This business is not BBB accredited.

Affordable Power, LP

Phone: (713) 337-2900 Fax: (713) 337-2905 View Additional Phone Numbers 6161 Savoy Dr Ste 500, Houston, TX 77036 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.affordablepowerinc.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail electric provider services nationwide, including: residential and commercial accounts, and online account viewing and bill pay.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Power, LP include:

  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Power, LP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Power, LP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 30, 2007
Business Management
Mr. Chris L. Martin, President-Retail Energy Mr. Chris Weaver, Chief Financial Officer Mr. Azam Farooqui, Business Manager Mr. Kamran Virani, Chief Executive Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris L. Martin, President-Retail Energy
Principal: Mr. Chris Weaver, Chief Financial Officer
Business Category

UTILITY CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Affordable Energy Affordable Power Affordable Power, L.L.C. APG&E

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6161 Savoy Dr Ste 500

    Houston, TX 77036 (713) 337-2900

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A company that was supplying electricity through *** some how got a hold of my account. I did not notice that I had a different supplier until I received a $800 electric bill for only one month. I then started to look into this and found out that it was another company besides *** that was supplying the electricity. Supposedly my contract was up with them and because the contract was up they could charge whatever they wanted to charge. I did not ever sign a contract to change my service to a compnay other than *** ****. I feel that I was incredibly over charged because in nine years of living in this house my electric bill has never been over $300.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to take charges off the bill that came about after the contract was up.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau of *****

Re: Case Number: [********] – ********* *****

ESI I.D. # *****************

AP Gas & Electric Account # ************

Address: **** ***** ***** *** ** ****** ** *****

 

 

After a careful review of *** ******* account, the following has been concluded from our findings;

 

APG&E received a valid Third Party Verification call that was completed with **** ********* ***** on 08/03/2013. **** ***** agreed to the enrollment process and the terms of the agreement. She agreed to sign up with APG&E for a rate of 0.0649 kWh for a term of 12 months fixed. Unfortunately, the contract expired on  08/03/2014  and  remained  with  APG&E  on  a  floating  variable  rate.  A renewal letter was sent on 06/16/2014 to the address of **** ***** ***** *** ** ****** **, prior to the contract expiration date. Unfortunately, we did not hear back from **** ***** the account was not renewed on to a new fixed rate, nor switched away to avoid being charged at a variable rate.

 

APG&E received a call from **** ***** on 03/10/2015 concerning her enrollment and her invoices. APG&E informed **** ***** that her contract expired on 08/03/2014 and once the contract ends the account goes on a default rate unless the account is canceled or renew, it was informed her account is currently on a variable rate. **** ***** was advised that we will locate the TPV recording and we will give her a call back as requested. APG&E contacted **** ***** on 03/11/2015 to advice that we have the recording and we can have her listen to it, unfortunately, we were unable to reach the customer at that time.

 

Furthermore, the account was drop as requested by **** ***** on 03/11/2015 and a cancellation letter was sent out via mailing address on the same date. **** ***** is no longer be with APG&E as of 03/18/2015. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

 

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** *** & ******** started providing services to my house without authorizing and consent. I have called to inquire about this from the company and they alleged that someone in my household gave them the authorization to do so and that they will provide the evidence in 5 business days. I called February of this year to cancel their services and provide evidence of proof that someone in my household gave them the authorization and as of yet, they haven't provided the evidence and their services is still reflecting on my bills thereby causing hardship on my household. I never have to pay this much for *** and ******** all my life. March 16th 2015, I called to follow up on the cancellation and i had the pleasure of speaking with ****** one of the company's customer rep, who promise to provide audio recording of the person who gave them the authorization and still to this date, nobody has called me with proof. my boyfriend and I leave in the house and we do answer our house phone and also we have disconnected the house phone. I leave in ********* **** and i do not have any business with a company ** Gas. we both we have our individual cell phone. I want this matter investigated and resolved. Thanks

Desired Settlement: Provide evidence of who gave them the authorization and if they cant, they have to refund all of my money paid.

Business Response:

 

Better Business Bureau of Texas

Re: Cas* Number: [10592313] – ****, ********

ESI I.D. # ********************

** *** & ******** Account # ********-***

Address: ***** ********** ** ***** *******, **

 

 

After a careful review of Ms. ******** **** account, th* following has been concluded from our findings;

 

Pleas* accept our sincere apologies for th* inconvenienc* you may hav* experienced. Upon thorough review of the situation, ***&* records indicat* that Ms. ******** **** agreed to sign up with ***&* for a term of 12 months at a fixed rat* of 0.061 kWh on 04/30/2013. A welcom* letter was sent out to 05/01/2013 to th* customer's mailing address. Unfortunately, th* contract expired on 04/30/2014 and remained with ***&* on a floating variabl* rate. A renewal letter was sent on 04/04/2014 to th* address of 19500 ********** ** ***** *******, **, prior to th* contract expiration date. Unfortunately, w* did not hear back from Ms. ****, th* account was not renewed on to a new fixed rate, nor switched away to avoid being charged at a variable rate.

