BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Merrick Group Capital, LTD.

Additional Locations

Phone: (832) 243-7600 Fax: (281) 277-0687 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 980424, Houston , TX 77098 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.merrick-group.com View Additional Web Addresses ! There is an alert on Merrick Group Capital, LTD. !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in the selling mattresses.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Consumer Beware!!!!

The BBB has obtained information that this company is currently Out Of Business; as the website for Dreamnumber Beds is currently blank. However, the Merrick Group website is still operating. 

When contacted via phone, the party answers then quickly disconnects the call. The company states they were bought by a Florida company, Sleep Products D2C, Inc. a Florida Corporation, CEO  Chris Phillips.  However no other information regarding the purchasing company has been found.  Sales Documentation was provided by Larry Krim who became president of Sleep Products D2C Inc.  in July 2013.  Mr. Krim has since informed the BBB of Houston & S. Texas that he is no longer with the company as of August 2013. 

The BBB suggests consumers contact Merrick Group and Dreamnumber Beds directly at their website: http://www.merrick-group.com or via phone at 1-888-264-3547.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 30, 2006 Business started: 03/03/2005 in TX Business started locally: 03/03/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Chris Phillips, CEO
Related Businesses
Angelbeds.com DreamNumberBeds.com Tranquilitymattress.com
Business Category

MATTRESSES

Alternate Business Names
Sleepbetterstore.com ValueMattress.com
Out of Business

Consumer Beware!!!!

The BBB has obtained information that this company is currently Out Of Business; as the website for Dreamnumber Beds is currently blank. However, the Merrick Group website is still operating.  When contacted via phone, the party answers then quickly disconnects the call. The company states they were bought by a Florida company, Sleep Products D2C, Inc. a Florida Corporation, CEO  Chris Phillips.  However no other information regarding the purchasing company has been found.  Sales Documentation was provided by Larry Krim who became president of Sleep Products D2C Inc.  in July 2013. 

Mr. Krim has since informed the BBB of Houston & S. Texas that he is no longer with the company as of August 2013.  The BBB suggests
consumers contact Merrick Group and Dreamnumber Beds directly at their website: http://www.merrick-group.com or via phone at 1-888-264-3547


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5475 W. Sam Houston Pkwy N

    Houston, TX 77041

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 980424

    Houston , TX 77098

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (281) 240-2423 (Fax)
  • (281) 277-6787 (Fax)
  • (832) 243-7740 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.thesleepbetterstore.com
  • http://www.angelbeds.com
  • http://www.tranquilitymattress.com
  • http://www.valuemattress.com
  • http://www.dreamnumberbeds.com/Houston
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.

Mail sent to the business on 09/01/2014 was returned by the U.S. Postal Service as Box Closed - No Order.


Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an air mattress fro the sleep better store on ************ order #*****. Icould try bed out for 90 day to see if I liked.I received the bed on **** * ****.We tried the bed out for 60 days and were not happy with it So I called the lady who sold me the bed and she sent me ups return info.I packaged the bed up and took it to Alexandria,La.to *** and returned On **** ******* The package was received by the sleep better store on ******* **** at noon signed for by some one named ****.I hav called them numerious time and they always have an excuse (ex.give us a few more days to process the order,It takes 5 to 10 days to process to your bank acct. we processed it give it a few days and check and also chec with your bank.. I think I have given them ample time to refund me The $ 1149.00.Please check and see what the hold up is..Thanks 

Desired Settlement: refund &1149.00 back to my checking account

Business Response:

 

This money was refunded to the customer on *****

Thank You

Consumer Response:

Thanks for your help.My matter has been resolved for ID *******.

 

The refund was send to a different credit card that I was looking at. so we are in good shape here.hope I didn,t create a problem

for the business..

******* ********

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to the BBB.