BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Electric Wheels

Find a Location

Phone: (832) 584-0593 One Riverway suite 1700, Houston , TX 77056 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.electricwheelstore.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Electric Wheels include:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to determine how long this business has been operating
  • 20 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 19 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved
  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 20

Additional Complaint Information

Consumers allege that they will order product such as a scooter and the product will have a defect, discovered after delivery.  Consumer's attempt to contact the company via email or telephone and the company is unreachable and does not return phone calls or emails.    The company has multiple unanswered complaints.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 30, 2010
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Manager
Business Category

MOTOR SCOOTERS - DEALERS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    One Riverway suite 1700

    Houston , TX 77056 (832) 584-0593

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9393 E Palo Brea Bnd Unit 1041

    Scottsdale, AZ 85255

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an EW-36 from a medical supply company (** ******** **)in ******* ** ****. The scooter worked as advertised until about **** ** **** when the left blinker quit working. In *******, I was returning from a trip on the bike when the front wheel fell off the axle as I was turning in my driveway. I managed to get the bike in the garage and contacted the company. At first they acted like they might help me, but after continually contacting them, with no results, I attempted to fix the bike myself. I am disabled, and I called several companies here in Las Vegas after the lack of contact by ******* to no avail. A few weeks ago ** ******** ** managed to get service to call me back, and their employee promised me new blinkers, and all the parts I needed to fix the bike since it was still under warranty. It does have 3 years warranty, but no service people in Las Vegas, and apparantly none in Arizona either. I believe the man's name was ****, he said he had to talk to his supervisor but he would call me back on Monday. That was 2 weeks ago. I called ** ******** ** again and the lady who answered the phone said she would ask the owner to contact ******* again, but so far I have not heard anything. The bike is unusable to me and I spent $1,900 less than year ago for a very large, very heavy paper weight.

Desired Settlement: At the minimum I would like what I was promised: the parts and information needed to fix the bike. But in reality I would like a refund and say thank you for a lesson I learned. Don't buy on the internet if you want service for something like this. I am disabled and do not have anybody to help me lift, move or service this bike. The bike came fully setup by the company and the bike was not ridden enough for the wheel to fall off like this.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: Company failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I ordered my ew 36l mobility scooter, it came late and came with wires hanging down. 1 break did not work. I called them and they said that hot weather in AZ had caused the glue they used to melt. I could ride it, so I did, as I have no other transportation. 3 months later, the break wires fell off, and was dragging behind me as I rode. Then, after 6 months, a piece of metal broke and the motor dropped off the bottom of the scooter. I called e wheels, and they told me to find a mechanic and have him fix it, and they would reimburse me. My mechanic has been working on the scooter for at least 6 weeks. E wheels sent me a new motor, but they made me pay for the shipping ($60). The scooter still doesn't work. My mechanic recently was told that a new "brain" or control something or other would be shipped to me a few days before Thanksgiving. However, they said that they were trying to send staff home early for the holidays, so they would not be able to ship the new parts for another week. I'm so tire of this and need to be able to use the schooter to get to work.

Desired Settlement: Please help me either get the entire scooter replaced quickly, ensure that I will be reimbursed for the shipping cost of the motor, and reimbursed for the money I'm having to pay my mechanic to work on this problem. He has spent many, many hours working on this with little help from e wheels. It is crazy that I have had to deal with this for at least 6 weeks, maybe its been 2 months.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: Company failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

9/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the Owner of ********************* ***. in Tucson, AZ. On ****** ***** **** Electric Wheels in Scottsdale, AZ which the BBB has determined is Houston based agreed to send warranty parts to SpecialNeedsVehicles and charge SNV for shipping. On ****** **** they charged us $45 for ***** Ground shipping from Scottsdale to Tucson and the items have never arrived. They cannot provide a shipping tracking number to confirm if it was ever shipped. I have tried to resolve it directly with the company and they fail to return my calls and hang up on me after placing me on hold. I have filed a Fraud complaint with my bank, and this company should be flagged as high risk. The BBB report says they have 29 complaints which have never been responded to or resolved.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $45 charge, and alternate source for repair parts to deal with direct.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: Company failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/31/12 I ordered(online)two electric scooters. At the time (they have changed the website since) I read that the money wouldn't be taken from my account until the order was shipped. The money was taken from my account within a few days of the order. ($1100.) Not hearing anything from them, i called two weeks later to see what was going on. I was informed that they no longer carry the items i ordered. I told them to send my money back. I have called well them over tweny times. They have lied to me over and over about how the check is in the mail.. we mailed it. Blah blah blah. It's been almost three months. I want my money back. They have stolen me money and they don't care. (My purchase order # ***)

Desired Settlement: (I want my money back.) Maybe this company should be fined??? Put outta business????

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

2/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When putting the mirrors on the moped, ** ******* notice that the right side mirror wouldn't screw in the hole, because it was too small. I contacted by phone and spoke to ****** and he told me what to do. He wanted me to send him pictures because he thought they might of send out the wrong mirrors. So I email ewheels dealers support the pictures and received a ticket #**** on ******.I purchased this in *** **** and was shipped out on the **** ** *** ****, this was a Christmas gift.On ******, I received an email update on the status of the ticket from **** ****** and said per our conversion, they were going to ship out the correct mirrors and looking for a place close by to retread the right mirror. By law we have to have the mirrors in order to ride this moped. As of today, I haven't received the mirrors, an email or phone call inference to this problem. I've called them several times in between the last email and last night, left messages and I get no response from the company at all. I have a moped, cost with shipping $974.00 and can not ride it. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I want the correct mirrors for the moped and to have the hole retread as they said they would do. This cost me money and its just sitting there collecting dust.I feel I should also be compensated for unusage of the moped. I had to pay them right away and they can't even send me my mirrors to ride it.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received Electric scooter 3/12/12 with several discrepancies 1.loose seat, 2.lists 11/2 inches to the left. 3.Trunk lock broken. 4Loose wires laying on rear wheels. 5.Rear brakes don't work. Frane aooears ti be bebt.I requested a refund but was refused

Desired Settlement: I WANT A TOTAL REFUND AS THIS SCOOTER IS FAULTY FROM THE STARTi HAVE FILED A COMPLLAINT, WITH THE ARIZONA ATTORNEY GENERAL S OFFICE

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: The company failed to respond to this complaint.

11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1