 Furthermore, a drop was submitted as requested by th* customer on 02/25/2015 with a confirmed end dat* of 03/09/2015. As of now th* account is currently closed, th* final payment of $115.00 has been applied to th* account. Th* account shows a zero balance.  W* sincerely apologiz* for any inconvenience this may hav* caused.

 

All pertinent recordings and paperwork ar* attached with this response.

3/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is only out to rip you off and is a scam. They say that they are going to give you a better deal than you current electric provider. They lock you into a 3-month contract which appears to be better at first sight. However, they do not take over your electric bill until the prices for your local provider have already decreased. Then, they raise your price of electricity each month, even though you are suppose to be in a contract. In addition, they do not even send you a notice as they indicate they will. They will increase your fees each month so that you spend, anywhere from $30-$60 extra a month. When you finally realize what is going on and call to cancel, their computers are down. After about 2 weeks, when their computers come back up, it takes another billing cycle or two before you can actually get rid of them. Furthermore, when you try to speak with someone who has any authority, it takes about 2 months. Then once you speak to someone who says there are the manager, they will not let you speak with anyone else and can not help. Terrible!!

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the difference of what my current electrical supplier was charging at the time and what this company charged me.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau of Texas

Re: Case Number: [********] – Gayle F B*******

ESI I.D. # **********

AP Gas & Electric Account # ************

Address: **** ********* Road Reisterstown, MD *****

 

 

After a careful review of Ms. ***** * ********’s account, the following has been concluded from our findings;

 

APG&E received a valid Third Party Verification call that was completed with Ms. B******* on 05/09/2014. Ms. B******* agreed to the enrollment process and the terms of the agreement. She agreed to sign up with APG&E for a rate of 0.089 kWh for a term of 3 months fixed.

 

APG&E contacted Ms. B******* on 12/31/2014 to discuss a cancellation request due to high invoices. We advise Ms. B******* that unfortunately, the contract expired on 08/09/2014 and remained with APG&E on a floating variable rate. A renewal letter was sent on 06/23/2014 to the address of **** ********* Road Reisterstown, MD *****, prior to the contract expiration date. Unfortunately, we did not hear back from Ms. B*******, the account was not renewed on to a new fixed rate, nor switched away to avoid being charged at a variable rate.

 

Upon thorough review of Ms. B*******’s concerns it was brought to our attention that the fixed rate of 0.089kWh was not charged for 2 out of the 3 months per the agreement. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and proceeded to re-rate the 2 service periods of 08/09/2014 - 08/18/2014 and 08/18/2014-09/17/2014 for a total credit of $26.39. At APG&E, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfactions, and as a courtesy APG&E proceeded to re-rate one more service period (12/16/2014-01/16/2015) for a credit amount of $39.18, we have remitted a check for a total amount of $65.57 to Ms. B*******’s mailing address.

 

Furthermore, the customer was with APGE for a total of 7 service periods until she requested to be switched back to her utility provider BGEE. As requested by Ms. B******* APG&E submitted a Drop request on 01/02/2015, however due to the process of 15- 45 business days the confirmed service end date is 01/16/2015. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

 

 

              

 

All pertinent recordings and paperwork are attached with this response.

 

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau of Texas

Re: Case Number: [********] – ***** * ********

ESI I.D. # **********

AP Gas & Electric Account # ************

Address: **** ********* Road Reisterstown, MD 21093

 

 

After a careful review of Ms. ***** * ********’s account, the following has been concluded from our findings;

 


Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused; and we understand Ms. B*******’s concerns regarding the dispute, however, a review of Ms. Gayle B*******’s account determined that APG&E received
a valid Third Party Verification call that was completed with Ms. B******* on 05/09/2014.

 

Ms. B******* agreed to the enrollment process and the terms of the agreement. She agreed to sign up with APG&E for a rate of 0.089 kWh for a term of 3 months fixed, and a Renewal letter was also sent out to customers mailing address prior to the expiration date.

Due to the customer’s inconvenience APG&E proceeded to re-rate 4 service periods as a courtesy .The service periods were on variable rates due to fact that the account was not renewed on to a new fixed rate, nor switched away to avoid being charged at a variable rate. APG&E also proceeded to re-rate 2 service periods that were mistakenly charged at a variable rate while still under the 3 month contract.

