This business is not BBB accredited.

Woodlands Moving & Storage, The

Phone: (281) 362-9559 Fax: (281) 292-6032 28100 Robinson Rd, Suite C, Conroe, TX 77385 http://www.woodlandsmoving.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Woodlands Moving & Storage specializes in moving and storage.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Woodlands Moving & Storage, The include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes

Factors that raised the rating for Woodlands Moving & Storage, The include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Woodlands Moving & Storage, The
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 2000 Business started: 07/04/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://dmv.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689

U.S. Department of Transportation
400 7th Street, SW, Washington DC 20590
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/
Fax Number: 617-494-2783

Business Management
Mr. Jason Adams, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Adams, President
Business Category

MOVERS

Alternate Business Names
Woodlands Moving and Storage

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    28100 Robinson Rd, Suite C

    Conroe, TX 77385 (281) 362-9559

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I hired this company to pack up our household goods and store them until we could move into our new home. We paid several thousands of dollars for multiple trips and delivery of the goods. They used the furniture dolly to haul boxes and such upstairs in the new home on new carpet which dirtied the new carpet and parked in the driveway with the heavy truck and left significant tire marks on the concrete and a huge divot in the freshly laid sod. In addition, several pieces of our furniture (2 ottomans, a sofa cushion, an oversized chair cushion) were damaged by the box cutters when they were removing the cellophane wrapping from them. I cannot replace these items. The company is out of business. We did speak to someone from the company and they "offered" to pay for carpet cleaning yet we haven't seen any money. I paid to have the driveway pressure washed without success. The furniture is probably a loss but I would like a claim form and was promised one but have yet to receive it. After reading the reviews on the BBB, I am not confident I will ever see it. I am sickened at the amount of money and trust we put into a company to move our personal goods. They also took little care in the placement of the boxes. I still have boxes in the garage that belong in my son's room upstairs. I was paying for quality service and did not receive it. I want my furniture replaced and $140 for the cost of the carpet cleaning and driveway power washing. Thank you.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Woodlands Moving & Storage to move me from my ****** residence to my new house in the ******* (invoice # *****). The move went well except for some damage caused to my house. They damaged several spots of sheetrock, which I was not too concerned with. They did however scratch the brand new hardwood floor across the grain the entire width of my second story floor. My **** and I followed their claims process, writing letters for them to submit to their claims and allowed them to send their own floor guy to give an estimate. When the estimate came back high ($****) I told ***** with the moving company he could send more people if he'd like, as it sounded high to me. After not hearing from them for a week I called my own people and got estimates ranging from $**** to $****. My **** called and was told we'd receive a check within two weeks. When that check did not arrive and we can't get a hold of anyone we authorized work and used another moving company to vacate the second floor all coming out of pocket as it appears they may be shutting down shop. There was an opportunity here to save money using their labor to move furniture. I've tried contacting them and can't get ***** via phone, and have sent a certified letter. I'd like to be reimbursed what I'm out for floor resurfacing and movers at $****. I've fixed the sheetrock myself, so it's a non-issue. I have a letter from the tradesmen that did the floor work stating why the entire floor had to be refinished. They also have an estimate from their floor guy saying the same exact thing. I would have loved nothing more than to just refinish the individual board that were damaged; however, the scratch went across the grain sideways the entire length of the house.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to be reimbursed the cost to fix the damages caused by their movers $****. The cost of repair exceeded the total amount the movers charged us by more than double. They should have insurance that covers them.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HIRED THIS MOVING COMPANY TO MOVE ME FROM ONE HOUSE TO ANOTHER. EVERYTHING WAS GOING WELL UNTIL THEY UNHOOKED MY WASHING MACHINE. I OVER HEARD ONE OF THE MOVERS SAY TO ANOTHER "I CAN'T TURN THIS VALVE" AND THE OTHER GUY SAID "THERE'S NO WATER COMING OUT, IT'S NOT OUR PROBLEM, LET'S GO". I HAD TO LEAVE TO GET TO MY CLOSINGS AND ASKED MY FATHER TO STAY AND MAKE SURE EVERYTHING WENT WELL AND TO MAKE SURE NOTHING WAS LEFT BEHIND. ABOUT 20 MINUTES AFTER I LEFT MY FATHER CALLED TO TELL ME THERE WAS A PROBLEM. WATER WAS RESTORED TO THE HOUSE AND GUSHING OUT OF THE VALVE WHERE MY WASHER WAS. NOW IF THEY HAD ATTEMPTED EVEN A LITTLE BIT TO CLOSE THE VALVE THE WATER WOULD NOT BE GUSHING OUT. WHEN MY FATHER NOTICED THE LEAK HE IMMEDIATELY CLOSED THE VALVE TO STOP THE WATER FROM RUNNING. SO MUCH WATER RAN OUT THAT MY ENTIRE HOUSE WAS FLOODED. I HAD TO HAVE A RESTORATION COMPANY COME AND CLEAN IT UP, RIP UP ALL THE BRAND NEW CARPET I HAD JUST INSTALLED AND MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO RESTORE THE FLOORS FOR THE NEW BUYERS. WHEN I RECEIVED THE CALL ABOUT THE LEAK, I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE MOVING COMPANY AND EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED AND HAD THE MOVERS PUT ON STANDBY WHILE I FIGURE OUT WHAT TO DO. I HAD TO FILE A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE AND PAY MY $2200 DEDUCTIBLE. I SENT SEVERAL EMAILS TO THE MOVING COMPANY ABOUT THE SITUATION AND TRIED TO GET THEM TO TAKE CARE OF IT SINCE IT WAS THEIR FAULT. AS PROFESSIONAL MOVERS THEY SHOULD HAVE ENSURED THE VALVE WAS COMPLETELY CLOSED, KNOWING THE WATER WOULD EVENTUALLY COME BACK ON. AFTER SEVERAL DAYS, I FINALLY GOT A RESPONSE STATING THAT MY FATHER TURNED THE WATER ON AND LEFT IT RUNNING, FLOODING MY HOUSE. THAT IS THE MOST RIDICULOUS THING I'VE EVER HEARD. MY OWN FATHER DELIBERATELY SABOTAGING THE SALE OF MY HOUSE. FOR WHAT REASON DOES HE HAVE TO DO SOMETHING LIKE THAT? NONE. THEY JUST DON'T WANT TO ADMIT THAT THEY WERE CARELESS. ALL I WANT IS FOR THIS COMPANY TO REIMBURSE ME MY $2200 DEDUCTIBLE OR AT LEAST THE $1300 I SPENT FOR THEIR SERVICE.

