BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Helfman Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Helfman Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat

Phone: (713) 533-6100 Fax: (713) 533-6200 View Additional Phone Numbers 7720 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77024 http://www.helfmandodge.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides an auto dealership new and pre-owned full service facility and body shop.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Helfman Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Helfman Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 12, 2002 Business started: 06/01/2002
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://dmv.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689

Business Management
Mr. Steven Wolf, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Wolf, GM
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
Helfman Dodge, Inc.
Industry Tips
AUTOMOBILE LEASING TIPS AUTOMOBILE PURCHASING TIPS INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR THREE DAY RIGHT TO CANCEL THE TEXAS LEMON LAW & BBB AUTO LINE

Additional Locations

  • 7720 Katy Freeway

    Houston, TX 77024 (713) 533-6100

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (713) 533-6364 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Car was delivered by tow truck on 4/16/14, my Repair writer ***** didn't even bother to look at the car for a full week and give me an estimate on the repairs until 4/23/14. ***** was unprofessional, rude, discourteous the VERY FEW TIMES he bothered to call me. The front end damage was not cosmetically substantial; however, because "I hit the sweet spot" the cost escalated exponentially and I decided to get insurance involved. After the Insurance adjuster checked the car and the claim was initiated, Helfman again did not start work on the car for another 3 - 4 days (that I know of). The car had been sitting at the dealership for now 13 days untouched. During the process I, nor my fleet manager who I put on this, were contacted by Helfman to inform us of progress On May 8th I was notified that the car would be ready on the morning of May 9th. It was not. I finally received a call from ***** around 4pm saying the car was clean and ready. When I went to pick it up I noticed an error light stating "TCW OFF". I showed this to ***** who said "give it some time, I don't know that system; maybe it will go away." After I had driven one block out of the dealership partking lot the battery light then came on. Upon getting home and giving a full inspection- the repair was made with a different grill design than my model year.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund on the $100 that Helfman took for the deductible and also for Helfman to pay for all repairs caused by their misfeasance at a repair shop OF MY CHOICE.

Business Response: Personally called the customer.....

 
We are on it and I will make sure the vehicle is repaired properly.
 
 
Loose alternator connection was diagnosed this morning. It was working properly Friday when QC but was obviously loose. So over the weekend, we believe driving the vehicles caused the connection to fully disconnect.
 
We have since replaced the battery and repaired the connection.
 
When voltage is low system can cause other indicators to turn on....just a symptom of a low voltage.
 
 
Car is being cleaned up now.
 
I will have **** ******* contact the customer when 100% complete and checked over..
 
If the customer or his attorney has any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.
 
 
 
****** **** *** *** ****

Business Response:

The vehicle has been ready since yesterday around 3pm.

 

Like I said before, the vehicle had a loose wire that our mechanics discovered Monday am.

 

 

Customer left our body shop manager a message Friday complaining about the FCW light. The FCW is "forward collision warning" and was simply turned off.

 

The other issue regarding the loose connection was clearly our fault and was taken care of.

 

Starting with the voice mail left, which I have, for our body shop manager, this customer was hostile, threatening, and vulgar. I tried to calm him down on the phone. He threatened legal action immediately and then the BBB without even giving us a chance to fix the issue. Our body shop manager had a mechanic and rental car ready for him Monday am.

 

I brought up the fact that I use his cleaners not as a threat or some type of leverage, but as a way to show him that when we had an issue last week at his cleaners….we did not threaten, get hostile, or go to the BBB…..we simply called the manager first and worked it out. No big deal.

 

This entire situation  got way out of control fast. And for that I apologize.  Not sure why he thinks I would be malicious towards him as I have never filed a BBB claim against anyone my entire life.  I have always been successful in working out my issues in person.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and wish to close this case at this time as I was not satisfied by Helfman Dodge.  I was prepared to finish this up  in a positive note after reading Mr. ****** initial response and my misunderstanding of his intentions. Even ready to apologize for becoming irate at the botched original repair. However he escalated this situation after I agreed to have the car removed at my expense! This is the final notes on the resolution of this complaint:


Received 9:57am:

From: ****** **** **************************** 
Sent: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 9:56 AM
To: **** ******
Subject: FW:******* ***

Mr. ******

This situation is out of control.

You had 3 issues with your car:

 1)FCW light-----no issue

2)Wrong Grill----no issue see pictures below

3)loose wire—our fault..now fixed

 

If you still plan on having a mechanic come check it out please coordinate it with ***** in the shop.

The Durango has been ready since yesterday. I understand you do not want our business anymore…no problem. I will have my wife pick up the cleaning when it is ready. But I would rather pay….. Thanks for the offer. Any other things to get this unfortunate issue behind us?????