 

 

APG&E has issued two refund checks for the total amount of $126.06 to the customers address; customer should receive her refund in 15-45 business days. At this time, no additional adjustments will be made to the account.We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, if you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with us at complaints@apge.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.   However, it does not appear that anything additional can be done with the Better Business Bureau. I will close my case with the BBB once I receive the 2 payments from APG&E. Please note that I will not deal directly with APG&E anymore. I will advise under this Complaint once the reimbursements have been received. Regards, Gayle B*******

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My great-grandmother received a call from APG&E sometime last year about lowering her current electric bill which she has through ***. She should not have done so but did not know better, she really believed this company would help lower her electric bill. However, her bill has been exponentially higher ever since. Her *** bill shows the amount *** charges per her per month as well as APG&E's charges. Last month her bill was over $300 and she lives in a apartment that is around 700 sq. feet and she doesn't have the heat set high or leave electronics or lights on consistently; nothing to warrant a over $300 electric bill. I've tried contacting APG&E multiple times via phone and via email and have not received a response from them. I've been trying to contact them for a week now. I believe my great-grandmother was targeted and she wants to cancel her services with APG&E. If possible, refunded the absurd amounts of money she's been charged since November 2013.

Desired Settlement: Canceled service with APG&E and if possible compensation for the absurd amount of charges she's received from them since starting her service with them in 2013.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau of Texas

Re: Case Number: ******** (Courtney F****)

ESI I.D. # *****************

AP Gas & Electric Account # ************ (Martha G******)

Address: **** ******* **, COLUMBUS, OH, *****

 

 

After a careful review of Courtney F****’s complaint, the following has been concluded from our findings;

 

APG&E contacted Ms. F**** to obtain her grandmothers account details, due to the information provided belonging to Ms. F****.

Martha G****** agreed to sign up with APG&E for a term of 12 months at a fixed rate of 0.0649 kWh on 11/13/2013. Unfortunately, the contract expired on 11/13/2014 and remained with APG&E on a floating variable rate. A renewal letter was sent on 10/03/2014 to the address of **** ******* ** COLUMBUS, OH *****, prior to the contract expiration date. Unfortunately, we did not hear back from Ms. G******, the account was not renewed on to a new fixed rate, nor switched away to avoid being charged at a variable rate. APG&E received a call on 01/14/2015 from Ms. F****, however, we were unable to provide any information due to our privacy policy and Ms. F**** was not listed as an authorized contact.

 

Due to the customer’s request to cancel, APG&E has sent a Drop request to have the account switched back to their utility company ***-CSP. The confirmed service end date is 02/12/2015. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

 

 

All pertinent recordings and paperwork are attached with this response.

1/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Regarding Account: **** ******* ************ *** ******** **** ** **** ******** ** I received a "returned check fee" in the amount of $30.00. A "returned check fee" is not a valid fee to charge me, because I have never sent you a check or underpaid my account balance. I paid my my total balance of $119.02 on 9/15/14 online with a credit card and your system charged me double the account balance because I may have tried a second time after I did not receive a payment confirmation page. I was later charged a $30 "returned check fee" so I disputed the charge through ***** Bank with a full explanation while reviewing my credit card statement online. **** *****, who lives with me and is authorized on the account, called the APG&E customer service department to request a refund of this "returned check fee". The customer service rep. could not tell her how ***** refunding the duplicate charge cost APG&E $30, how the duplicate payment was considered a check that was returned, or why the APG&E system would allow duplicate transactions to occur within 15 seconds of one another, as happened in this case. The customer service representative's supervisor named Shanta (ID# ****) refused to refund the $30 fee. I will never pay the thirty dollars unless APG&E can prove to me that ***** refunding my duplicate payment cost the company thirty dollars.

Desired Settlement: I need a statement credit for the $30 fee that was wrongly charged to my account.

Business Response:

 

 

 

Better Business Bureau of *****

Re: [Case Number: [********* * **** *******

ESI I.D. # **********************

AP Gas & Electric Account # ************

Address: *** ******** **** ** ***** ******** *** *****

 

 

After a careful review of **** ********* account, the following has been concluded from our findings;

 

APG&E has looked into the customer’s double payment made of $119.02 on 9/16/2014. The customer requested a chargeback from his bank which caused a $30 fee. AP G&E has waived this $30 chargeback fee and a late fee assessed for $1.50 on 12/22/2014. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us at ********************   

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a fixed rate for three billing cycles. The third bill showed a different rate (almost 30% higher) I have contacted them to obtain a refund of $32.57 that I was overcharged.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed and I want A P G &E to honor their contracts and word!

Business Response:

 

To Whom It May Concern, AP G&E has rerated Mrs. ******* for the service period of 7/23/2014-8/21/2014. We have issued a refund check in the amount of $32.56 to the address of **** * ***** ***** **** ********* * ** ******  Customer should receive her refund in 10 to 15 business days. ** *** sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience this has caused. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me at ********************


Tianna Farr

713-337-2900



 

9/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested billing statements via email or regular mail multiple times over several months through the company's "contact us" link with no response whatsoever. The company operates on a very unusual 28 day billing cycle, offers no automatic or recurring payments, and refuses to send a billing statement (I have to log in online to see the amount due). Multiple reviews and complaints online voice similar complaints.

