Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blinds.com

Phone: (800) 505-1905 Fax: (800) 810-5919 View Additional Phone Numbers 10255 Richmond Ave  Ste 300, Houston, TX 77042 http://www.blinds.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in custom decorator blinds, shades and shutters.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blinds.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blinds.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Blinds.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1996 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Timothy Ton, Accountant Ms. Trini Greenwood, Accounting Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Ton, Accountant
Related Businesses
Blinds.com
Business Category

VENETIAN BLINDS-DEALERS

Alternate Business Names
America's #1 Blinds Store Blinds.ca No Brainer Blinds

Additional Locations

  • 10255 Richmond Ave  Ste 300

    Houston, TX 77042

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 15 motorized shades from blinds.com. Received on 1/23/15. 10 of the motorized shades operate perfectly. 5 of the shades make abnormal banging noise from motor when being operated. On 1/30/15 contacted blinds.com to advise of issue and request replacement. Blinds.com wanted me to supply video of shades making noise which was supplied to ******** ***. On 2/3/15, ******** *** sent email saying their vendor had stated the noise is nothing to worry about and that they are not defective as they still go up and down. I responded that this is a defect, and this noise is not normal and that the other 10 shades do not make this noise. I requested replacement through their advertised 100% satisfaction guarantee. Blinds.com has refused to replace. Blinds.com has refused return. Replacement and return are advertised in guarantee. Blinds.com has offered to refund only if I spend my own time, money and gas to donate defective blinds to a non profit and send them receipt. Blinds.com guarantee does not state anything about the customer being responsible for donating their defective product. Replacement is what would satisfy us, and was requested again. Blinds.com again refused to replace. Requested refund for defective shades. Blinds.com refused refund. Blinds.com refusal to honor guarantee, refusal to replace and refusal to have returned has left us with no alternatives. The amount spent on the defective shades has now been put into dispute with ******** *******, with us wanting the defective shades replaced or refunded. Blinds.com is not honoring their guarantee due to their vendor stating to not worry about the noise. I did not purchase from their vendor, I purchased from Blinds.com due to their 100% satisfaction guarantee they advertise, which they are refusing to honor, and are refusing to offer any resolution that is satisfactory to us.

Desired Settlement: Blinds.com has been advised exactly which shades are making the abnormal noise. ******** *** of Blinds.com has been the only contact regarding this. Since we have 10 motorized shades we are happy with, we want the 5 defective ones replaced.

Business Response:

BBB of Metropolitan Houston

*** ******

 

 

I am very sorry for the problems encountered with your new motorized shades.

 

After reviewing the recorded calls and notes from our customer service department and vendor, it has been determined that this not uncommon for this product collection.

 

Our vendor advised that if you open the end cap of the headrail and take the motor out, you can see if it makes the same sound. They are confident the sound will be gone and that you can simply place the motor back inside the headrail.

 

Also, we have offered you our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee for a refund since we let you know that we think you will encounter the same issue if these five shades are remade.

 

As a courtesy, we provided you the option to donate your order to a local charity of choice instead of having to ship back the shades in question.

 

Example: ******* *** ********, **** ****, ********* ****, ***** ******, etc.

 

As per our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee details, if the product is determined not to be a mistake by us or our vendor, it is the customer’s responsibility to ship the product back at their cost for a refund.

 

http://www.blinds.com/control/infopage?page=sat_guar.html

 

I certainly understand that you wish for a remake of these five shades.

 

Please understand that we are the retailer and not the manufacturer. If the vendor determines it is not an issue, then we will have to have the order remade at our cost.

 

We think you will encounter the same issue, thus our stance that we will issue a refund for your entire order upon donation or return.

 

Again, since we do not find this to be an issue, no pre-paid return authorization option is available.

 

In a nutshell, we have offered to honor our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee that we advertise and have worked diligently to address your situation.

 

With all that being said, we will this one time honor your request and have the five shades in question remade at our expense. You should receive a new remake email confirmation later this morning.

 

If you should encounter the same issue with these shades, no further remakes will be issued and only the option to ship back or donate for a full refund is available.

