BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mr. Transmission

View Additional Phone Numbers 11642 Jones Road, Houston, TX 77070 http://www.mrtransmissiontexas.com ! There is an alert on Mr. Transmission !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides repair, sales, service, installation, repair and rebuilding of automotive transmissions, standard and automatic.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1992 Business started: 09/26/2002 in TX Business started locally: 09/26/2002
Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Mr. Jim M. Naughton, Manager Ms. Abrian White, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Manager
Related Businesses
Mr. Transmission
Business Category

TRANSMISSION - AUTO REPAIR

Industry Tips
Transmission Repair

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11642 Jones Road

    Houston, TX 77070 (281) 890-9191 (832) 951-2600

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (281) 890-9191(Phone)
  • (832) 951-2600(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The general manager ***** *******, of the store did not fix my car problem I paid 2400 and the problem was still not fixed, and he's wanting me to pay another $300 to fix something else he says was the original problem and i asked him if that was the original problem then why hasnt it been fixed and he fed me a bunch of lies. he also added another 340 right before I was going to pick it up for reasons he lied to me about but I couldnt get my car back without paying. The general manager cussed out my husband, and he was racist he called him an "oriental bastard" and he threatened him and told him to come to the shop and he will be waiting. My husband told him he was a bad mechanic and all he does is take peoples money and doesnt fix their car.My car still remains unfixed and now im going to have to come up with more money to get fixed what I paid ***** ******* to fix and he didnt he just took my money. He told me I needed a whole new valve body which is a transmission rebuild because it was kicking hard when it was shifting gears betwen 1st and 2nd. So he said I needed new solinodes so I paid him for that as well. Then he told me the day I was supposed to pick it up that I needed to pay another $340 because he bought another part for something he wouldnt explain. He kept telling me that something would be a problem so I would fix it and then he would just keeping adding more and more money for stuff that he wouldnt explain clearly. I asked him why didnt he tell me these things in the first place and he just kind of changed the subject to something else that I wasnt even asking.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back because he did not fix the problem. I will even let someone look at my car as proof. But I want my money back so I can get my car fixed by good people who know what they are doing and will actually fix the car and not just take the money.

5/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4-9-2014 I was looking on the internet for a Transmission shop to get a transmiision repair, while I was looking I came across an ad with an $1,385 price for a rebuild worst case senario.http://houstontx.transmissions1.biz/ I called the number and a Mr ****** ******* answered the call and confirmed the ad, so we made arrangements to tow the car to his shop, he then told me the address of the business since it was not listed on the ad, so as I arrived I noticed that the store was a Mr Transmission shop which was not posted on the ad. So I taught maybe this is a ligit business. Mr ******* requested me to prepay the $1,385 and I did by credit card. two days later that friday afternoon about 2 pm Mr ****** ******* called me and told me that the job is going to be an additional $1,200 I then told him no, do not do anything else just stop and I will have the vehicle picked up. Mr ****** ******* got "Loud" on the phone and told me no that if he dosen't get the extra money that he will not release my car and that he will build storages and put a lien on my vehicle. I believe this is a big scam especially since some unauthorized charges appeared on my credit card the next day.

Desired Settlement: I want my car back, and my money back. I wish that I looked at the BBB site earlier I noticed that it is listed as a closed business now. so this must be all a credit card scam.

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. transmission has breeched the contract by not wanting to comply with the agreement of what all was entitle in the job discription. we took our car for service to have the transmission rebuilt. In the job description it list everything that was agreed to be preformed by MR. Transmission it says under parts and labor required 1. recondition standard transmission 3,439.13 2.with new clutch assembly pressure 0.00 3.throw out bearing retainer-fork 0.00 4.wdf:01 limited miledge warranty 69.9510.9 rear end service Fluid24 months unlimited miledge warranty.Now after having our car in the shop for 3months when my husband was told it would take n o more than two weeks and after dealing with four different managers *** ***** who says he has recieved direct instruction from *** ******* who is the ***** of Mr. transmission that he will not pay for the clutch. They have made a couple of offers saying they pay 800.00 and we pay the remaining. my answer to that is no i will not pay anymore that what i was quoted and we agreed upon. The funny thing is that the reciept that was given to us they have a copy that is written on with a new quote on 3909.05 and *** ***** says that is what his copy says. After going back and forth with ***** i have asked for the general manager ***** or ** ****** to give me a call to discuss this and none of them have attempted to resolve this issue. Im asking for help we did a big scarafice by paying mr transission to fix our car because that was our backup money for through out the year. we decided to fix the car because its necessary and we gave and trusted mr transmission with our car and this is the service we are getting. please, please i am begging for your help not to let companies like mr transmission take advantage of consumers like us that went to them in good faith.We havent done nothing wrong but pay for our service. Contact is under ********* ********* ************ we are more than happy to provide you with our reciepts.

Desired Settlement: I just want Mr. transmission to complete the job as intially agreed.

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. Transmission has had my vehicle for 4 months and have not been able to repair the issues with my transmission. I've received many reasons for this, but at the end of the day it shouldn't take 4 months to repair a transmission. They took my money when they originally ordered the first batch of parts and I don't want to lose this money by pulling my vehicle from their shop and taking it someplace else.

Desired Settlement: As my transmission still isn't fixed, there is no good estimate of when it is expected to be done, and I don't have any faith that they can get it fixed at this point, I would like them to send it to, at a minimum, another Mr. Transmission location (Stafford appears to have a good reputation) or ****** * ************* to have the work completed with no additional cost to me.

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service