This business is not BBB accredited.

Jack's Carpet

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 8433 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77017 http://www.jackscarpet.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides retail sales and installation of flooring, including: carpet, hardwood, laminates, tile, and vinyl.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business's BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Jack's Carpet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1994 Business started: 05/04/1994 in TX Business started locally: 05/04/1994 Business incorporated 05/04/1994 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Tim Woernley
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Woernley
Business Category

CARPET & RUG DEALERS-NEW


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1181 NASA Pkwy

    Webster, TX 77598

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13885 Southwest Frwy

    Sugar Land, TX 77478 (713) 640-1114

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    17418 NW Freeway

    Houston, TX 77040

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    26333 I-45 North

    The Woodlands, TX 77380

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5876 San Felipe

    Houston, TX 77057

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 Mason Road

    Katy, TX 77450 (713) 640-1114

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8433 Gulf Freeway

    Houston, TX 77017 (713) 640-1114

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9330 Broadway

    Pearland, TX 77584

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we bought carpet 1/7/2016. est. delivery was 10-14 days. After enumerous phone call, they finally admitted "forgetting", and promised a rushed delivery. It is now late April (Almost 16 weeks) when they finally installed the carpet, there was an unusual amount of extra carpet (New) left over. My wife instructed the service men to leave both the old carpet, and the new carpet. They took both. Since then, I have spoken to the most rude people, except a gentlemen named Norman. Norman admitted that they overcharged us by $2600.00, and would I rather have the cash back, or the remnant.. Of course, I said cash, but he told me a gentleman named "JC", would have to rebate the money, and he would have JC call me. He never did, so I called him at least 10 times now, he's either not there or with a customer, and will not take phone call!!! Please help!!!!

Desired Settlement: want my money re-stated to my credit card, and my old remnant or equivalent back.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet is processing a refund

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  


Sent: Thursday, June 16, 2016 2:56 PM

Subject: **** **** Complaint against Jacks Carpet

 

I filed a complaint with you about 2 weeks ago. You sent me an email, stating that Jacks Carpet was going to re-imburse me within ten days. They haven't reimbursed me.

 

**** ****

************






 

Business Response:

***** *** ******** *****************************
Sent: Monday, June 27, 2016 1:34 PM
*** ****** *******************
Subject: ********

 

The full refund has been issued to the customer in 2 different transactions. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 

1/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An order was placed for carpet on 12/15/2015 at approximately 10:00 AM in the parking lot of ********* in Waller, Texas. *** was given cash and credit card to run for the 50% deposit. *** stated the installation could be done on December 22, 2015. On December 21, I sent *** a text to ask if we were still scheduled for installation the following day. *** stated there was rain, so I would have to be rescheduled for Wednesday, December 23. I agreed and my husband took the day off from work. At 9:57 AM, *** texted me that the installers were on their way. At noon, the installers still were not there. *** stated he didn't know where they were. I followed up with *** on December 28 and installation was rescheduled for December 30, 2015. On December 29, at 2:30 PM, *** texted me that he would have to cancel the installation, that the contractors weren't working that day. On December 30, 2015, we rescheduled AGAIN for January 6, 2016. My husband took off work once again and again no one showed up. I attempted to contact ***, and he did not answer. I attempted to contact the Jersey Village store and no one answered. I finally spoke with an associate at the Woodlands store who said he would figure out what was going on and get me some help. I was contacted by someone named **** ************** ** stated that due to the issues we had encountered, our balance of $1400 would be reduced to $400 to be paid upon installation. FINALLY, our carpet was installed on January 16, 2015. We paid for the highest grade, memory foam carpet padding which was NOT used. However, at this point, we just wanted the carpet put in the house. We gave the installers a check for $400- our balance. When I checked my bank account today, Jack's Carpet had ran my credit card for a second time (unauthorized) for $543.00. I have disputed the claim with my bank. I attempted to speak with their accounting department, but was told she was in jury duty and could call me tomorrow.

Desired Settlement: This has been a complete nightmare. I want a full refund. If this is not obtainable, I will pay for whatever the actual COST of the carpet was, and not a penny more. I want a refund for the carpet padding, and for what they've overcharged me.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet has contacted the customer and resolved the issue.

