Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pella Windows & Doors of Houston

Additional Locations

Phone: (281) 807-4222 Fax: (281) 807-4239 View Additional Phone Numbers 8700 Fallbrook Dr., Houston, TX 77064 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pellahouston.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in windows and doors.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pella Windows & Doors of Houston meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pella Windows & Doors of Houston include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Complaint Information

Thank you for contacting your local BBB (BBB).
The company you have inquired about is located outside our service
area. For further information on this company, please contact the
following BBB office:

BBB of Central & Eastern Iowa
505 5th Ave. Ste. 950
Des Moines IA 50309-2375

Phone : (515) 243-8137 (Central Time Zone)
FAX : (515) 243-2227
URL : www.desmoines.bbb.org
E-mail: info@dm.bbb.org

A BBB is a private, non-profit organization that provides
information services and programs to assist consumers and
businesses on behalf of an ethical marketplace.

Among the services BBBs provide are: business performance
information about a company, particularly whether or not there are
unanswered or unsettled complaints or other problems; information
about charities or other soliciting organizations that seek public
donations; help in resolving buyer/seller complaints against a
company, using mediation and arbitration services when appropriate;
and monitoring advertising and selling practices, seeking
corrections and improvements where appropriate.

BBBs are funded by member businesses that meet the BBB's standards
for membership and agree to support the BBB's principles of ethical
business practices and voluntary self-regulation.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pella Windows & Doors of Houston
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 20, 1997 Business started: 05/15/1982 in TX Business started locally: 05/15/1982
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Culver, Sales Manager Mr. John Thomason, Owner Mr. Salty Thomason, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Culver, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. John Thomason, Owner
Principal: Mr. Salty Thomason, President
Business Category

WINDOWS - REPLACEMENT WINDOWS

Alternate Business Names
Pella Products of Houston Pella Windows & Doors, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The original windows we wanted to replace had viewable height & width glass dimensions of 70.5” & 20.5”, respectively. We wanted to replace these windows with the type of window with blinds between the panes of glass, which required both a thicker frame (i.e., would shrink viewable glass area) and a deeper frame (i.e., extended further into the window opening) than the windows they would replace. We were fine with this, but it was important to us to maximize the size of these windows so that we would not lose as much viewable glass area. I was told by our Pella sales representative that our windows would be sized such that the interior window trim would be cut back (or removed) to accommodate the new frame, which was over 2x deeper than the frame of the original windows. While we understood that there are typically slight size adjustments made by the install manager to correct the sales rep., I was surprised to find that the windows delivered and installed were 2” shorter and 2” narrower than the sizing quoted in our contract. I was never informed that the size of the windows had changed, let alone that dramatically, after the install managers visit – the height & width of the new window (glass, frame, and all) were smaller than the height & width of *just* the glass (not including frame) of the original window. Not only did this have a significant effect on the viewable glass area –the quoted windows should have had ~15% more viewable glass area than those delivered – it also had an effect on the aesthetic appeal of the windows. - - - I initially contacted the Pella sales rep. via email in the middle of the installation (5/16/2014) to find out what happened, since I wanted to attach pictures and I knew that he wouldn’t answer his phone if he was at a sales appointment. I did not hear back from him until 2 days later (5/18/2014) via email that he would ask others and then 1 day later (5/19/2014) via email that the install manager had changed the frame dimensions to a size consistent with a “pocket fit,” which is not what I had signed off on. Had I known this change was made I would have asked to re-evaluate the measurements or canceled the order all together (if adjustments could not have been made). Even though the installer did the best he could (under the circumstances), I am currently stuck with windows that are smaller than I paid for and wanted. - - - I have tried to remedy this problem with this company for over 8 months via email, phone, and certified mail correspondence, as well as a visit to my home to evaluate the windows and installation. We felt like we were more than reasonable with this business when they “forgot” about us when there was a change in management. The new general manager picked up the ball and I was told several months ago that he would speak to the owner about options going forward to rectify the problem. However, despite sending several reminder emails and leaving several phone messages without a response over the course of the last few months, I have not heard anything back.