Desired Settlement: Please send billing statements to either my email address or to my service address.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau of Texas

Re: [Case Number: [********] – ******* ********

ESI I.D. # **********************

AP Gas & Electric Account # ************

Address: **** *** ****** ** **, Houston, TX, 77027

After a careful review of ******* ********** account, the following has been concluded from our findings;

APG&E has updated the Delivery Method on the customer’s account. We are confident that *** ******** will receive any and all future statements via mail and email. The customer has been sent a copy of all of the statements as requested to the mailing and email address on file. APG&E considers this matter resolved. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.  

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 

7/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I selected APG&E from ****************** I called them and we agreed to "PTC Saver 2012" plan. I have the print out verifying 9.8 fixed rate. My friend gave her credit card number for the $100.00 deposit as I have only been in the United States for 1 week. One and 1/2 months later, I have not received a bill. So we called the. They have never changed the electricity into my name which is causing me problems with my apartment complex people. We have called them, they can't find my order, they recognize that they have my money, and they refuse to give me the electricity at the agreed amount of 9.8 but are offering me 10.3. I have a confirmation number from them when I placed the order. Confirmation # *********** I asked to get my money back but I don't trust them and they said it will be 45 to 60 days. I don't want to give someone else a deposit only to be stolen again.Thank you very much,*******

Desired Settlement: I would like service for 1,000 kwh 9.8.

Business Response:


 


BBB of Metropolitan Houston

Complaint No: ********

Name: ******* *******

Utility Account: **********************

AP Gas & Electric Account: ************

**** *** ****** **** ******* ***** *****   

Nature of the Complaint:


Enrollment


 


Consumer’s Original Complaint:


 


Complaint Note:


I selected APG&E from Powertochoose.org. I called them and we agreed to "PTC Saver 2012" plan. I have the print out verifying 9.8 fixed rates. My friend gave her credit card number for the $100.00 deposit as I have only been in the United States for 1 week. One and 1/2 months later, I have not received a bill. So we called the. They have never changed the electricity into my name which is causing me problems with my apartment complex people. We have called them, they can't find my order, they recognize that they have my money, and they refuse to give me the electricity at the agreed amount of 9.8 but are offering me 10.3. I have a confirmation number from them when I placed the order. Confirmation # **********. I asked to get my money back but I don't trust them and they said it will be 45 to 60 days. I don't want to give someone else a deposit only to be stolen again. Thank you very much, *******


 


 


After a careful review of Mr. ******* complaint, the following has been concluded from our findings;


 


AP G&E completed a TPV for Mr. *******, ******** The customer agreed to a fixed rate of 9.8 kWh for a term of 12 months. The contract ends on 6/20/2015. AP G&E sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience this has caused. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me at complaints@apge.com.


 


 


All pertinent evidence is attached with this response.


 


6/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A representative from this company ******* called my house and spoke with my 11 year old granddaughter on April 7, 2014 resulting in the UNAUTHORIZED change of energy provider from Pepco to their company. NEITHER I OR MY HUSBAND authorized this change. I promptly called on April 7, 2014 when I realized that this happenned and spoke with Nicki who gave me a confirmation number of 2180. THEY NEVER CANCELLED THE change. I received an early termination fee from PEPCO today I called again and spoke with ****** at **************. He said that the change was never cancelled and promised that it would be a priority change and I would get an email confirming this. I am still waiting.

Desired Settlement: If I acquire ANY charges from Pepco regarding this UNAUTHORIZED change in provider they should pay it since I tried to cancel this change on April 7, 2014 and they incompetantly did not change it and have unethical practices since a minor child CANNOT bind me or my husband to ANY contract!

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau of Texas

Case ID: ********

Name: **** *****

After a careful review of **** ******* complaint, the following has been concluded from our findings;

 

APG&E received a verbal agreement done via TPV. The person on the phone identified themselves as being an authorized contact to initiate services and as being over the age of 18. Due to the verbal agreement, APG&E assumed the TPV call was a valid enrollment. APG&E has submitted a Drop Request in order to stop the Switch to APG&E. In regards to the ETF received from PEPCO, the services were set to start in May 14, 2014 with APG&E. The Early Termination Fee from PEPCO should not have been assessed due to a future switch on our part. The account will not be charged any fees due to the future start date being cancelled. The account was not switched to APG&E due to the enrollment time frame being approximately one month. **** ***** will not be responsible for the enrollment and has been released with no fees. We truly apologize for any misunderstandings and inconveniences this may have caused. A confirmation letter will be sent via email within the standard 24-48 hours of the received request.