3/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/21/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August I purchased 5000 usd of luxury vinyl flooring planks which included material and installation by Jack's Carpet for the upstairs and downstairs of my townhome at ****** **** ** ***** ******** ***** *** ******** ** *****. The material came very late. The company sent two crews to install material, one upstairs and one downstairs. The downstairs installation started having problems of the panels coming up off the floor and edges that did not meet. After unlimited calls to Sam at Jack's Carpet corp office and months later with unlimited excuses he sent another company to "repair". The company told Jack's Carpet it was impossible to repair as the original installation did not apply any float to even the concrete slab but only installed glue which was not the correct procedure. Then months later Sam orders more material but not enough to do the full downstairs job. Then I started calling again and Jack's Carpet said they were having trouble getting material. This property could not be used during all this time. Finally I myself ordered more flooring at my own expense from another company to allow the subcontractor of Jack's Carpet to finally finish the project. I continue to call Jack's Carpet for the replacement quantity of flooring or cost I spent and they continue to make excuses. Imagine this project went from August 2014 until Feb 2015 and they still have not lived up to their promises.

Desired Settlement: I want to be given a cash refund for the extra material I had to buy due to Jack's Carpet not taking any action. If offered I will not accept a store credit as I will never do business with that company again.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet is doing an internal review 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,
Jack's Carpet states the are undergoing an internal review which is just a delay tactic as always. They already promised to supply the two missing boxes of *** and continual delays without resolution. Repeated calls are made but never returned.
 

Business Response: Customer has received the 2 missing bixes

3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Floor has gaps in it and will not fix

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Jack's Carpet is doing an internal review and will update once completed

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

Floor has gaps and lifting up in places and not fixed yet
Regards,


 

11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered ( Katy Location ) and had the wood floors installed early last month and very unhappy with the product and install. We moved all our furniture into the living room expecting to move it back in once the install was completed. The installer started with the install we noticed he left the wood away from the wall board trim , the trim was either suppose to be removed or fitted under the trim to keep everything uniform. The installer left the trim on and then added paneling molding(1/4" board) and stapled it to the existing trim (brown on white) and it looks terrible. When we looked at the final install we noticed that the wood had a lot of flaws in it and was not what we ordered, wrong color from what we ordered. Two of the boards he install by our door were the correct wood out of 12 boxes, then the installer tried to fix the flaws with his crayon, unfortunately once you wipe the floor off the flaws will always show, the flaws are 4 times lighter than the wood was suppose to be. We immediately called ***** (salesman) and told we were very unhappy with the floor (wrong color and flawed), he came out and said he never saw this before and agreed with us, that he would get this handled. A week later he came back to measure the bad pieces of wood so they can replace them, I said that this is tongue and groove and the installer would damage the other wood when removing it and this would now be damaged and a sub-par install and not what we are going to pay for,we bought "New" and want the floor done correctly. On top of leaving everything messy and wood stains on our driveway from staining the molding,after many calls later calls later****** was instructed to bring out different wood samples to choose from to replace to defective flooring,I want what we picked out orignally not to be told that there samples fade out and all the other excuses we have heard . Its been 2 weeks now and no phone calls,so I called ***** and he told me that he is no longer involved with us and ****** was suppose to take care of this!Funny thing is ****** told me awhile back he is done with us and was very nasty to us when talking with him.Im afraid if they did do any work it would be very sub par work(installer) and do more damage to our house because they have to remove and replace the wood flooring.This has been going on since late September when I handed him a check.Now I have a ugly floor and looks like I’m stuck with it, I took pictures of everything if I have to go another way to solve this matter.I have put a stop on payment on my check 2 weeks ago which Im supprised they did not run to the bank and cash it yet and was told they credited my account (Checking account) from a box of wood that was also damaged goods . Question is how can they credit my account when they never cash the check it in the first place . I feel like they are just throwing me under the bus and I am to accept this floor anyways whether I like it or not ! I noticed after checking on this company they have a lot of complaints on BBB's site for the same issues and more !

