BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Affordable Power, LP

Phone: (713) 337-2900 Fax: (713) 337-2905 View Additional Phone Numbers 6161 Savoy Dr Ste 500, Houston, TX 77036 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.affordablepowerinc.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail electric provider services nationwide, including: residential and commercial accounts, and online account viewing and bill pay.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Power, LP include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • 3 complaints filed against business that were not resolved
  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business

Factors that raised the rating for Affordable Power, LP include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 24

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 30, 2007
Business Management
Mr. Chris L. Martin, President-Retail Energy Mr. Chris Weaver, Chief Financial Officer Mr. Azam Farooqui, Business Manager Mr. Kamran Virani, Chief Executive Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris L. Martin, President-Retail Energy
Principal: Mr. Chris Weaver, Chief Financial Officer
Business Category

UTILITY CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Affordable Energy Affordable Power, L.L.C. APG&E

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6161 Savoy Dr Ste 500

    Houston, TX 77036 (713) 337-2900

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 456-2085 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.affordableenergy.com
  • http://www.apgellc.com
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I selected APG&E from ****************** I called them and we agreed to "PTC Saver 2012" plan. I have the print out verifying 9.8 fixed rate. My friend gave her credit card number for the $100.00 deposit as I have only been in the United States for 1 week. One and 1/2 months later, I have not received a bill. So we called the. They have never changed the electricity into my name which is causing me problems with my apartment complex people. We have called them, they can't find my order, they recognize that they have my money, and they refuse to give me the electricity at the agreed amount of 9.8 but are offering me 10.3. I have a confirmation number from them when I placed the order. Confirmation # *********** I asked to get my money back but I don't trust them and they said it will be 45 to 60 days. I don't want to give someone else a deposit only to be stolen again.Thank you very much,*******

Desired Settlement: I would like service for 1,000 kwh 9.8.

Business Response:


 


BBB of Metropolitan Houston

Complaint No: ********

Name: ******* *******

Utility Account: **********************

AP Gas & Electric Account: ************

**** *** ****** **** ******* ***** *****   

Nature of the Complaint:


Enrollment


 


Consumer’s Original Complaint:


 


Complaint Note:


I selected APG&E from Powertochoose.org. I called them and we agreed to "PTC Saver 2012" plan. I have the print out verifying 9.8 fixed rates. My friend gave her credit card number for the $100.00 deposit as I have only been in the United States for 1 week. One and 1/2 months later, I have not received a bill. So we called the. They have never changed the electricity into my name which is causing me problems with my apartment complex people. We have called them, they can't find my order, they recognize that they have my money, and they refuse to give me the electricity at the agreed amount of 9.8 but are offering me 10.3. I have a confirmation number from them when I placed the order. Confirmation # **********. I asked to get my money back but I don't trust them and they said it will be 45 to 60 days. I don't want to give someone else a deposit only to be stolen again. Thank you very much, *******


 


 


After a careful review of Mr. ******* complaint, the following has been concluded from our findings;


 


AP G&E completed a TPV for Mr. *******, ******** The customer agreed to a fixed rate of 9.8 kWh for a term of 12 months. The contract ends on 6/20/2015. AP G&E sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience this has caused. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me at complaints@apge.com.


 


 


All pertinent evidence is attached with this response.


 


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A representative from this company ******* called my house and spoke with my 11 year old granddaughter on April 7, 2014 resulting in the UNAUTHORIZED change of energy provider from Pepco to their company. NEITHER I OR MY HUSBAND authorized this change. I promptly called on April 7, 2014 when I realized that this happenned and spoke with Nicki who gave me a confirmation number of 2180. THEY NEVER CANCELLED THE change. I received an early termination fee from PEPCO today I called again and spoke with ****** at **************. He said that the change was never cancelled and promised that it would be a priority change and I would get an email confirming this. I am still waiting.

Desired Settlement: If I acquire ANY charges from Pepco regarding this UNAUTHORIZED change in provider they should pay it since I tried to cancel this change on April 7, 2014 and they incompetantly did not change it and have unethical practices since a minor child CANNOT bind me or my husband to ANY contract!

