BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Big Tex Tree Nurseries, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Big Tex Tree Nurseries, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (281) 763-7433 Fax: (281) 288-4211 19333 North Fwy, Spring, TX 77388 http://www.bigtextrees.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in trees, palms, plants, and more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Big Tex Tree Nurseries, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Big Tex Tree Nurseries, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Big Tex Tree Nurseries, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 14, 2010 Business started: 02/01/2010 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/2010 Business incorporated: 02/01/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Agriculture
1700 N. Congress Ave. SF Austin Bldg, Rm 1100A, Austin TX 78701
http://www.agr.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 463-7476

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Leslie Blake, Owner Mr. Dave Holom, Regional Manager Mr. Tyler Mandroian, Online Marketing Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leslie Blake, Owner
Principal: Mr. Dave Holom, Regional Manager
Business Category

NURSERIES-PLANTS, TREES, ETC


Additional Locations

  • 10939 Katy Freeway

    Houston , TX 77079 (713) 465-1801

  • 19333 North Fwy

    Spring, TX 77388 (281) 763-7433

  • 6540 Hwy. 105

    Conroe, TX 77304 (281) 763-7440

  • 9755 Hwy 6 South

    Sugar Land, TX 77498 (281) 763-7444

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A company employee appeared at the house to conduct a landscaping estimate. As requested by the company, I paid the employee $100 (in cash) to conduct the estimate, and the $100 was to be credited towards the purchase of trees and plants. When I asked the employee for a receipt, he stated that he would email me a receipt later that afternoon when he emailed me a computer drawing of how the landscaping would appear. I never did receive the receipt or any email that Saturday evening. Having not received anything over the next several days, I called the company on Wednesday to inquire about my receipt and computer drawing. I was then told that the employee no longer worked at the company and, paraphrasing, that the employee ran off with my money. Disgusted with the whole situation, I insisted that the company return my money. Initially the company resisted, but when I explained that I wanted my money returned because I no longer needed their services and because I no longer had faith in the company, I was directed to the ******,. the general manager. After several phone calls with ******, it was agreed on or about August 19th that the company would mail a $100 refund check to my office. Three weeks later no check has been received and now ****** is apparently avoiding my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $100.

Business Response: Dear Sir,

 
The refund check has been issued and mailed by the company.  We apologize for the delay and for your time involved.  
 
Regards,
 
**** *****
 
Human Resources

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 

7/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a number of trees and oleanders from Big Tex in Conroe. When they were delivered on May 14 there were two problems.1. Two pear Trees and One Peach Tree were not delivered but were promised for the next day. after a number of calls and e-mail I still do not have the trees. Today is 5 June so this is three weeks from the initial date and during this time they were supposed to have been delivered on three occasions, May 15 promised by the driver on 14 May, and twice more by ***** ******* the last appointment scheduled for yesterday 4 June. These were all done on the phone.2. The oleanders brought out were not ones which ***** and I selected and tagged. While the pots may be the right size the plants are much smaller than those selected. ***** agreed to correct this.

Desired Settlement: What I want is really very simple:Do what you contracted and were paid to do.

Business Response: Mr. ******** is scheduled for June 18th for the installation of his trees.  This issue has been resolved by our management team at the Lake Conroe store from which he purchased.

 
Thank you!
 
**** ****** Regional Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

They cannot provide the larger oleanders I selected because they "simply do not have them" at this time.  I bought a Bartlet pear as a polinator for the the two Ayres Pears they planted instead of the Bartlett's I wanted since Ayres Pears are not self-fertile.

 
Yesterday they planted the pear.  I give up, it has been over 90 days since this all started.
This letter is to inform you that Big Tex Tree Nurseries, LLC has carried out the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on 6/5/2014 7:19:55 PM and assigned ID *********

Regards,

**** ********

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I visited Big Tex Trees and were talked into buying their Tru Green Laurels. We were told they stay green year round. Also, that they grow extremely fast and are used for screening. We told the salesman that we had an apartment complex built close behind our house and wanted some privacy. We share the wood fence. We bought 4 Tru Green Laurels they were 15 foot and we paid a total of $3,895.92 They were delivered and planted on March 2nd 2013. The beginning of the year we had a cold freeze. Just before the year mark, all 4 trees had purple leaves and looked pretty bad. We made calls to Big Tex weekely telling them that we were worried and wanting them to come out but they never would. They reassured us weekly and told us that the trees would come back. Then they told us to cut down like you would a crape myrtle. We did. Nothing changed. My husband exhausted and devestated finally decided to go to the tree nusery. The guys were very nice and gave my husband more advice and gave him fertilizer and moon juice. Another couple weeks and still no change. We are sad, broke, and without trees.

