BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pella Windows & Doors of Houston?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pella Windows & Doors of Houston

Additional Locations

Phone: (281) 807-4222 Fax: (281) 807-4239 View Additional Phone Numbers 8700 Fallbrook Dr., Houston, TX 77064 http://www.pellahouston.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in windows and doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pella Windows & Doors of Houston meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pella Windows & Doors of Houston include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Complaint Information

Thank you for contacting your local BBB (BBB).
The company you have inquired about is located outside our service
area. For further information on this company, please contact the
following BBB office:

BBB of Central & Eastern Iowa
505 5th Ave. Ste. 950
Des Moines IA 50309-2375

Phone : (515) 243-8137 (Central Time Zone)
FAX : (515) 243-2227
URL : www.desmoines.bbb.org
E-mail: info@dm.bbb.org

A BBB is a private, non-profit organization that provides
information services and programs to assist consumers and
businesses on behalf of an ethical marketplace.

Among the services BBBs provide are: business performance
information about a company, particularly whether or not there are
unanswered or unsettled complaints or other problems; information
about charities or other soliciting organizations that seek public
donations; help in resolving buyer/seller complaints against a
company, using mediation and arbitration services when appropriate;
and monitoring advertising and selling practices, seeking
corrections and improvements where appropriate.

BBBs are funded by member businesses that meet the BBB's standards
for membership and agree to support the BBB's principles of ethical
business practices and voluntary self-regulation.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 20, 1997 Business started: 05/15/1982 in TX Business started locally: 05/15/1982
Business Management
Mr. John Culver, Sales Manager Mr. John Thomason, Owner Mr. Salty Thomason, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Culver, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. John Thomason, Owner
Principal: Mr. Salty Thomason, President
Business Category

WINDOWS

Alternate Business Names
Pella Windows & Doors, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (641) 628-1000(Phone)
  • (713) 896-6444(Phone)
  • (713) 896-6443 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The quality of the work and service of this independently owned company in Houston is damaging the excellent PELLA's name and the quality of the Pella's windows. On January 2014, a Pella Representative came to my house to quote new windows. A week later, a so called "project manager" came to re-affirm the measurements done by the salesperson. It took him 5 minutes. Not knowing better, I continued with the order. A month later, I did not hear from the salesperson again. When I called, he was no longer with the company, and nobody knew about my order. Only when I called, they realized my order was sitting in an empty desk. In one day, they charged my credit card and ordered my windows, and of course, they were running late on installation. Finally, they sent this installer who was not even certified by them to install my windows (I found out later he was just a subcontractor for "many tasks"). THE MEASUREMENTS WERE NOT DONE PROPERLY, and not knowing better, the installer went ahead. The installation was done very POORLY. A LOT of foam; a LOT of caulking covering the 2" gaps in many areas. The excessive foam was causing bubbles to pop out of the 2" gaps covered with caulking. Not only I had 2" gaps covered with caulking, but the caulking was overdone on the frame of my windows. The caulking was almond in color and the frame inside of my windows were white. Even my HO's Association found the job SUBSTANDARD and UNACCEPTABLE. I sent emails to the General manager, and he never had the courtesy to return my calls or emails. Knowing how upset I was, they sent this "independent contractor" to fix my windows. I had to eat my ego and play nice, so he could do a decent work. He tried to fix what he could. The outside windows still have a 2" gaps covered with almond caulking which shows clearly around the brick. I am very worried about these 2" gaps in my outside windows over-covered with caulking. Sooner or later the caulking is NOT going to hold due to the weather.

Desired Settlement: I want them to re-measure and replace the two front windows, or refund me 50% of what they charged me, so I can find another Pella's company in Houston to replace the windows. Also, Consumers should be aware of this company and avoid doing business with it. I am an educated consumer, but I wonder how many other consumers they did wrong, and these consumers don't know better.

