This business is not BBB accredited.

Electric Wheels

Find a Location

Phone: (832) 584-0593 One Riverway suite 1700, Houston , TX 77056 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.electricwheelstore.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Electric Wheels include:

  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Electric Wheels include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Complaint Information

Consumers allege that they will order product such as a scooter and the product will have a defect, discovered after delivery.  Consumer's attempt to contact the company via email or telephone and the company is unreachable and does not return phone calls or emails.    The company has multiple unanswered complaints.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Electric Wheels
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 30, 2010
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Manager
Business Category

MOTOR SCOOTERS - DEALERS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    One Riverway suite 1700

    Houston , TX 77056 (832) 584-0593

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9393 E Palo Brea Bnd Unit 1041

    Scottsdale, AZ 85255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document
Click here to Get the File - use the Password: ********
https://bluecomplaints.bbb.org/attachment/?c=********

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

1/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an EW-36 from a medical supply company (** ******** **)in ******* ** ****. The scooter worked as advertised until about **** ** **** when the left blinker quit working. In *******, I was returning from a trip on the bike when the front wheel fell off the axle as I was turning in my driveway. I managed to get the bike in the garage and contacted the company. At first they acted like they might help me, but after continually contacting them, with no results, I attempted to fix the bike myself. I am disabled, and I called several companies here in Las Vegas after the lack of contact by ******* to no avail. A few weeks ago ** ******** ** managed to get service to call me back, and their employee promised me new blinkers, and all the parts I needed to fix the bike since it was still under warranty. It does have 3 years warranty, but no service people in Las Vegas, and apparantly none in Arizona either. I believe the man's name was ****, he said he had to talk to his supervisor but he would call me back on Monday. That was 2 weeks ago. I called ** ******** ** again and the lady who answered the phone said she would ask the owner to contact ******* again, but so far I have not heard anything. The bike is unusable to me and I spent $1,900 less than year ago for a very large, very heavy paper weight.

Desired Settlement: At the minimum I would like what I was promised: the parts and information needed to fix the bike. But in reality I would like a refund and say thank you for a lesson I learned. Don't buy on the internet if you want service for something like this. I am disabled and do not have anybody to help me lift, move or service this bike. The bike came fully setup by the company and the bike was not ridden enough for the wheel to fall off like this.

12/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I ordered my ew 36l mobility scooter, it came late and came with wires hanging down. 1 break did not work. I called them and they said that hot weather in AZ had caused the glue they used to melt. I could ride it, so I did, as I have no other transportation. 3 months later, the break wires fell off, and was dragging behind me as I rode. Then, after 6 months, a piece of metal broke and the motor dropped off the bottom of the scooter. I called e wheels, and they told me to find a mechanic and have him fix it, and they would reimburse me. My mechanic has been working on the scooter for at least 6 weeks. E wheels sent me a new motor, but they made me pay for the shipping ($60). The scooter still doesn't work. My mechanic recently was told that a new "brain" or control something or other would be shipped to me a few days before Thanksgiving. However, they said that they were trying to send staff home early for the holidays, so they would not be able to ship the new parts for another week. I'm so tire of this and need to be able to use the schooter to get to work.

Desired Settlement: Please help me either get the entire scooter replaced quickly, ensure that I will be reimbursed for the shipping cost of the motor, and reimbursed for the money I'm having to pay my mechanic to work on this problem. He has spent many, many hours working on this with little help from e wheels. It is crazy that I have had to deal with this for at least 6 weeks, maybe its been 2 months.

9/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the Owner of ********************* ***. in Tucson, AZ. On ****** ***** **** Electric Wheels in Scottsdale, AZ which the BBB has determined is Houston based agreed to send warranty parts to SpecialNeedsVehicles and charge SNV for shipping. On ****** **** they charged us $45 for ***** Ground shipping from Scottsdale to Tucson and the items have never arrived. They cannot provide a shipping tracking number to confirm if it was ever shipped. I have tried to resolve it directly with the company and they fail to return my calls and hang up on me after placing me on hold. I have filed a Fraud complaint with my bank, and this company should be flagged as high risk. The BBB report says they have 29 complaints which have never been responded to or resolved.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $45 charge, and alternate source for repair parts to deal with direct.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Electric Wheels
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)