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau of Texas

Case ID: ********

Name: **** *****

After a careful review of **** ******* complaint, the following has been concluded from our findings;

 

APG&E received a verbal agreement done via TPV. The person on the phone identified themselves as being an authorized contact to initiate services and as being over the age of 18. Due to the verbal agreement, APG&E assumed the TPV call was a valid enrollment. APG&E has submitted a Drop Request in order to stop the Switch to APG&E. In regards to the ETF received from PEPCO, the services were set to start in May 14, 2014 with APG&E. The Early Termination Fee from PEPCO should not have been assessed due to a future switch on our part. The account will not be charged any fees due to the future start date being cancelled. The account was not switched to APG&E due to the enrollment time frame being approximately one month. **** ***** will not be responsible for the enrollment and has been released with no fees. We truly apologize for any misunderstandings and inconveniences this may have caused. A confirmation letter will be sent via email within the standard 24-48 hours of the received request.

This complaint has been investigated by internal audit team regarding the allegations made by **** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: cHECK WAS SENT IN FOR ELECTRIC PAYMENT. INADVERTENTLY THE CHECK ADDRESSES TO THE TAX OFFICE WAS ALSO IN THE SAME ENVELOPE. APG&E DEPOSITED BOTH CHECKES INTO THE ELECTRIC ACCOUNT. WHEN TAX OFFICE SENT A LETTER STATING PROPERTY TAXES WERE PAST DUE AND ELECTRIC BILL WAS RECEIVED WITH A VERY LARGE CREDIT ON IT WAS WHEN WE FOUND OUT WHERE THE CHECK HAD BEEN DEPOSITED TO. CONTACTED APG&E AND HAVE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND OVER RETURNING THE CHECK FOR $8711.18. CANNOT EXPLAIN TO ME WHY OR HOW THEY WERE ABLE TO DEPOSIT A CHECK THAT WAS NOT MADE OUT TO APG&E OR ENDORSED OVER TO THEM BY THE SMITH COUNTY TAX OFFICE. HAVE CONTACTED APG&E SEVERAL TIMES AND REQUEST TO SPEAK WITH REFUND DEPARTMENT HAVE BEEN DENIED. SPOKE WITH PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS AND FILED A COMPLAINT. P.U.C. CONTACTING APG&E TO ISSUE ME A REFUND.

Desired Settlement: $8711.41 REFUNDED FOR THE CHECK THAT WAS INCORRECTLY DEPOSITED INTO THE APG&E ACCOUNT THAT WAS WRITTEN OUT TO SMITH COUNTY TAX ASSESSOR

Business Response:

From: ****** **** ***********************
Sent: Thursday, April 10, 2014 11:30 AM
To: drteam
Cc: complaints
Subject: response to complaint

Good morning,

APG&E have spoken to ***** ******* regarding her refund in the amount of 8,711.18. APG&E and Mrs. ******* has come to an agreement that, we will complete a wire transfer to her bank account. She is aware that this process will take 24 hours. We apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me @ *******************

 

 

 

Thank You

********* ****

Customer Care Representative

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Better Business Bureau: For the last 13 months, APG&E's telemarketers have been systematically harassing my Mother on a daily basis often calling her 3 times a day to switch her utility service in NJ over to their company. Although she has repeatedly informed the representative that she is not interested, the calls have continued. On the *** of December 2013, I contacted APG&E and spoke with a *** ****** about this matter. She assured me that my Mother would be placed on the Do Not Call List, however, she also mentioned that she did not have any control over the conduct and behavior of her telephone "brokers." I found that to be an unacceptable answer and very difficult to believe.My Mother is 77 years old and should not be harassed 3 times a day for over a year by APG&E representatives. The incessant calls from APG&E solicitors are not appreciated and must stop. On the **** of December, I received the following note:"Good Morning, Your request has been escalated to our operations team and management. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by our marketing campaigns. If you should have any further questions about this or if we can be of further service to you, please email us at ******************** or call us at ************** ****************, and a representative will be happy to assist you. Thank you for your time.Sincerely, Customer Care AP G&E Energy Solutions"Although I have spoken with an APG&E representative about their inappropriate conduct and unprofessional behavior, have received email assurances from APG&E that the matter would be escalated to their "operations team and management" the harassing telemarketing calls continue. In addition to my complaint with the Better Business Bureau, I have also filed a complaint with the FCC against APG&E for their unprofessional conduct and inappropriate behavior. The harassing APG&E telemarketing calls and their nonsense must end.Sincerely,**** ** ********** **** ******* *****