Business Response: Pella Windows and Doors of Houston follows a standard operating procedure to ensure every customer is taken care of.  While following our normal process, the installer (whom is Pella certified) finished the installation and went to the customer to get a signature of approval, which is called a Certificate of Completion.  On this form, the customer has the opportunity to write down what was not completed, what was completed but not to satisfaction, or to write comments about the install process.  When we received the Certificate of Completion there were no notes specifying what the issues were, nor were there notes stating there was a problem period.  Pella Windows and Doors of Houston would absolutely never install windows where two inch gaps were present.  Our attachment screws would not be able to hold this window in if that were the case.  However, after learning of the complainants issues, roughly 5 days after the completion of the install, the project was placed in recovery and our installation manager went out to assess the installation.  Our installation manager found a few issues while inspecting the project.  Based on his findings a member of our recovery team was sent out to fix the issues that were found.  All the caulking, with the exception of two windows, was removed and redone.  The trim on the interior was removed, new trim was painted and reinstalled.  The two windows that were not re-caulked were found to have no issues.  All gaps and installation methods were found to be within Pella tolerance (3/8" to 1/2" caulk joints).  Pella Windows and Doors of Houston takes great pride in the work we do and the satisfaction of our customers always comes first.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint also involves more a safety issue, as well as, product issue. I had new hurricane windows installed, but Pella miscalculated the measurements. Most windows were about two inches too short and too narrow. The screws were not totally inserted into the framing and most likely will not withstand a hurricane. I will not be protected in a hurricane and some of the windows weigh 250 lbs. Lots of Styrofoam stuffed into the openings, a 2x4 stuffed under one window. I will have lots of moisture problems. This occurred on 1/**/14. I have photos of the gaps. In fact, you can see my fruit trees in the back yard above one window from the inside of the house. Over time, the Styrofoam will degrade and create a lot of problems.

Desired Settlement: Windows must be re-measured and replaced and properly installed.

Business Response: Per company policy, after the initial installation our installation manager went out to inspect the job and found 1 window sizing issue.  Per further assessment, 4 additional windows need to be reset.  Pella Windows and Doors of Houston has reordered the window that was sized incorrectly.  Upon receiving that product, a follow up installation will be scheduled with the homeowner to correct and finish any work that is outstanding.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed two separate contracts (2 phases of window replacements) with ***** ******* in purchasing and installing replacement windows. We paid in advance for both phases (as per their "policy") and now are in a place where ***** has neither completed the installation of the first phase (now at * months and still waiting), nor have they been communicating with us for the other contract phase for installing the windows. In their last response to us, dated ******** *** ****, (after an agreed ******** ** scheduled installation date) ***** indicated that they were fast-tracking the materials and that they should have them in time for installation to be completed on or before ******** **. We have heard nothing from ****** Nothing. All promised dates made by ***** have passed and we still have not heard from them with any path-forward or explanation. Having paid premium price for windows, from a company we believed to be one of the best, we are extremely disappointed in service and in customer service communications. At this point we are at a place where, with no response or communications from ****** they are forcing us to take other actions in order to get this issue settled.

Desired Settlement: To be determined.

Business Response: ************* *** ***** of ******* has been in regular written and verbal communication with the complainant.  All uninstalled product is accounted for and in our warehouse ready to be installed.  The customers were given options for installation dates and they have accepted the week of *********

Business Response: Pella Windows and Doors of Houston has tried on two separate occasions, 3/** and 3/*** to reach out to the complainants to obtain an acceptable date to complete the installation.  We have attempted to contact the customer by email per their request with no communication back.  We have received their special order product and are awaiting communication to come complete the installation.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We responded to a Pella offer received via mail for replacement windows-offer included free installation. Sales person came out -spent 3 hours measuring etc and quoted sans the offer. Finally got that straightened out by calling the manager. Then the salesperson apparently quit or got fired and we could not get ahold of anyone. Started again with a new sales person- another 3 hours- this time wrote a check in September for approx. $3800.00. Didn't hear anything for weeks and weeks. Got an email ******* * that they could not fabricate one of the windows due to an odd size requirement. Phone conference with sales manager and we agreed we would look at another product line and they would requote. Promised a call the next day. Again, heard nothing. I called again a week later and they said they could not make the windows in that size. I cancelled the order mid *******. No refund was delivered. Called at the end of *******. Told that they do not 'cut checks' until the 1st of the month. Requested refund from sales manager and the office manager. Today is **** **th. No refund received. I have called corporate office in Iowa twice to get this nightmare resolved- once ******* * and again today *** **th. They said they will try to exert influence but the Pella business in Houston is independently owned and operated. They have taken our deposit, wasted hours of our time, b and not delivered any of the goods promised.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of our deposit.

