet...??? Jacks Carpet blamed the manufacturer and now I found out the truth. This has caused nothing but frustration and now additional cost and inconvenience; but, we are stuck with Jacks as going somewhere else now would even delay things further, as well as cost more money.

Desired Settlement: I would like Jacks Carpet to expedite the shipment/delivery of our carpet, up to and including hiring a dedicated truck to get this carpet to us and installed tomorrow. I would also like a 50% refund for punitive damages for the inconvenience, expense and suffering we have experienced due to Jacks Carpet's poor operation and poor customer service.

Business Response: Customer has received his carpet and is satisfied.

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased wood floors and carpet on 6/19/10. The bamboo floors were made by Mohawk and were covered under a lifetime warranty, which made me feel comfortable making such a big purchase. I noticed discoloration in an area at the base of my stairs, and it spread. The wood in that area is white and feels hollow. It is basically rotten. There is other discoloration throughout the house. I contacted ****'s Carpet on 3/31, and was given the run-around about people being out of the office, etc. ****** ***** (a manager) called and came out on 4/5/14. He noticed the rotting and told us it was too much moisture coming from the subfloor. He said he would talk to **** about what he could do, and he would call us in "a couple" of days. When we hadn't heard from him, I called him on 4/14 and he said he was waiting to talk to ****, they had little staff right now, etc. He also told me there was no warranty, and I told him I found it on Mohawks website. He said lifetime wasnt clear, but I told him that the warranty says its valid as long as I own the property. On 4/30, my husband called again and he said he would email us. I called again on 5/8, 5/14, 5/18, and ****** just said that he was working on it and told me to contact Mohawk, which I had already done. On 5/16, Mohawk returned my call and said that they couldnt get in touch with anyone at ****s. On 5/19, I called Mohawk again and they said they talked to ****** and it was subfloor moisture and there was nothing they could do. Mohawks warranty can be found at ***********************************************************************, which states that subfloor moisture is covered if the installer does a moisture test and uses their adhesive. The Mohawk warranty was told to me by the salesman, so I assumed these conditions were met. When I spoke with Mohawk on 5/19, they told me there was nothing they could do. I reminded them of their warranty, and they said they didnt know if the criteria were met and recommended that I test the subfloor myself. I informed them that I am a special education teacher, and do not do floor installation. They said they would talk to a supervisor and call back, but I havent heard anything yet.

Desired Settlement: I have asked for the rotted wood to be replaced, but I am fearful that I will incur the same problem a few years down the road. I would like my money refunded instead.

1/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The carpet I selected and paid for is not the same quality of carpet that I received. I selected a carpet based on the sample quality to be comparable with and replace existing carpet. The carpet runs up against the existing carpet and does not have the same quality. The quality of carpet that I received was different from the sample in that it is a lower quality. The carpet is a ****** ******** carpet. I contacted Jacks and they contacted ******; ****** sent a report showing the standard deviation; and stated that the carpet was not defected. The carpet may not be defected but it is not the quality that I selected and paid for. I have contacted Jacks Carpet in writing (certified; return receipt) with no response or resolution.

Desired Settlement: At this point I am asking for 50% refund for the substandard quality in that I will have to replace that carpet sooner than expected and it has diminished the value of the room and connecting rooms.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet will refund customer $1070

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

12/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased carpet over a month ago and still have not received it. Keep getting the run around.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund

12/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered carpet from Jack's carpet on ********, paid in full and was told my carpet would be installed **** ****. that day came and went. I callled with no luck in getting in touch with anyone. Finally, I talked to *** ******** and was told that Jack's was in the process of filing bankruptcy and that they needed about 10 days to get things together for the install, then another 10 days. Finally they called to confirm that they wanted to install carpet on ****** ******** ***t and was told that the installers would call in between 8-10. ( didn't happen ). I called and of course *** was nowhere to be found, I was then told that they did not have the carpet, thats why no call was made to confirm the install, and it would be after **** ***. It is now **** *** and still no calls.P.S.- I have moved two rooms of furniture twice and taken off work twice for these promised installs and not even a call saying they cant make it.They have no concept of good business or care about customer service.Jack's Carpet is not filing B/R due to a declining economy as claimed ( they are horrible business people and crooks ),no one should do any type of business unless you like being screwed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my carpet installed or a full refund of $4,136.87

