BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Air National AC & Heating of Houston, Inc.

Phone: (281) 251-3143 Fax: (281) 257-8289 6635 Spring Cypress Road, Spring, TX 77379 http://www.airnationalhouston.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in sales, maintenance, repair and installation of all brands of air conditioning and heating units, as well as indoor air quality.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Air National AC & Heating of Houston, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 24 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 20
Total Closed Complaints 24

Additional Complaint Information

Air National AC & Heating of Houston, Inc. would like you to know:


Warranty: All new HVAC systems come with a manufacture’s parts and equipment warranty; most are 10 years.  This warranty is good through the manufacture and any authorized dealer.  Air National of Houston offers a One year labor warranty on all equipment installations.  We do ask that customer’s do not have another AC company perform work on your new system within this first year.  If that happens your labor warranty will be void as we cannot verify or authenticate the work that another AC does.  Your parts and equipment warranty through the manufacture will stay intact.  

Customer Service: Customers may reach our office manager during regular business hours of Monday – Friday 7 am until 4 pm.  We do have other staff members on hand after these hours, but they can only pass your message on and the office manager can return your call the next business day.  Our office manager can help with any customer issues; we encourage all of our customers to speak with our office manager prior to submitting a BBB complaint.  We feel that most issues can readily be resolved without the BBB.  

Billing: Our office staff will discuss any billing or service call prices with each customer before any appointment is scheduled.  This way both the customer and our staff members know what is a chargeable visit and what is considered a free warranty visit.  

Sales:  All sales, whether it’s parts, labor or equipment, are completely spelled out on Air National of Houston invoices or sales proposals prior to us starting any work.  This gives both the customer and our staff a complete idea and knowledge of what’s being installed and what isn’t.  If any customer has any questions about the items they have purchased, please call our office immediately so we can clear up any questions.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 21, 2011 Business started: 09/13/2010 in TX Business started locally: 09/13/2010 Business incorporated: 09/13/2010 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado, Austin TX 78701
http://www.license.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
Fax Number: (512) 475-2871

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Brandi Andrews, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brandi Andrews, President
Business Category

AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Card, Paypal
Refund and Exchange Policy
We have a cancellation policy for all purchases of three days with written notification
Industry Tips
AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING - SELECTING A COMPANY

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6635 Spring Cypress Road

    Spring, TX 77379 (281) 251-3143

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air National replaced my AC unit in June of last year. In December, we turned the heat on and it didnt work. So I called Air National and asked them to come out and fix it since it was still under warranty. The tech came out and said he needed to order a part. Two weeks went by and I hadnt heard from Air National. I called again, asking what the status was. They informed me that they still needed to order the part, and that it would be in within 10 days. When the part came in they called and set up a time to come and repair the unit. The tech came out and told us he had fixed the heat but we would have to manually turn it on and off because the auto feature was still not working, that they would need to order another part. He was very nice and apologized many times. Another week went by and we hadnt heard from them. So we called and asked what the status was. They said the part still wasnt there. Another week went by, we called again, the receptionist said she would check with the tech that came out, check the status, and call us back. She never did. So I called today 2/11/14 and they informed me that they downsized and no longer service my town. I told them that my AC unit is still under warranty and that it needs to be fixed. So they told me they would honor the warranty but that I would have to pay 79.99 for their gas and the tech time to come out here. This is a service that should have already been taken are of. They either forgot about us or dont know how to fix our AC that they installed. Now for some reason they think i should have to pay a service fee to fix a product that never worked right in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I just want this heater fixed. And I should not have to pay them 80 dollars when they were in the middle of fixing it and apparently forgot about it. Especially since it is under warranty. They have been out here at least 6 times. It needs to be fixed. If a business puts in a product that doesnt work and have been paid in full then they should make it right.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: found technician not equipped for the job didnt have the training or skills to complete the job correctly he didn't have a recovery machine even though he was told system couldn't be pumped down because compressor was not working he didn't have or use nitrogen to solder joints to keep oxidization out of line set or use it leak check system had to return 3 times to find and fix leaks after i bought an electronic leak detector to do his job they didnt use a 6 dollar acid test to see if compressor burnout was cause didnt see him flush lines never saw them diagnose problem just its old and mismathced and r22 system i woulnt ever call them again

Desired Settlement: the company should be aware of there technicains skills and equipment the office did get back to me evertime i asked a question guess they didnt know what was going on

Business Response: We will call *** ******* to set up a follow up appointment to check over the installation of his system and make sure it is working properly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******  

no one ever called wrote or emailed me I had to have some one else fix there install they didn’t even follow up on it to see if it was ok

 

Business Response: We did call Mr. *******, only to leave a message.