Desired Settlement: REIMBURSED THE $2200 DEDUCTIBLE THAT I PAID FOR THEIR MISTAKE.OR I WILL TAKE THE $1300 I PAID THEM FOR THEIR POOR SERVICES

Business Response:

From: ***** ***** ************************************
Sent: Wednesday, July 30, 2014 12:14 PM
To: drteam
Subject: Woodlands Moving & Storage - Claim #********

To whom it may concern,

With attention to case# ********* the customer states that she overheard our mover saying “I can’t turn this valve”.  I don’t know how she would have heard our movers talking at all, because she was not present at all during the move. The water was shut off when the washer was disconnected.

A few minutes go by and then water starts gushing everywhere and the only person in the area of the incident at the time was the father.

We believe that he was either trying to further tighten the valve and mistakenly loosened it instead.

We believe that we do not have any liability for this particular incident due to the facts mentioned above.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Woodlands Moving & Storage

*** *** ****

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,
I was home at the time my washer was unhooked. I left about 20 mins after that.  My father was there to make sure everything was handled & the movers didn't forget anything in the house. I am appalled that they would try to blame my father for flooding my house. The movers need to own up to their mistake and stop making up stories.  I am extremely disappointed in their service & will not be recommending them to anyone I know.  This move had cost me thousands if dollars that I was not expecting. 

 

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired this company to move our furniture to our new address. They damaged some items in the process and I can not get them to repairs these items.

Desired Settlement: We want the wood items repaired to their original condition or replaced as they were less than one year old. We want the refrigerator door panels replaced and the dryer side panel replaced.

Business Response: From: ***** ***** ************************************ 
Sent: Wednesday, July 30, 2014 12:04 PM
To: drteam
Subject: Woodlands Moving & Storage Case# *******

To whom it may concern,

With attention to case# *******, Woodlands Moving & Storage sent Mrs. ******** a compensatory check for her damages based upon the household goods carrier liability of $.60 per pound.
This case has been resolved to our utmost obligation.

Sincerely,
***** *****
Woodlands Moving & Storage
*** *** ****

8/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were 39 mins late to arrive. When they arrived they walked as if it was their last job. Very slow and only picking up 1-2 items at a time. I use movers almost every 6-8 months and never had it taken more than 2 hours to complete and now they are only half completed. They had to call for help for a desk they couldn't get out of room. Expect that have wasted approximately two extra hours of what they should have completed.

Desired Settlement: I I want to be reimbursed for the extra time they took for not having the ability to do the job. Movers should not be slow walkers not someone who can't handle carrying weight. I need to be reimbursed for two hours of extra time taken.

Business Response:

Our company did not arrive late. We were scheduled for a 8-9am arrival, they arrived at 839am.

It is standard protocol while you are moving furniture to walk, we do not jog.

We feel that we adequately and professionally performed moving services for this customer in a timely manner.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *****

Woodlands Moving & Storage

*** *** ****

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I actually have multiple complaints about this company that I think you should be aware of when we used you and they have been discussed multiple times with the owner, but no one cared and I think the better business bureau should be aware.1. They took around an hour and a half lunch break or over, and on their paper work only put they took an hour and we were stuck paying for part of their lunch break.2. They were smoking on my paid time. I asked them not to smoke near my house also and they got all defensive and said would you just like me to leave then. 3. When they left (when they took our furniture to storage and when they delivered our furniture to house), they asked for a tip, not suggest, but asked how much I would like to give them. 4. They broke my bed. Not only did they break it, they said they fixed it and made it a hundred times worse. They did the worst fixing job ever. My bed, is now worth nothing and is falling apart. The first time they tried to deliver it back to me they painted it a different color from the footboard and I told them they needed to take it back and fix the whole thing, which they did not want to do. They took it and 6 weeks later they finally delivered what they said was the best they could do and it was the biggest piece of junk work I have ever seen. Even the guy delivering said the same thing. The owner was a jerk about the situation and it was just the biggest mess. The fact that I had a nice new bed when they took it to the storage and now I have a bed that they glued wood to, thats right glued. It is falling off and now my bed looks awful. I am very disappointed with this company and tell everyone I know to NOT use them. If they would have taken the time and tried to correct their mistakes I would have given them a second chance and at least told people that despite all the bad things, they made it all good. Instead, they made it all worse. Horrible Horrible company with really bad ownership.

Desired Settlement: Of course, them getting me a new bed would have been nice, they made it perfectly clear, this would not happen because they had the best carpenters and it would look brand new again - not true. Money back for the time they made me pay for their lunch and smoking hours, and the tip I felt obligated to give even when they did not finish job and were not even good deliverers (breaking bed, smoking, long lunch) but owner just ignored me when I told him this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Woodlands Moving & Storage, The
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)