 

If you have any further questions, please contact our customer service department at **************/Option *. We are here to help.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **

1/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a set of blinds and of shutters on blinds.com more than a month ago. Items arrived without a hitch. I install them without major issues, despite the fact I had to repurchase most of the hardware, throw away some other superfluous items that not even customer service knew what it was about, and the instructions were cryptic at best, both in the packaging and on the website. I install the items and realize I needed some additional hardware for the blinds. I inquired with customer service, solicited their help and waited for a couple of weeks. I was sent a single small triangular piece of metal (one hold down) with no instructions, no screws or other items to go with it. So, I contacted blinds.com again and complained about it. They apologized and issued another complete set of hold downs. I waited two weeks and got nothing. So, I complained one more time, they apologized again, and said they will send another set of hold downs right away. This was two weeks ago, and I am still to see anything in the mail. Who knows, maybe one day I will get three sets of hold downs in the mail all at the same time, but that does not excuse blinds.com from having such a poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: Please, tell them to fix their act. I even received an email from the CEO asking for feedback. Well, this is my feedback.

Business Response:

***** *******
Houston Metro BBB,

I am terribly sorry for the delay in receiving the requested hold down brackets.

Unfortunately our vendor, ******** is having a mass shortage of material and parts right now.

Thus why our latest request is waiting for it to be processed.

We have been responsive to your situation and have documented the recorded notes below.

We cannot provide you what our vendor does not have.

I have just sent a third formal request to Levolor for a follow up to resend these parts as soon as possible.

Also, as another option, and to compensate your poor experience, I will split the cost of the blind in question and provide you with a $30 rebate.

The manual credit should appear on your cc statement in 5 to 7 business days.

You are welcome to use this money to order the desired parts at a online window part company.

As a courtesy, I have provided some links below. Note: We are not affiliated.

www.fixmyblinds.com

www.blindsparts.com

I humbly apologize for a poor experience.

Respectfully,

   Gil R.



 

 

 

Label: IPA Notes-Missing or Delayed Parts
Agent: Erin R*****
Parts being ordered because Customer needs more. Customer needs the following parts:


2 x Holddown Bracket(s)

Line items affected: 2

Note to Levolor: Customer needs 2 hold down brackets since these blinds are installed on a door. Thanks!

The Follow Up team will follow up on this request in one business day.

Please send two hold down brackets for 2" Visions Faux Wood blinds. ***** ******* **** ****** ***, **** * ********* ** ***** ***** ******** Order #******* Thank you.
 
Date: 11/17/2014 11:37 CST
Label: IPA- EMAIL FROM LEVOLOR
Agent: tequellm
I have placed order ********** for the hold down brackets, and these will ship on 11/21. If there is anything further we can assist with, please reply to this email. Thank you, Jennie S.
 
Date: 11/18/2014 14:35 CST
Label: IPA Notes-Missing or Delayed Parts
Agent: Erin R*****
Follow Up 1. Levolor confirmed that the parts order has been filled. Customer has been emailed an update.

 
Date: 11/23/2014 06:06 CST
Label: IPA Notes-Missing or Delayed Parts
Agent: Megan Jones
Parts being ordered because Missing from boxes. Customer needs the following parts:


2 x Holddown Bracket(s)

Special part: Customer only received 1 of the hold downs and missing the pins. Please send one set of the hold downs and the pins.

Line items affected: 1

Note to Levolor: No special note

The Follow Up team will follow up on this request in one business day.

I received the shipment. It contains one little triangular piece of metal. I have asked for two hold downs. And you gave me something useless. Is that how you handle customer service? I am quite disappointed in your company.
 
Date: 11/24/2014 16:51 CST
Label: SDW - EM to Customer
Agent: spencerw
Customer has a few mystery parts in their order - EM TO CUSTOMER: Please reply to me with a couple pictures of the parts in question. I will forward it to the factory for review. Thanks! Spencer Watts
 
Date: 11/24/2014 17:01 CST
Label: IPA - email from vendor
Agent: ******
Hello, My name is Craig and I will be assisting you. The hold downs have been sent. The order number is **********. Please reply to this email directly so that I can see all previous replies. Sincerely, Craig T******** Customer Service Specialist Newell Rubbermaid Inc
 
Date: 11/25/2014 15:02 CST
Label: IPA Notes-Missing or Delayed Parts
Agent: Megan Jones
Follow Up 1. Levolor confirmed that the parts order has been filled. Customer has been emailed an update.

 
Date: 12/09/2014 17:27 CST
Label: IPA Notes-Missing or Delayed Parts
Agent: Erin R*****
Parts being ordered because Customer needs more. Customer needs the following parts:


2 x Holddown Bracket(s)

Special part: I am so sorry the parts never arrived. Im having them sent again to **** ****** ***, **** ** ********* ** *****.