Since then, Mr. ******* has called our office to yell at my office staff about his neighbor's install.  This was completely uncalled for since it wasn't his home nor his purchase.  My office staff was instructed to tell Mr. ******* that we will not discuss another customer's purchase with him due to our privacy policy.  Since this incident we would like to cut ties with Mr. ******* and not service his system any longer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *******


 

i have msg machine on 24/7 and caller id they never called i called them told them it was overcharged with a super heat of 4 degrees the target super heat should have been 17 degrees needed refrigerant recovered. 2nd my friend next door 84 asked for my help i tried to explain to company secretary they changed out a 5yr furnace with a new one cause they didnt want to fix it for a few bucks. you don't need to replace a trane furnace because of a chewed control wire. the technician when he was done said he was sorry. all i want from this is a record so someone else can research them first and make an informed decision 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

BBB Comments: BBB determined that despite the company’s reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

11/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife & I purchased a new a/c heat unit from your co. & it was installed in ***** ** ****. 3 weeks ago we called your office to report the unit was not cooling. Your co. sent out 3 different service techs .on 4 separate visits, but none of them were able to correct the issue or figure out why it would not cool properly. All of them admitted that the unit seemed to be operating correctly but admitted would not cool the house. Your co. sent out a ******* rep. from the factory to inspect the unit & the installation. After speaking to the ******* rep myself, he admitted that there were some issues to correct, however he did not leave a report. We hired another a/c man that installs ******* units to inspect the installation & equipment. His report was in contradiction to what the ******* rep. told me. There were many issues that were overlooked. We have the report. Our independent a/c man found several issues wrong with the installation. The unit appears to be too small to cool the house. It was recommended by the ******* rep. that additional return air vents be installed. All I know is that our old a/c unit , with current return air ,had no problem cooling our home. This experience has been a terrible one. To this day our unit runs constantly to maintain 77 degrees. It only gets cooler in the night when the sun goes down. I need a bigger unit that will cool this house or a full refund of the $ 7400.00 that I paid. I feel I have been patient enough. There is clearly something wrong with the equipment & or the size of the equipment. I used your co. for the work as I thought I could trust you, as your co. has performed routine maintenance inspections on our old dependable unit that we wish we still had. We have not experienced any energy savings as stated on the purchase agreement. Our energy bill is higher now than @ this same time last year. The units runs constantly! Our salesman **** ****** told us that our old unit was no longer serviceable & that the new unit would Freeze us out W / less energy cost. We believed him! As I am writing this letter, the current temp. in the house is 80 degrees while the thermostat is set @ 72 degrees. Again, either install a larger unit @ your cost that will cool this house adequately or refund our money. We cannot & will not stand for this any longer.

Desired Settlement: We need a bigger unit because the unit that was sold to us does not cool our house.

Business Response: We are going to Mr. ******' boss.  My staff already has phone calls and emails sent to get this situation escalated to higher management

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

**** *****


 

Business Response: We are in direct contact with the customer regarding this ongoing issue

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air National replace a new unit in my home in ****** and it is now ********* and they have been out to my home 5 times repairing the "Brand New" unit. They do not beleive in Putting the customers first!Today they were suppose to give me a 30 minute call before going to my house because I had to work. I explain to the manager that my son was home but,I will meet the tech there once i get the call.... so making a long story short....* they didn't give me a 30 minute call* The Tech was in the house alone with my 13 year old , going thru my house with out any adult supervision.*The Tect turned off half of my power in my home which include my fridge and my deep freezer and he left it that way...* he left my house with out any notification even to my 13 year old son ... so i am not sure if there is something missing from my home or not. * The service was never completed because after expressing my concerns they thought it was a liability issue ... so i had to call out another AC company

Desired Settlement: I will be seeing into a law suite for entering into my home without a adult being present and also about other problems that occured

Business Response: *** ****** is the tenant of an Air National customer.  Our policy is to only deal with the property owner.  We have been in contact with the owner, please remove this complaint from our record. ********* has never paid for any work that Air National has performed.