Desired Settlement: We would love new trees.

Business Response: Hello,

 
Our store manager, *** *******, has contacted the Bienvenu party and come to an agreement to replace the frozen trees for $200 each, plus a $99 delivery charge.  The customer will be in today to pick out his replacement trees.  Thank you for your assistance.
 
**** *****

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 

5/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought two trees in July 2013 with the written warranty that they would be replaced should they die within one year. The trees appeared dying in December 2013. I came in to the store and told the Manager, **** ********, about the dying trees. He told me to give the trees some time to see whether they'd recover and, if I wanted, the store would replace (remove the dead trees and plant the new trees) the trees at $100 each. Now, this was against replacing-the-trees-for-free warranty, but I reluctantly agreed. I went out to pick the replacement trees but none was good. So, I said I'd come back when new shipments are in. I came back two times last week, but in both times, I was told to pay $200 per tree to have the dead ones removed and the new ones planted or $100 per tree without removing the dead and planting the new trees.

Desired Settlement: Remove the warranted dead trees and furnish and plant replacement trees.

Business Response: We apologize that you were given conflicting pricing on the replacement of your two dead trees.  As per the invoice terms and conditions, which are on the reverse side of every invoice, our warranty is 90 days from the original installation date for free replacement.  Your trees were installed in July of 2013, and subsequently died in December of 2013.  We try to do as much as possible for our customers, and one of those things is to discount replacement trees that are out of the original written warranty.  We would be happy to replace the two trees at the originally quoted $100-per-tree quote, as well as remove the dead trees that we planted last July for free.

 
I hope this seems reasonable.
 
Thank you for your time,
 
**** *****
Big Tex Tree Nurseries, Regional Manager
*************  ****

5/16/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Charged wrong amount on credit card. Took over 2 weeks to finally have it fixed after numerous phone calls and a complaint with our bank.2) We were told we would be 'bumped up' for delivery which never happened.3) We received a credit for the credit hassle and worked with store manager on our order. Store manager stated he'd attach it to our existing order which was scheduled for delivery for 4/16/14. At delivery, new order was not delivered. Driver did not have new order attached to existing order. Delivery guys also hit a utility line which caused us to lose cable and internet. I called Big Tex 2x on 4/16 to discuss delivery issue and cable being hit and was told store manager would return my call. He never did. I called 4/17/14 and spoke with *****. After a couple phone calls to get status, he said all he could do was put us on the delivery list for 5/8/14 since store manager was out of the office. We have had nothing but issues with them.

Desired Settlement: We want our plants delivered immediately.

Consumer Response: Items were delivered but still upset about customer service, lack of returned phone calls, and the fact that ***** lied to me on the phone and said the store manager ***** was not in that day and that there were no other managers available to speak with. When my husband called a couple hours later, he did speak directly with ***** and expressed that ***** had lied to me.

Business Response: Hello,

 
The customer will be contacted by telephone today to get this resolved.  ******* ***** will personally call them and arrange for a solution.
 
Thank you, 
 
**** *****

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Big Tex Tree nurseries came to our property to plant 3 trees on **** *** ****. They damaged a water sprinkler pipe while planting one tree. I phoned to let them know this within the week, was promised a visit the next week to investigate. No one came, called to find out why and was told it was too wet. Rescheduled again. Again no one came, called to find out why. They reschedule, no one came. Called again. Spoke with ******* who is the manager, he said someone would be out this past thursday **** ******. No one cam no phone call nothing.Sent them an email through their web site and have told them I will be taking the problem up with the BBB. Please help me resolve this issue. Our sprinkler system is brand new installed in *****. Was working wonderfully until Big Tex Trees came along.

Desired Settlement: Would like them to agree to pay for the repair which I would like my sprinkler people to perform as I don't think I would trust them to complete it correctly.

Business Response: Hello,

 
I am following up on a complaint sent to us by the BBB regarding damage to your water line.  My **** Store Manage has told me they have contacted you and are getting this resolved.  Please don't hesitate to call me directly with any concerns.
 
Thank you,
 
 
**** ***** ******** ******* ************
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****


 

 

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On *** 18, 2013 I purchased a "Purple-Leafed-Plum" tree at the Conroe store. *******, who sold us the tree stated that the tree was alive although, at that time of year, there was no foilage. In ***** I stopped by the store with a photo which showed no sign of foliage and was instructed to wait at least another month (local trees of this variety had yet to leaf-out I was told). Finally I called the store and was told by **** to bring by my receipt. I did so, accompanied also by photos from ***** onward and one dead branch. The lot of trees from which mine came were all either dead or dying. I requested a refund and that was denied. When I returned home and finally dug up the dead tree, it was obvious that it had been hopelessly root-bound as apparently are the remaining trees from this lot. My request for a refund was denied again by ******* who is now at the Spring,Tx store. All this is documented in dated digital photos.