Line items affected: 2

Note to Levolor: Customer never received the parts on order number **********. Please re-ship as quickly as possible since he has been waiting a while. Thanks!

The Follow Up team will follow up on this request in one business day.

I am not sure what you say that has been fulfilled, but two weeks have gone by and I am yet to receive anything. Where do you ship from? China? Thank you, ***** *******
 
Date: 12/10/2014 16:54 CST
Label: IPA - email from vendor
Agent: ******
Hello, I apologize that the parts order has not been received. I have entered a new parts order under **********; the estimated ship date is 12/16. I've also added 2nd day delivery for the delay. Ericka F Customer Service Specialist Newell Rubbermaid
 
Date: 12/11/2014 17:15 CST
Label: IPA Notes-Missing or Delayed Parts
Agent: Erin R*****
Follow Up 1. Levolor confirmed that the parts order has been filled. Customer has been emailed an update.

 
Date: 12/22/2014 12:03 CST
Label: tamif
Agent: tamif
Hello again *****, Thank you for staying connected with my service team. Oh No, I am so sorry the parts still have not arrived. I completely understand why you would have these feelings towards our company. Please know it is not our intention to make you wait so long for the hold-down brackets. I am sad this has been your experience with us. I have your order here and I do see the parts were requested again for you and LEvolor even confirmed they would be sent as of the 10th. Following is their response: Hello, I apologize that the parts order has not been received. I have entered a new parts order under **********; the estimated ship date is 12/16. I've also added 2nd day delivery for the delay. I will request tracking info, but in the mean time, this is the address I show it was delivered to: Attention: ***** ******* Address: **** ****** *** Address2: Unit 9 City, State, Zip: ******** *** ********** Please confirm this is correct still. Please allow 1-2 business days for my response either with tracking or confirmation they have been sent again. I hope you have not given up on us, we take your satisfaction very seriously! Please accept my sincere apologies. I wish this had not been your experience so far, but thank you for allowing me to work to correct it! Please let me know if I can further assist in any way! Have an AMAZING day! Kind regards, Tami Flores | Customer Care Specialist www.blinds.com O: ***** ******** ** ***** ******** *------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -----Original Message----- From: ***** ******* ***************************** Sent: Monday, December 22, 2014 8:27:40 AM To: Blinds.com - Customer Service Subject: Update on your Parts request for order# ******* Now I am certain you guys have no intention of shipping those hold downs. I have been requesting them for more than a month, I keep being told that they are being shipped, I wait patiently, but I never receive anything. You really are a company with poor customer service and fulfillment. Personally, I am disappointed to have chosen you in the first place. Happy Holiday, ***** *******
 
Date: 12/22/2014 12:05 CST
Label: IPA Notes-Status
Agent: **** ******
There is no tracking on the order and it is beyond the estimated ship date. Levolor has been emailed for a status. Follow up team will check back within one business day.

Special note to vendor: may I have tracking for this parts order taht was sent?
Please also confirm address shipped to!
Thank you

Line items affected: 2

 
Date: 12/23/2014 11:19 CST
Label: IPA- EMAIL FROM/TO LEVOLOR
Agent: ********
The most recent parts order is ********** for hold down brackets. These are shipping on 12/30 to ***** Castasti, **** ****** *** **** * ********* ** 23230. If there is anything further we can assist with, please reply to this email. Thank you, Jennie S. Customer Service Specialist --------------------------------------------Please advise why it is taking so long to ship parts. Thanks TeQuell
 
Date: 12/23/2014 11:27 CST
Label: IPA-EMAIL FROM LEVOLOR
Agent: tequellm
TeQuell, These were backordered, due to so many orders coming through for the Holidays. I apologize for the delay. Thank you, Jennie S.

Business Response: Mr. ***** *******
Houston Metro BBB

Update # 2.

Our vendor liaison has just spoken with Levolor regarding your situation.

They have promised to get another set of hold down brackets sent as soon as possible.

Also, we have decided to refund the entire order in full. It should appear in in two separate credits.

I again humbly apologize for the poor experience.

Respectfully,

   Gil R.
www.blinds.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and although I find this resolution satisfactory to me, I am uncomfortable that Blinds.com decided to refund me for the full amount of my order.