Business Response:

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

10/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my ****** **** unit replaced in ***** with a ******* ** **** * *** ****. My old unit was 13 years old and falling apart, but it kept my house very good and my energy bills were lower. Air National came out and replaced my unit with a new high efficiency unit that was "guaranteed" to lower by utility bills by $100.00 per month. The unit worked fine until the temperature started to get close to 90 degrees and once this happened the unit could not keep the house at the set temperature, which was something that never happened with my old unit. We called and the installation tech came back out to the site and found the coolant pressure was set incorrectly so he added coolant, which he had dumped the day he set up the system, because he thought he was installing a different unit. This made the unit blow colder air, but it still did not have the air volume to cool the house so I called again. A service tech came to the house and told us our duct work was incorrect and it would cost another $2500.00 to fix the new $7000.00 unit we just installed. I called the office to speak to a manager or owner and never received a call, but was told one would come to my house to inspect the install. I called my finance company for the HVAC unit to inform them the unit was not working and I would not be paying for something that did not work. They were/are very helpful and were able to get the manufacturers representative to come to the house and inspect the system with the original installer. Still no manager or owner showed up or called. It was determined the plenum was not large enough and a pressure control valve had not been upgraded as per the spec so Air National came back out and replaced the plenum and the control valve. Now my downstairs stays cool and will hold temperature, but my upstairs is 10 to 12 degrees warmer with no air flow. I called to have a tech come out to check the system and he verifies there is no air flow upstairs. When we inspect the new install it's a disaster.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund, removal of the system from my house, the additional money returned to me for the extravagant electric bills I have to pay as well as reimbursement for new ceiling fans, box fans, and thermostats that I bought as a result of not being able to cool my home properly and suggestions made by the service and installation techs. I would also like the owner(s) to at least speak to me and acknowledge how they have failed in their customer service.

Business Response: *** ******** was to quick to submit this complaint, in our opinion.  We were working with him to get any AC issues resolved.  We went to his home to fill out a pressure/measurement report to submit to *******.  Once we did that, we got our ******** ******* ******, *** ******, out to his home to make recommendations.  *** ****** gave us those recommendations and they were completed on **** *** ****.  It was a full days work for my team of technicians.  My office has not heard from *** ******** since.  We consider this matter closed.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* ********


 

This complaint was filed after the repairs, which were recommended by the ******* rep,  were made by the Air National technicians in an unacceptable manner and I personally requested a meeting with the owner and even went to the company office on **** **** to facilitate this meeting and provide the pictures I had take of the gas line and vent pipe not being connected.  I over heard the owner tell the office personnel he was not coming into the office if I was there, and that is when I decided to file the complaint.  Two additional technicians have been back to my house on two subsequent trips to try and get my AC funtioning properly.  This has been an ongoing issue for 3 months and as of today no signficant improvements or resolutions have been made.    I think I have been more than patient with Air National and have afforded them every opportunity to correct the issues.  I have personally spent more than $800 in upgrades (new thermostat, new ceiling fans, heavy blinds, heavy drapes) to help cool the house and an additional $100/month on higher electric bills than the average with the old system at comparable times of the year.  I have also asked more than 6 times to have a manager or owner come to my house and/or call me to discuss all of the issues, but I have yet to receive one piece of corresponce from Air National.  

I have had two reputable local companies come to my house in the last two days to indepently inspect the new system and provide pricing to repair or replace the system.  NO work has been initiated only estimates have been provided to get a working system in my house.  I have 2 more companies coming on Monday to do the same.  So far both companies have noted the following issues indepently:

1. Air intake is not installed correctly.  No return air plenum is installed and the manner of installation and design of the air intake at the unit is causing as much as a 50% reduction in air intake.

2. Coil is not alligned with the air flow so air is only traveling over 50-75% of the coil, which is making the AC not cool effeciently and is leaving the house very humid.  Coil is also installed vertically, when it is designed to be installed horizontally.

3.  Plenum is not sized or mounted in line with air flow so air is not flowing correctly through the plenum to the air vents, which is causing further CFM loss.  

4. Unit is not installed to code because no disconnects were installed

5. Service feeds from the old unit were not replaced

6. Electrical conduit outside at the compressor is not connected and cabling is showing

7.  Air ducts were crimped when they were rerouted to the plenum so airflow is restricted to our rooms

8. Air ducts are not sealled correctly 

9. Unit has potential damage from running almost constantly since the beginning of ***

10, Vent pipes are not installed correctly

11. Gas lines are not insalled correctly

12. Drain lines were not replaced on install

13. Drain pan is not configured with the proper overflow valves and is full of debris from installation

 

At this point I am asking for the full replacement value of the unit to be returned to me so I can get someone else to correct the issues or replace the unit with something that will work.  I am disappointed that a family owned and local company would allow a family of 4 to continue to live without a functioning system in the summertime.  I am also disappointed that my attempts to directly resolve these problems have been ignored by the owners.  If their customer service would have been better I would not be this upset or would not have to resort to filing this complaint.  They seem to be very dismissive of my claims and show a complete lack of urgency to alleviate my problems not to mention have made no offer to reimburse me for money spent on their recommendations, which all seem to be an attempt to deflect or divert us from the real problem.  I was guaranteed my electric bills would go down if we purchased a new high efficiency AC, which may have actually been the case had the installation been even somewhat close to acceptable.  


