BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Holden Roofing

Find a Location

Phone: (281) 344-9083 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O.Box 955, Richmond, TX 77406 http://www.holdenroofing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a roofing contractor.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Although this company is not an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, they advertise to be an Accredited Business in their latest ad in the Houston Northwest Yellowbook.  The Better Business Bureau logo is displayed in their ad without authorization from the BBB.  This constitutes trademark infringement.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Holden Roofing include:

  • Government action(s) against business
  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1961 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1961 Business incorporated: 09/05/1997 in TX
Business Management
Mr. Brett Holden, President Mr. Chris Garrett, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett Holden, President
Principal: Mr. Travis Joyce, General Manager
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
ROOFING REPAIRS

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O.Box 955

    Richmond, TX 77406 (281) 344-9083

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    235 S. Commercial

    Aransas Pass, TX 78336

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1216 FRANKLIN ST

    WEATHERFORD, TX 76086

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3872 State Highway 64 W Pmb 306

    Tyler, TX 75704

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (713) 771-1487(Phone)
  • (888) 553-1318(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ******* I received estimate from on ****** ***** to install new roof due to recent hail damage. Was told that after roof installed within approx two weeks new gutters would be put on.They try to arrange more within same neighborhood. After phone calls on roof they finally install second week in *** and never heard anything about gutters. After three calls to ****** and two calls to their office and being invoice for the total job, invoice date ******* people showed up to due gutters. They never called and tore off one afternoon and was to install next day. After tear off notice that all drip edge was not done. Called that morning and told them ******* and she said she would notify someone. No one showed so about halfways on completed job I called again and told same story. The people doing gutters said they could complete their work and drip edge could be finish later. Again I called ******* and second call talk with **** and was informed that someone would contact me. On friday ******* I called **** and told her I was not calling anymore, just fix my roof. Later that morning ******* called me and said someone would be out Monday ******* between 12-1 to complete. I waited all day as not to miss no one showed up or even called me. Waited all day Tuesday ******* again no one showed up and on one called. On Wednesday ******* I called and ask to speak to owner/manager. Not in but left my name and phone number. Later that morning **** called and said manager out of town. She wanted to apologized for issue but will not accept. I wanted to speak to the manager. Will complete the drip edging myself and have window checked by a professional this was also promised by ****** but never happened. I want nothing to due with this company. Their help to customers is terrible,feel like I am in their way. They wanted their money for a job that never got completed. ****** had told me when he finally called me that he was going to put a change order in but failed to mention the reason they billed me.

Desired Settlement: Going to complete myself or hire someone to complete. Will get own professional out to look at my window. With all that they have put me threw with saying one thing and never never following up with that I am going to bill them for the amount it costs me to fix. I have waited now over three and half months for a completed job that ****** said would be approx two weeks. Even with all that they dont even have the courtesy to call and give you any information. I only find out when I call to gather.

Business Response:

*** ****,

    I want to first apologize for not reaching out to you myself yesterday, as I was unavailable and unable to respond by phone.  I did however have ***** ******, our ****** *******, contact you to resolve your issues at which time, it appears you hung up on her during the conversation.  After speaking with you today, it appears that a repair appointment was scheduled with you for Monday and repairs were not completed at the appointment time.  I deeply apologize for the miscommunication but per your request, you will be changing out the section of drip edging that was behind your gutters instead of allowing our repair crew access to the property to do so.  

   As for the your time line for work, while the original contract was signed in Late *****, you were informed that we had a small back log of roofing projects to complete after recent hail storms in your area.  The job roofing portion of the project was completed within three weeks of your contract being signed and the roof itself was completed in less than 2 days.  There was some question as to whether or not you wanted to have Holden Roofing proceed with installation of the guttering. I believe the insurance company had only paid for a section of the guttering and you were asking for it all to all be replaced.  In the end, although all of the guttering was not paid for by your insurance carrier, Holden Roofing went ahead and replaced all guttering on the home with no additional charge to you in an attempt to please you as our customer.  I will review your final invoice and send out a revised invoice reflecting the changes we spoke about on the phone today.  Thank you for your business,

****** *****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ****


Business Response: *** ****,

To clarify a couple items brought up on your response:

1. I personally called and spoke with you on three separate occasions in an effort to resolve your issues. You asked specifically to not be contacted and that no one show up to your home again from our office. On all three occasions, you hung the phone up on me before the conversation was over.

2. You stated that you would be sending in a check to pay your bill in full, at which time I asked what you felt would be just compensation for the drip edge replacement that you insisted on repairing your self, at which time you asked me to "send whatever I felt was fair". Drip edge is estimated at $1.52 per linear foot and per our conversation, we estimated that 20-30 feet needed to be replaced.  Please also note that the original drip edge was retro-fitted to fit your original gutters.  Your decision to replace the gutters  made it necessary for us to replace the drip edge as necessary to fit the new gutter hanger pattern. Not a big deal and we were happy to make the repairs for you as necessary.   The refund of $250 more than adequately covered the repairs, estimated  at roughly $45.60 and the time and any headache involved in making them. (Again, i offered to send another repair crew and come out personally to insure that the repairs were completed which you declined).

Please feel free to contact me at ************ or by email at ************************ should you need any further assistance from Holden Roofing.


Thanks
Holden Roofing, INC.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

4/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Holden Roofing is listing themselves as acredited by the BBB in the phone book but NOT acredited on the BBB website. They are listed in the ********** ****** ********** 2012-2013 page 507,508, and 509. This is false advertisement.

Desired Settlement: Have them remove there false add.

Business Response: Mr. **********,
  It appears that the ********** ********** ran an old ad that was never signed off on by Holden Roofing.  We have made a request that the ****** **** remove the BBB insignia from any advertisements as we are no longer accredited members with the organization.Our sales representatives and all of our literature does not make reference to membership with the Better Business Bureau. Please let me know if there is anything further we can do to assist you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/23/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/18/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1