Desired Settlement: The harassing APG&E telemarketing calls must stop. The FCC and/or BBB should hold APG&E accountable for their unprofessional conduct and inappropriate business practice.

Business Response:

Re: BBB Complaint Number: ******** **** *****

** ******* ****** ******** ************* *****

Phone # ************


We received an email request from **** ***** on 12/**/2013 asking to have the telephone number he provided to us removed.  The request has been sent over to the independent broker agency  located in the Northeast. The address associated with the telephone number from the calling list has been identified and will be removed  per your request.  




Thank you

****** ****

Consumer Response: Recently, APG&E, in a response to a complaint filed against them for harassment and unprofessional conduct, sent the following note to the BBB of Metropolitan Houston: "We received an email request from **** ***** on 12/**/2013 asking to have the telephone number he provided to us removed. The request has been sent over to the independent broker agency located in the Northeast. The address associated with the telephone number from the calling list has been identified and will be removed per your request. Thank you ****** ****" An "independent broker" this sounds like an APG&E effort to deflect responsibility for their company's inappropriate and unprofessional telemarketing conduct. Although I have personally spoken with an APG&E representative about their endless telemarketing harassment, I have contacted the company in writing about my concerns, have filed a complaint with the FCC and the BBB, the APG&E Telemarketing Harassment Campaign (ATHC) continues. APG&E has harassed my Mother for 13 months with no end in sight. Their thoughtless efforts have really upset her. APG&E has made several empty promises to stop their harassment to no avail. Here is what APG&E's telemarketers have done in month 13: January **** called at 11:05 AM, January **** called at 3:58 PM, January **** called at 8:59 AM and today, the **** of January, APG&E's telemarketers called once again at 6:02 PM. 13 months of APG&E's endless telemarketing harassment must stop! Why does APG&E persist in taking advantage of Senior Citizens and harassing them to no end? Is their business so bad that they have no other option but to harass and solicit Senior Citizens in another state? My next step is to file an official complaint against this irresponsible company with the office of *********** **** ********** My letter to his office will be sent off in the morning. Perhaps *********** ********* may be able to prevent this Houston based company from endlessly harassing and aggravating a Senior Citizen over in New Jersey. If this step does not work and APG&E's telemarketing harassment continues, I will then contact the ********* ** ***** and *** ****** for their assistance. At the end of the day, I hope APG&E and their "independent broker" finally get the message not to ever call and harass my Senior Citizen Mother again. This is not rocket science! Sincerely, **** ** ***** ***** **** ******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A representative of APG&E came to our business. He stated (twice) he was with **** (our local supplier). That **** now has a program in which they compare rates from various suppliers then provide their costumers with the best rates to choose from. I called **** after he left & they offer no such service nor do they send out representatives. He engaged in fraudulent business practices and intentionally tried to mislead me to make the sale.

Desired Settlement: NA

Business Response:

 

AP Gas & Electric LLC has not received such information regarding ****** ******* or *** ****** ****** in our systems. AP G&E works with independent brokers located in the state the customer is located. In addition, we have always enforced our quality and compliance practices with all of our vendors.

 

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or a misunderstanding caused by the agent’s marketing strategies.

