This business is not BBB accredited.

Marque Learning Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 982-0310 Fax: (713) 455-8281 11811 East Freeway, Suite 300, Houston, TX 77029 http://www.marquelearningcenter.com ! There is an alert on Marque Learning Center !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides an adult high school diploma program and home school support.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

41 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 38 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 13
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 25
Total Closed Complaints 41

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Marque Learning Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 08, 2004 Business started: 06/26/2003
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Henry Guerra Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Henry Guerra Jr., Owner
Business Category

SCHOOLS-GENERAL INTEREST


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11811 East Freeway, Suite 300

    Houston, TX 77029 (800) 982-0310

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14014 Oak Leaf Lane

    Houston, TX 77015 (713) 453-0310

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    855 Uvalde Road, 2nd Floor

    Houston, TX 77015 (713) 453-0310

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/26/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to marque Learning center on2/**/14 to get and pay for my GED certificate and pay $100 on that day and they gave me the supplies to take the test, and on 3/**/14 went back and took all my paperwork and pay my remaining balance of $95 dollars and got my receipt and 2 days after they call me to tell me that I have to pay again because they are saying that i din't pay and that now I have to pay $100 because i took $5 that was not my change , but I did and they excuse is that the lady that took the payment was sick and did a lots of mistakes that day , also they are saying that the cameras don't show i pay but i got $5 change back and my receipt , please help me to straight this out and get my certificate.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me my certificate and not to pay again for what i already did.

Business Response: Customer has been given full credit and her work is being processed. Everything has been resolved.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a Cosmetology School In Temple and Round Rock, Texas. To obtain a Pell Grant from the Department of Education applicants coming to our schools must have a HS Diploma. Our applicant paid to get her HS Diploma from Marque Learning Center of Houston, Texas which represented themself as an accredited leaning center. This student took the course and was awarded a diploma. The Diploma was just a worthless piece of paper. We spoke to an officer of Marque Learning Center and they lied saying that they were accredited and sent us fake accrediting papers from the National Private Schools Accreditation Group of Orlanda, Florida. When we call NPSAG we found that this was actually a Real Estate and Finance Company and had no affiliation with a school or educational facilities. They did admit that the school's High School Diplomas under their accredition would not be accepted by the Department of Education and this student should take a GED examination. We feel that the BBB should have this knowledge and have a copy of a list that we have from the Department of Education listing schools that are issuing fraud High School diplomas. This will help these people who have been and are being cheated by these company's misrep- resentation. Your assistance in this matter will be appreciated. ****** *******

Desired Settlement: We request that all monies paid for a High School Diploma be refunded to our student. The school should inform all applicants that the diploma's issued by Marque Learning Center are not be accepted by schools certified by the Department of Education.

Business Response:


Marque Learning Center is a home school organization for adults in Texas, under Texas law we are not required to obtain accreditation. For accountability purposes we have an accrediting body in Florida oversee our operations. Attached is a form that every student receives at enrollment stating we do not guarantee acceptance into technical or trade schools but only traditional colleges and also explains our refund policy.




8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This high school diploma is a *****. It is not recognized by the*****. And its accredit by ********** ******* who sells the***************

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of this**** diploma.

Business Response:

We are a home school and our business is registered with the***** ** *****. We have been in operation for ** ***** and have* offices to assist you. When you registered you signed a "Refund Policy Notice" and on that policy notice you were made aware of what organizations we work with.

I do not see any actual reason for your complaint other than the***** accusation of ****** being**********. The ***** ** ***** does not have anything to do with any home school organizations. They only govern public and private schools for people under the age of ** years old. The***** ** ***** also governs the *** ******* so they have neither affiliation nor any dealings with home schools.

Please call our ********* ****** ** ************ and we will be more than happy to assist you and find out why you are requesting a refund. If your reasons fall under our refund policy guidelines then a full refund will be issued to you immediately.

 

Thank you,

***** ******