Desired Settlement: Originally we had offered to pay for installation (again) if they supplied the larger windows. This offer was made in an effort to maintain ties with the business, since we were also looking to replace our back door. However, after a few months of radio silence, we are not sure we want to do business with this company again. Therefore an alternate outcome (if windows are not to be replaced) is to refund us the cost of the windows alone (i.e., not installation cost) and remove the windows from our home.

Business Response:

I sent an email message to *** ***** this afternoon. The delay in resolving this situation has taken too long, and I have communicated that we will replace the window units that were sized too small for the opening. We will follow up with the ******* to setup a time to meet, and agree on what will be replaced so expectations are met. We apologize that the previous owner did not respond to this request, and look forward to resolving it going forward.

 

**** ****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: - uncompleted work- multiple reschedules and no-shows- work quoted as 4 days- now in day 25 - torn up sheetrock and unpainted areas are all over my home-(29 windows and 7 areas of my home) - product is not correct- windows do not fit properly due to inferior measuring and installation as well as installers used an incorrect caulking product (blue caulk and the windows are white) - each work group blames each other for the multiple mistakes - workers have done damage to my home both inside and out (sprinkler system is damaged and hardwood floors are damaged due to no protective covering when breaking out windows) - i have taken off of work and lost wages due to this project debackle and their many no- shows (4 no-shows) and multiple last minute reschedules -they did not comply with what Pella reps said they would do according to their project manager who said he would be "on the job site to be sure correct install" he has never once appeared - left broken glass debris from a tempered window all over my back patio and in my patio furniture -per the contract i signed they were to remove and reinstall blinds...not done- remover stickers and clean windows- not done - I had to go out 2 times to purchase product for them to use to correct the job and find where to purchase the correct framing material (caulk and hardi board)

Desired Settlement: I will not be paying for the installation costs due to all the issues above- i would like to terminate them from the job and be released from any futher contract obligations on my part, I would like the 2 windows that have been reordered due to mis-measuring to be delivered and i will have someone else install them

Business Response:

Sent: Friday, December 26, 2014 10:36 AM
To: drteam
Subject: ******** *******

 

Good Morning – I have been responding to these inquiries via the website, but it appears that is not reaching you. The txt box does not have a clear “send” button feature. Is this the issue? We have resolved the issues with ***** ********* I spoke to her myself over 2 weeks ago, and have relieved them of any further payments, and will be providing the remaining material to complete the job the week of 1/5/15. Please confirm receipt of this note, and that the website will reflect that we are responding to these inquiries.

 

**** ****

Pella Products of Houston

President & General Manager

************

************ ****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  *** **** addressed our concerns directly and personally even though he was not the owner of the business at the time of my purchase.  We appreciate the time he took to speak with us and agree to terms that were mutually acceptable by both us and *****.

