BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

DreamNumberBeds.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (832) 243-7600 Fax: (800) 914-6770 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 980424, Houston, TX 77098 http://www.dreamnumberbeds.com ! There is an alert on DreamNumberBeds.com !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Consumer Beware!!!!

The BBB has obtained information that this company is currently Out Of Business; as the website for Dreamnumber Beds is currently blank. However, the Merrick Group website is still operating. 

When contacted via phone, the party answers then quickly disconnects the call. The company states they were bought out by a Florida company. However, no information has been provided regarding the purchasing company. 

The BBB suggests consumers contact the owner, Larry Krim and Phillip Krim, CEO of both Merrick Group and Dreamnumber Beds directly at their website: http://www.merrick-group.com or via phone at 1-888-264-3547.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

37 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 18 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 11
Problems with Product/Service 23
Total Closed Complaints 37

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 15, 2013 Business started: 01/01/2003 in TX Business incorporated: 03/03/2005 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Larry Krim, Partner Mr. Philip Krim, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Krim, Partner
Related Businesses
Merrick Group Capital, LTD. Angelbeds.com Tranquilitymattress.com
Business Category

MATTRESSES

Alternate Business Names
Dream Number Beds
Out of Business

Consumer Beware!!!!

The BBB has obtained information that this company is currently Out Of Business; as the website for Dreamnumber Beds is currently blank. 


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5475 W. Sam Houston Parkway N

    Houston, TX 77041

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 980424

    Houston, TX 77098 (877) 753-3770 (832) 243-7600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 753-3770(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I can not get in contact with DreamNumberBed.com by phone and their web site is not up. I have a problem with the remove display on the bed pump and have no way to contact customer service

Desired Settlement: I would like a replacement for the remote and/or the pump if needed. Or I would accept a refund for the cost of the bed

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond. 

5/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The remotes are not working and I have a 5 year warranty on them and its been 2 years, I cannot reach the company. Every number I called is a different company or I get disconnected. I cannot adjustment mattress without remote. I have medical issues and need this item. Cannot sleep I this bed at this time.

Desired Settlement: I would like the remotes replaced

Consumer Response: I have not heard a word from this company.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond. 

2/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So I purchased this bed back in **** they delivered the bed and I had no frame I told them in an email that I need to order the frame I waited and waited and still no frame I called them and told them that I was waiting and they said they never received it and here I am paying already for this bed while it sits in the shipping packages, and what was weird was the mattress came in plastic and no box then another box with the air chambers with another box with the pillows. So I told them I wanted to send the bed back and she told me that I needed to try it first before I could send it back she said we will give you the frame for free and a $50.00 credit so they sent it and I put the bed together and all of the stuff wasn't there to set it up I had already got rid of my bed so I had to sleep on it without the air chambers I was so mad I called them and told them I wanted to send the bed back. It was hard to get the shipping labels finally got them and the day I got them I took it down to the ups store and sent it back so they couldn't say I didn't get it back in time. Well that was ****** *** **** still have never received a credit and they said that it take 7 to 10 business days. So I call them and they hadn't even done the credit yet She said that she would do it then Which I am still paying for it with out the product. They are a terrible company to deal with.

Desired Settlement: I want the amount credited back to the account in the amount of $1499.00 Which was promised I met up to my part of the deal which was getting the mattress back in good condition which I did they need to give me a credit back it has been enough time I sent the bed back *** *** **** which was over a month ago.

Business Response:

The customer has been refunded.

 

Thank You 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that DreamNumberBeds.com has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on ********* ******* ** and assigned ID ********

Regards,

****** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to the BBB.

8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned the product because i was not HAPPY with it. It was signed for on **** *** **** by ___ indicating they received the product I waited patiently to see if I would see my money refunded as of ****** * nothing I then proceeded to make calls and was told several different stories of when I would see my money on my account the last story was you will recive it by the end of the day as well as an email indicationg we returned the money, it is now ****** *** **** I still have not received my money. Not to mention I am being charged $****** for some wood and metal because they were not clear on the return of the base. BUYER BEWARE!!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want the monet put back on my credit card please.

