Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mattress Overstock

Additional Locations

Phone: (281) 394-0955 Fax: (281) 394-0962 View Additional Phone Numbers 1420 South Mason Road, Suite 160, Katy , TX 77450 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides retail sales of mattresses and bedding products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mattress Overstock meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mattress Overstock
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 2009 Business started: 06/20/2005 in TX Business started locally: 06/20/2005 Business incorporated 06/20/2005 in TX
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steve Becker, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Becker, Controller
Business Category


Additional Locations

  • 120 Circle Way

    Lake Jackson, TX 77566 (979) 297-6922

  • 1420 South Mason Road, Suite 160

    Katy , TX 77450 (281) 395-1180

  • 14300 Northwest Freeway, Suite 28

    Houston, TX 77040 (713) 934-8212

  • 17776 Tomball Pkwy., Suite 29

    Houston, TX 77064 (832) 688-9662

  • 19751 Highway 59

    Humble, TX 77338 (281) 540-1372

  • 2600 FM 1764, Suite 180

    La Marque, TX 77568 (409) 986-6300

  • 312 Gulf Freeway North

    League City, TX 77573 (281) 316-8383

  • 5233 Fairmont Pkwy

    Pasadena , TX 77505

  • 6215 Highway 6, Suite 300

    Missouri City, TX 77459 (281) 261-1600

  • 821 Highway 90A East, Suite 100

    Richmond, TX 77406 (281) 232-9250


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 12 I visited this location to purchase a matress. After I conducted my business I was told if I find the same set cheaper he (mr.*****) would either adjust my price or the money would be returned. Well I found the exact same set brand new and cheaper, went back to overstock and that's when mr.***** told me about the no refunds no returns policy. But the thing is, the merchandise is not in my possession it is scheduled to be delivered at a later date. 1599.47 is exactly what I'm out of. And his response is, well I'll file the paperwork, but it's no guarantee corporate will refund it.

Desired Settlement: I would really like my money back. 1599.47 and we will be perfectly fine. Like i said, i went elsewhere for a product and received it the same day. Now this company will not give me my money back.

Business Response: I am issuing refund check for this customer today (6/26/2015) and will send it out this evening. 

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This BBB complaint is being filed for initial product issues from July 2014 thru Jan 2015. Reason: Poor quality merchandise and possible bait and switch tactics. I walked into the Mattress overstock Store in **** ******** ** on July 5, 2014 to purchase a King Mattress top for my ****** **** ****** bed (bed type is important because there are few bedframes on the market that have better structure and supports than this bed). The store was not busy at all the day I went to look at purchasing a mattress there was just the salesman and a delivery/trainee guy taking care of the store. I have passed by this store many times and hardly see cars in the parking lot and I figured it was because the highway overpass cuts this business off but I finally had the opportunity in my schedule to test out some beds and make an informed decision. My fiance and I began to test the beds not worrying about cost because our goal was to get a comfortable mattress that would last us for years to come. The salesman asked us what we were looking for after he saw us quickly pass some beds and not others. I explained that we needed a supportive yet soft bed because I have hip problems and a hard bed causes added pressure on my hips which will in turn make them shift and soon I will be in need medical intervention for an alignment. He finally matched us ups with a ********* *** infused individually coiled mattress. It was all that we had asked for soft, supportive, comfortable, and allowed my hips some added dense material to be able to maintain my alignment. We went to our storage unit picked up our enclosed trailer and purchased/picked up the mattress and cover that day. After hauling the large king mattress upstairs and placing it on our bed we tried it out for the first time. From the time we picked up the mattress I wondered in my mind how I would ever truly know that there was a gel in the foam that would indeed make the bed cooler in temperature. But I was willing to try because cutting into a brand new mattress just to investigate you are getting what you paid for is not an option in our society. IT WAS AWEFUL..HARD AS A ROCK and when my fiance lies down near me (he is not a large man) he rolls into me and if I allow him to sleep near me I lie awake counterbalancing!! So the next morning Sunday I went back to the mattress store to RETURN the mattress because it was not the same comfortable bed that we had spent time picking out in the store. The sales manager was not helpful at all in dealing me and my fiance. I was treated like I had just purchased a mattress from a thrift store where there are no returns/no guarantees and we got our sale so there is nothing you can do about it. My fiance expressed how the bed being as hard and uncomfortable as it was made his back hurt really bad. The sales manager told us we could not return the mattress and we would just have to live with the pain another week or so to get adjusted. That day we requested the phone number of the district manager and left a message. Monday we did receive a call from the district manager and of course they said we could not return the mattress but we could upgrade (that sounds like a tactic in itself). My fiance was out of town most of the weekend so he did not sleep on the new mattress. I have spent several weeks trying to track down the manager and get some kind of resolution to this problem. The manager finally called me on the 2nd week and I told him that I would stop by on my way out of town when I got off of work to discuss how they were going to make this purchase right. I stopped by and spoke to the manager Darrell and he said that maybe I received a defective mattress that mattresses arent perfect they are made by people he showed me 2 new mattresses that had just come in and told me that he would put them on the frame where the sample mattress was so that I could test out the replacement mattress I was going to get and I could initial the tag that would be delivered to my house as an exchange for the defective mattress I have. The following week when I got back in town when I called and talked to Darrell and he informed me that he no longer had mattresses in stock for me to test/exchange. I went into the store with my fiance again for us to test another mattress out and the manager was out on vacation (I am disappointed he did not mention that to me when we discussed trying next week). I talked to the employee that was covering his shift and of course there is no one else that has the authority to make my situation right. Every time I went back to the store I laid on the floor sample that sold me in the first is amazingly supportive, soft and comfortable. It makes me horribly upset that all I do is work every day at a stressful job 11 hours a day and sleep for 6 on a $1,000 mattress that is not comfortable and aggravates the arthritis in my hip when I sleep on my side. I spent almost 2 months in a bed that I wanted to return to the store the next day; it has not softened up or become any more comfortable or even comparable to the floor model. Many times my fiance and I have slept in our guest queen bed when we really need a good nights rest.Finally after 2 months of constant contact with the **** ******** ** Mattress Overstock location I received a replacement bed from the store that seemed to more appropriately resemble the floor sample that I i$nitially purchased. Now my issue is that after 4 months of sleeping on the replacement mattress it is dipping where both my fiance and I lay down. Both he and I are average build/size. Since the mattress has failed by way of quality support I sometimes lie facing the other direction at the foot of the bed in an effort not to compromise my hip alignment any more than it is currently. Mattress are built to last years and my replacement mattress has not lasted 4 months of sleeping. My fiancee has made several attempts to call the store and mattre