Sincerely

******* ********

Business Response:

If *** ******** still has issues we will be more than happy to contact the ******* rep to inspect the work again.  We would prefer to rely on his expertise rather than a competitor who would obviously degrade our work as much as possible to gain a sale.

I would like to address his list of concerns:

The first three would be something I would like *** ****** to look at and advise us on

No 4, 5, 6, 12 were not part of the scope of the original sale/install.  These were not to be replaced but adapted to what he had, please refer to sales proposal contract for that

No 7, 8, 10, 11, 13 were address and fixed on our **** **** visit according to my technicians

No 9 is the opinion of our competitor

 

His complaints are not being ignored by the owners; we are delegating our staff to handle his issues.  


Consumer Response:  Update ******

***** *******, ***** of Air National, and ***** ******, ******* Rep, came to the house around 10:20am to inspect the system and make recommendations to get the system performing correctly.***** tested temperatures and air flow within the furnace and certified the system is performing above manufacturer recommendations. ***** performed a further check of the air ducts and found the main trunk line from the supply plenum to the living room/kitchen area was separated. This is causing a major pressure loss and affecting the overall air flow in the house. We are not sure the cause of separation, but it could have been caused by the repositioning of the supply plemun with the addition of the larger furnace. I know the ducts were inspected by the Air National salesman and by Air National technician ****** and his helper when the dampers were installed on**** *****. I provided them with a large light so we could see into the back of both attics and look for disturbed insulation or dust from a duct leak. ***** has committed to send out a tech either today or in the morning to repair the duct to see if this improves the performance of the system as we are still having cooling issues in the master bedroom/master bath and upstairs, which are the 2 other trunks off of the supply plenum. We all feel correcting the leak will improve total air flow within the house as well as increase the air flow in the master bedroom and upstairs areas. If further work is needed on the ducts I will work with Air National to alleviate any problems. *****, *****, and I also addressed the potential damage to the compressor and ***** assured me we have a lifetime warranty through ******* on that compressor. I have a copy of this warranty for my reference. ***** and Air National are going to provide an extended labor warranty on the compressor to cover any labor cost if there is a failure of any kind. I will provide an update once ***** and I come to terms on the length of the extended warranty. I am optimistic we have found a path to get our system working correctly and hopefully by tomorrow we will have a concrete answer. I appreciate ******* and Air National stepping up and working to correct the problems and certify the system. This is all we have asked for from the beginning.

Sincerely ******* ********

Consumer Response: Since the last update when ******* and Air National came to the house, I have found additional problems with my system as well as a continuation of the same problems, which have never been resolved. I have also had a 4th company come and inspect the system and they assisted with identifying the issues I am calling out. On Friday ****** I found water running out of the weep holes on the side of my house where the supply lines run from the compressor to the furnace/coil through my master bedroom wall. The lines are condensating so much the for 30 feet up and down my wall water was seeping out. I reached out to Air National for guidance and they said this is normal, which I did not believe because I have been here 7 years and I have never had water weep from my walls. I immediately called another company to come and inspect the system since Air National would not commit to sending someone out. They are still liable for any damage to my walls and floors though. The other company identified improper coolant pressure as the cause of the sweating, which is very concerning because ******* and Air National had just "certified" my system on ******. While the new company was on site I had them inspect the rest of my system and they found the following issues. - Ducts are not sealed properly at the supply plenum - The supply plenun and return plenun are not sealed to the furnace and coil properly, which is causing a loss of air pressure and for uncooled air to enter the system past the coil. - Ducts are crimped and air is not properly flowing to the vents - Wrong coil is being used - Design of supply plenum is restricting air flow and causing a loss of air to the upstairs. - System is undersized for the house and should have been installed as a 5 ton system. I have chosen to terminate service with Air National for the continued issues with the system, lack of overall performance of the system, and lack of customer service. Even with all of the documented evidence of the performance of the system the only response Air National has it to threaten litigation against me to keep me from changing companies. I find this fact to be disrespectful but par for the course with them. I have had the full support of the finance company, ******* *******, who has helped immensely with getting the financing removed from Air National because of the issues I have documented to them and others. I want to be fully released from any obligations to Air National since they have been unable to provide a functioning HVAC system. I continue to live in oppressive heat, which has been constant for the majority of summer. I consciously made a decision to replace my system prior to the summer so we would not have to worry about an outage or problems, when it was near 100 degrees out, but because of the company we chose to do the work we have not had a comfortable day yet in the house, which is wearing on everyone's sanity.