This complaint has been investigated by internal audit team regarding the allegations made by ****** *******.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

11/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began services with APG&E in **** ****. In ******* **** I changed services addresses. For the 6 months after the move, I worked to resolve any balance from the previous address. In ***** ****, I entered into a payment plan to pay the remaining balance of 289.28 in installments. Two of the payments were made in ***** ****. Even though APG&E acknowledges the payments, they were not credited to the payment plan amount as agreed. The monies were credited to current bills amounts instead. Now 3 years after the move, APG&E adds the amount 289.28 to my current bill, saying it was never paid. I have driven to their office and attempted numerous phone conversations all to no avail. APG&E states that their computer system doesn't differentiate between current amounts and payment plan amounts and so therefore the 2 payments were not credited to the payment plan as it should have been. I have requested APG&E pull old phone recordings from ***** **** where 2 separate employees stated that the old account was paid, but they refuse to do so. APG&E acknowledges the payments were received but refuse to apply them where it was agreed they would be applied to.

Desired Settlement: To have the 2 payments of 99.00 made in ***** **** credited to the payment plan as agreed on the amount $ 289.28.

Business Response:

***** *. ***** requested a payment arrangement with APG&E for an outstanding balance that could not be paid in full. The customer requested a payment arrangement for an amount of $289.28 on **********. The accounts current balance at that time was $535.28 for the statement that was created on **********.  When the payment arrangement contract was initiated, $289.28 of charges were frozen off the account, which brought the remaining balance to be $258.30. Mrs. ***** submitted a payment to APG&E for the amount of $394.94; more than the remaining balance after the charges for the arrangement were held.  The activity on the account was showing to have a credit of ($129.47.) The credit was transferred to her new address of **** ****** ** ***** *** *** ***** (please review Charges History document). During this time, the payment arrangement for $289.28 was not cancelled on the closed account by the system due to her moving to a new address. The ending balance showed to be at a zero, due to the system not cancelling her payment arrangement and releasing the charges back to the account.

***** ***** states she made two payments of 99.99. The payments were applied to the account (review Payment History document,) however, the customer sent a payment to our Lock Box, and the 2nd payment was made online, which indicated the payments to be applied to active account. The customer did not request for these amounts to be transferred, as they partially satisfied the current charges at the time for her new address.

Recently, APG&E experienced a conversion which identified the non-satisfied deferred payment arrangement, the arrangement charges of $289.28 were released from her closed account to her active account. The amount was transferred to the active account which caused the customer to receive the regular usage charges and the arrangement amount in one (Statement Date: ********* pg. 2). APG&E is willing to write off the charges if the customer becomes current and pays off her past due (without the arrangement charges,) of $271.19, and her most current statement (Statement Date: ********** pg.2) of $287.64 by the  due date of **********. The customer called in on ********** after receiving a voice message. A Customer Service representative informed Mrs. ***** that we will be waiving the charges once she paid off her remaining charges. Mrs. ***** agreed to this arrangement and will be making a payment of $558.83 on **********


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this ecomplaint to express my fury and frustration towards ** *** and **** ****** Solution. I really hope you could help me handle the situation, so that it's not necessary for me to take things even further. One day, an energy consultant from **** ****** solution, broker of ** *** came to my store and demanded that I show her the electricity bill. After taking a look, she claimed I can save about $200 per month if i switched to her company. The rate she suggested was .8552 cent / Kwh while my current rate was .700 cent/Kwh. When I asked how I can save money when her provider had a higher rate, she said that the rate .8552 cent/kwh included the delivery fee, which will save me $200 per month. I asked and checked several times, and she confirmed confidently, claiming I can cancel any time if it was not true. So on ******** **** ****, I signed a contract with ** *** to switch the electricity provider which will be effective starting ********* **** ****. About a month ago, I called the energy consultant to confirm it one more time, and she said that she is not working with **** ****** Solution anymore and that the rate she gave me does not include the delivery fee. When I tried to argue, she just kept repeating that she is not working for **** ****** Solution. She told a lie to make me sign the contract.Then, I called **** ****** Solution to cancel this ridiculous contract, but they threatened me saying there will be an early termination fee that is more than $4,000. When I called *****, which will provide electricity, to explain this situation and to cancel the contract, they also just talked about the early termination fee, not taking any responsibility for the ripoff. I even sent them emails multiple times to claim my right to cancel the contract, but they never got back. I cannot afford to pay more than $4000 (as it can be seen from my action to save money, in fact), and even if I could, I will not do so when the responsibility clearly lies within the companies who had the employer causing a scam. I am fed up with the situation and would really appreciate it if you could help me with the problem. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel this contract.