This complaint has been investigated by internal audit team regarding the allegations made by **** *****

4/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: cHECK WAS SENT IN FOR ELECTRIC PAYMENT. INADVERTENTLY THE CHECK ADDRESSES TO THE TAX OFFICE WAS ALSO IN THE SAME ENVELOPE. APG&E DEPOSITED BOTH CHECKES INTO THE ELECTRIC ACCOUNT. WHEN TAX OFFICE SENT A LETTER STATING PROPERTY TAXES WERE PAST DUE AND ELECTRIC BILL WAS RECEIVED WITH A VERY LARGE CREDIT ON IT WAS WHEN WE FOUND OUT WHERE THE CHECK HAD BEEN DEPOSITED TO. CONTACTED APG&E AND HAVE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND OVER RETURNING THE CHECK FOR $8711.18. CANNOT EXPLAIN TO ME WHY OR HOW THEY WERE ABLE TO DEPOSIT A CHECK THAT WAS NOT MADE OUT TO APG&E OR ENDORSED OVER TO THEM BY THE SMITH COUNTY TAX OFFICE. HAVE CONTACTED APG&E SEVERAL TIMES AND REQUEST TO SPEAK WITH REFUND DEPARTMENT HAVE BEEN DENIED. SPOKE WITH PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS AND FILED A COMPLAINT. P.U.C. CONTACTING APG&E TO ISSUE ME A REFUND.

Desired Settlement: $8711.41 REFUNDED FOR THE CHECK THAT WAS INCORRECTLY DEPOSITED INTO THE APG&E ACCOUNT THAT WAS WRITTEN OUT TO SMITH COUNTY TAX ASSESSOR

Business Response:

From: ****** **** ***********************
Sent: Thursday, April 10, 2014 11:30 AM
To: drteam
Cc: complaints
Subject: response to complaint

Good morning,

APG&E have spoken to ***** ******* regarding her refund in the amount of 8,711.18. APG&E and Mrs. ******* has come to an agreement that, we will complete a wire transfer to her bank account. She is aware that this process will take 24 hours. We apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me @ *******************

 

 

 

Thank You

********* ****

Customer Care Representative

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******


 

 

3/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Better Business Bureau: For the last 13 months, APG&E's telemarketers have been systematically harassing my Mother on a daily basis often calling her 3 times a day to switch her utility service in NJ over to their company. Although she has repeatedly informed the representative that she is not interested, the calls have continued. On the *** of December 2013, I contacted APG&E and spoke with a *** ****** about this matter. She assured me that my Mother would be placed on the Do Not Call List, however, she also mentioned that she did not have any control over the conduct and behavior of her telephone "brokers." I found that to be an unacceptable answer and very difficult to believe.My Mother is 77 years old and should not be harassed 3 times a day for over a year by APG&E representatives. The incessant calls from APG&E solicitors are not appreciated and must stop. On the **** of December, I received the following note:"Good Morning, Your request has been escalated to our operations team and management. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by our marketing campaigns. If you should have any further questions about this or if we can be of further service to you, please email us at ******************** or call us at ************** ****************, and a representative will be happy to assist you. Thank you for your time.Sincerely, Customer Care AP G&E Energy Solutions"Although I have spoken with an APG&E representative about their inappropriate conduct and unprofessional behavior, have received email assurances from APG&E that the matter would be escalated to their "operations team and management" the harassing telemarketing calls continue. In addition to my complaint with the Better Business Bureau, I have also filed a complaint with the FCC against APG&E for their unprofessional conduct and inappropriate behavior. The harassing APG&E telemarketing calls and their nonsense must end.Sincerely,**** ** ********** **** ******* *****

Desired Settlement: The harassing APG&E telemarketing calls must stop. The FCC and/or BBB should hold APG&E accountable for their unprofessional conduct and inappropriate business practice.

Business Response:

Re: BBB Complaint Number: ******** **** *****

** ******* ****** ******** ************* *****

Phone # ************


We received an email request from **** ***** on 12/**/2013 asking to have the telephone number he provided to us removed.  The request has been sent over to the independent broker agency  located in the Northeast. The address associated with the telephone number from the calling list has been identified and will be removed  per your request.  




Thank you

****** ****

Consumer Response: Recently, APG&E, in a response to a complaint filed against them for harassment and unprofessional conduct, sent the following note to the BBB of Metropolitan Houston: "We received an email request from **** ***** on 12/**/2013 asking to have the telephone number he provided to us removed. The request has been sent over to the independent broker agency located in the Northeast. The address associated with the telephone number from the calling list has been identified and will be removed per your request. Thank you ****** ****" An "independent broker" this sounds like an APG&E effort to deflect responsibility for their company's inappropriate and unprofessional telemarketing conduct. Although I have personally spoken with an APG&E representative about their endless telemarketing harassment, I have contacted the company in writing about my concerns, have filed a complaint with the FCC and the BBB, the APG&E Telemarketing Harassment Campaign (ATHC) continues. APG&E has harassed my Mother for 13 months with no end in sight. Their thoughtless efforts have really upset her. APG&E has made several empty promises to stop their harassment to no avail. Here is what APG&E's telemarketers have done in month 13: January **** called at 11:05 AM, January **** called at 3:58 PM, January **** called at 8:59 AM and today, the **** of January, APG&E's telemarketers called once again at 6:02 PM. 13 months of APG&E's endless telemarketing harassment must stop! Why does APG&E persist in taking advantage of Senior Citizens and harassing them to no end? Is their business so bad that they have no other option but to harass and solicit Senior Citizens in another state? My next step is to file an official complaint against this irresponsible company with the office of *********** **** ********** My letter to his office will be sent off in the morning. Perhaps *********** ********* may be able to prevent this Houston based company from endlessly harassing and aggravating a Senior Citizen over in New Jersey. If this step does not work and APG&E's telemarketing harassment continues, I will then contact the ********* ** ***** and *** ****** for their assistance. At the end of the day, I hope APG&E and their "independent broker" finally get the message not to ever call and harass my Senior Citizen Mother again. This is not rocket science! Sincerely, **** ** ***** ***** **** ******* *****

12/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A representative of APG&E came to our business. He stated (twice) he was with **** (our local supplier). That **** now has a program in which they compare rates from various suppliers then provide their costumers with the best rates to choose from. I called **** after he left & they offer no such service nor do they send out representatives. He engaged in fraudulent business practices and intentionally tried to mislead me to make the sale.

Desired Settlement: NA

Business Response:

 

AP Gas & Electric LLC has not received such information regarding ****** ******* or *** ****** ****** in our systems. AP G&E works with independent brokers located in the state the customer is located. In addition, we have always enforced our quality and compliance practices with all of our vendors.

 

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or a misunderstanding caused by the agent’s marketing strategies.

This complaint has been investigated by internal audit team regarding the allegations made by ****** *******.

11/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began services with APG&E in **** ****. In ******* **** I changed services addresses. For the 6 months after the move, I worked to resolve any balance from the previous address. In ***** ****, I entered into a payment plan to pay the remaining balance of 289.28 in installments. Two of the payments were made in ***** ****. Even though APG&E acknowledges the payments, they were not credited to the payment plan amount as agreed. The monies were credited to current bills amounts instead. Now 3 years after the move, APG&E adds the amount 289.28 to my current bill, saying it was never paid. I have driven to their office and attempted numerous phone conversations all to no avail. APG&E states that their computer system doesn't differentiate between current amounts and payment plan amounts and so therefore the 2 payments were not credited to the payment plan as it should have been. I have requested APG&E pull old phone recordings from ***** **** where 2 separate employees stated that the old account was paid, but they refuse to do so. APG&E acknowledges the payments were received but refuse to apply them where it was agreed they would be applied to.

Desired Settlement: To have the 2 payments of 99.00 made in ***** **** credited to the payment plan as agreed on the amount $ 289.28.

Business Response:

***** *. ***** requested a payment arrangement with APG&E for an outstanding balance that could not be paid in full. The customer requested a payment arrangement for an amount of $289.28 on **********. The accounts current balance at that time was $535.28 for the statement that was created on **********.  When the payment arrangement contract was initiated, $289.28 of charges were frozen off the account, which brought the remaining balance to be $258.30. Mrs. ***** submitted a payment to APG&E for the amount of $394.94; more than the remaining balance after the charges for the arrangement were held.  The activity on the account was showing to have a credit of ($129.47.) The credit was transferred to her new address of **** ****** ** ***** *** *** ***** (please review Charges History document). During this time, the payment arrangement for $289.28 was not cancelled on the closed account by the system due to her moving to a new address. The ending balance showed to be at a zero, due to the system not cancelling her payment arrangement and releasing the charges back to the account.

***** ***** states she made two payments of 99.99. The payments were applied to the account (review Payment History document,) however, the customer sent a payment to our Lock Box, and the 2nd payment was made online, which indicated the payments to be applied to active account. The customer did not request for these amounts to be transferred, as they partially satisfied the current charges at the time for her new address.

Recently, APG&E experienced a conversion which identified the non-satisfied deferred payment arrangement, the arrangement charges of $289.28 were released from her closed account to her active account. The amount was transferred to the active account which caused the customer to receive the regular usage charges and the arrangement amount in one (Statement Date: ********* pg. 2). APG&E is willing to write off the charges if the customer becomes current and pays off her past due (without the arrangement charges,) of $271.19, and her most current statement (Statement Date: ********** pg.2) of $287.64 by the  due date of **********. The customer called in on ********** after receiving a voice message. A Customer Service representative informed Mrs. ***** that we will be waiving the charges once she paid off her remaining charges. Mrs. ***** agreed to this arrangement and will be making a payment of $558.83 on **********


8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this ecomplaint to exp***s my fury and frustration towards ** *** and **** ****** Solution. I really hope you could help me handle the situation, so that it's not necessary for me to take things even further. One day, an energy consultant from **** ****** solution, broker of ** *** came to my store and demanded that I show her the electricity bill. After taking a look, she claimed I can save about $200 per month if i switched to her company. The rate she suggested was .8552 cent / Kwh while my current rate was .700 cent/Kwh. When I asked how I can save money when her provider had a higher rate, she said that the rate .8552 cent/kwh included the delivery fee, which will save me $200 per month. I asked and checked several times, and she confirmed confidently, claiming I can cancel any time if it was not true. So on ******** **** ****, I signed a contract with ** *** to switch the electricity provider which will be effective starting ********* **** ****. About a month ago, I called the energy consultant to confirm it one more time, and she said that she is not working with **** ****** Solution anymore and that the rate she gave me does not include the delivery fee. When I tried to argue, she just kept repeating that she is not working for **** ****** Solution. She told a lie to make me sign the contract.Then, I called **** ****** Solution to cancel this ridiculous contract, but they threatened me saying there will be an early termination fee that is more than $4,000. When I called *****, which will provide electricity, to explain this situation and to cancel the contract, they also just talked about the early termination fee, not taking any ***ponsibility for the ripoff. I even sent them emails multiple times to claim my right to cancel the contract, but they never got back. I cannot afford to pay more than $4000 (as it can be seen from my action to save money, in fact), and even if I could, I will not do so when the ***ponsibility clearly lies within the companies who had the employer causing a scam. I am fed up with the situation and would really appreciate it if you could help me with the problem. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel this contract.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau of Texas

1333 West Loop South suite #1200

Houston, ** 77027

 


 

After a careful review of ***** ***** account, the following has been concluded from our findings;

AP Gas & Electric received a call from ***** ***** in regards to his electrical contract for his businesses, ******* *******.  AP G&E has carefully reviewed the notes and documents pertaining to these accounts and the ***ults are as follows: ***** ***** was initially approached by ******* ***** from **** ****** *********; she enrolled *****’s businesses under a three year contract at a rate of 0.08552kwh and expi*** on September 2, 2016. ***** claims that ***** informed him he would save by switching to AP G&E, by accepting the rate of 0.08552kwh. ***** advised ***** that he would save $200 because the EDC charges would be included. ***** later claimed that he is not the owner of ******* ******* and acted on behalf of the owner to show initiative towards saving the business money.  On July 1, 2013 ***** called AP G&E and spoke with a Rep***entative in regards to his account. Rep confirmed with ***** the expiration date of contract, rate, term and start date. Rep advised ***** that he can cancel if he likes however, there will be an Early Termination Fee even though the contract does not start until September. ***** disagreed with Rep and told her that he should not pay the ETF because he was lied to. Rep advised him the reason why AP G&E charges the ETF is because the electricity is bought in advance. She also advised him that we sent a Welcome Letter, which explains the Terms & Services, Electricity Fact Labels and Rights as a Customer along with a copy of his contact for his records. AP G&E sent him the welcome letter on February 28, 2013 with a copy of the contract that explains his rights and what would happen if he terminates the contract.  ***** stated he never received anything. Rep advised him that she will find out what the ETF would be if he were to cancel and then give him a call back to inform him of the amount. Once she calls him back he can decide what he would like to do with his accounts.  On July 1, 2013 Rep calls ***** back and informed him that the ETF would be $2184.29 for add***s *** * **** ** **** *, *******, **, ***** and $2460.66 for add***s *** * **** ** **** *, *******, **, *****. Rep advised him that he can stay with us since contract will not start until September to avoid paying the ETF, but he can cancel and the ETFof $4644.95 will apply to the account. Customer stated that he was lied to and would file a complaint and BBB complaint and he did not want to cancel the account.  ****** from *** contacted **** multiple times to try to explain to ***** about his contract. ****** sent him articles and explained to him what charges are included with the fixed rate. ****** advised him if he sends her a quote sheet from **** ****** that shows the rate that company if offering him to renew she will try her best to match it. However, ***** failed to send the information. On July 3, 2013 ****** ***** from *** sent ***** an email stating that he has a binding contract with AP G&E because he signed and initialed the forms. Whether or not ***** fully understood the terms of the agreement, he did sign the contact. He replied back on July 3, 2013 stating that there were misunderstandings; he is not canceling because he had a lower rate but because he was lied to about EDC being included. He threatened AP G&E by telling them if we do not cancel the account he will do everything he can to file a PUC and BBB complaint. He wanted to know if he had 30 days after he receives his first bill to cancel the contract without any cancelation fee based on Energy consumer protection Act 2010. ***** replied on July 16, 2013 by telling him that his information has been sent to AP G&E’s customer service. AP G&E customer service replied to ***** on July 16, 2013 by letting customer know the welcome packet includes Terms of Services, Rights as a Customer, and Electricity Facts Labels.  It explained that for commercial contract the customer is entitled to recession of 3 federal business days which will initiate the day the contract was signed and if he has any more questions to contact them. ***** replied back to ***** wanting to know what a welcome package was and that he never received it, only a verification call. The final ***ults, APG&E received the BBB Complaint filed on 7/12/2013 and received by 7/15/2013. ***** is fully ***ponsible for these contracts according to Sections 5, Section 5.5 and Section 7. AP G&E has explained to him that the time period when he could cancel and sent all the documents that explained all of his concerns. ***** has not canceled the account and will not corroborate with *** or AP G&E to avoid paying the ETF.