Desired Settlement: Remove all the wood flooring , both wallboard trims, install the new flooring with the right product we ordered and white trim that conforms with the trim board that's already in place in our house. I want the baseboard trim to be fitted correctly as was stated before we agreed on this deal , not 1/4'boarding. I also want compensation for the time we could not use our living room for over 6 weeks, and a no hassle warranty from this company should a problem arise in writing .I will hand them a check once the floor has been completed properly and to our liking. If this can not be done in any way and they want to remove the wood flooring , they MUST credit us on the carpet /padding and all molding and this deal is completely off . I will then deal with this in another way if this can not be resolved in a timely manor . Not waiting any more and no attitudes from there employees.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet is doing an internal review and will response once review is completed

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]  Jacks carpet said they would order the new wood , received a phone call last week from ****** saying it would be ordered and Im still waiting . Its now going on 3 weeks and Im not happy as it does not take that long to order the wood flooring . Im just getting a run around as usual from this bussiness and about done with them ! At this point I have had it with them as my furniture is still stored in my livingroom and damaging my carpet /marks and there noteasy to get out . I was going to have Thanksgiving dinner with all the family at my house but that has gone to the wayside . So they can say what they may , there responce is not acceptable as I still have a sub par floor and its taking way too long to resolve this matter . Nothing to this point has been taken care and I want"New" floor molding as to replace the damaged molding , This must be in writing or they will not enter my house to do any work ,I also will inspect every box of wood to make sure its not something put together as the last one was . I have done my research to know what to look for on the wood , it better be the real ***** as I will not go though this again with them . 

Regards,


 

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 20, 2014, I purchased hardwood flooring from Jack's Carpet Store - The Woodlands and was told my flooring installation would be scheduled for November 1, 2014. I was also told the flooring would be delivered on Tuesday, October 28, however it did not get delivered and no one from the store even called. I was out of town and forgot about it until Thursday, October 30, and called the store on October 31 to ask about it. The store employee **** ****** said he had forgot about arranging the delivery and would have the flooring delivered on Saturday with the installation crew. I asked about the need for the usual 2-days of acclimation before installation, and *** ***** said he had checked with the installation supervisor and the flooring was already being acclimated in an office and would be no problem to install the next day. I was later called on October 31 and told by the Installation Dept that the installation crew would be at my house on Saturday, Nov. 1 between 9 am to 12 pm to do the installation. On Saturday, Nov. 1 at about 8:45 am the installation supervisor called and said that his crew was doing a job in Conroe but would be at my house at 2 pm to drop off the flooring to acclimate and would return on Monday, Nov. 3 to install. I told him I was promised my flooring would be installed on this day. He said that would not be possible as the wood must acclimate in the installation location for 2 days before he would install it. I was not happy with this information, but there was nothing I could do - I had been lied to from the very beginning. Then by 3 pm the flooring still had not been delivered and no call from the supervisor, so I called him and he said the crew was delayed and did not know when they would arrive. He called back 30-minutes later he called back and said the crew would not make it until near 5:30 pm. So this issue continues to get worse. Calls to *** ***** at the store were of no help. So I now have to take off work on Monday, Nov 3 to have this installation completed; I can only hope they will actually return

Desired Settlement: I think I should be refunded the installation charge for the lies and inconvenience, as well as having to take a day off of work.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet is doing an internal review on this complaint and will respond on review is completed.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New tile flooring was inst**led from ********* - ********* and we immediately noticed a loose tile at the entrance to our bedroom. Multiple phone c**ls have gone unreturned and a visit to the store resulted in more promises to send someone to repair but no one ever showed up and no one is answering our c**ls. The single loose tile has now resulted in surrounding tiles to become loose as well. Poor customer service, promises with no follow-up. Visited the store on ********* and was promised by the s**esman (**) that we would have the problem solved today and that his district manager, who happened to be at the store this day, has person**ly esc**ated to the owner. Still nothing.

Desired Settlement: Fix my floor and stop making empty promises.

Business Response: This complaint has been addressed and the customer is satisfied.

