Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Irrigation Concepts Inc.

Phone: (281) 332-7147 Fax: (281) 316-6564 2244 Pecan Orchard Road, League City, TX 77573 http://irrigationconcepts.trustab.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial & residential irrigation services..


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Irrigation Concepts Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Irrigation Concepts Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Irrigation Concepts Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 08, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
12100 Park 25 Circle, Austin TX 78753
http://www.tceq.texas.gov/
Phone Number: (512) 239-1000
ac@tceq.state.tx.us

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Lord, President Mrs. Lesa Lord, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Lord, President
Principal: Mrs. Lesa Lord, Co-Owner
Business Category

LAWN & GARDEN SPRINKLER SYSTEMS IRRIGATION SYSTEMS & EQUIPMENT IRRIGATION SERVICES

Industry Tips
Lawn & Plant Care Professional - How to Select a

Additional Locations

  • 2244 Pecan Orchard Road

    League City, TX 77573 (281) 332-7147

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are filing a complaint against Irrigation Concepts, located in League City, due to poor quality and unacceptable resolution to the issue with our sprinkler system. We will also post a review on ****** **** for other customers can be made aware of our experience and have the knowledge when selecting a repair business for Irrigation systems.The initial reason for our call to Irrigation Concepts was due to an error on our controller (Rainbird) box. The system would successfully complete zones 1 & 2 in the backyard but show an error message for zones 3 &4. The 1st visit from Irrigation Concepts occurred on May 30th, 2014. The lead technician pressed the reset button on the back of the controller board and was unable to duplicate the problem for the zones. I was present when the tech reset each zone to ~1 or 2 minutes and each zone operated. The tech did not trouble-shoot the problem beyond that he did not test the voltage on the box nor did he try to locate the valves. They suggested some modest repairs to a couple of the sprinkler heads. In retrospect, the repairs were not needed; however, we agreed with the scope of work. The total for the 1st invoice was $212.51We were on vacation the 1st week in June and returned to a sprinkler system with the exact same issue as before zones 3 & 4 were showing errors. We called Irrigation Concepts and requested that they come back out to the house, at zero service charge, as soon as possible. The same lead technician arrived for work on June 12th saw the errors on the box and located the two valves for zones 3&4. He made comments about the type of wiring used from the box to the valves; however, the tech made no attempt to check if the wiring was the root cause. They replaced both valves even after we asked if this was the source of the problem. The next day same errors! The 2nd invoice original total was $345.51My husband called and talked to the owner directly about the problem. The owner threatened my husband to call the City of Pearland because our system did not have a backflow preventer. And, he continued to make comments about how difficult the valves were to locate and dirt kept falling into the work area. He concluded the call by directing that we should not contact his place of business again for any sprinkler system issues. Also, he agreed to reduce the 2nd invoice by $100. So, we paid $241.51 for a 2nd time with no issues being resolved.Since, we have 1) tested the old valves and they are operable, 2) discovered the root cause of the problem was wiring from the box to the valves 3) replaced the wiring and 4) installed a backflow preventer by a company that obviously completed a much improved job. Whereas, Irrigation Concepts basically changed out parts that were not necessary and never resolved the root cause of the problem. In problem-solving, it is basic the company should identify the potential failure modes in the system and not just guess by part replacement.

Desired Settlement: we are requesting full reimbursement for the 2nd invoice, $245.51

Business Response:

We at Irrigation Concepts would like to start off by saying that we take full responsibility for our actions and in hindsight could have handled this situation better.  The customer was angry on phone and we should have done more to diffuse the situation.  It is for these reasons we will refund the full 2nd invoice to the customer of $245.51 as of today's date, June 30, 2014.

In our defense however, we would like to state that the repairs we did make at this property were done through the proper protocol of irrigation repair.  The wires were tested for continuity and the valves were tested for  proper function.   The technician could not get the problem to occur during either of his two visits.  The technician made a judgment call and went the route of what is most likely to be the problem from our past experiences.

We  would  also like to apologize publicly if the Customer felt threatened by our technicians remarks about contacting the city to report there was no backflow device on the system.  The backflow device  which protects our potable water from backflow issues can cause a multitude of problems to the community's water supply.  It is our duty to ensure the protection of our valuable water.

In the past 23 years in this business we have had very few unhappy customers, in fact, we have a large customer base of repeat customers. We take any and all complaints personal and will use this compliant as a tool to make our business better.

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.