 

 

This complaint has been investigated by internal audit team regarding the allegations made by ***** *****.

All pertinent recordings and paperwork are attached with this ***ponse.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


 

I have read and reviewed all the explanation from APG&E and would like
to refute them one by one.

First, They never apologized or even mentioned anything about their employee's wrongdoing. They keep mentioning the terms and services on
the contract, but the validity of it is questionable if I was duped by their employee who lied to me in order to make me switch. If it wasn't
for the lie, anyone in his right mind would have stayed with his electricity company when the other contractor's rate is higher. This
is my key point, but again, APG&E is only talking about how I can cancel by paying the early termination fee.

Second, They claim that I did not give **** ******'s rate that Ms.
****** requested, but I did get the rate from **** ****** on June 26th
and sent it to her on the same day. I got the following confirmation
email:

On Jun 26, 2013, at 3:05 PM,  wrote:
Thank you,
I am waiting on one piece of information from APG&E and will be
calling you as soon as I receive that from them.

And on June 28th, I received an email which said that since ETF is
$1970.09 and $2219.36, it would be better to stay than cancel (No
other option). When they asked me for the **** ****** rate, I expected
APG&E to offer a new solution but did not get anything new. Their
suggestion is always that I need to pay the early termination fee, and
that I'm responsible for the contract.

Third, they claim that I "threatened" them to file a complaint on BBC
or PUC, but it is my right to do all I can do to protect my right as a
customer, not a threat. I only mentioned it because I wished to solve
this problem for two months and nothing was accomplished.

Forth, they never answered when I asked, "Could I cancel the
electricity contract in 30 days after I receive my first bill under
the contract without any cancellation fee?" I asked this because I
wanted to know if I have the right to cancel the contract if the
problem persists before the contract date begins, but they never
answered it.

Because of all these reasons listed above, I cannot agree that the
problem is solved. I strongly believe that to avoid similar problems
happening to other customers in the future, BBB needs to address this
complaint and help provide an appropriate solution.


Business Response:

In response to the original complaint, we have apologized numerous times to Mr. ***** for his misinterpretation of this contract agreement. ** *** received legal documentation with Mr. *****’s signature acknowledging that he fully understood all terms and conditions of the contract. ** *** also has no record of the personal conversation between the broker that initiated the agreement and with Mr. *****. Furthermore, ** *** * ******** has paid for this customer’s electrical service in advance on the condition that he would finish his contractual obligation. The contract has been signed and all items have been initialed as to where it states that he is agreeing to switch his services and has a three day right to rescind without penalty. ***** ***** signed the contract on *********. ***** has no records of Mr. ***** calling to cancel before the rescission period ended. The customer contacted ***** on ********, several months after the signature date, to cancel the contract. He was informed of his Early Termination fees for both accounts and stated that he would file a complaint. We informed him that he could go ahead and process the complaints as he wished, but unfortunately we could not waive the fees because of the contracts signed in ******** **** and apologized for any mis-communication. The customer care department replied on ********* 9:05AM to Mr. *****’s inquiry about having 30 days to cancel, informing him of the following: “In regards to *****’s cancellation terms, the structure is as follows. For residential contracts, the customer is entitled to a recession period of three federal business days, which will initiate once the customer receives the welcome packet. The welcome packet includes Terms of Service, Rights as a Customer, and Electricity Facts Label. For commercial contracts, the customer is entitled to a recession period of three federal business days, which will initiate the moment the contract is signed and agreed upon.” Per the Public Utility Commissions of Texas, AP Gas & Electric was in compliance to the rules set forth to all Retail Energy Providers (please view attachment response.)

 This complaint has been investigated by internal audit team regarding the allegations made by ***** *****.

All pertinent recordings and paperwork are attached with this response.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *****


 

 APG&E has to take a responsibility for the broker's scam because they gave her authorization.

As they mentioned, There were no problems in the contract, Everything was done legally.

But I think if there were  any fraud( such as "save $200 per month") during conversation with broker,

this contract is not valid.

I am contacting PUC to find out what I can do in next. PUC only  check illegal action on the contract not

illegal things from conversation between broker and me.

I know It's very difficult to prove broker's scam. but It is truth.

 So, this complaint is not solved, until  APG&E take any action for it.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Affordable Power, LP
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)