Business Response:

This customer called our office this morning. It was the first time I have spoken to her. I told her I would look into her refund. I did check and it was processed yesterday and will tae about 3 days to show on the credit car statement.

 

Thank You

 

***** ****

Consumer Response:

They were not clear on their return policy for the foundation and the metal frame I am not happy at all! I think they have shadey business practices. The person that responded to this complaint made it seem like it was the first time I called and that is not true I have been trying to get my money back since  ****. So to make a long story short I paid over $****** for some wood and a metal frame I tip my hat to SLEEP BETTER STORES and I will make sure I let everyone know how wonderful your company is.

 

Thank you!!

Business Response: I am willing to split the difference with you and give you and additional *** back if that will satisfy you. Our return policy is very clearly written on the web site. 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered this mattress and base via telephone. Salesman NEVER told ne. Trying to speak to a manager or owner for 4 weeks. No return phone call. Keep telling me via e-mail that I checked a box on line indicating I could not return base. How could I check box when I ordered on phone? The salesman on phone never told me this. Who on earth would order something for 1400.00 and not be able to return??? Over 4 weeks ago I asked them to review recording if there is one. Manager said he would speak to salesman.Of course he would probably lie and say he told me. Still never heard back. I am at my wits end. I have severe arthritis and this entire thing is worthless. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: Just take the **** thing back and give me refund.

Business Response:

I have spoken to the customer tried to call again today. I left a message on her voicemail.  We will be glad to take the mattress back but we do not take adjustable bases back. It is written very clearly on our sleep trail.

*Accessories such as bedding, adjustable frames, toppers, sheets, mattress pads, standard metal frames, clearance collection beds, refurbished mattresses & custom orders are not returnable. Free return shipping is valid on mattresses only. Returned foundations are charged a $65 restocking fee.

 

I was written a letter by this customer with a lawyer copied and I sent the same thing back!

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


ID *******.............just got your letter,dated 3/07.  said I had 10 days but I got it last Friday. Tried calling but too late.  His claim in the response he wrote is bogus.  As I stated I was NEVER informed in any way b4 delivery that the base was not returnable.  I don’t know what a sleep trail is, but that’s irrelevant.  I ordered on phone and was never told anything about this.  I asked him to review the taped recording, but have never gotten any answer.  Also, he NEVER left me a message and has not returned any one of at least 10 phone calls.

 

                                  Thank you,

                                        ******* ****** ************

Regards,

******* ****** 


 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that Merrick Group Capital , LTD. has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on 3/6/2013 12:00:00 AM and assigned ID *******.

Regards,

******* ****** 

 

I think the issue is resolved.  But won’t believe till I see my credit  *** freight is coming to pick up everything today.  I was notified of this on Tuesday.  VERY much surprised and pleased!  I don’t know if you had anything to do with this turn-about, but if you did, THANK YOU!!! 

  

******* ****** 

 

 

**** ****** ********************

  

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We recieved a defective E. King foundation made from extremely poor quality wood. We send numerous pictures of the defective product to the manufacturer. We spoke with ***** (who had viewed the pictures) and other members of the Dream Number bed company (******, ******) and they agreed that we could return the bed foundation and not incur a $65 restocking fee. It has been over 6 weeks since we returned the foundation and we have not been refunded the $450 we paid. We have now incurred 2 months of credit card interest on the $450 that we should not have incurred.

Desired Settlement: Refund our $450 immediately. Also include a fee to cover the interest we paid as a result of their withholding the refund (18% per year), which is 1.5% per month or $13.50.

Business Response:

This was sent to the customer two days ago.

 

 

 

Hi ****, 

 

We just received your bed yesterday and it usually takes about 10 business days to process and then refund. 

 

Thank you,
 ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *******


 

 we sent the foundation back 6 weeks agoabd have not been refunded $450

Consumer Response: 6 weeks overdue for $450 reimbursement

Consumer Response: Still awaiting full refund. Quality of Dream Number Beds is SIGNIFICANTLY LESS than Sleep Number Beds. Web site is EXTREMELY MISLEADING with regards to comparing their bed quality with MUCH BETTER quality of Sleep Number Beds.