Business Response: In response to complaint ********


Pella Windows & Doors of Houston has made contact with the complainant.  A check has been issued to the complainant in the amount of $3,726.00 which represents the full deposit given to Pella Windows & Doors of Houston for the work that was not able to be performed.  The sales manager at Pella will be contacting the complainant on ********** to arrange a place and time to hand off the check to the complainant due to customers being out of town.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased fiberglass windows from Pella and hired them (Pella) for a significant premium (in addition to cost of windows) to install per their explicit guidelines for warranty purposes. The initial installation was incorrectly performed and confirmed by Pella. For example, the window sill pan was never flashed taped resulting in obvious water leakage issues. The "recovery" installation (or subsequent) was proven to be inadequate due to continued window leaks and Pella field personnel confirmation of deviation from explicit field instructions. As a result, the original subcontractor was terminated from the project and the "A" team (per Pella) was to complete the "recovery" to our satisfaction. Recognize we're now 30 plus days past the original installation. Today, the "A" team was not acquainted with Pella's installation policy and ultimately terminated by the General Manager (of Pella) leaving us with security and weather risks. And now the project is in limbo as we wait for them to source a third (albeit not a current retained subcontractor) to recover their "recovery" team's effort.

Desired Settlement: In addition to forgoing the handsome installation charge (which Pella has already agreed to), we expect further consideration for our new windows that have or will be punched out for a second or third time thus damaging and/or stressing the integrity of our windows. And obviously, this has delayed the other facets of our project (e.g. Stucco, insulation,etc) by four weeks, so assumed opportunity cost. And lastly, my wife and I (both highly compensated professionals) have spent multiple hours..

Business Response: UPDATE ON COMPLAINT ID *******:


On ********** a verbal agreement has been reached between CFO of Pella Windows & Doors of Houston and the complainant.  All details and formal commitments will be finalized by close of business **********.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to the BBB.

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had french doors installed by this business on ***** ***** ***** However, one of the panels was damaged and the locking mechanism, advertised as "three point lock" did not work correctly and only locked at a single point. The lock cylinder in the door was of a different finish than the door hardware. Also, the install lacked an interior finish piece on the floor.An ******** came out and fully documented the issues, and we were promised a speedy resolution. The date provided for that panel and hardware replacement came and went without contact from the business. When we contacted them the **** day, various excuses were offered and a promise was made to execute the replacement the **** day. This did not occur********* telephone contacts and attempts to escalate resulted in an appointment for the replacement today, **** ***** ****. They arrived with the wrong panel (the undamaged side, not the side needing replacement) with the incorrect hardware (not the brushed nickel selected).

Desired Settlement: We would just like to have the doors we contracted to have installed as promised.

Business Response:

Due to the importance of the customer and his concerns, I personally spoke to Mr. ******** yesterday in reference to this issue. I researched the problem and realize that we did in fact order the wrong replacement panel. I apologized and told him I would get it reordered today and will rush order it. I informed him that I would also include a new ***** ****** handle set and lock cylinder. This is usually just transferred to the new panel but I wanted to be sure we had a replacement since he mentioned he was having an issue with the current one. I asked for a photo of the custom transition piece he is asking for. We did provide a piece of oak transition to his *********** during the original install, which he was going to mill and stain to match what they already had in their home.  I sent my contact info last night and once I have the photo, I can begin to search for this custom transition piece.

I felt based on the phone call and our communication that Mr. ******** understood my plan to resolve his issue. In summary we will be reordering new active door panel, purchasing new hardware and lock cylinder, and finding a source for the transition piece.

If I am missing something, please let me know.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1