This business is not BBB accredited.

Houston Pool Remodeling

View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 743, Fulshear, TX 77441 http://www.hpoolr.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes custom gunite pool renovation and new construction for both residential and commercial customers and management companies.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Houston Pool Remodeling include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Houston Pool Remodeling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1995 Business started: 10/01/1988 Business started locally: 10/01/1988
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Steve Kendrick, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Kendrick, Owner
Business Category

SWIMMING POOL CONTRACTORS, DEALERS, DESIGN

Products & Services

Houston Pool Remodeling sells the following brand(s): Pentair, Pentair

Alternate Business Names
HPR & Associates
Industry Tips
POOL & SPA - CHOOSING A CONTRACTOR

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 743

    Fulshear, TX 77441

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 20, 2012, I hired ***** ********, doing business as Houston Pool Remodeling, to perform a remodel of my pool. ***** claimed that he needed to purchase the equipment quickly because he expected price increases at year end. Therefore, the agreement called for an immediate payment of $10,600 for the purchase of equipment (which included: lights, an Intellitouch 9+3 controller, a load center, a spa remote, an indoor panel, and a Pentair XF 5hp pump). I was repeatedly assured by ***** that the equipment had been purchased. But, none of it was ever delivered or installed. For Jan, Feb, and 1/2 of March, ***** blamed his continued delays on the City and HOA. But, I don't believe it took 2 1/2 months to get permits and HOA approvals. After numerous no-shows and excuses during April, I threatened to fire him in late May. At that time, he said he had been "working in the background" and was ready to go. The next week, his crews showed up to perform demolition work. They removed the existing concrete deck around the pool, the existing waterfall, the coping, and the tile. The next week ***** showed up with samples and brochures for me to make new tile, plaster, and deck selections. Things seemed to be back on track. Our agreement called for a 35% payment upon demolition of the deck. But, given that there had already been 6 months of delays, I told ***** I would give him 1/2 and would pay the other 1/2 soon if I continued to see progress. He agreed. In July, progress continued slowly. That's when ***** told me he needed the other 1/2 of the payment so that he could pay the gunite contractor up front. I agreed and made the payment -- which put me $30,000 into the project. I found out later (when I got a Lien Notice) that ***** never paid the gunite crew. Except for some plumbing, nothing happened from Sept through Nov, when I finally decided to contact an attorney. At that time, I learned that ***** had been sued before but basically had no assets to satisfy a judgement.

Desired Settlement: ***** was unwilling to perform even the simplest requests like:(1) deliver the equipment that I paid for, and (2) pay off the gunite contractor to get the Lien removed from my property. Because of ******* unwillingness to show any good faith towards resolution of the issues, I fired him. My desired resolution is a full refund. But, at a minimum, I want a refund of the $10,600 I paid for equipment plus a refund of $9,945 that will cover the gunite contractors and removal of the lien.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Houston Pool Remodeling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)