Consumer Response: still awaiting full refund. Thousands of dollars are being withheld

Business Response: We will get this done and sorry for the delay

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *******


 

 they received bed on 2/12/2013.  they said refund would occur in 10days.  it has been 20 DAYS!

Consumer Response: The returned bed was received on 2/12/2013 as confirmed via email from ****** on 2/13/2013. She wrote: Hi ****, We just received your bed yesterday and it usually takes about 10 business days to process and then refund. Thank you, ****** *********************** It has now been 20 days since the bed was received and still no refund!

Consumer Response: Thanks, i hope this can be resolved. You said 10 days until a refund is issued. It has been over 4 weeks. Is this normal? **** ****** <*********************.com />wrote: Hi ****, I will check on your refund and if it has not been done it will be done so shortly. Thank you, ****** www.***************.com From: *******, ****ard M


WHAT IS STATUS OF THIS REFUND - GOING ON 4 WEEKS AND INTEREST CHARGES ARE PILING UP! Is this standard operating procedure so you can reap the benefits of interest while delaying promised refunds? This seems to be consumer fraud and false advertising. Perhaps there is a class-action issue here?


****, We just received your bed yesterday and it usually takes about 10 business days to process and then refund. Thank you, ****** www.dreamnumberbeds.com


Please let us know the status of the refund for Order ID *****. Has the refund for the bed frame been issues ($450) – that has been OVER 6 WEEKS. As you will recall, because the item was defective, ***** (and a confirming email from ******), stated we would receive the full refund and not be charged a restocking fee. Please let us know ASAP how soon we will be credited for the full return of the mattress and all components. You should have received it by now. All components were shipped in like-new condition in ALL the original wrapping, packaging, and boxes with photo documentation. Thank you, **** ******* *** ****** St. ********, WA 99354 509-539-8519


Subject: RE: IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUEST FOR FULL REFUND ON RETURN: ORDER ID ***** Thank you for the reply. I spoke with ***** yesterday and we are looking at potential means to resolve the comfort issues with the mattress/bed. In the meantime, I would like to return the base with no restocking fee penalty. I do not wish to keep the base no matter what outcome with the mattress. Can you please tell me how to get a free shipping label? I can then deliver to a local *** store for return to you. Thank you, ****

Hi ****, We are sorry about the freight damage the foundation arrived with to you. This time of year we have problems with *** that we don't have the rest of the year and we are trying to correct this with them. We try to have the foundations made to be light enough to ship but sturdy enough to provide the correct support which is what they do. We never have problems with our foundations - when they arrive normally. The bed however is made with the best quality fabrics and foam. You cannot dispute the quality of the Cool Max material which does wick away any moisture and provide a drier, cooler more comfortable night's sleep. The memory gel foam is the best on the market- if you don't like that foam we also have an all-natural latex foam which provides a completely different feel or the more traditional memory foam which also has a different feel. That is the best feature of the bed- you can change the foams and the feel of the bed and make it a whole new bed without replacing the entire bed. I am sorry if there were threads not trimmed- on the inside that is normal- if that was on the outside and you had a lot please let us know so we can send to our factory. We don't mass produce these covers like other companies- we still have individual's in Massachusetts sew our beds. We are happy to send you a new cover if you would give us a chance. Our air chambers are made of the gold standard in the industry- 25 gauge vulcanized rubber from the same factory that Sleep Number's chambers are made. We actually add more baffling so that it provides more support when you move in bed. Our rails- are made so that the edges of the bed never bow out and the air chambers are kept snug together eliminating that dead space in the middle that they receive complaints on- we really do make a quality product that is very much thought out. We understand you may not like the foundation - if you want a new one we can get that out right away. If you would give our bed a chance - we think you will enjoy it like thousands of our other customer's for many many years. Please don't judge the bed by the foundation. ***** - one of the owners of the company has tried to call you and did leave a message. He wants to personally talk to you and - would love if you could give him a call back at your convenience- 1-************ - between 9:30 and 5:30 central time. Thank you and again we apologize if anything arrived not in perfect condition. Sincerely, ****** www.dreamnumberbeds.com


