This business is not BBB accredited.

Engines and Transmissions

Phone: (855) 423-6446 Fax: (713) 895-9091 View Additional Phone Numbers 3651 Jensen Drive, Jersey Village, TX 77041 http://www.aaaenginesandtransmissions.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business specializes in used engines and transmissions. 


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Engines and Transmissions include:

  • Failure to respond to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Complaint Information

AAA Japanese Imports, Inc. would like you to know prior to filing a complaint:
 
Please contact customer service at 713-895-1700 Monday - Friday from 10:00am to 3:00pm for the best time to get immediate assistance.

Used Engine:
Sold as Long Block only, replacement unit: tested and steam cleaned with a 1 year warranty.  

Warranty covers replacement or repair of the engine only and does not cover labor and any other incidentalexpenses required to repair an engine and/or remove it from a vehicle.  

The warranty is voided by:
Misuse, negligence, alterations, accidents, or fire. Improper installation or repair. Use of the engine in commercial vehicles or competitive events. Burn up more than 1 main or rod bearing, knocking a hole through the block or bending the valves. Lack of lubrication and/or overheating.

Any repair or replacement not authorized in writing by AAA. Sale, installation use or operation without the original emission control equipment. Missing, removed or melted heat tabs.

USED TRANSMISSIONS are warrantied for a period of 6 months unlimited miles. Warranty covers replacement, refund or repair of the transmission component only and does not cover labor costs associated with thosereplacements or repair. If the transmission is dismantled this warranty is void. If repairs are done withoutwritten permission the warranty is voided  

Failure to install new filter or fluid upon installation is an instant void of warranty.  

Click here for a complete copy of AAA ‘s Warranty: : http://www.aaajapaneseimports.com/aaa-japanese-imports-warranty.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Engines and Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2011 Business started: 12/09/2002 in TX Business started locally: 12/09/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dina Hoover, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dina Hoover, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO REPAIRING-FOREIGN

Alternate Business Names
AAA Japanese Imports, Inc. AAA Motors and Transmissions Your Engine Store
Industry Tips
CAR REPAIR -CHOOSING A TRUSTWORTHY SHOP

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3651 Jensen Drive

    Jersey Village, TX 77041

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company apparently renamed itself *** ******* *** *************, but also goes by **** ****** *** ******. It uses a couple different addresses in Texas as well. Engine was shipped from **** ** ******* *** **** **** ******** ** *****. This company misrepresented what they were selling. They quoted $160 for shipping and charged me $220. They said they would resolve this and never did. The engine they sent was so bad that my very reputable mechanic said he could not install it in good conscience. He took pictures of what scared him about the quality of the engine including evidence that the engine had never been tested, which the company had said it was. He showed me how he could tell that the pan had not been removed, which would have been necessary to test and I have pictures of this. The company said it was not a salvage engine though it very clearly was a salvage engine. They said that they did not have to prove that the mileage was the amount that they stated (86,000) because they give a one year warranty and "money back guarantee if you are not satisfied with the product." My mechanics other engine sources had proof of both the mileage and testing, complete with VIN number. Not this one. The engine came with parts cut off and a really cheap looking spray paint job with open holes where the spark plugs had been, which left the engine vulnerable to things falling into it according to my mechanic. My mechanic showed me a picture of how engines are supposed to look when you receive them used. WAY DIFFERENT! The engine never left the crate and the company said we could return it to them for a refund. They said on the phone that, it would be a complete refund including shipping both ways. I tried to get this in writing but they would never state it. I finally had to write them and say, "Do not pick up this engine for return unless your intention is to give me a 100% refund of all my expenses." They had the engine picked up. I paid $1145 on my credit card for the engine. They incorrectly charged me $220 COD for the shipping. After a total expense of $1365, they refunded me $400 with no explanation. Besides the endless frustration, they stole $*** from me and I want it back now.

Desired Settlement: Truthfully, I want this business closed so that they stop cheating people. But, realistically, the only thing I require to avoid a lawsuit is my $***. If I have to take them to small claims court I will be charging them legal fees and travel and lodging for my trouble.

6/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a used automatic transmission for my Honda civic hybrid 2005 on May 27/14 they delivered the transmission, my mechanic find out it was a wrong one, so we called them next day they picked their and our old one to match the right transmission since till today May 20th they never deliver my and replacement transmission. ****** manager every day promises the delivery, she used all kind off excuses. I called her boss ****** she was even verse. This morning I called bank off America and complaint about my debit card transection $ 1997.21.******* the lady from Bank put me and ****** on three way line ****** stated that her boss ****** derived the both transmissions last night and her boss has delivery receipt and she can fax me the copy by 10am.Last night there was no delivery I was here till 7pm this morning I checked every where in the shop no transmission, till now 10/30am no fax copy, they are big liars, I have very bad experience with this company, I order auto parts every day this is the worst experience.

Desired Settlement: I want they should return my core transmission and refund my money I promise I will never use this company again.

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a 1998 Dodge Caravan Transmission from them in Nov 2013 had problems from the start and now they don't want to honor their warranty. In late Sept 2013 We called and talked to **** about a 1998 Dodge Caravan Transmission. She said she had one with approximately 68000 miles on it for $695.00 plus shipping. We ordered it with a 6 month warranty using a Company Credit Card and when we received this unit it was not a 1998 like we ordered, the MLP switch was busted and since another unit wasn't available at that time, We swap the MLP switch with the one out of our old transmission like **** asked. She said we would be compensated for that work and never was. We also had to replace the solenoid block, torque converter and the prindle switch in trying to get this unit working good enough to satisfy our customer. We are still having issues with this unit. The vehicle does not want to pull out or shift now and **** is saying that she can't warranty this unit even though her web site( http://www.aaaenginesandtransmissions.com/) says 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed. I will be happy to pull this transmission out of this Van and send it back to her for a full refund of my purchase price and the shipping costs. **** ******* @ Affordable Engines and Transmissions

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our purchase price, labor on working on this unit and the shipping to and from our shop refunded. $1298.32

1/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a engine from AAA Japansese Imports for my 1993 Honda Accord. After installing, the engine continued smoking. It took approximatley 2 weeks to exchange. I installed another engine and it locked up. I contacted ******* to advise and he told me he would call me back in 30 minutes. Never returned called!!! I call back approximately 5 hrs later and spoke with a female (owner), who stated he was at lunch. i explained why i was calling, she advised me that AAA Japanese Imports was no longer in business. NO WARRANTY!!! But further advised me that the goverment took over the company, but she was able to keep the same phone number. WARNING DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! They sale junk engines, then closed the company and reopen under another name. Again WARNING DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!

Desired Settlement: I paid $644.09 total..Im reguesting a 80% refund.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Engines and Transmissions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)