******

Regards,

 
Received 10:43am:

From: ****** **** **************************** 
Sent: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 10:43 AM
To: **** ******
Subject: helfman

I want you to know that I have encouraged by sister in law….***** *******... to continue to do business with you. She has been your customer for 35 years and is there almost every day according to **** She happens to be Mr. ********* daughter…We are a family business as well. You are not going broke without our business and visa versa…. I am sure two grown adults can figure this out. I will wait to hear from you! 

****** ** ****

General Manager

Helfman Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Fiat

**** *** *** **** ** ************ * ** ************ **** ****************


To which I responded:

From: **** ****** 
Sent: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 11:26 AM
To: ****** ***** ******* ******* **** *****
Subject: RE: helfman

Mr. *****

I am in meetings today; however, I have instructed my Fleet manager to have the car towed to my shop. It is unfortunate this situation took place and as we are both ready to move on from it is time to do so. I honestly wish you and yours the best of luck in all of your endeavors.

**** ******


To Which He Responded:

From: ****** **** **************************** 
Sent: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 11:52 AM
To: **** ******
Subject: RE: helfman

I never said I was ready to move on.

You have a lot of things to say to the BBB…but not much to me.

When we had an issue with your store….we called and communicated like a business owner or any civil human being. You took that completely out of context. Very simple analogy.

You yelled, used profanity, and threatened baseless  legal action.

And now you don’t want us at your store for the fear of us doing what you did…..

And now you are ready to move on!

Believe me, I am tempted to open my mouth and spread the word to my friends and family…but I am above that!  For now!

**


I simply do not understand Mr. ****** position. I sent one email to Mr. **** on this matter and it is contained above where I was professional and courteous. As far as I am concerned this matter is closed because AT MY EXPENSE I had the car towed from their lot and inspected by my own mechanic. However I cannot understand his anger and further escalation... but this matter is closed. He may not choose to put it behind him; however, I have chosen to move on from this unfortunate issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/12/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car repaired at this location and i had some paint start peeling and i called the location and was told that my warranty had ran out but i was given a lifetime warranty on all of the repairs

Desired Settlement: I no longer want to have anything to do with this business ever again

Business Response:

Sorry for the issue.

 

This is the first I have heard about this issue.

 

Give me a chance to investigate and get back in touch.

 

 

****** ****

General Manager

Helfman Dodge

Business Response:

Customer brought the car back to our shop yesterday and met with **** ******** Asst. Body Shop Manager.

 

It was determined that the paint issue is caused by new damage to the vehicle that was after our repiar.

Customer also called Allstate Insurance and they declined as well.

If the paint issue was caused by a defect in materials and/or workmanship we would have glady repaired the vehicle under warranty.

Physical damage is not covered by this warranty.

 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

****** ****

General Manager

Helfman Dodge

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all I have a Fiat Abarth 500, two months ago the molding along side the car had fallen off and had to be put back on, now I am back in the shop for several leak "issues" that I had complained about months ago and after having it in the shop 4 times. I went for an oil change at a different Heffman and thats when the service advisor told me I had a leak, I brought it back to the Heffman I bought it at and they are now telling me more than just an oil leak, that I now have several leaks including the breaks. It will be some time before the parts come in, this should have and could have been resolved the first time I brought it in.

Desired Settlement: The car has been in the shop longer than I have drove it. I really need some help in this matter.

Business Response:

My records indicate that the only time the vehicle was brought into our store, Helfman Fiat, on the **** ******* was on ********.

At that time, we changed the oil and removed a piece of plastic that the selling dealer failed to remove at time of delivery.

We have nothing in our system regarding leaks or other complaints..

Not sure what dealer has the car or has serviced it for other things in the past.

If we can be of service, please let me know.

If need be we can arrange a meeting with the factory representative to address your concerns.

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

11/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jeep was bought new 2 years ago with extended warranty. (1) Immediately after purchase, there was a problem with cupholder. In fixing this, they scratched the console. Upon complaint, they painted over the damage. Repair paint recently began to flake. (2) Immediately after purchase, I bought all-weather mats from dealership with Jeep logo. Informed they had to be laid directly on carpet and the after-market salesman personally removed the regular floor mats from car. I just discovered the floor mat has worn a hole in the carpet of under the driver's feet. I went to service department today. The service writer refused to repair and sent me to service manager, who sent me to the sales manager, ******* ********. The sales manager refused to repair either item.

Desired Settlement: (1) Replace damaged console which THE DEALERSHIP damaged right after purchase.(2) Replace damaged carpet due to the mat which THE DEALERSHIP sold me and which was installed according to THE DEALERSHIP's instructions BY THEM.

Business Response:

Mr. *****

 

 

Sorry about the issues. I have investigated this matter (see below).