Dear Sir/Madam: We purchased the dream number bed and bed frame referenced herein: Order ID: ***** I spoke with customer service last week about the poor quality of material and workmanship of your products. We wish to return all of the items. Because of the poor quality and poor workmanship, we fully expect to have these items returned at no restocking cost and no shipping costs. Given the extremely poor quality of the bed frame, we do not expect to be required to pay the $65 restocking fee. In addition to the severe quality problems with the frame, the mattress cover also has significant stitching defects. All of these defects, examples of poor quality materials and workmanship are documented in the attached photos. We are also not at all pleased with the comfort of the bed or the functioning of the air mattresses. Furthermore, given the poor quality of materials and workmanship, we are clearly skeptical about the quality and longevity of all of the other components of the entire bed system. Please let us know how to obtain free shipping and provide us with a written response indicating we will not be charged a $65 restocking fee for the bed frame. You really should be embarrassed at the quality vs. cost of the bed frame vs what you can find at any discount furniture store. We do not wish to continue to trial your product and would appreciate a speedy resolution to approve our cost-free return of everything. I don't wish to pursue this issue with the Better Business Bureau and State Attorney General. Thank you, ******* ******* *** ****** *** ********, WA 99354 ************ ****.***************.net
Attachments: 2 broken dowels broken dowels after receipt (2) broken dowels after receipt broken dowels fresh out of shipping box broken dowels right out of shipping box chunk of wood missing from frame completely pulled out circular stitching (2) completely pulled out circular stitching 3 completely pulled out circular stitching compromised strength from poor quality wood end and side frame do not mate properly or seat squarely entire side of piece of wood is missing major portion extremely poor quality piece of wood supposed to support weight illustration of manual hole marking prone to errors instructions dont state what to do with TWO grey foam pieces (2) instructions dont state what to do with TWO grey foam pieces large pool of dried sap pitch on this piece major piece of wood missing impacting structural integrity major split in frame compromises support major split in wood complete defect major split in wood resulting in very poor strength prone to complete breakage missing chunk of wood poor mating missing piece of wood on background piece resulting in poor mating poor strength more poor quality wood piece non square wood due to missing long piece piece in center of pic has major split and will eventually break away piece of wood missing major portions on two sides resulting in weakness poor mating and joint resulting from using poor quality wood poor quality cross piece (2) poor quality cross piece poor quality wood in frame poor quality wood piece missing poor quality wood used in frame poor quality wood poor wood section of stitching all loose closeup section of stitching all loose two pieces dont mate properly because one piece is missing major chunk wayward stitching wood is split yet more poor quality wood 2 broken dowels (2)

Business Response: We have been communicating with this customer directly and he will be issued the propper refund. I am not sure why he is using two forums to communicate.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]  


Refund Was To Be Made In Ten Days.  It Has Been 31 Days!

Regards,

******* *******


 

 

Business Response:

The Credit was issued in full

 

Thank You

 

*****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *******


 

The apparent deliberate delay by the business for 6 weeks on the bed frame refund and over 4 weeks on the main bed mattress and other components resulted in interest charges from our credit card company of approximately $50 that would not have otherwise been incurred if the refunds were processed in a prompt manner as advertised and indicated in writing by email.

Therefore, we are still waiting for the company to credit our credit card for $50 to pay for the interest that we incurred due to their long and unexplained delay to process the refund after repeated phone calls and emails.

We can only conclude that this is a standard practice by the company to retain customer funds to use for other business purposes - i.e. "free money" to run their business, while the unsatisfied customer is left "funding" their practices for weeks on end, while they should be promptly refunded.