Desired Settlement: The dead tree is available for the company's inspection and/or pickup. The cost of this dead tree was $108.25.

Business Response:

Hello Mr. ******,

 

I'm sorry your purple leaf plum tree did not turn out the way we would have liked.  We will happily exchange the tree for another of equal value.  I am the ******* ******* at the Spring store and have some beautiful purple leaf plums in stock that have good root balls and nice tops.  Unfortunately, we cannot issue a refund.  If our company delivered and planted the tree, we will be happy to do that again under warranty.  If you planted the tree yourself, you can elect to pick a new tree up at no charge, or pay us to deliver and plant the new tree.  Also, you can wait till end of summer if you prefer to replace-  cooler temps are better for planting that particular type of tree.  Just simply let me know please.

 

Regards,

 

 

**** ***** ************

 

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 30th I visited the Katy freeway Big Tex Tree location and spoke with salesman *** ********. I was looking for 6 medium sized Italian Cypress trees and was shown several approximately 12' - 15' tall. These trees however, were in poor condition, but was told a shipment of news trees was due in approximately a week and *** would pick out 6 trees in good condition. A price of $300/tree was mutually agreed to be paid. Including staking and delivery, total price was $2,867.48. The trees were delivererd and planted on April 12th. However, at only 8' tall, the trees planted were significantly shorter than those I had purchased. I spoke with *** ********* on the phone and he acknowledged that the trees delivered were shorter than those I had paid for but there was nothing he could do and passed me along to his manager ******* *****(?). I spoke with Mr. ***** and he understood I was shown trees of a different height than what was delivered, but would check his inventory and see if he could find replacement trees in the correct height range and would get back with me. After several messsges and unreturned phone calls, I visited the location to speak personally with Mr. *****. He was not there in person, but the asst manager spoke with him by phone. Thier best offer was to give me store credit of $50 per tree for a total of $300.

Desired Settlement: While I think it is low, the offer of $50/tree as refund on my credit card would be acceptable and that is what. I do not want a store credit as I will not do business with this company again and will tell friends and acquaintances not to purchase from them either.

Business Response: Hello,


Per our customer's request, we will refund the $50 per tree to his credit card.  The store manager,******* *****, will call him to arrange for the refund.  This will be taken care of today. 

Thank you for your time and assistance. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I received Mr. *****'s phone call in reference to complaint ID ******* and accepted his offer to refund $50 per tree.  This resolution is satisfactory to me.  As per my credit card statement, the business has performed this action and I consider this complaint resolved. Thank you for your help and Mr. ***** for his consideration.  

Regards,

**** ***********

 


 

 

3/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased four trees from Big Tex Trees that are still under the one year guarantee. Two are dead. We dutifully emailed and / or called and had Big Tex personnel come out every quarter to inspect the trees. Now, one is starting to crack and is a hazard... limbs are very brittle. These are large trees. We were very satisfied with the service we were getting from a sales rep... until he had to turn it over to *******, the manager. Since that time, we have had no response. We have begged and pleaded with staff at the company, calling and emailing no less than ten times without response, to have ******* contact us. Each time we have been ignored as ******* is "with customers" or "busy" or "not here." Apparently, you aren't a customer if it's a question of honoring the warranty... then there is no time for you. The staff we have talked to confirmed that ******* had a "complete file" with "pictures and reports" on the trees... yet he won't talk to us or address our concerns. We do not have unlimited time to deal with this, nor can we take off from work on little notice. Apparently Big Tex is unwilling to honor their guarantee. We are due a timely solution, and Big Tex needs to honor their guarantee in a timeframe when planting the replacement trees is optimal! Note that our trees in the front have lived just fine for 6 years... it's only the trees from Big Tex that have needed to be replaced. They should honor their warranty, or refund us our money.

Desired Settlement: 1. ******* calls within one week with suitable options for replacement trees. One of the dead trees cannot be replaced with a "like for like" we are open to fast growing, large trees instead of a like for like. 2. ******* arranges for the replacement, at their sole expense, at a time and on a day where we are able to be home while planting. It must happen before the end of March to provide time for the new trees to acclimate before intense heat.

Business Response:

Our Katy Store manager ******* ***** has successfully contacted Mrs. ***** in regards to the complaint.  Mrs. ***** will come in to the nursery and select replacements when she returns to Texas.  These trees are under warranty and will be replaced under our warranty terms as stated on her invoice.  The customer does travel a bit for work and will come in when able.

Thank  you

12/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service