12/8/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have contacted **** @ **** ****** before two *********. **** came out and looked at the flooring they installed *** ****. We'll during beginning to ********** I noticed the floor sharted to shift, and some punctures, and lifting issues. So **** came out and looked at it; took pictures, and he said he'd be in contact soon. This floor we chose has a lifetime warranty against water penetration, puncturing, and workmanship. I've had contacted **** numerous times and left numerous messages for me to call me back. Still no call back and it's been over a month now. His office number is (***) ***-****. The flooring is getting worse. When he came out he tried stating they might charge us $150 for labor, but I told him this product has a lifetime warranty, and it's still under the one warranty they for their installation. So he said he'll get back with me, and like I said earlier, it's been a month and no contact.

Desired Settlement: I want the floor repaired, replaced and for them to stand by there products they sell when someone pays top dollar for merchandise and service for the flooring we chose for out circumstances.

Business Response:

Complaint Id #

*******

******* ****

Floor covering repaired 

  **** *********** ****** ****** *** ***** ***** ***** ** ************ ** ************ **********************  

12/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ******** ****** from Jack's Carpet came out to my house to do an estimate to have some lamiated wood floors pt down for my living room and my Den. He quote me a price of $4,300.00 and I wrote him out a check for that amount and at that time he told me that someone would be out to install my floors on the **** that ******** and ******. So I called that ******** which I had took off from my job to be there and he told me that the supplies had not come in yet so he reschedule it for that next ****** which was ******** *** which I tood off from my job again to be there and I was waiting on them to call me to tell me they were on their way and got no call so I called them again and was told they still had not gotten the material yet, so it was rescheduled again to the following ******. It was schedule about 4 times so the time I called to see what was going on and I spoke with the ******* Tim and he stated to me that the people that they had order the material from was very slow and that they were going to have to find someone else and that is when I told them to forget it that I just wanted my money back and he said that it would take 2 weeks for them to get my money to me because he had to go through the corporate office which I found out later that he was the corporate office. I took off that next ****** because by then 3 weeks had went by and I still had not gotten my money or no call from them so I went up there to see what the problem was and why I had not gotten my money and he stated to me bad news we are going out of business and that you won't be getting your money back. I told him I did not beleive that because if that was the case they just did not make that discesion over night and that they new and was still going around taking people's money and he told me he had nothing to say and that I would be getting a letter from them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money refunded. After I went through all that my ******* passed away and which he had been saving up that money for a long time for me to get the floor.

Business Response:

 

Complaint Id #

*******

****** ****

Floor covering installed

    **** *********** ****** ****** *** ***** ***** ***** ** ************ ** ************ **********************    


12/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From ***** **** *****: Ordered laminate wood and carpet for our home the ****** before ************ and paid in full. We were told the laminate would be in **** * and the carpet the week after. They kept telling us "next week" after that time came and went. (We were making these flooring changes because of a water leak, and we had torn out the old carpet because it was soaked and molding.) We had 30 people at our house on ********* *** with cement floors. After *********, we were told that they could install the 1st week of *******. Hadn't heard from them, so we called **** *. They told us that the carpet was here, but the manufacturer wouldn't release it until it was paid for. It may be another week before they can install. We have waited a month and a half- far too long. I don't think that we should have to wait for them to pay for the carpet since we already paid them in full. It is not my problem if they spent my money on something else!

Desired Settlement: We want our flooring installed ASAP!!!!!! I am tired of waiting for it.

Business Response:

 

Complaint Id #

*******
******* ******

Floor covering installed

 

 

Jack Fitzpatrick

****** ****** *** ***** ***** ***** ** ************ ** ************ **********************
 

11/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We needed tiles for the whole house and contract Jacks carpet for the job. They broke a guitar and did not say anything until I found it. Broke a drawer from my dresser, left trash all over the house. Inside and outside. I ask them to finish the floor all the way to the wall and rejected to do it. Call them many times . Still waiting.

Desired Settlement: I want to get paid for the guitar and repairs to the dresser. Also I would like to get the grout all the way to the wall.

Business Response: Complaint in process of internal review.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet will refund the customer $****** to be relieved of any further liability.