I never expected any compensation, and although I graciously accept the $30 partial refund as a token of appreciation, I don't think I deserve to be refunded for the remainder of $351.
I would appreciate if the accounting department at Blinds.com found a way to revert the remainder of the refund.
Thank you again,
***** *******



 

12/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ORDER ******** - I ordered over $2000 worth of blinds from Blinds.com. They advertise a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee if you don't like or it the product doesn't fit...even if you measured wrong....The most expensive blind that I ordered was $735. I installed them and realized that the color is completely wrong. I ordered a much darker shade. I contacted Blinds.com and I was instructed that the 100% Satisfaction Guarantee doesn't apply if you don't order samples before you place your order. My complaint is that the color isn't even close to the product I received....I had requested that just the panels be replaced, and I was told no...It is not a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee...the blinds are also cheaply manufactured and look horrible in my new home....being a veteran and on a budget, it is sad that I can even get a replacement....especially after spending $2025.00.

Desired Settlement: I want the color of the order I placed...what I ordered and what I received are 2 completely different items.

Business Response:

From: *** ********* ***********************
Sent: Tuesday, December 16, 2014 3:11 PM
To: drteam
Cc: drteam
Subject: RE: Houston BBB Membership is in Jeopardy ********

 

Houston BBB Metro Houston,

 

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

 

Unfortunately, I am not sure why we did not get the original complaint for this order.

 

My supervisor ****** ********* is the point of contact and you have the correct email address for her.

 

However, I myself handle and resolve all the BBB issues for our company.

 

If you wish to update the email address, you can change to *************** My name is *** **********

 

Now, the good news is that we already resolved this issue with the customer when they wrote our CEO on December 2nd.

 

Our CEO has allowed the customer to donate their order in question to a local charity of choice for a refund.

 

They then can also use those funds to apply towards a new purchase if desired.

 

I have copied and pasted the recorded admin notes below.

 

Please let me know if you need anything else.

 

I appreciate your time and attention.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ********* on behalf of ****** *********

9/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered blinds and shades on 1-July from blinds.com The delivery date was scheduled for 10-July. The next day, the order was pushed out to 18-July. On the 14th I had still not received a tracking number, so I called to inquire. blinds.com informed me that the shades were still in China and they could not tell me a dilivery date. After I told the person I wanted to cancel the order, they told me I could not do so and that the blinds would ship out on the 15th and arrive on the 22nd. I still wanted to cancel the order and was told that I could not. I asked to speak to a manager and was told none were on duty and that it would be 24 to 48 hours before I could speak to one.

Desired Settlement: I want a full 100% cancellation for the shades that did not arrive in a timely manner.

Business Response:

BBB of Metropolitan Houston

****** ******

 

Please know that the six (6) woven wood shade order has been canceled and your refund of $906 is being processed this morning.

 

It should appear on your cc statement in 5 to 7 business days.

 

I humbly apologize for such a poor experience.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** * ** ****** ** ****** **

7/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered 3 route-less horizontal Bali composite blinds. Found out when they arrived that slats fall out with the slightest touch, totally not usable by front door. Called and asked to exchange for routed ones so the slates don't fall out per the Blinds.com VERY visible '100% satisfaction guarantee' below. It clearly says if not satisfied they will return or replace. Rep told me NO, THEY WOULD NOT DO THAT AND IT WAS MY FAULT FOR ORDERING THAT TYPE OF BLIND. I never expected slats to just fall out of blind and do not consider that satisfactory at all for $360. She said they would give 50% off if I re-ordered but I am not willing to give them even more money for what was not an acceptable product. I want either a replacement with routes or a full refund. I've bought there several times before but will never buy again if they don't honor their posted guarantee!"When you buy any item from Blinds.com, you can feel confident because your purchase is backed by our Blinds.com 30-Day 100% Guarantee. If you are not completely satisfied, contact our customer service department immediately and we will make every attempt to correct the problem. If we cannot do this, we will authorize a 100% return or an exchange to another product. We'll make sure you have a product you love!"

Desired Settlement: 100% refund per their guarantee or a full replacement with routed blinds.

Business Response:

Ms* ****** ********

BBB of Metropolitan Houston

 

I am terribly sorry for the misunderstanding about the “no holes” option with your new blinds.

 

Please know that your satisfaction is very important to us.

 

Yes, we will certainly honor our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee for this situation.

 

Please donate your shades to a local charity of choice and provide us a copy of the donation receipt and we will issue a full refund of your order.

 

Example: ******* *** ********* **** ***** ********* ***** ****

 

This option is provided as a courtesy to avoid the normal shipping costs incurred with returning an order under our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.


