BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Rothschild Painters & Associates

Phone: (281) 313-8272 Fax: (281) 712-1292  

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides residential and commercial painting contractor services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Although this company is not an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, they advertise to be an Accredited Business on their company invoices.  The BBB has asked this practice cease.  The BBB is seeking legal assistance to protect its name and trademark.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Rothschild Painters & Associates include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaints filed against business
  • Advertising issue(s) found by BBB


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 05, 2009 Business started: 10/08/1982 in VT Business started locally: 10/08/1982
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Hal Rothschild, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hal Rothschild, Owner
Business Category

PAINTING CONTRACTORS

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the absolute worst business I have ever had to deal with. All this week 5/13 until now I have had to wait and or call this business to see what their schedule is. They tell me they are going to be at my house at a certain time and they are always late. The office seems to not know exactly what is going on and when the workers come to the house, they do not have all the necessary documents to do the job. I would think they would come with the materials and not have to come and leave to go get supplies. I am the customer I should not have to call each day to see what time people are coming in. I would strongly advise people not to use this company. Poor customer service and the business is AWFUL. To think they have the BBB accreditation, I don't see how they managed that.

Desired Settlement: None just disappointed in the business

Business Response: This Lady Needs Help, "We Started And Competed This $2,000.00  Exterior Job In 3 Days From The Start Of The Job".  

"The Job Was An Exterior Pressure Washing, Carpentry Repairs Involved, Prep Work  And Complete Exterior Painting Job". 

 "We Were Paid In Full".

 Need I Say More.

*** ********** 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/9/14 I was given a contract and paid $355 (50% of the work) to Rothschild Painters. The check was cashed that night (photos available). I was told I would hear from the guy that would do the work in 3-5 days. I kindly gave him 15. Since then, I have called almost everyday and have been given the run around without any answer. The man also took the cabinet doors he was to fix. Now, I'm missing the money and the doors. On 3/29 I received an e-mail from Hal stating it would be done by Monday. It is Thursday and no one can seem to give me an answer, return a call or e-mail.

Desired Settlement: Not only do I want a complete refund (or the work done), but I want all of the pieces taken back. If this cannot be provided, I would like them to pay the difference in having to replace all the cabinetry work since the doors are not easily replaceable.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I are listing our home to sell and enlisted Rothschild Painters to do many repairs, including painting, new flooring and flooring repair. We have spent thousands of dollars and to date have continously gone behind the workers to complete their work (I have pictures). Right now, Rothchild's has $220 paid to them to purchase a box of hardwood from ****'s to make repairs to our Dining Room floor (plus the difference to equal 50% of the total which was $440.00). We were told the cost of the box was $150; correct cost is $96. After multiple attempts to contact Rothschild to find the status of the hardware order, I finally spoke to a specific individual the morning of 3/22 and she agreed to call ****'s to see if the hardwood order was in. She called me back an hour later to advise the hardwood was in and assured me someone would be by around 8:30AM Sunday morning, March 23 to make the repairs. No one came all day on March 23,and no one called to explain why. (This is typical of this business to make commitments, not meet them, but never contact to advise, or make any apology for your time spent waiting or rearranging schedules.) I have since called repeatedly to try to get them out to make the repair. No answer on their business phone. I went to ****'s this morning and purchased another box of the hardwood that matches our floor for $96. Our home was listed for sale this morning. I hold Rothschild's liable for any negative impact to our ability to sell our home due to their ability to keep their repair commitment. Per ****'s, Rothschild's picked up the box of hardwood on March 22. PLEASE DO NOT allow this business to tout BBB support!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like for Rothschild's to complete the hardwood repair TODAY before the absence of this repair has a negative impact to our ability to selling our home. OR, I would like for Rothschild's to deliver the box of hardwood (for which cost $96), but we paid $220 in advance, to us at our home so we can quickly get someone else to do the repair. If they simply deliver the box of hardwood, I also want a refund of $104.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 03/12/2014 Rothschild Painters provided my husband and I with a proposal to power wash and paint (2 coats) the peak and circle at the front of our house. We were told the the job would be completed 03/13 power wash and painting on 03/14. We were never contacted of a change so I called them on Saturday 3/15 and every day through 3/22. Each time I was told that someond would be out that day, but no one came or called. On Saturday 3/22 I called and told the woman that answered that I wanted to speak with the owner. She said she would contact him and call me right back. Two hours later I called her back and she said she was still trying to contact the owner. My husband and I went shopping. When we got home at 6:00pm they was a message from a man saying he finised the painting and wanted to stop by for the check. I checked and he didn't paint the wood circle so he called the owner and came back to paint it. I told the painter and I called the owner and said that I didn't think he painted 2 coats because he only used 1.5 inches of paint from a gallon can. The owner got mad and hung up on me. I gave the man the check and on the check I noted that I would be turning this in to the BBB. The main reason we went with Rothschild Painters is because their sign in a neighbor yard, their business card and the proposal they gave us has the "BBB Accredited Business" noted. I truely don't believe that they could have painted the very large peak and wood circle with only 1.5 inches of paint and their service was terrible.

Desired Settlement: We supplied the paint and I would like another coat of paint on the peak and circle.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired to repair cracks in sheetrock and paint. All of the cracks have come back about 1 month after they did the work. I have called them 3 times. Left 2 messages that were not returned. I eventually got someone to answer the phone and explained the problem. I was told someone would call back to set up an appointment to come back out. It's been nearly 2 weeks and no one has called.

Desired Settlement: They should refund my money.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: After the initial complaint and follow up notices were sent, the company failed to respond. 

10/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1