 

I believe your best bet to reach satisfaction is to contact Chrysler Assistance Center *** *** ****.

Chrysler will stand by defects in workmanship and can make other compromises on a case by case basis.

We are not authorzied to approved warranty claims that are not with in guide lines. My people tell me that this is considered a wear item.

 

Let me know if I can be of further help.

 

****** ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

10/11/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a 2011 Jeep Compass from Helfman in ******* ****. After only 6 uses of the sunroof, 8,500 miles and 1 hard rain, water came pouring through the map light. The repair department said "oh, yes, that's a problem with that model. The drain tube might be clogged, not covered by warranty." $474.12 + tax in repairs later, the supposedly clogged tubes supposedly have been cleaned. I am hoping it doesn't rain any more. To be clear, we said to do the repair because we could not be told for certain what the error was unless the repair was done.It is a design or manufacturing defect, or both, for a sunroof to not be able to operate properly when opened. A sunroof fit for ordinary purposes should be able to be opened. We did not misuse the sunroof, did not dump dirt on it, did not mash a ***** *** of leaves in the tracts. This should have been covered by warranty. I've contacted Jeep and Helfman directly.For context, my ****** and ******** sunroofs have never had such a problem and I use them far more frequently. What disappoints me is when I asked to speak with a manager, I was told, "no one was on location." When ask I asked for the owner's name, ******** looked like she had been tasered and said she just started working there 3 weeks ago. I said it is a great learning opportunity for her to learn the information. When I asked your name, she sent in *** ******. When I asked the corporate name, I was told vaguely, "I think it is Helfman Dealership." It is sad that employees don't know who pays them and are afraid of management or unempowered to provide basic information to a customer.I also have lost trust in the dealership's honesty. No one told us about the faulty tracks when we bought the car this year. No one said, "I wouldn't open the sunroof." No one said I would be asked to pay for a rental car. The first service appointment I had, I was offered to buy nitrogen for the tires at $69.99, clearly a sales churn. I now believe the dealership churns fees.***** ****

Desired Settlement: $521.99 refund.

Business Response:

 

I spoke to the customer today and let her know that her best bet is to call the Chrysler Owner relations office at *** *** **** and explain the situation.

The Chrysler warranty does not cover failures such as dirt and debris.

 

As a dealer, we do not have the authority to override the Warranty.

 

Chrysler Owner Relations can help and often times do!

 

 

Thanks

 

****** ****

**

Helfman Dodge

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

6/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have invested 17,590.94 for a vehicle with extended Warranty half of this price Tag was to extended Warranty but when I take my vehicle, to get service the Warranty is useless and I end up Paying for all the repair's and when I do get it service the Vehicle is Not as I brought it in. One day I had my Oil change they charge me $38.99 for a Oil change but did not put the Oil cape back on. they did not reset my Dash board Meter. I feel like my parts from my Vehicle are being replace by used old parts. And I feel like I was Price Gouge on a battery Post they had fix. Charge me $600.00 for a Battery wire. Ever since getting this Vehicle from them. I feel like I've been Robed. and Betrayed by a Giant Manufactory and or Dealership.

Desired Settlement: Return to get my New used 17,599.94 vehicle Fixed right.

Business Response:

June 11, 2013 

 

Mr. ****: 

 

 

I am sorry that you are having issues with the service on your car. Unless I am reading our internal notes incorrectly, the last date of service with us on your vehicle was in March of 2012.  Our system shows that that was the only repair done for you and that all other items were for maintenance only.

 

At that time, we replaced your battery cables which seemed to fix the no crank issue. 

If my data is incorrect please let me know so I can further investigate your issues to try and resolve them in a proper way. 

You can contact me at *** *** **** to discuss if need be. 

 

Thanks  

 

****** **** ******* *******

Helfman Dodge 

*** *** **** ******

Consumer Response:

 

They will keep doing the same thing?. I have  tried Three times,  to get this Dealership  to do  the right thing before I came to ask for help from the Better Business Bureau. I do not Trust them anymore. My next vehicle will  not be  an American vehicle But a Japan one. At least they have a full coverage Warranty on their Vehicles .

Consumer Response: I was trying "very hard", to get my Vehicle fix and this Dealership would not even try to help me. knowing that I purchase this vehicle from them. I purchase this Vehicle at 17,590.99 it was New used they say ? with in the first year I spent : 395.00 a rear deffirental,,This vehicle has been a problem to me since then. and they still haven't even service it, I feel like I'am being betrayed at this Dealership.

Business Response:

I have made several unsuccesful attempts to contact customer with no return phone calls or direct messages.

I truly would like to help him.

 

Please handle this issue accordingly.

 

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1