Full refund/exchange for mis-measurement only on products with the SureFit™ Guarantee. Returns only with prior authorization. You are responsible for difference if exchanged product costs more than original product. Promotional offers cannot be used in conjunction with an exchange. You pay return shipping on exchanges unless we've made a mistake, there was shipping damage, or the exchange is covered by the SureFit™ Guarantee, in which case we'll pay return shipping. Commercial and Contract Division orders are not covered by this guarantee. Policy ID: ********* Effective 03-29-2012

Please send a scan or photo copy of the donation receipt with all pertinent information to ***************************

 

Once refunded, you are welcome to place a new order with the desired options.

 

Thank you again for your business, informative feedback, but most importantly, your patience.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  

I also thank Blinds.com for their very fast reply in just one day!

 
Regards, 


 

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for aluminum blinds - Levolor **** I, ******** - on Blinds.com. Previously I had been ordering the same custom size Levolor Mark I, Cordless blinds at a local Lowe's. The aluminum blinds ordered through Blinds.com were delivered with visible rout holes, whereas the blinds from Lowe's the rout holes are hidden. Clearly not the same product.According to Blinds.com the Levolor product Lowe's offers is different than the Levolor product Blinds.com offers. The Lowe's product includes a light-master "option" that is not available for the Levolor, Mark I, Cordless product offered by Blinds.com. It should be noted Blinds.com is selling Levolor Mark I Cordless without light-master at the same price point Lowe's is selling the same product WITH the light-master option. Blinds.com offers lightmaster options on similar product lines such as LEVOLOR RIVIERA for a 20% surcharge.At the end of the day when ordering Levolor, Mark I, Cordless on Blinds.com website there is no option for "light-master." How is one to know if this is or is not a standard item since Lowe's offers the light-master option at the same price point? Ordering a sample prior to placing the order would do no good b/c a sample is only for confirming COLORS/TEXTURES of the aluminum slat.I am waiting on a resolution from Blinds.com for what I feel should be at a minimum an exchange for Levolor, Mark I, Cordless WITH the light-master option. I would even at this point agree to pay the difference (surcharge) for the light-master option.

Desired Settlement: Provide a full refund or replace/exchane with a Levolor Mark I cordless blind with hidden routed holes.

Business Response:

***** ******,

 

Houston Metro BBB,

 

Customer ordered our Mark 1 Cordless Blind.

 

We do not offer the “CP” cordless privacy feature on our website. (Nor do we offer every available options for all the different product collections we sell.)

 

If we did, it would have been offered in the upgrades section when ordering.  Link below.

 

****************************************************

 

Also, it appears we have not yet had a chance to address this concern before this bbb complaint was issued.

 

Never the less, we are happy to help, we only need the chance to do so.

 

I have contacted Levolor and asked to have this order remade with the privacy option.

 

It now under order # ******** and confirmation # **********. It is estimated to be delivered the second week of July.

 

Approximately July 9th.

 

As a courtesy we have covered the extra cost involved with privacy feature.

 

All we ask that once received, please donate your original blind order to a local charity of choice.

 

Example: Habitat for Humanity, Good Will, Salvation Army, etc.

 

Simply contact our customer service department at ************************** (or **********************) with a photo copy or scan of the donation receipt.  

 

I hope this helps.

 

Thank you again for your business and informative feedback.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **

Consumer Response: Houston Metro Better Business Bureau;

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. The proposed resolution would be satisfactory to me. Once I have received the blinds from the new order referenced in the company's response I will immediately donate the original blind order to a local charity organization and provide a copy of the donation receipt to the company's customer service department email address:  customerservice@blinds.com.

  
Thank you for the prompt follow-up.
 
Once the new blinds are received and original blinds donated I will be in agreement this complaint can be hereby be CLOSED.
 
***** ******


 

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received 2 set of blinds thursday April 17 2014 and the two wands, that are used to tilt the blinds, were missing.I wrote an e-mail and asked the company to send me the missing tilt wands.No reaction.The company should acknowledge, that they got the e-mail and that they would remedy the problems promptly.

Desired Settlement: The company should answer me right away and send the missing parts immediately.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that Blinds.com has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on 4/19/2014 10:53:29 AM and assigned ID *********

Regards,

***** ******

* It took the company 15 days to send all the materials needed for the assembly of the blind.