**** *** ***** ********
 

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Fri Sept 12, 2014 walked into ***** showroom expressing our desire to get a quote for 2 French doors. Spoke with sales rep and scheduled in home interview for Monday Sept 15th. 2) Mon Sept 15, 2014 ****** ******** * ************* showed up and gave me quote on 21 sets of doors for $10, 992.88. I paid with a credit card and was told that I would receive a follow up email to include an invoice and contract. I was also told that I was to pay 50% up front and the remainder was to be paid upon completion of the installation. I was also told that I should contact my alarm co and have the alarm sensor replaced on both doors and ***** would cover the cost of that repair to avoid any complications for the door installation. Before she left, I made it clear that I wanted to ensure the doors would not have any issues with my new floor installation which would make my floor height at 1-9-16" She mentioned that it would be placed in the note and the installer would have that information to make certain no problems would arise.I did not receive a business card so did not have any way of contacting her other than her cell phone saved on my phone from when she came to my home. I was supposed to hear from an installer for approval of measurements. She agreed to try to get the order place by no later than Thursday, Sept 18 2014 to ensure installation would occur by mid Oct. 3) Wed Sept 17, 2014 ***** ********* came to my home to inspect and re-measure. He commented that the door was not installed to occupy the entire opening and the door size could be made larger if the size change is permitted by "somwone" at *****. He said he would be in contact with my sales rep and get back with me. 4) Thursday or Friday Sept 18 or 19, 2014 **** ********* informs me that the doors will probably need to remain the current size of the doors. I asked if they could to something about making sure the doors occupy the entire opening bc we currently have ***** doors that have had water damage issues and would like to prevent that from happening again. He was to talk to sales rep and confirm if anything could be done. Someone was to contact me re: final dimensions. 5) Fri Sept 19 2014 Called ******, my sales Rep, and left a message on cell phone. No response. 6) Mon Sept 22 2014 called ****** several times again and left messages. Called once more and finally ****** answers and tells me she received messages and will increase the width of the doors by 2" each set but the total height will not be changed due to cost limitations. I agreed that it was ok. She said that since I approved the change she would submit the order that instant. 6) I checked my credit card balance to see if the charge has been placed but no charges appeared. I understood that the doors had not been placed so I tried to reach her and tried to ask about the issue with placing order. So on Tues, Sept 23, 2014 I called ****** multiple times at her office and on her cell phone and did not receive a response 7) Thurs Sept 23 2014 called and left more voice messages with no response 8) Fri Sept 26 2014 Called ***** ********* and asked if he knew anything new about my order and if it was even placed because my credit card had not been charged yet and I have not received any calls from ******. He told me that he handed in all documentation on his end and as far as he knew the door order should have been processed He would contact ****** and ask her to contact me for an update. Did not hear from her. 9) Mon Sept 29 2014 called * ******* showroom and left message for Sales manager to contact me re the purchase I was trying to make and had not received absolutely any documentation re my order not processing of it. They told me to contact the FallBrook location to ask if order has been placed. By the way, to this day I have not received a call from any sales manager re: the poor customer sales support received thus far. Called and left a message with ******* ************ and I did not receive a call back from her. 10) Tues., Sept 30 2014, called ***** at ******** to try and speak with someone and finally spoke with ******* ************* and asked about my order and wondering if anyone had any clue about my purchase. She informed me that the order had been placed at that precise moment and said she would communicate with me with me once an install date is made available . I asked for an invoice and she said she would promptly send on out. Can I have a copy of my contract and contact info for someone to communicate to me anything about my purchase? I never received anything from ******* but the verbal assurance that the order was placed. She processed the order sometime that day because I saw a pending charge appear on my credit card for the amount of $9098.88---not the 50% charge I was supposed to receive later that day. Still no contract copy, receipt communication from sales rep, sales manager, no one from *****!!! The only thing I had on paper was a pending charge appearing on my America Express charge account from *****. 11) Thurs Oct 2 2014 I received an email and phone message re; confirming the install date of Oct 21 2014 between the hours of 8-10 am. I immediately returned her phone call and agreed to the time. Still have no communication with anyone to speak to re;; the door dimensions. I was to have my wood floor contractor in close communication with ***** installers to have a seemless renovation work with little complications. My wood floors will be at height of 1-9/16" and that was my main concern and I wanted to speak to someone to ensure my remodel job was seamless with the door and wood floor transition. Sill no communication with any sales person. 12) Wed Oct 165 2014 called up ******* again and asked for some type of documentation showing my transaction with ***** of nearly $11,000. and contact info for someone who is willing to talk to me about my purchase. She did not give me any contct indfor for mt installer not any other helpful person. She did however, send me a sales receipt for my purchase which is only telling me that I paid $9098.8. Nothing more than what one received when you buy something at a convenience store and simply shows the date, time and amount of purchase. Nothing indicating what door type, dimensions, stlle, etc for my purchase. I knew that weeks ago when I check the up to date charges on my credit card account website. She transferred me to someone that she said could help me get more information. I left a long detailed message describing the lack of communication I have received during my purchase and asked that they contact me ASAP to clarify things. I received no response. 13) Thurs Oct 16 2014 I called ******* again to ask for an invoice with more information but could not reach her so I left a message and was highly upset and demanded that a sales manager contact me and discuss what was going on with my purchase. If I am spending $11,000 on a product I expect to get an invoice and be able to speak to someone about my purchase. I have yet to hear from anyone at *****. 14) My supposed install date is Tues Oct 21 2014 and I do not want anyone to install a product in my home that I know absolutely nothing about. I would greatly appreciate a refund on my purchase.

Desired Settlement: I do not want the product installed in my home. I want a refund of the entire cost of the doors.