Consumer Response: still have not obtained refund for interest charges incurred due to business lack of timely refund.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this letter regarding a purchase I made online with the ***** ****** *****. I was unsure of purchasing such a product from a different state, but when I talked to them I was reassured that if I wanted to return the bed that they were not difficult to deal with, they had a 90 day money back warranty and ordered it on 11/12/12.I tried the bed, I had problems with the zipper not staying zipped and I could not push the mattress back because the hose would not work, but the worst part if I had enough support for my back it hurt my hips and shoulders, if I soften it for my hips and shoulders my back would hurt. So I decided to return it. The return policy said a min. of 45 days so I did that and called, talked to a girl named ****** and she put on a man asking what was the problem, I told him and he said he could change it for a better model in their clearance center. I had already bought another bed so I would not be without one so I turned him down. I was emailed the return form and filled it out and emailed it back and was sent the return labels on 01/21/13 . I took it to my *** center and shipped it back.I was feeling uneasy about the return so I took pics of the bed and asked 2 friends to help me pack it and look it over to make sure they would not try to claim anything. I can send photos if you want.I received a call on 01/31/13 from the ***** ****** *****, and ****** informed my they would not be refunding my money that it smelled like smoke. I informed her nobody smokes in my house and yes I do have a fireplace but I havent had a fire in all year because it needs repair. She asked me if I wanted them to ship it back and I said no, I want my refund and she said no, because they did not find anything wrong with the zipper, or the hose and it was not free from odors. I told her I did not except and she put me on hold and came back and said the boss said they either ship it back or they are going to throw it away, but I will not get a refund.First of all I know they arent throwing away the pump,it ran fine, second, the 2 people who helped me pack it up will provide documentation stated that the bed was free of stains and odor. I am in a bad position being in another state they can say anything and my only recourse is what?Please help.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to credit back my credit card for the bed.

Business Response:

The mattress had the odor of smoke. Our sleep trail requires the mattress to be clean and odor free. All products and parts must be returned in LIKE NEW condition, free from odors and stains.

 

Thank You

 

 

Consumer Response:


First, nobody smokes in my house, second the most expensive thing about that bed is the pump, a pump doesn't smell, third I have 2 people who will confirm the bed was stain and odor free, they helped me pack it up and take pics of the bed.  This is a lousy way to do business, I am paying for a bed that is at the store.  Trust me I will spend my time posting everywhere I can about this store and how they do business.  I will never order anything out of state again.

 

Consumer Response: I received an error message on my response, did you receive my response?

Business Response: We will be glad to refund less the price of the smokey iteams.

Consumer Response:

I talked to a local dry cleaners and they said they would charge about $150-$175 to dry clean the cover, they could not give me an exact price without seeing it in person, not just a pic. I would hope that any bed returned would be cleaned by a professional before sending out again, if not that would also concern me what was sent to me in the first place.  They have my credit card info and they can do a refund, I see no reason to call and talk to these people anymore.  They have never addressed the zipper coming apart when we would get on the bed, I suppose that was our fault too.  If this is how they have to do business to make money I find it disgraceful, I leave it up to them to refund, but I can't give this anymore of my energy, I entered this transaction honestly, and expected them to do the same.  I leave it in their hands to refund what is right, and what represents what kind of business this really is.  Thank you for all the help in this matter.  Regards, **** *** 

Business Response:

Hello- although we do write on our RMA forms, and in several places on our website that all beds must be returned in like new condition which means no stains, holes, odors such as cigarette smoke and pet residue, we will make an exception in this case. We will deduct $175.00 for the dry cleaning of the cover, $300.00 for the 3 inch foam that goes in the top of the bed, $100.00 for the gray foam that goes on top of the air chambers, and $230.00 for the air chambers - all foams and air chambers reeked of smoke and cannot be dry cleaned. We will then be able to refund the customer $844.00. Her total purchase cost was $1649.00 and with the deduction for the foams, cover cleaning, and air chambers we will refund the remainder. As far as the broken zipper, when we received the bed the zipper worked fine, but had the customer decided to keep the bed we would have replaced that at no cost to her as was made known to her in several phone conversations. Please let us know if this is an acceptable course of action and as soon as we hear back we will start the refund process of $844.00.

Thank you,

***** ****

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *** 


 

 

Consumer Response:

 

 

Complaint Detail
I filed a complaint #*******, and the last message was an agreement to refund some of my money and I have yet to see the refund issued to my credit card, (04/20/13), and now you are showing my case closed, but until they refund, I feel my case in not closed. Just because they said they would doesn't mean they have. Please do not closed this until they have done the agreed upon action. Thank you,**** ***
Desired Settlement
Refund they said they would do on my credit card acct.

Business Response:

Hello,

We are confused, in our response we agreed to refund the customer the $844.00 and said acceptance of this would facilitate the refund. We not only did not hear from the customer, she now writes that she will not accept this refund. Please let us know if we should refund or move on.

Thank you,

***** ****

 

 

Consumer Response:


I did agree to the refund, but they never refunded my credit card, that is why I reissued the complaint.  Once I see the refund on my credit card I will close this complaint.  Thank you, **** *** 

Business Response: we never received anything from this customer agreeing to the settlement.

Consumer Response:


that is not true, i called on May 9th, at 4:10pm, talked to ***** ****, who transferred me to ***** who said a check would be sent to me.  I still have not received the check, 12 days later, I called to talk to ***** on May 21st, and was given a voice mail, left a message and no return call so far and no check.  I want this finished, they just need to send the check as i was told they would.  **** ***

 

 

Consumer Response:

Received a check, May 28th, after another phone call telling them I would file against them. I would never recommend anyone to ever do business with company.

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that Merrick Group Capital , LTD. has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on 2/27/2013 12:24:56 PM and assigned ID *******.

Regards,

**** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a bed in September 2012 through ***************.com (Merrick Group) for nearly $2000. They offer a 90-day "truly risk free trial". In December I returned the bed in perfect condition after deciding it was not a good fit for us. I have spoken with them twice regarding a refund for my return and was assured both times that it would be immediately processed. I have since left several messages with different departments to have the accounting department return my call (the accounting department has a full mail box and you can't leave a message with them). I have not yet received a return call after several weeks of trying. Beyond frustrated at this point.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have a refund of my full payment price (minus the cost of the mattress protector which I kept). $1908.00 (amount paid for mattress & mattress cover)$100.00 (shipping cost)$2008.00 (Total I paid)($100) cost of mattress cover I kept)$1808.00 is the amount I expect for refund

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that Merrick Group Capital , LTD. has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on 2/15/2013 5:54:22 PM and assigned ID *******.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ordered a dream number bed from the Merrick group/***** ****** *** on the internet on or around 1/30/12 with the understanding that it has a 90 day in home free trial used the bed for 7 days and called for a return on the 7th day and was told by number bed i would have to keep it for the full 90 days to recieve the paid shipping and to give the bed a good try out ... i tried the bed for 3 more days and called back to dream number beds and told them i would pay the shipping and that i was not happy with the bed and getting very pour sleep.. they gave me the address and said they would just give me a discount on shipping and the shipping cost would be put towards my credit card ... they received the bed back around 1/14/12 i was called 3 days later by dream number saying they wont take the bed back because it smells like smoke after hearing that i informed them that there is no smokers in my home ever !!! and was told that they will not refund the money ... dream number has had the bed every since ... they say that there return form says that bed must be in brand new condition so i took pics before i sent it as directed by them on the phone on earlier phone call about return the bed ... i never seen a or signed a form at all it was never even brought up till they said they wont refund my money... i feel i have been scammed how can a person sleep on a bed for 90 days alone 14 days and have it be in brand new shape ... there was no stains and bed was in the same shape when the received it that it was when i did pack up the same way and sent back .. i also ordered a 100$ cover for bed that was put on it to protect as they recommended

Desired Settlement: return money for bed and frame that was sent back

Business Response:

Hello,

We are so sorry for this customer because we hate to refuse a bed, however, this bed arrived and there was no question regarding the cigarette smell that filled our warehouse once we opened the box. I don't know if he had someone who does smoke pack the bed for him or how the bed came to be in this condition, but we are very clear on our website and on all return documents that the bed must arrive in like new condition which means no holes, stains, odors such as cigarette or pet hair. These words are written on every return page on our website and every RMA form. We could not keep this bed in our warehouse the odor was so strong we did not want it to affect our other products. We offered to ship the bed back to the customer, but we cannot refund a bed with such strong smoke odors it is completely ruined.