***** ******

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered shades for our remodeled kitchen that came the wrong size (they failed to account for the thickness of the hardware brackets)and could not be installed into the window. We called and customer service answered quickly, was courteous and knowledgeable and promised to send new blinds to us at no charge. It was supposed to ship in two weeks and ship 2-day freight. But it is now a month and several telephone calls later and and we are still without the corrected shades. We are frustrated, and now have three shipping days before ********* and our holiday celebration.

Desired Settlement: Send the shades overnight and insure that we get them in time to install prior to our ********* celebration.

Business Response:
The order in question is a remake order due to the a vendor mistake made on the original product purchased.

Mrs. ******** emailed our CEO yesterday regarding the situation.

He learned from our vendor that due to the ice storms earlier in the month they were behind in production.

Mrs. ******** had requested that if not already shipped and received by Saturday she would like a refund and to cance
l.

Our CEO replied:

Thank you for writing and bringing this to my attention.

 

I am terribly sorry for all the problems encountered with your recent purchase.

 

I just called our vendor to learn that your remake order has only just started the production process.

 

Unfortunately, they indicate they are behind due to the ice storms earlier this month.

 

However, that is no excuse for the lack of communication and follow up.

 

I humbly apologize for the inconvenience.

 

Please know that I will refund your order in full. The manual credit should appear on your cc statement in 5 to 7 business days.

 

I will also not cancel this remake, and allow it to process through in full.

 

Once received, please feel free to keep and use.

 

If not, then perhaps consider donating the shades to a local charity of choice like ******* *** ********, **** ****, ********* ****, etc.

 

Thank you again for your patience.

 

Please know that we truly value you as a Blinds.com customer and hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. I appreciate your consideration.

 

So we have refunded the order in full and still allowed the remake to process in full to compensate the unfortunate situation.


In closing, we learned late yesterday the manufacturer finished production and shipped that order the same day. (*****)

It is estimated to be delivered on *****. I have copied and pasted the link below.

**************************************************************************************

Respectfully,

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **





Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ********


 

 

9/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The blinds I have are from blinds.com and are under warranty from blinds.com. However, Blinds.com has refused to honor the warranty because the vendor supplying that shade went out of business. They offered a discount on new set of blinds. However, this isn't acceptable since the original pricing included warranty, which I would like to be honored

Desired Settlement: I would like the blinds to be replaced with one of matching quality and type if a repair is not possible as is expected from a warranty.

Business Response: ***** ********

BBB of Metro Houston

 

Please be aware that there is no warranty left to honor.

 

As it indicates on our product warranty page …

 

“Materials and operating mechanisms are covered for 3 years."

 

**************************************************************************************  -  Blinds.com Product Warranty

 

With the warranty no longer applicable for your product purchase, and due to the fact we have no company to send your shades for repair, we generously offered to remake a comparable shade at 20% discount. Upon your disapproval, we were still willing to split the cost of ordering this shade as a courtesy to you.

 

I find that more than fair, considering the situation.

 

If you would like to proceed with this offer, please contact our customer service department at **************/Press 2 and they can help get that started for you.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **


Product Warranty - Custom Blinds & Shades

We extend the following warranty to the original purchaser of custom made blinds and shades, which are properly installed in the original window, with proof of purchase. Products sold under national brand names will be covered by the warranty of the manufacturer.

What is covered:

  • Materials and operating mechanisms are covered for 3 years.
  • Manufacturer defects and shipping damage (reported within 30 days)

What is not covered:

  • Variations in texture, construction or color of natural products, slight warping of wood products, and natural color changes to materials that take place over time.
  • Product failure due to any of the following:
    • Improper installation, operation or cleaning
    • Normal wear and Tear
    • Excessive exposure to heat, sunlight or moisture
    • Damage from children, pets or insects
    • Improper cleaning
    • Alteration of any kind

Resolution of Warranty Issues:

  • Repair or Replace: We will determine, at its discretion, whether the product will be repaired or replaced.
  • Product Discontinuation: If a product replacement is needed for a discontinued product still under warranty, we will provide a substitute product that matches as closely as possible.
  • Shipping Costs: After a 1 year period, the customer is responsible for any shipping costs associated with warranty repair.
  • After Warranty Expiration:
    • After warranty expires, many products can still be repaired for a nominal charge.
    • In many cases, a repair kit with then necessary components and instructions to facilitate the repair can be sent to the customer. A nominal charge may apply.