Desired Settlement: 1) Full refund of mattress (I am willing to negate the fact that because of my mattress purchase at Mattress Overstock **** ******* I am out the $100+ purchase of the mattress protector along with the $180 worth of new box springs that I was coerced into purchasing when the first mattress sold to me was admittedly defective)2) Upgraded mattress replacement (At this point I don't have faith in the quality of the product sold and would prefer this to be the last option of resolution)

Business Response: Mattress Overstock can facilitate the warranty process on behalf of the manufacterer but must first be cerrtain that what she is experiencing is, in fact, a defect and not just normal wear or body impressions on the surface of the mattress.  We do this by enlisting the services of an independent inspection company trained in identifying specific traits of product failure.  The cost for this inspection is 99.00 and is non-refundable.  However, should the product, in fact, be defective Mattress Overstock will deliver new product to the customers home and pick up defective product at no additional cost to the customer.  If customer in this case is interested in utilizing this service she can contact the manager at the store where purchase was made and he can help her schedule the inspection and get that process started. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]


I would like to thank Mattress Overstock for their quick response and apologize for it taking a couple of days for me to get back to you.  My family came down with the flu last week and I did not want to take any chances on an independent inspector to come in and pick up any viruses.  I understand that an inspection is critical in the determination of a defective mattress and will be available any time this week between 9am and 2 pm.  My reason for rejecting Mattress Overstock's offer is primarily for 2 reasons:

"Delivery fee would apply"...1} My fiancĂ©e and I have already spent our first 2 months with the WRONG mattress and one that put us through many sleepless nights and hurt bodies

 2} we waited for our bodies to adjust to not only the wrong mattress but a mattress that forced us to roll into each other from the first day of purchase

 3) we purchased 2 brand new box springs to combat the rolling into the center of the bed to avoid the nightly struggle of counterbalancing (unnecessary UPsale for Mattress Overstock).  Purchasing the 2 brand new box springs did not solve the defect in the mattress.

 4) after 2 months of struggle finally received a replacement mattress and within 2 months noticed body denting which has forced me to sleep some nights at the foot of the bed nestled near my fiancees MAN feet.

Mattress Overstock will replace a defective mattress with an equal product...1)  Considering that I will have already gone through 2 defective mattresses in 6 months time; I expect that Mattress Overstock would offer an upgrade.  It was never my intention to request an upgrade however it is my fear that if I get a 3rd mattress it will show early signs of wear and defect. 

I did not purchase a low end mattress and felt assured with my purchase when the store manager pointed out that the company has an A+ rating with the BBB.  I want nothing more than to resolve this issue quickly.  All I want is a mattress that is comfortable and doesn't break down due to inferior product components.


Please let me know if we can work something out. 


Business Response: Inspector was sent to customer's home free of charge and it was determined that mattress does qualify for warranty replacement.  Customer will work with manager of **** ******* location to find suitable replacement mattress and exchange will be scheduled free of charge.

7/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress at the League city location around the end of 2013. At the time, I purchased the bed metal bed frame but on the same day of purchase talked to manager and specifically told them that I did not need them and to make sure they were not delivered. After delivery, waited on refund amount of $50 and sice it did not arrived talked to the manager to handle issue on several occasions. To this date I am still waiting on $50 refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $50.00. Tired of waiting and talking with no resolution.

Business Response: I was able to research this matter and talk to the manager involved.  It seems that while the customer did call the manager and claim the un-needed frame was refused at the time of delivery and sent back with the driver, the paperwork does not support this claim.  Customer signed delivery receipt line for line as all items received including the frame (see attached signed delivery ticket() , which prevents us from cutting a refund check off of that item.  I am willing to take the customer at her word in this case and issue a refund for the frame.  If she can confirm that the address on the invoice is still valid I can send check to that address and resolve issue.  Thank you.

Business Response: refund check was cut and sent to customer.  check info is:

50.00 06/27/2014 ****** ******


***** ******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  

Received payment.  Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mattress Overstock
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)