9/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and paid for approximately $**** worth of carpet for our new home. At the time the salesman (****) called the 2 carpet mills that the carpet was coming from and verified that the carpet was IN STOCK. After that call we scheduled an installation date and time and he accepted payment for the order in full before they would order the carpet. Well, it didn't take but 2 days for the first call from **** to change the date for install(1st change). The next week, a portion of the carpet was installed and the job was well done; but it was at this time I was advised that all the carpet did not arrive when they had hoped and they would need to reschedule (2nd change). We scheduled our move into our new house around the date we were given to install the carpet (we considered this an important component of the move); and now this morning I was called and told the carpet will not be here for another 3 days...(3rd change) So, now we have to reschedule the moving company which will push our move into next month; and for a nice adder, we will have to stay in a hotel until the carpet is installed due to the new owners moving in ********* ***. I have Spoken to the salesman, ****; the Sales Manager *** ******* and the corporate office. Unfortunately, the owners were out of the office and I was instructed that they do not handle customer complaints...??? After all this, I have gotten no where. I have been told by everyone that answered the phone it was not their fault, that everything that could be done had been done. I ended calling **** (the carpet manufacturer in *******), they were more than happy to update me on the order; and what do you know, the order was placed almost a week after I had initially purchased the carpet...??? Jacks Carpet blamed the manufacturer and now I found out the truth. This has caused nothing but frustration and now additional cost and inconvenience; but, we are stuck with Jacks as going somewhere else now would even delay things further, as well as cost more money.

Desired Settlement: I would like Jacks Carpet to expedite the shipment/delivery of our carpet, up to and including hiring a dedicated truck to get this carpet to us and installed tomorrow. I would also like a 50% refund for punitive damages for the inconvenience, expense and suffering we have experienced due to Jacks Carpet's poor operation and poor customer service.

Business Response: Customer has received his carpet and is satisfied.

6/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased wood floors and carpet on 6/19/10. The bamboo floors were made by Mohawk and were covered under a lifetime warranty, which made me feel comfortable making such a big purchase. I noticed discoloration in an area at the base of my stairs, and it spread. The wood in that area is white and feels hollow. It is basically rotten. There is other discoloration throughout the house. I contacted ****'s Carpet on 3/31, and was given the run-around about people being out of the office, etc. ****** ***** (a manager) called and came out on 4/5/14. He noticed the rotting and told us it was too much moisture coming from the subfloor. He said he would talk to **** about what he could do, and he would call us in "a couple" of days. When we hadn't heard from him, I called him on 4/14 and he said he was waiting to talk to ****, they had little staff right now, etc. He also told me there was no warranty, and I told him I found it on Mohawks website. He said lifetime wasnt clear, but I told him that the warranty says its valid as long as I own the property. On 4/30, my husband called again and he said he would email us. I called again on 5/8, 5/14, 5/18, and ****** just said that he was working on it and told me to contact Mohawk, which I had already done. On 5/16, Mohawk returned my call and said that they couldnt get in touch with anyone at ****s. On 5/19, I called Mohawk again and they said they talked to ****** and it was subfloor moisture and there was nothing they could do. Mohawks warranty can be found at ***********************************************************************, which states that subfloor moisture is covered if the installer does a moisture test and uses their adhesive. The Mohawk warranty was told to me by the salesman, so I assumed these conditions were met. When I spoke with Mohawk on 5/19, they told me there was nothing they could do. I reminded them of their warranty, and they said they didnt know if the criteria were met and recommended that I test the subfloor myself. I informed them that I am a special education teacher, and do not do floor installation. They said they would talk to a supervisor and call back, but I havent heard anything yet.

Desired Settlement: I have asked for the rotted wood to be replaced, but I am fearful that I will incur the same problem a few years down the road. I would like my money refunded instead.

1/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The carpet I selected and paid for is not the same quality of carpet that I received. I selected a carpet based on the sample quality to be comparable with and replace existing carpet. The carpet runs up against the existing carpet and does not have the same quality. The quality of carpet that I received was different from the sample in that it is a lower quality. The carpet is a ****** ******** carpet. I contacted Jacks and they contacted ******; ****** sent a report showing the standard deviation; and stated that the carpet was not defected. The carpet may not be defected but it is not the quality that I selected and paid for. I have contacted Jacks Carpet in writing (certified; return receipt) with no response or resolution.

Desired Settlement: At this point I am asking for 50% refund for the substandard quality in that I will have to replace that carpet sooner than expected and it has diminished the value of the room and connecting rooms.

Business Response: Jack's Carpet will refund customer $1070

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Jack's Carpet
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart