BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Wilcom Consulting

Additional Locations

Phone: (281) 724-4343 Fax: (281) 971-0416 9100 Southwest Frwy, Ste. 239, Houston, TX 77074 http://www.wilcomconsulting.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides phone systems sales and consulting services, voice over IP, cabling, wireless solutions, network solutions, and customized servers for businesses.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Although this company is not an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, they advertise to be an Accredited Business in their company website.  The BBB has asked this practice cease.  The BBB is seeking legal assistance to protect its name and trademark.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Wilcom Consulting include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved
  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes

While this company is currently an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, the company has failed to mediate or arbitrate a complaint brought to its attention by the bureau.  Accredited Business’s must mediate and/or arbitrate unresolved complaints when requested by the Bureau. The Bureau has notified the company that its status at the BBB will be revoked if the complaint(s) is not answered.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1996 Business started: 02/14/1989 in TX Business started locally: 08/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Public Utility Commission
1701 N. Congress, Austin TX 78701
http://www.puc.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: 888-782-8477
customer@puc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Wilson, V.P. Sales
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Wilson, V.P. Sales
Business Category

TELEPHONE COMPANIES

Alternate Business Names
B D Solutions

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9100 Southwest Frwy, Ste. 239

    Houston, TX 77074

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    919 McKinney Park Lane

    Houston, TX 77003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O.BOX 540104

    Houston, TX 77254

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:  
I don’t know where to begin with this situation. First off, ***** ************** , is a member of BBB with an A+ rating. We have been for over 10 yrs in the greater los angeles ca area.
That being said, Wilcom/**** ******* company  at :
 
5600 N.W. Central Dr.
Houston TX 77092
281-724-4343 Main
855-4WILCOM Toll Free
281-971-0416 Fax
 
 
was issued a  PO to for $3500 on December 13th, 2012.  The gear never arrived at our distributors warehouse and so  we have cancelled the purchase order. We never received the equipment .
 
Mr ****** is telling us from the information below that he admits to not sending the equipment and will reverse the charges, which he hasn’t done still to this day with my ******** credit card.. He says that there is an employee that did this and not him. But if there is, why wont he answer my calls or emails? I have had to hire a collection agency which will be $3000 out of my pocket to get our $15,000 back. He is sending false invoices to ******** business card as a tactic to confuse the issue. No services were rendered and he has our $15,000 and ******** will not co operate with us as well. For what reason I don’t know.. I have listed below all the evidence to prove this guy took us for $15,000. Please let me know if you have any other dealing with this person or his company. Below is an account of what has been going on…
 
 
 
 
1) If Mr. ******/Wilcom is telling the truth, then please have him produce documentation from *** ** that the equipment  was delivered to us and SoTel signed off. THERE ISNT ANY. Furthermore, We have been doing this business for over 10 yrs. and that is how we document our equipment being received from our distributors/warehouse.  There was never one produced. The equipment never was sent.
 Did **** bank even track the *** ** Number given on each invoice??????? ************ If you go to www.*****.com and type in the tracking number, this is what you get…. No record of this tracking number can be found. For more information, please contact Customer Service at ************* ************** 
That would mean that this is a ficticous number. It doesn’t exist. Backing my side of the story that this shipment NEVER happened. (why did your company overlook this?)
 
 
2) This is all verified by Mr. **** ******s email below in this email thread and attached above ( sent to ****** *****-who was assigned to this case initially )
He admitted guilt and assumed responsibility to his companies wrong doing by stating that they had a unscrupulous employee that was stealing from the company!! That’s why the *** ** Number cannot be found. It’s a bogus number..
 
3) This Transaction /PO was ONLY for $3550.
 
With that assumption, Why is there a charge on our credit card for $1506.71, one for $1930.81, one for $1893.77, one for $3550.00, and one for $3500. All adding up to $15,000???
Why so much if we only owe them $3500 for equipment that NEVER arrived. (please reference *** ** # ***********)
4) On each of Wilcom/**** ******s bogus invoices, they state that we are paying for Remote SEO search engine optimization.
If you see our Disclosure statement (which he signed) in the attachments, you will see nothing regarding SEO optimization nor are the correct amounts of phone equipment listed.
If you look at our final PO doc, it tells the customer where to ship and how to ship . Very specific instructions. We pay close attention to detail. We have been doing this for 15 yrs. and send all these documents to ALL our customers.
 