Thank you,

***************************** 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to get a refund from the ***** ****** ****. On their website, it states:We are now offering free return shipping for any mattress that is within our 90 day sleep trial if you are unsatisfied for any reason. We ask that you keep your ***** ****** bed for at least 45 days, until your body adjusts to the new sleep surface. If after that time, and within your 90-day sleep trial, you wish to return your mattress we will pay for the return shipping back to us. Simply put, try out any one of our mattresses in your home for up to 90 days, and we will issue you a 100% refund on your purchase. I purchased the bed on ******* for $899.00. I used the bed for over 45 days and decided I do not like it. On ********, I returned the bed and they acknowledged that they received the bed in good condition. I also have the delivery receipts. They told me to give them 2 weeks to process the refund. I waited 3 weeks until I contacted them again. I have since been getting the run around. Customer Service tells me there is nothing they can do, the problem is in accounting. When I ask to be transferred to account, I get a voice mail account. My messages did not get returned. Then on *******, they then started transferring me to who I was told was the owner, *****. ***** told me to give him 24 hours and I would have my refund. I waited 48 and got nothing. I called ***** again, and he told me to give him until the end of the day, still I got nothing.

Desired Settlement: I am entitled to a full refund of $899.00 but they are not honoring there guarantee

Business Response: I am sorry for the delay. Your account has been refunded.

Consumer Response:

Complaint Detail
Hello,I recently filed a complaint against Merrick where they were refusing to give me a $899 refund I was due, complaint #*******. Once I involved the BBB, they complied and issued the refund. However, they then waited several weeks until the case was closed and charged my credit for another $899. They obviously know that the case would be closed be then and tried to sneak the charge by me.It frightens me to think how many poor soles are being taken by this company.So on 11/21, my credit card was charged $899 for no reason what so ever.
Desired Settlement
Have the thieves refund my credit card.

Business Response:

We issued a refund to Mr. ****** in good faith. The day after the refund was issued we got a letter from our credit card processor that a charge back was filed and they also took the 699 and refunded it to him. So he had 2 refunds. We then recharged him so he would only receive the 1 refund he was intitled too.

 

Thank You

 

***** ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am sorry but Mr **** is telling a lie.  That doesn't surprise me as he even has the amount incorrect.   I have all my credit card statements in front of me right now.  On ****** I was charged $899.    On *******, I was credited $899.  Then on ********,I was charged another $899. And that is it!  If that is good faith, I am afraid to see what they do to someone in bad faith.    Sure I have notified my credit card company of the wrong doings of Mr ****'s company but these are the financial transactions facts per my credit card statements.  I am sure it was a mistake by thier bookeeping as they don't appear well qualified. 

Regards, 

***** ******


 

Business Response:

Mr. ******

 

Please check your credit card statements. I have from our credit card processor a charge back to us from your account in the amount of 899.00 on ******** credited to card ending in ****. We also refuned you on ******** **** before we got the charge back (in good faith) to card ending in *****. After accounting saw the you were refunded twice we then charged you 1 time to get back our double refund. I have all the paper work from the bank yto prove it.

 

Thank You

***** ****  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As I stated in my last email,  my credit starements only show 1 refund and 2 charges of $899.00.  Perhaps you credited some other account or maybe my credit card company didn't accept the second transaction.   I am willing to share my statements with the BBB if they so request.  I have filed a fraudulent charge with my credit card company for the unauthorized charge to my credit credit on ********.

Regards,

***** ******


 

Business Response:

We have asked our credity card processor to get us back up in writing.

 

Thank You

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9294454, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It has been several weeks and the Merrimack companies only comment is there retrieving information which I thought they said they already had.  This should take one day at the most. My credit card has a hold on the last monies they took. This could all have been avoided if they only Honored their original guarantee. 


Regards,

***** ******


 

Consumer Response: I am still waiting for the Merrimack to produce the requested evidence that I received a double refund which prompted them to bill my credit card unlawfully a second time. I have spoke to my credit card company and they are prepared to corroborate my statements.

Business Response:

Your Credit card is refunded and we are now even, I am sorry for the misunderstanding.

 

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/22/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/16/2012 Delivery Issues
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/1/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2011 Delivery Issues
1