Resolution Procedures: Call the number on our website, and provide your original order number.

This warranty takes the place of all other stated warranties, whether written or oral. In no event shall we be liable for incidental or consequential damages that may result from any defect in product or breach of this warranty. We reserve the right to inspect any part or component prior to replacements. In order for repair or replacement to be made, a Bill of Sale, canceled check or other payment record verifying the original purchase date must be presented to us. The exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages may vary according to state of purchase, therefore the above limitations or exclusions may not be applicable to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and may also include other rights which may vary from state to state.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******** 

 


 

 

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with blinds.com on *********. They immediately debited my card for the full amount of $******.On ******** I contacted Blinds.com to cancel the order due to the length of time they were taking to process the order. It was via a chat session and I recieved the following in the email after the chat session:We are pleased to inform you that we have processed your refund for order Number ******* in the amount of $******. The refund will be applied to your original method of payment. Please allow 3 to 5 business days for processing. We appreciate your business and for allowing us to help with your home decorating needs. Thank you, Customer ServiceI have not received any refund either applied to my debit card or by check. I sent them an email from their website around ********* asking that I get a status immediately or I would file a complaint. I have still not heard anything from them.They have enjoyed the use of my money going on 2 months while I cannot select another company to order blinds from.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund applied to my card with interest at the rate of 2 percent per year for the time ******** until the date my refund is applied.

Business Response:

I am terribly sorry for the backorder you encountered with your recent purchase.

 I know it is frustrating when a backorder situation happens and I am very sorry for the inconvenience. This situation is rather uncommon and affects all retailers selling this product.

 In regard to the backorder procedure, please know that how it is supposed to work is we are notified of a backorder, and we then update the website immediately. Then the customer knows ahead of time of the future delay. However, in many cases we are not notified until after the fact or when we request status of the order in which we are both given the bad news at the same time. We are always working diligently with our vendors to avoid such occurrences so we can provide our customers with the proper expectations.

 In regard to payment, any item in our industry that is custom made requires that it be paid for in advance before any production begins. It reserves the material and your spot for the manufacturer.

 

With that being said, I see that we issued your refund on July 11th the day after being notified to finalize the cancellation of the order.  I have attached the documentation of credit to this reply.

 

Also, we confirmed this with you on July 26th when you contacted our customer service department about having not received the refund.

 

We then asked that you contact PayPal regarding this issue since we confirmed we processed the refund and cancellation as per your request.

 

Please know that we truly care about our customers and their experience whether that even be a cancellation. We have no interest in holding on to the customer’s money or create any ill will at all that would make them wish to shop elsewhere.

 

I hope the information provided proves helpful for you and PayPal and that your refund shows up very soon.

 

I humbly apologize for such a poor experience.

 

Thank you again for your patience.

 

Respectfully,

 

Gil R. on behalf of Sharon S.



Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******


 

 

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document


To Whom it may concern, BBB Houston and Area
 
I would like to inform you of a shady practice by Blinds.Ca
I ordered Blind through them in August of 2012 and never received them; according to the there was a computer glitch in the ordering. I tried again and nothing happened, I was told that my ********** was refunded the $529.11 from the original order.  I have tried a number of times to find out what is going on and have enclosed all Email and chat transcripts for you to look at.  I have even got conformation from my bank that the funds were never retuned.  As my last resort I have sent Blinds.Ca and ********** plus your company All transcripts  I have on this matter, hoping they will respond.
 
I thank you for your time and hope this will help other people out there.
I haye also sent a copy of this to the BBB Mainland Vancouver, BC Canada

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Ms. ****** ****** and BBB of Metro Houston,

This clearly is not the “exceeding expectations” experience we try to provide to our customers. We have failed you on this one, but instead of making excuses, we take emails like yours to heart and work hard to learn from our mistakes. I humbly apologize for all the problems you have experienced with this order and poor service received.

 

While I cannot undo the inconveniences you have incurred, I can assure you that we will address these issues with great diligence.

 

After some researching, it appears we recently issued your refund in full on ******* *** ****. It should already appear on your cc statement. I have attached a screenshot of the sale and credit details in our system.

 

Refund Transaction ID ************ – ******* ** ***** ********** - $529.11USD

 

Thank you so very much for your patience.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I thank you for your reponse to this. I have aslo checked with ********** inregards to the 

refund and thank you again.

Regards,

****** ******

 

12/17/2012 Delivery Issues
12/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2012 Delivery Issues
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service