Business Response: This case has been escalated to the Texas Civil Courts and the Texas Licensing Board.  Air National will no longer respond through the BBB regarding this matter.  We do not believe that the BBB can help resolve this issue. 

BBB's Final Determination: BBB determined that while the business addressed the complaint issues, the complanant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside the BBB Rules of Arbitration.

BBB Comments: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********. A ********** by the name ***** ******* was sent by the company to fix AC, he did following wrong and abusive practice:- 1. Misquoted on the defect with an intent to gouge. He recommended replacement of blower motor and capacitor for which he quoted estimated charge $ 650.00. I did not opt for his work, and engaged another **********, on same evening who fixed the issue by putting a capacitor and charged only $75. 2. While leaving the house he took away capacitor without my or any one at my household knowledge, which amounts to stealing. 3. He left the unit open with wires hanging out which could have lead to fire or other life threatening hazard. 4. At the time of paying trip charge; he was not only very unprofessional and aggressive but also was abusive. He abused me over the phone; since I was attending my prayers. My eldest son made him to talk to me on my cell phone. He said, " I did not know you are that cheap ass" and words to that effects. If required voice transcripts can ordered from cell phone company. I have ******* ******** as my cell phone * ************. 5. I called and engaged this company for the work since they had serviced my air conditioners not a month ago, i.e. *********

Desired Settlement: 1. Refund of trip charges 2. A disciplinary action against the technician involving the licensing regulating agency. 3. The Air National of Houston be closely monitored for their work.

Business Response: *** **** called us for a Service Call scheduled for ******.  He was told my the office staff that the service call was $79 and that he, the homeowner and decision maker, had to be home.  We require this so that the technicians can discuss any issues found with the homeowner/decision maker.  ***** found the systems were 10 years old and in need of some help.  He recommended replacing the blower motor and the capacitor on one of they systems.  These repairs were quoted at $650 which is a fair price and not price gouging, nor with that intent.  *** **** obviously doesn't know the meaning of price gouging - "pricing above the market price when no alternative retailer is available"

This was ******* recommendation, *** **** had the choice of not doing the work.  When *** **** said that he was not going to do the work, ***** said that was fine and expected payment of the $79 for the service/trip charge.  This is where the conversation went down hill.  *** **** was refusing to pay.  ***** got upset because *** **** was told by the office staff that the $79 was due if no work was done.  I think anyone would have been upset at *** ****** actions; 1) not being home as instructed by our office staff 2) refusing to pay for the service when he was told before the the apt was scheduled that $79 was owed.  ****y has stated that words were exchanged between he and *** ****, both are probably at fault for the heated conversation.  We stand by our technician and his decisions.  He said he did not remove anything from the property.  He was simply doing his job with an unreasonable customer.  At this point, we have determined that it would not be in our best interest to do future business with *** ****.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On **** *** **** **** Air National replaced my evaporator coil ,Plenum, Float switch, and pan. for $******* I was told that I would see a great improvement over my old one. Fact is the temperature in the house will not go below ** degrees and sometimes ** degrees. Any setting below this causes the compressor to run continually and the temperature will not lower. I have called every day complaining about this. I asked to speak to *****. Every time he was out of the office and never returned my call. On one occasion I was asked who told me to speak to ***** ?? They sent a man out to check the system he told me that everything was done right and that I needed dampers installed in my ducks to balance the air pressure and that would be an additional $****** I told him that the replacement coil which is supposed to be a match for the condenser they installed should have at least done the job of the one that was being replaced. They blaimed the design of the system which I have had no problem with for **** years. * have allways had a low and reasonable electric bill and have maintaind a temperature of ** day and ** night with no problems. I cannot afford the compressor running 24/7 the light bill will be out the roof. it is unhealthy for me as I am ** years old and cannot take the heat like I did when I was younger. I want them to fix this problem without having to alter my duck work that was perfectly ok before their replacement. I was not given what I was told by the first *********** All they had to do was replace the coil with one that did the same job as the old one. If they can not do this I need a complete refund and they can come get the coil, plenum, float switch and pan and I will get someone who knows what they are doing to fix my Air conditioner. Also I have called every day about this . They scheduled a tech to come out ******** *** ****. between *** and ***** o'clock. Never showed up. they rescheduled for****** . Never showed up. called this morning. they have not called me back.