Business Response:

Sent: Friday, October 31, 2014 3:59 PM
To: ******
Cc: ******************
Subject: FW: *********** *** *********** **** ********* ***********

 

To the BBB Team,

I met with Mr. & Mrs. ***** today at their home.  During the meeting, we discussed their issues with the project.  At  the end of the meeting, we had learned some things that will be implemented by our company to make our customer experience a better one.  We also reached an agreed path forward to getting the *****’s new Pella doors installed in their beautiful home.

 

Best regards,

*** ***

General Manager* ***** *******

 

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pella delivered windows to my home on 6-23-14. In doing so they tore down my basketball goal on driveway. I talked to **** ********** at Pella who said his driver had admitted to damaging the basketball goal and destroying the backboard. ********** said to replace and send receipts for damages. I replaced and sent receipts to him on 8-14-2014. Receipts were for "out of pocket" expenses. I put in about 14-15 hours in making an adapter plate so the backboard would attach to my existing steel post and did not ask for any monies for this. Spoke with him 8-21-14 and he said he had received receipts and had approved for payment and sent to financing. Called ********** and left messages 3 times on 9-16 hoping to get an update. Receptionist confirmed he was in. Did not get a call back. Also left message for *** *** who I believe is general manager. No call back from *** either. On 9-17 I left 3 more messages for ********** and no call back. Receptionist confirmed he was in. I called again this morning and ********** actually took my call. When ask why he had not returned my calls he said he had more important things on his plate and he had not heard anything from financing. I consider this experience with Pella to be extremely unprofessional and far short in customer service.

Desired Settlement: Refund check issued and mailed to me in 3 business days from receipt of this complaint in the amount of 454.15 and notify me by phone when sent. Or send check in 10 business days to include my labor @ 10.00/hr. Total 454.14 + 150.00 = 604.15.

Business Response:

Sent: Monday, September 22, 2014 1:20 PM
To: drteam
Cc: '********** *****
Subject: BBB Case# ********

 

We will be cutting a check payable to ******* ****** for the requested $454.14 when we cut checks on Tuesday.

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.] Part of what I ask for in the settlement was to be notified by phone when check is in the mail to my home. I have not been notified.

Regards, ******* ******


 

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The quality of the work and service of this independently owned company in Houston is damaging the excellent PELLA's name and the quality of the Pella's windows. On January 2014, a Pella Representative came to my house to quote new windows. A week later, a so called "project manager" came to re-affirm the measurements done by the salesperson. It took him 5 minutes. Not knowing better, I continued with the order. A month later, I did not hear from the salesperson again. When I called, he was no longer with the company, and nobody knew about my order. Only when I called, they realized my order was sitting in an empty desk. In one day, they charged my credit card and ordered my windows, and of course, they were running late on installation. Finally, they sent this installer who was not even certified by them to install my windows (I found out later he was just a subcontractor for "many tasks"). THE MEASUREMENTS WERE NOT DONE PROPERLY, and not knowing better, the installer went ahead. The installation was done very POORLY. A LOT of foam; a LOT of caulking covering the 2" gaps in many areas. The excessive foam was causing bubbles to pop out of the 2" gaps covered with caulking. Not only I had 2" gaps covered with caulking, but the caulking was overdone on the frame of my windows. The caulking was almond in color and the frame inside of my windows were white. Even my HO's Association found the job SUBSTANDARD and UNACCEPTABLE. I sent emails to the General manager, and he never had the courtesy to return my calls or emails. Knowing how upset I was, they sent this "independent contractor" to fix my windows. I had to eat my ego and play nice, so he could do a decent work. He tried to fix what he could. The outside windows still have a 2" gaps covered with almond caulking which shows clearly around the brick. I am very worried about these 2" gaps in my outside windows over-covered with caulking. Sooner or later the caulking is NOT going to hold due to the weather.

Desired Settlement: I want them to re-measure and replace the two front windows, or refund me 50% of what they charged me, so I can find another Pella's company in Houston to replace the windows. Also, Consumers should be aware of this company and avoid doing business with it. I am an educated consumer, but I wonder how many other consumers they did wrong, and these consumers don't know better.

Business Response: Pella Windows and Doors of Houston follows a standard operating procedure to ensure every customer is taken care of.  While following our normal process, the installer (whom is Pella certified) finished the installation and went to the customer to get a signature of approval, which is called a Certificate of Completion.  On this form, the customer has the opportunity to write down what was not completed, what was completed but not to satisfaction, or to write comments about the install process.  When we received the Certificate of Completion there were no notes specifying what the issues were, nor were there notes stating there was a problem period.  Pella Windows and Doors of Houston would absolutely never install windows where two inch gaps were present.  Our attachment screws would not be able to hold this window in if that were the case.  However, after learning of the complainants issues, roughly 5 days after the completion of the install, the project was placed in recovery and our installation manager went out to assess the installation.  Our installation manager found a few issues while inspecting the project.  Based on his findings a member of our recovery team was sent out to fix the issues that were found.  All the caulking, with the exception of two windows, was removed and redone.  The trim on the interior was removed, new trim was painted and reinstalled.  The two windows that were not re-caulked were found to have no issues.  All gaps and installation methods were found to be within Pella tolerance (3/8" to 1/2" caulk joints).  Pella Windows and Doors of Houston takes great pride in the work we do and the satisfaction of our customers always comes first.

1/31/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint also involves more a safety issue, as well as, product issue. I had new hurricane windows installed, but Pella miscalculated the measurements. Most windows were about two inches too short and too narrow. The screws were not totally inserted into the framing and most likely will not withstand a hurricane. I will not be protected in a hurricane and some of the windows weigh 250 lbs. Lots of Styrofoam stuffed into the openings, a 2x4 stuffed under one window. I will have lots of moisture problems. This occurred on 1/**/14. I have photos of the gaps. In fact, you can see my fruit trees in the back yard above one window from the inside of the house. Over time, the Styrofoam will degrade and create a lot of problems.

Desired Settlement: Windows must be re-measured and replaced and properly installed.

Business Response: Per company policy, after the initial installation our installation manager went out to inspect the job and found 1 window sizing issue.  Per further assessment, 4 additional windows need to be reset.  Pella Windows and Doors of Houston has reordered the window that was sized incorrectly.  Upon receiving that product, a follow up installation will be scheduled with the homeowner to correct and finish any work that is outstanding.

1/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed two separate contracts (2 phases of window replacements) with ***** ******* in purchasing and installing replacement windows. We paid in advance for both phases (as per their "policy") and now are in a place where ***** has neither completed the installation of the first phase (now at * months and still waiting), nor have they been communicating with us for the other contract phase for installing the windows. In their last response to us, dated ******** *** ****, (after an agreed ******** ** scheduled installation date) ***** indicated that they were fast-tracking the materials and that they should have them in time for installation to be completed on or before ******** **. We have heard nothing from ****** Nothing. All promised dates made by ***** have passed and we still have not heard from them with any path-forward or explanation. Having paid premium price for windows, from a company we believed to be one of the best, we are extremely disappointed in service and in customer service communications. At this point we are at a place where, with no response or communications from ****** they are forcing us to take other actions in order to get this issue settled.

Desired Settlement: To be determined.

Business Response: ************* *** ***** of ******* has been in regular written and verbal communication with the complainant.  All uninstalled product is accounted for and in our warehouse ready to be installed.  The customers were given options for installation dates and they have accepted the week of *********

Business Response: Pella Windows and Doors of Houston has tried on two separate occasions, 3/** and 3/*** to reach out to the complainants to obtain an acceptable date to complete the installation.  We have attempted to contact the customer by email per their request with no communication back.  We have received their special order product and are awaiting communication to come complete the installation.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We responded to a Pella offer received via mail for replacement windows-offer included free installation. Sales person came out -spent 3 hours measuring etc and quoted sans the offer. Finally got that straightened out by calling the manager. Then the salesperson apparently quit or got fired and we could not get ahold of anyone. Started again with a new sales person- another 3 hours- this time wrote a check in September for approx. $3800.00. Didn't hear anything for weeks and weeks. Got an email ******* * that they could not fabricate one of the windows due to an odd size requirement. Phone conference with sales manager and we agreed we would look at another product line and they would requote. Promised a call the next day. Again, heard nothing. I called again a week later and they said they could not make the windows in that size. I cancelled the order mid *******. No refund was delivered. Called at the end of *******. Told that they do not 'cut checks' until the 1st of the month. Requested refund from sales manager and the office manager. Today is **** **th. No refund received. I have called corporate office in Iowa twice to get this nightmare resolved- once ******* * and again today *** **th. They said they will try to exert influence but the Pella business in Houston is independently owned and operated. They have taken our deposit, wasted hours of our time, b and not delivered any of the goods promised.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of our deposit.

Business Response: In response to complaint ********


Pella Windows & Doors of Houston has made contact with the complainant.  A check has been issued to the complainant in the amount of $3,726.00 which represents the full deposit given to Pella Windows & Doors of Houston for the work that was not able to be performed.  The sales manager at Pella will be contacting the complainant on ********** to arrange a place and time to hand off the check to the complainant due to customers being out of town.  

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased fiberglass windows from Pella and hired them (Pella) for a significant premium (in addition to cost of windows) to install per their explicit guidelines for warranty purposes. The initial installation was incorrectly performed and confirmed by Pella. For example, the window sill pan was never flashed taped resulting in obvious water leakage issues. The "recovery" installation (or subsequent) was proven to be inadequate due to continued window leaks and Pella field personnel confirmation of deviation from explicit field instructions. As a result, the original subcontractor was terminated from the project and the "A" team (per Pella) was to complete the "recovery" to our satisfaction. Recognize we're now 30 plus days past the original installation. Today, the "A" team was not acquainted with Pella's installation policy and ultimately terminated by the General Manager (of Pella) leaving us with security and weather risks. And now the project is in limbo as we wait for them to source a third (albeit not a current retained subcontractor) to recover their "recovery" team's effort.

Desired Settlement: In addition to forgoing the handsome installation charge (which Pella has already agreed to), we expect further consideration for our new windows that have or will be punched out for a second or third time thus damaging and/or stressing the integrity of our windows. And obviously, this has delayed the other facets of our project (e.g. Stucco, insulation,etc) by four weeks, so assumed opportunity cost. And lastly, my wife and I (both highly compensated professionals) have spent multiple hours..

Business Response: UPDATE ON COMPLAINT ID *******:


On ********** a verbal agreement has been reached between CFO of Pella Windows & Doors of Houston and the complainant.  All details and formal commitments will be finalized by close of business **********.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******


 

 

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had french doors installed by this business on ***** ***** ***** However, one of the panels was damaged and the locking mechanism, advertised as "three point lock" did not work correctly and only locked at a single point. The lock cylinder in the door was of a different finish than the door hardware. Also, the install lacked an interior finish piece on the floor.An ******** came out and fully documented the issues, and we were promised a speedy resolution. The date provided for that panel and hardware replacement came and went without contact from the business. When we contacted them the **** day, various excuses were offered and a promise was made to execute the replacement the **** day. This did not occur********* telephone contacts and attempts to escalate resulted in an appointment for the replacement today, **** ***** ****. They arrived with the wrong panel (the undamaged side, not the side needing replacement) with the incorrect hardware (not the brushed nickel selected).

Desired Settlement: We would just like to have the doors we contracted to have installed as promised.

Business Response:

Due to the importance of the customer and his concerns, I personally spoke to Mr. ******** yesterday in reference to this issue. I researched the problem and realize that we did in fact order the wrong replacement panel. I apologized and told him I would get it reordered today and will rush order it. I informed him that I would also include a new ***** ****** handle set and lock cylinder. This is usually just transferred to the new panel but I wanted to be sure we had a replacement since he mentioned he was having an issue with the current one. I asked for a photo of the custom transition piece he is asking for. We did provide a piece of oak transition to his *********** during the original install, which he was going to mill and stain to match what they already had in their home.  I sent my contact info last night and once I have the photo, I can begin to search for this custom transition piece.

I felt based on the phone call and our communication that Mr. ******** understood my plan to resolve his issue. In summary we will be reordering new active door panel, purchasing new hardware and lock cylinder, and finding a source for the transition piece.

If I am missing something, please let me know.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pella Windows & Doors of Houston
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)