So let’s recap,
 
1) No legitimate *** ** Tracking or Documentation to support his claim.
 
2) His email stating his admission to guilt:
 
****,
 
    I appreciate your e-mail. The situation is not the easiest one I have had to deal with, but overall your e-mail was understanding vs. the other communication we have had with (evidently) other members within your organization. Either way, I appreciate your e-mailing me back & I can certainly relate to your family & the situation over all. You hit it right on the nail with regards to John. He was hiding the e-mails & deleting the v-mails & we had absolutely no idea until the BBB called me with your complaint. He was immediately let go, unfortunately he had full access (debit card too) to our general account & withdrew funds (not only from this transaction, but from my personal funds) from our account. He also stole servers/phone systems (including the equipment to be shipped to you) & other various items. We learned a valuable lesson here. Also I feel the need to point out that we have never sold equipment over the phone before like that. We are strictly a local PBX/IT firm that installs & services here in Houston. This was not a typical transaction, the only reason I ok’d it was because he said he had a buyer (for over $200.00 per phone, which I know now that you never agreed to). So, with that said is there anything I can do at this point in this matter? I am more than happy to call, e-mail and/or fly out if need be (considering the circumstances) to your place of business just to make it perfectly clear that we are very sorry for all of this. Has your money been refunded? Is there anything I can do? Where do we go from here? Please let me know & again thank you very much for your understanding. Have a blessed day.
 
 **** ******
Wilcom Consulting Inc.
Website www.wilcomconsulting.com
5600 N.W. Central Dr.
Houston TX 77092
281-724-4343 Main
855-4WILCOM Toll Free
281-971-0416 Fax
 

 
 
 
3) PO is for $3500 and his company is charging us over a 3 month period, $15,000 .
4) Charging us for SEO Optimization? ( not even on any of our PO’s) That is not phone equipment nor does it even pertain to telecommunications.
 
5) As for trying to contact Mr. ****** at his cell phone number-************ several times , he doesn’t answer. I have made several attempts to contact him via email at: **** ****** *******************.com and not answer.  I have also tried contacting the other number given ************ and no one answers. Very odd when in his apology/admission to guilt email he claims that he wants to help with the situation in any way he can. 
 
In my mind, I don’t know how much clearer this could be that these are ALL bogus charges… What am I missing here? Please let me know what you find out  by calling me directly ASAP
************** This case is not closed and I need the charges to be reversed.. I have spent countless hours and lost a lot of sleep over this not to mention the money I have lost not attending to my customers.
 
 
Sinerely,
 
 
***** Communications
 
*** *****-Sales
 
************** 
877-310-2758 Fax
 
 
Member in Good Standing with BBB
Trustlink AAA Rating!

 
 

Desired Settlement: Mr ****** is telling us from the information below that he admits to not sending the equipment and will reverse the charges, which he hasn’t done still to this day with my ******** credit card..

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

3/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From: **** ******* ********************************] Sent: Thursday, February 14, 2013 12:06 PM To: drteam Subject: credit card fraud There is a company in Houston, Tx. That says they are a member of the BBB. The company is Wilcom Consulting located @ 5600 N.W. Central Dr. #*** Since December 3rd 2012 – February 7th 2013 an individual representing Wilcom Consulting (**** *********) Has fraudulently charged my companies credit card eight times. Amounting to more than $5000

Desired Settlement: Please let me know why a organization such as the BBB would be associated w/ this group of thieves. If you can enlighten me w/ something I am misunderstanding ,or if the BBB has any other information, Please let me know. Thanks, **** ******* ******* ********* *** **** ********* *** Fenton, Mo. 63026 ************

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

2/21/2013 Delivery Issues
12/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service