Desired Settlement: Replace the coil with one that simply does the job as the old one did. If they can't do it then I need a refund and they can come get their coil, pan, float switch and plenum and I will get another AC company to do the job right without having to alter my system in any way which has been perfectly OK since the house was built **** years ago. The old coil worked just fine with the compressor that (THEY) installed *** ***** ago. I have invested $******* with Air National and that is enough.

Business Response: The complaint we have on file from Mr. ****** is that his air flow or air balance isn't up to par.  This has to do with the duct work, not the coil.  My *********** found the equipment working within normal parameters, but did see that he has rooms that aren't getting the air flow that he desires.  This is why we recommended the dampers.  I would be happy to send another ********** out to double check this diagnosis, however, if it is still the same problem, all we can do is recommend dampers or to rerun the duct work.

Business Response: I am sorry that one of my *********** misdiagnosed the problem.  He is normally very good.   I will make note to have only **** out for future service.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******

 

I have also instructed my credit card company to go ahead and honor the transaction.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In ******** of **** I purchased a new air conditioning unit from *** ******** which I paid for with my ***** card. The *** who came out to replace the unit could not fit the old unit thru our attic door so he borrowed our saw and removed all of the framing of the attic door. He then replaced the unit and when done he nailed the pieces back to the attic door but said he was not a ********* so it was not done properly. The ******* *** said the ******* would send out a ********* to repair the attic door and event wrote it on the service ticket. The ******* *** left a large gap around the entire attic door due to his **** of carpentry but we were assured it would be fixed immediately. Since all of this happended right around the holidays I waited a couple of ***** to be contacted by the ******* but I never heard anything. So I decided to call, I have been leaving regular messages since ******* **** and still have not heard back. I am very disappointed due to I paid to have a service done not to have my house damaged. I believe that due to the large gap in my ceiling I now have increased electrical bills and my ac unit is working harder than it should be because of all of the cold air going into the attic. I do not believe I am asking for much I just would like the work to be completed like I was told it would be.

Desired Settlement: I would like a ********** to be ***** by *** ******** to repair my attic door or for *** ******** to pay who I choose to repair it.

Business Response: I will have my ***** call this customer on *******.  We will send our warranty ********** out to take a look at the attic framing and work out any repairs needed directly with the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Having received a furlough (layoff) notice from my employer (United States Government) as a result of Sequestration, I notified Mr. ***** ******* of Air National of Houston via his answering service on 3/16/13 that I would have to cancel the previously scheduled installation due to the unexpected financial hardship of my furlough. I was assured by the answering service representative that I would receive a return telephone call, which did not occur. I again called Mr. ******* at his office on 3/18/13 and, after providing my name to the receptionist and being instructed to hold to speak with him, I was told that he was not in the office. I notified the receptionist of the nature of my call and was told that Mr. ******* would contact me when he returned to the office. That did not happen. Later that day, I visited the office and was told that he was not in. I requested that they contact him to advise him that I was there to see him but was told that he did not respond to texts and that sometimes they do not hear from him for several days, which I find difficult to believe. I can only assume that Mr. ******* behavior is intended to ignor my attempts to contact him and his failure to reply to my calls and visits reflect his intentions not to refund my $500.00 deposit less service call fee of $35.94.

Desired Settlement: An immediate refund in the amount of $464.06.

Business Response: Mr. ***** called our answering service to cancel his installation after hours on a Saturday 3/16/2013.  Our answering service is instructed to tell customers that they will receive a return phone call the next business day, which would be Monday in this case.  On Monday, Mr. ***** did not allow us time to come in and get settled for another crazy week before he started calling and even showed up at our office.  That Monday ***** was working out on a job site and had no access to customer records and I wasn't able to make it into the office.  Mr. ***** decided that these actions were us avoiding him.  Not So.  We did get his message and were glad to cancel his job and issue a refund, which we did.  We would just appreciate a day or two to get this done.  On Tuesday, I did send Mr. ***** an email explaining all of this and assuring him I would get a refund out to him via USPS later that day.  I issued a refund check to Mr. ***** and mailed it to the address he supplied.  There was no intent to keep his deposit.  I feel he was jumping to conclusions when we were unable to produce a refund on a whim as he expected.  Please keep in mind that most companies do need a day or two to get refunds processed.  As I said, a refund has been issued and no bad intent was a-foot.


Thank you,
****** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

 


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A year and a half ago the person who did my inspection did an excellent job. Unfortunately, after that you are on their call list. I have endured a phone call every two weeks for a year to do a follow up. Every person tells me they are taking me off the list. I have called and asked supervisors to take me off the list with no solution. I do not know what to do from this point. I feel like it is bordering on harassment. I called again today and their employee **** was rude and told me that it is impossible to be taken off the list.

Desired Settlement: Just to have them please stop calling me.

Business Response:

I would first like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. I did not realize that employees were telling you that they did take your phone number off our calling list when in reality that action needs to be done by a manager.  I have taken that action, your phone number does not exist in our database any longer.  I have spoken with **** about her actions; she recently went through a personal tragedy.  I thought she was ok to return to work, but clearly she needs more time.  For the future, if you need anything, we will wait to call you.  I will also have a meeting with my employees to make sure they understand that all removal requests must be given directly to me, so that I can ensure our customer's happiness.

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air National's customer service and communication are highly lacking. They have been to my house multiple times over the past year. Each time, someone different has been sent to my house. Almost every time, the company has tried to sell me something else. This past spring, they said I needed a UV light installed to reduce the mold in my attic. This past summer, they convinced me to buy a new system (air handler and compressor). The unit started short cyling this past fall. Their service man was sure there was a leak and that I needed to have my copper line set replaced. Repeatedly I discussed with the service man that I wanted a leak check done first before I even considered replacing the line set as it was very costly and I had already spent tons of money. No leak check was performed and a line set was installed without my authorization. I was furious and refused to pay the company for work I did not authorize. The next month, the company sent another representative to check the system and it was still leaking. Either the installers did not do their job correctly or the line set was never the problem. In addition, the line set was not even covered on the outside of the house. Another appointment was made to correct the problem today. The service man sent to my house was simply told to collect the money for the line set. He did not come with the equipment to fix the leak nor finish the job by covering the line set on the outside of the house. I was outraged. This company is not trustworthy, they are just out for money. Most of the time, their service men are late, do not call in advance and/or do not show up thereafter, and do a poor job. The company has very poor communication skills and does not work in the best interest of the customer. They also do a very poor job in hiring their employees. On several phone calls with the company, they have admitted to hiring incompentent individuals.I do not recommend them to anyone and will not call them in the future.

Desired Settlement: I should not be asked to pay them for the copper line set and corresponding labor as they were not authorized to install it.

Business Response: I have done a bit of research on Ms. ********'s file and the visits Air National  made to her home.  They are a bit different than she explained.  The visits go as follows:

2/4/12 - Ms. ******** purchased a ****** ****** Deal for Air National to do an AC Maint.  At that time, the technician found her system dirty with mold and recommended a Coil Cleaning and an Ultra Violet Lighting System to combat that in the future.  She agreed to that purchase and price and that work was done on 2/11/12.
On 6/28/12 another visit was made to her home, at that time the technician recommended she upgrade her system to the new R410A refrigerant, since her system was running on the old R22.  The technician negotiated a price with Ms. ******** and an agreement was reached.  The system was installed the next day, 6/29/12.  On 7/25/12 our install manager did a walk through / happy check at her home.  He made some minor adjustments and she stated she was happy with the system.  We did not hear from Ms. ******** next until 11/27/12, she called in stating that her system was shutting off and on (sounds like short cycling) the apt was set for 11/29/12.  She did cancel that apt and said she would call back if the problem exists.  We cannot say if the system was really short cycling or not since none of my technicians diagnosed it because she cancelled the apt.  We then hear from her a few days later, we sent a tech to her home on 12/3/12.  The tech found zero refrigerant in the system which tells him there is a leak; AC systems are closed circuits in which refrigerant runs through.  The technician suspected the leak in the copper lines, he did not see any evidence of a leak within the newly installed equipment.  The only other place would be in the copper lines.  Ms. ******** said she would call us back.  On 12/6/12 our tech, *****, said that Ms. ******** gave her the verbal go a head to install the copper lines for $1250.00.  **** arrived that day to perform the install; only her son was home.  **** was under the impression that he had authorization so he started the work.  Ms. ******** came home about 3/4 the way through the job and said to stop and she did not give permission to do this.  **** stopped work.  He was not finished and no money exchanged hands.  We did send another technician to her home, the system is still leaking but this is not surprising because the copper line job was not finished (as she states, the line cover is not on)  At this visit, she still refused to pay for the work so why would we finish the job?  We cannot finish a job without promise of payment.  My techs had the verbal authorization to move forward with this job, we would not have wasted the materials and labor without it.  I would consider negotiating a lower price with Ms. ******** and finishing the job, but that is all I can offer.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******** ********


 

 Your records are inaccurate.  ***** was never given the go ahead to install the copper line.  He was asked to do a leak check in order to verify that the line was indeed the problem.  In addition, I was asked on the most recent visit to give full payment for an unfinished job.  No partial payment was ever discussed.  In fact, the appointment was set in order to get the job finished and determine what was causing the leak still present.  No work was done on the system to stop the leak so I was not about to pay for anything.  In addition, the reason the appointment was made in Dec was that the system was still short cycling.  ***** said that the short cycling was due to the leak but never verified via a leak check what was the actual cause.

