BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Blinds.com?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blinds.com

Phone: (800) 505-1905 Fax: (800) 810-5919 View Additional Phone Numbers 10255 Richmond Ave  Ste 300, Houston, TX 77042 http://www.blinds.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in custom decorator blinds, shades and shutters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blinds.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blinds.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1996 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jay Steinfeld, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jay Steinfeld, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
Blinds.com
Business Category

VENETIAN BLINDS-DEALERS

Alternate Business Names
America's #1 Blinds Store Blinds.ca No Brainer Blinds

Additional Locations

  • 10255 Richmond Ave  Ste 300

    Houston, TX 77042

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 466-2724(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for aluminum blinds - Levolor **** I, ******** - on Blinds.com. Previously I had been ordering the same custom size Levolor Mark I, Cordless blinds at a local Lowe's. The aluminum blinds ordered through Blinds.com were delivered with visible rout holes, whereas the blinds from Lowe's the rout holes are hidden. Clearly not the same product.According to Blinds.com the Levolor product Lowe's offers is different than the Levolor product Blinds.com offers. The Lowe's product includes a light-master "option" that is not available for the Levolor, Mark I, Cordless product offered by Blinds.com. It should be noted Blinds.com is selling Levolor Mark I Cordless without light-master at the same price point Lowe's is selling the same product WITH the light-master option. Blinds.com offers lightmaster options on similar product lines such as LEVOLOR RIVIERA for a 20% surcharge.At the end of the day when ordering Levolor, Mark I, Cordless on Blinds.com website there is no option for "light-master." How is one to know if this is or is not a standard item since Lowe's offers the light-master option at the same price point? Ordering a sample prior to placing the order would do no good b/c a sample is only for confirming COLORS/TEXTURES of the aluminum slat.I am waiting on a resolution from Blinds.com for what I feel should be at a minimum an exchange for Levolor, Mark I, Cordless WITH the light-master option. I would even at this point agree to pay the difference (surcharge) for the light-master option.

Desired Settlement: Provide a full refund or replace/exchane with a Levolor Mark I cordless blind with hidden routed holes.

Business Response:

***** ******,

 

Houston Metro BBB,

 

Customer ordered our Mark 1 Cordless Blind.

 

We do not offer the “CP” cordless privacy feature on our website. (Nor do we offer every available options for all the different product collections we sell.)

 

If we did, it would have been offered in the upgrades section when ordering.  Link below.

 

****************************************************

 

Also, it appears we have not yet had a chance to address this concern before this bbb complaint was issued.

 

Never the less, we are happy to help, we only need the chance to do so.

 

I have contacted Levolor and asked to have this order remade with the privacy option.

 

It now under order # ******** and confirmation # **********. It is estimated to be delivered the second week of July.

 

Approximately July 9th.

 

As a courtesy we have covered the extra cost involved with privacy feature.

 

All we ask that once received, please donate your original blind order to a local charity of choice.

 

Example: Habitat for Humanity, Good Will, Salvation Army, etc.

 

Simply contact our customer service department at ************************** (or **********************) with a photo copy or scan of the donation receipt.  

 

I hope this helps.

 

Thank you again for your business and informative feedback.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **

Consumer Response: Houston Metro Better Business Bureau;

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. The proposed resolution would be satisfactory to me. Once I have received the blinds from the new order referenced in the company's response I will immediately donate the original blind order to a local charity organization and provide a copy of the donation receipt to the company's customer service department email address:  customerservice@blinds.com.

  
Thank you for the prompt follow-up.
 
Once the new blinds are received and original blinds donated I will be in agreement this complaint can be hereby be CLOSED.
 
***** ******


 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received 2 set of blinds thursday April 17 2014 and the two wands, that are used to tilt the blinds, were missing.I wrote an e-mail and asked the company to send me the missing tilt wands.No reaction.The company should acknowledge, that they got the e-mail and that they would remedy the problems promptly.

Desired Settlement: The company should answer me right away and send the missing parts immediately.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that Blinds.com has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on 4/19/2014 10:53:29 AM and assigned ID *********

Regards,

***** ******

* It took the company 15 days to send all the materials needed for the assembly of the blind.