Business Response:

In response to the original complaint, we have apologized numerous times to Mr. ***** for his misinterpretation of this contract agreement. ** *** received legal documentation with Mr. *****’s signature acknowledging that he fully understood all terms and conditions of the contract. ** *** also has no record of the personal conversation between the broker that initiated the agreement and with Mr. *****. Furthermore, ** *** * ******** has paid for this customer’s electrical service in advance on the condition that he would finish his contractual obligation. The contract has been signed and all items have been initialed as to where it states that he is agreeing to switch his services and has a three day right to rescind without penalty. ***** ***** signed the contract on *********. ***** has no records of Mr. ***** calling to cancel before the rescission period ended. The customer contacted ***** on ********, several months after the signature date, to cancel the contract. He was informed of his Early Termination fees for both accounts and stated that he would file a complaint. We informed him that he could go ahead and process the complaints as he wished, but unfortunately we could not waive the fees because of the contracts signed in ******** **** and apologized for any mis-communication. The customer care department replied on ********* 9:05AM to Mr. *****’s inquiry about having 30 days to cancel, informing him of the following: “In regards to *****’s cancellation terms, the structure is as follows. For residential contracts, the customer is entitled to a recession period of three federal business days, which will initiate once the customer receives the welcome packet. The welcome packet includes Terms of Service, Rights as a Customer, and Electricity Facts Label. For commercial contracts, the customer is entitled to a recession period of three federal business days, which will initiate the moment the contract is signed and agreed upon.” Per the Public Utility Commissions of Texas, AP Gas & Electric was in compliance to the rules set forth to all Retail Energy Providers (please view attachment response.)

 

This complaint has been investigated by internal audit team regarding the allegations made by ***** *****.

All pertinent recordings and paperwork are attached with this response.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *****


 

 APG&E has to take a responsibility for the broker's scam because they gave her authorization.

As they mentioned, There were no problems in the contract, Everything was done legally.

But I think if there were  any fraud( such as "save $200 per month") during conversation with broker,

this contract is not valid.

I am contacting PUC to find out what I can do in next. PUC only  check illegal action on the contract not

illegal things from conversation between broker and me.

I know It's very difficult to prove broker's scam. but It is truth.

 

So, this complaint is not solved, until  APG&E take any action for it.

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through the BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

4/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two people represented AP Gas & Electric visited my house on 10/12/2012 and told me I will save money by switching my electric supply provided by them. They gave me a rate of 10.4880 cents and told me I have been paying 10.6511 cents. My son review my bills from 2012 and told me the 10.6511 cents was the delivery charge, not supply. I have been paying between 7.5 to 10.1 cents, not 10.6511 as they claimed. My son called their customer service department and told them I was mislead. They said I have to pay an early termination fee of $67.73. Please note that this was not communicated to me when they were at the house. These two people from the company are targeting ethnic neighborhood in New York taking advantage of people, especially senior citizens that do not understand energy deregulation.

Desired Settlement: Closed my account without a termination fee and refund what I was over-charged.

Business Response:

 

To whom it may concern, 

 

Attached is APG&E's response to the customer's complaint. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me at NYComplaints@apge.com

 

Thank you, 

******

 After a careful review of *** *** ***’s complaint, the following has been concluded from our findings;
 
The Enrollment Request was submitted by ********** *********, LP broker I.D. *******. On 10/26/2012 AP Gas & Electric requested for ***** to switch the services over on the next meter read date at the rate of 0.10488 cents per kWh for 12 consecutive months. On 10/30/2012 APG&E received an Enrollment Request Accept with the Start Date of 11/15/2012. On 2/15/2012 AP Gas & Electric received a Drop Request from *** ****** (Reason Code: CHA Customer Changed to Another Service Provider) with an End Date of: 3/19/2013.
 