2/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jack's Carpet is not responding to warranty claim I contacted Jack's Carpet 3 months ago about a warranty claim on ****** carpet purchased at one of their locations. I provided the order number, issues with the carpet and a history of the carpet maintenance. They informed me that they would process the claim and get back to me. I have made numerous phone calls and spoken with several people and I cannot get an answer on the status of my claim.

Desired Settlement: I want this warranty claim to be processed ASAP.

1/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered vinyl flooring for our home on **** *** paid in full by check $**** on the ***. Then did not hear from them. Ordered vinyl flooring for our home on **** *** paid in full by check $**** on the ***. Then did not hear from them.We called them 2 weeks later and no one answered the service number then called the Baytown location where we had purchased the vinyl. was told to call a different number. Then was told the vinyl was not in and to call back in a week. then a date was scheduled to install and no one showed up or called so we called them a 9am and they said they would call back, got a call back a couple of days later after leaving messages and was told they didnt have the vinyl? Then we called back the following week and was told they have the vinyl but no one to install it. Got a call back after leaving message with *** and scheduled a date to install but he was not sure he had and installer and would call the day before to confirm, he never called at this time we decided we just want our money back. Called Baytown office on **** *** spoke to ***** who sold us the vinyl and he said he had already filled out paper work requesting for us to get a refund but he would fill it out again. I asked him when we could expect the check and he said it shouldnt take more than two weeks. Still no check. Called ***** on **** **** he said to call ************ and ask for **** regarding our refund. He is out sick ******. On **** **** called the number again and got ****? she stated that **** may be in at 10am or 10:30 and has been reviewing refund for people who paid by check. She said she would talk to him about our invoice #****** in the amount of $****.Later that day we got a call ****? saying " Good News!" We just got your vinyl in!" ?? We informed him we have been back and forth with them having the vinyl and not having the vinyl, they have someone to install it .. they dont have someone to install it. We have been stood up on 8 scheduled dates and we have requested a refund. When can we expect it?? **** said there was paperwork to be filled out and we stated to him ***** in Baytown had filled that out two weeks ago according to *****. When can we expect our refund?? We have called everyday after that asking to speak to ****or someone who can help us with our refund and they tell us only **** can help us and he is out sick everyday. B.B.B Can you please help us get our refund? Thank You for Your Help!

Desired Settlement: $****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that Jack's Carpet, Inc. has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on 1******** ******** ** and assigned ID *******. Jacks carpet refunded my money today ******* in full only after going to there corprate store and telling them that I would not leave until I was refunded. At first they were rude but figured out that I was serious and they refunded my money.

Regards,

*** ****

1/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint involves customer service, delivery, and refund issues. I ordered carpeting from the local ******** store on ***** *** ****. My first mistake was not checking with the BBB. They told me I would have the carpet delivered and installed within 2 weeks. The time passed and the carpet was not delivered. I called the manufacturer and found out that the carpet was not backordered and there was no reason that our carpet could not be delivered. They tried to get us to take another carpet of lesser quality instead; we refused. We called numerous times and have documentation. They never returned a phone call and were confused when they answered. Last week, they told me that they did not even have a record of the order. Our salesman, ** ******* doesn't seem to work for the company any more and *** is in ********. Numerous phone calls have now resulted in discovering that they have filed for bankruptcy. We were told by *** ****** that they would contact us in a few weeks to let us know what would happen. I seriously doubt we will ever be reinbursed. I don't even trust that they would bring us the right carpeting if they would try to fullfill the order. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM ANY REMAINING OPEN STORES.

Desired Settlement: I would like my full refund of $2,295.33.

1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered tile and instalation for two bathrooms on ********* *** ****. Installation was scheduled twice and then canceled twice. Was finally told Jack's was declaring bankruptcy in ******** ****. Were then told we would get a refund of our deposit and then after several weeks - were told no refund.

Desired Settlement: Just want our deposit back - no work was ever done or product delivered

12/31/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/15/2012 Delivery Issues
12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/13/2012 Delivery Issues
12/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2012 Delivery Issues
11/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/23/2012 Delivery Issues
11/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2012 Delivery Issues
11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2012 Delivery Issues
11/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/7/2012 Delivery Issues
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2012 Delivery Issues
8/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/27/2012 Delivery Issues
7/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2012 Delivery Issues
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service