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered shades for our remodeled kitchen that came the wrong size (they failed to account for the thickness of the hardware brackets)and could not be installed into the window. We called and customer service answered quickly, was courteous and knowledgeable and promised to send new blinds to us at no charge. It was supposed to ship in two weeks and ship 2-day freight. But it is now a month and several telephone calls later and and we are still without the corrected shades. We are frustrated, and now have three shipping days before ********* and our holiday celebration.

Desired Settlement: Send the shades overnight and insure that we get them in time to install prior to our ********* celebration.

Business Response:
The order in question is a remake order due to the a vendor mistake made on the original product purchased.

Mrs. ******** emailed our CEO yesterday regarding the situation.

He learned from our vendor that due to the ice storms earlier in the month they were behind in production.

Mrs. ******** had requested that if not already shipped and received by Saturday she would like a refund and to cance
l.

Our CEO replied:

Thank you for writing and bringing this to my attention.

 

I am terribly sorry for all the problems encountered with your recent purchase.

 

I just called our vendor to learn that your remake order has only just started the production process.

 

Unfortunately, they indicate they are behind due to the ice storms earlier this month.

 

However, that is no excuse for the lack of communication and follow up.

 

I humbly apologize for the inconvenience.

 

Please know that I will refund your order in full. The manual credit should appear on your cc statement in 5 to 7 business days.

 

I will also not cancel this remake, and allow it to process through in full.

 

Once received, please feel free to keep and use.

 

If not, then perhaps consider donating the shades to a local charity of choice like ******* *** ********, **** ****, ********* ****, etc.

 

Thank you again for your patience.

 

Please know that we truly value you as a Blinds.com customer and hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future. I appreciate your consideration.

 

So we have refunded the order in full and still allowed the remake to process in full to compensate the unfortunate situation.


In closing, we learned late yesterday the manufacturer finished production and shipped that order the same day. (*****)

It is estimated to be delivered on *****. I have copied and pasted the link below.

**************************************************************************************

Respectfully,

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **





Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to the BBB.

9/2/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The blinds I have are from blinds.com and are under warranty from blinds.com. However, Blinds.com has refused to honor the warranty because the vendor supplying that shade went out of business. They offered a discount on new set of blinds. However, this isn't acceptable since the original pricing included warranty, which I would like to be honored

Desired Settlement: I would like the blinds to be replaced with one of matching quality and type if a repair is not possible as is expected from a warranty.

Business Response: ***** ********

BBB of Metro Houston

 

Please be aware that there is no warranty left to honor.

 

As it indicates on our product warranty page …

 

“Materials and operating mechanisms are covered for 3 years."

 

**************************************************************************************  -  Blinds.com Product Warranty

 

With the warranty no longer applicable for your product purchase, and due to the fact we have no company to send your shades for repair, we generously offered to remake a comparable shade at 20% discount. Upon your disapproval, we were still willing to split the cost of ordering this shade as a courtesy to you.

 

I find that more than fair, considering the situation.

 

If you would like to proceed with this offer, please contact our customer service department at **************/Press 2 and they can help get that started for you.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **


Product Warranty - Custom Blinds & Shades

We extend the following warranty to the original purchaser of custom made blinds and shades, which are properly installed in the original window, with proof of purchase. Products sold under national brand names will be covered by the warranty of the manufacturer.

What is covered:

  • Materials and operating mechanisms are covered for 3 years.
  • Manufacturer defects and shipping damage (reported within 30 days)

What is not covered:

  • Variations in texture, construction or color of natural products, slight warping of wood products, and natural color changes to materials that take place over time.
  • Product failure due to any of the following:
    • Improper installation, operation or cleaning
    • Normal wear and Tear
    • Excessive exposure to heat, sunlight or moisture
    • Damage from children, pets or insects
    • Improper cleaning
    • Alteration of any kind

Resolution of Warranty Issues:

  • Repair or Replace: We will determine, at its discretion, whether the product will be repaired or replaced.
  • Product Discontinuation: If a product replacement is needed for a discontinued product still under warranty, we will provide a substitute product that matches as closely as possible.
  • Shipping Costs: After a 1 year period, the customer is responsible for any shipping costs associated with warranty repair.
  • After Warranty Expiration:
    • After warranty expires, many products can still be repaired for a nominal charge.
    • In many cases, a repair kit with then necessary components and instructions to facilitate the repair can be sent to the customer. A nominal charge may apply.

Resolution Procedures: Call the number on our website, and provide your original order number.