On 2/18/2013 *** *** *** emailed AP Gas & Electric informing us that she would be reporting this to The New York Consumer Protection. On 2/19/2013, AP Gas & Electric apologized for any inconvenience we may have caused Mrs. ***. After reviewing Mrs. ***’s account, she was also advised that there would no Early Termination Fee applied for cancelling her account.
 
On 3/05/2013, AP Gas & Electric performed an outbound call to the telephone number on file: ************ in regards to the complaint that had been filed stating she had been slammed. Customer Care Representative was unable to give her the message because of a language barrier, account holder; *** *** *** terminated the call. AP Gas & Electric acknowledges the customers concerns and has agreed to adjust the service periods of 11/14/2012 - 12/14/2012, 12/14/2012 – 01/16/2013, 01/16/2013 – 02/15/2013, and the final reading from 02/15/2013 – 03/19/2013.  
 
According to ***** these are the rates for the service periods of 11/14/2012 - 12/14/2012 (0.08281c/kWh), 12/14/2012 – 01/16/2013 (0.080008c/kWh) 01/16/2013 – 02/15/2013 (0.146167c/kWh), and 02/15/2013 – 03/19/2013 (prices will be adjusted when available).  The early termination fee was not applied, and the customers will return with previous provider by 03/19/2013.
AP G&E identified ********** *********, LP broker I.D.******* as the broker who enrolled this customer. After receiving complaints and readdressing the selling tactics of such mentioned agents to the broker, we have taken steps to ensure this will never happen again by suspending any and all business with ********** *********, LP broker I.D. ******* and their agents. Furthermore, mentioned agents are independent contractors and are not employed by APG&E directly. 
 
 
 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has noted credited my account for payment received and is threatening to disconnect service. On ******** *** **** APG&E deposited my check for $151.93 into their bank account and despite priving them with a copy of the cancelled check, they have yet to credit my account. Furthermore, they have sent notice of their intent to disconnect service. Efforts to get this resolved hasn't received any positive results. Their customer service contact is unwilling to provide me with a contact number to elevate the issue. Yesterday, their phone number was answered with a message saying that the company was closed due to technical issues. They referred you to their website for information. There is nothing on the website regarding this.

Desired Settlement: I am just seeking that the company respond to my numerous phone calls, emails and faxes to try and get this resolved and my account credited with the payment they received and deposited. Additionally, I am requesting assurances that they will not disconnect my electric service and to cease sending notices stating such. Lastly, I am requesting confirmation that payment was received by the due date and no derogatory information is being reported to any credit bureau.

Business Response:

AP G&E received an inbound phone call from ****** **** on **********, he explained to us that he made his payment via our Payment Lockbox **********. After review of this account our company agrees that the customer’s payment was received on **********. However, the payment was posted to the account on **********.

AP G&E acknowledges the fact that a late fee was posted to the customer’s account, and the fee has been removed.  AP Gas and Electric recently had a major system update to improve our payment process. This may have been the reason why the customer’s payment did not post sooner. During this update we have taken care not to disconnect any customers until all issues have been resolved. The customer’s disconnection notice has been disregarded, and all fees that are unwarranted have been removed. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid **** 276.89. Bank verfied, statement given to company. will not credit my account the amount. "they lost it" Paid 276.89 on ****. Verified by the bank, cashed on ****. Turned off my power ****6. Had to pay 276.89+50.00 to reconnect. I sent my bank statement on ****6 to prove the amount had already been paid. Called ****7, ****8 and ****9 to find out why my account still wasn't credited. They said they could not find the funds and they would not credit my account until the funds were found. I proved that I paid 276.89 on ****, the bank verified that my check was cashed by AP G&E. Any accounting errors on their part should no longer be reflected on my balance. They refuse to do the right thing. Thank you

Desired Settlement: AP G&E needs to credit my account 276.89 immediately. I would also like the option to find electric services with another company without retribution.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: The company failed to provide a response to this complaint

12/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/10/2011 Problems with Product/Service