This warranty takes the place of all other stated warranties, whether written or oral. In no event shall we be liable for incidental or consequential damages that may result from any defect in product or breach of this warranty. We reserve the right to inspect any part or component prior to replacements. In order for repair or replacement to be made, a Bill of Sale, canceled check or other payment record verifying the original purchase date must be presented to us. The exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages may vary according to state of purchase, therefore the above limitations or exclusions may not be applicable to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights and may also include other rights which may vary from state to state.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******** 

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to the BBB

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with blinds.com on *********. They immediately debited my card for the full amount of $******.On ******** I contacted Blinds.com to cancel the order due to the length of time they were taking to process the order. It was via a chat session and I recieved the following in the email after the chat session:We are pleased to inform you that we have processed your refund for order Number ******* in the amount of $******. The refund will be applied to your original method of payment. Please allow 3 to 5 business days for processing. We appreciate your business and for allowing us to help with your home decorating needs. Thank you, Customer ServiceI have not received any refund either applied to my debit card or by check. I sent them an email from their website around ********* asking that I get a status immediately or I would file a complaint. I have still not heard anything from them.They have enjoyed the use of my money going on 2 months while I cannot select another company to order blinds from.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund applied to my card with interest at the rate of 2 percent per year for the time ******** until the date my refund is applied.

Business Response:

I am terribly sorry for the backorder you encountered with your recent purchase.

 I know it is frustrating when a backorder situation happens and I am very sorry for the inconvenience. This situation is rather uncommon and affects all retailers selling this product.

 In regard to the backorder procedure, please know that how it is supposed to work is we are notified of a backorder, and we then update the website immediately. Then the customer knows ahead of time of the future delay. However, in many cases we are not notified until after the fact or when we request status of the order in which we are both given the bad news at the same time. We are always working diligently with our vendors to avoid such occurrences so we can provide our customers with the proper expectations.

 In regard to payment, any item in our industry that is custom made requires that it be paid for in advance before any production begins. It reserves the material and your spot for the manufacturer.

 

With that being said, I see that we issued your refund on July 11th the day after being notified to finalize the cancellation of the order.  I have attached the documentation of credit to this reply.

 

Also, we confirmed this with you on July 26th when you contacted our customer service department about having not received the refund.

 

We then asked that you contact PayPal regarding this issue since we confirmed we processed the refund and cancellation as per your request.

 

Please know that we truly care about our customers and their experience whether that even be a cancellation. We have no interest in holding on to the customer’s money or create any ill will at all that would make them wish to shop elsewhere.

 

I hope the information provided proves helpful for you and PayPal and that your refund shows up very soon.

 

I humbly apologize for such a poor experience.

 

Thank you again for your patience.

 

Respectfully,

 

Gil R. on behalf of Sharon S.



Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document


To Whom it may concern, BBB Houston and Area
 
I would like to inform you of a shady practice by Blinds.Ca
I ordered Blind through them in August of 2012 and never received them; according to the there was a computer glitch in the ordering. I tried again and nothing happened, I was told that my ********** was refunded the $529.11 from the original order.  I have tried a number of times to find out what is going on and have enclosed all Email and chat transcripts for you to look at.  I have even got conformation from my bank that the funds were never retuned.  As my last resort I have sent Blinds.Ca and ********** plus your company All transcripts  I have on this matter, hoping they will respond.
 
I thank you for your time and hope this will help other people out there.
I haye also sent a copy of this to the BBB Mainland Vancouver, BC Canada

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Ms. ****** ****** and BBB of Metro Houston,

This clearly is not the “exceeding expectations” experience we try to provide to our customers. We have failed you on this one, but instead of making excuses, we take emails like yours to heart and work hard to learn from our mistakes. I humbly apologize for all the problems you have experienced with this order and poor service received.

 

While I cannot undo the inconveniences you have incurred, I can assure you that we will address these issues with great diligence.

 

After some researching, it appears we recently issued your refund in full on ******* *** ****. It should already appear on your cc statement. I have attached a screenshot of the sale and credit details in our system.

 

Refund Transaction ID ************ – ******* ** ***** ********** - $529.11USD

 

Thank you so very much for your patience.

 

Respectfully,

 

*** ** ** ****** ** ****** **

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I thank you for your reponse to this. I have aslo checked with ********** inregards to the 

refund and thank you again.

Regards,

****** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/17/2012 Delivery Issues
12/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2012 Delivery Issues
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/15/2012 Delivery Issues
2/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1