Business Response: Here are our options to fix the situation: 


1. We can settle on discounted price for the copper and then we'll finish that installation and address the short cycling issue or what other issues/concerns there are

2. If Ms. ******** refuses to pay anything, then we'll part ways at this time.

Please let me know which option to pursue.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AirNational installed a/c system in my home March of this year. At the time this installation was done all previous water damage caused by the old unit was also repaired including ceiling water damage and duct work. Since installation I have had a repair man out on several occasions, The owner of the company ****** eventually came out to resolve one issue. A few weeks later the water damage was returning in the ceiling, I thought this was attributed to the poor workmanship of the contractor hired to repair the ceiling from the previous a/c water damage. During my search for this contractor to try to get resolution to the once again stained ceiling I noticed that the stain seemed to be getting bigger than it was before. Each time I had the a/c company out to fix the airflow problem and even when I had them install the heater portion of my system I asked the workman/install person/or repair person to check and make sure the a/c was not leaking because the water stain seemed to be getting bigger. The a/c people said it had to be a roof leak because there was no visible signs of water standing around the a/c unit they installed. I had a contractor look for roof leaks there is NO roof leak. Due to summer temp during the day the water collecting was not visable, the only time the water had time to build up and bleed through was during the night when the attic was cooler. Finally on ******** ** **** I was sitting in my recliner & heard water dripping, I looked up & it was coming from the ceiling directly under where the a/c unit is sitting. I attempted to go in the attic it was at that time I found that the last a/c repair person had broken my attic stairs/ladder. In the attic I saw standing water around the a/c & where it was dripping from since install date. I took several pictures of the water & where it was dripping from. The damage to my cieling is a direct result the a/c dripping into my attic. Air National is responsible for all the water damage to cieling and broken attic ladder.

Desired Settlement: Expected settlement - all water damage to be repaired & attic ladder/stair replaced. I will file small claims action unless Air National repairs all the water damaged area of my living room ceiling and completely replace the attic stairs/ladder as thier repair attempt did permenantly fix the ladder. Further this complaint is legal notice to AIR NATIONAL that legal action will be taken unless they repair all damage caused by a/c leak/drip within 20 days of receipt of this complaint.

Business Response: The last few visits to *** ******** home are as follows: 

10/19 she complained of no heat.  My technician hooked up the gas valve and everything was working fine, no water visible.
11/5 She complained of a possible water leak.  My technician made some minor adjustments but didn't see any water leaking from the AC unit in her attic.
11/21 She complained on the unit not working.  She did tell the office staff that she took the t-stat apart to change the batteries.  My technician found her stat in the Off position.  He simply switched it on and everything was working fine.  He also said that the water leaking on the ceiling is up hill from the AC unit in her attic.  She told both my technician and office staff that she did have a roof leak and did have it replaced.  Since there was other people using those attic steps, she cannot simply lay the blame on my company.  These are both reasons why we will not replace her steps nor the ceiling damage.  If she insists I can send another tech out to her home to double check the first technicians story as to the relationship of the ceiling damage and the AC unit.

Consumer Response:

The leak and water damage is a direct result of a leak from the air conditioning unit,  I have several pictures of where the water was leaking from on the unit and also several pictures of where the water was draining to around the a/c unit in the attic thus resulting in the water coming through the sheetrock in my livingroom ceiling.      

 

As I stated in my complaint and in my fax to Air National,  if the damage to my ceiling, wood in attic, and ladder that goes into my attic is not repaired and replaced this complaint will be taken to Small Claims Court within the time frame stated.   I have already filled out the needed forms to file said claim against Air National and will do so upon expiration of the time limit given       I will also be requesting a trial by jury so that a jury of my peers can see ALL the evidence and determine the judgement against Air National should this issue be pressed to the point of going to court.

 

Someone from Air National is welcome to come and look at the area again where the airconditioner leaked, and if Air National will provide me with an email I will forward the pictures that I took while the a/c was leaking, the surrounding area and the ceiling.    I have attached a few pictures for review, will be used as evidence in court. The leak can clearly be seen in all the attached pictures, including water dripping from the pipe that had a shotty piece of duct tape over it.   Further the install person / technician that was in my home the last 3 times clearly agreed with me that the damage is from the airconditioner leak, they also re-verfied the location of the leak where the water had ran due to the leak and confirmed with my findings. We discussed the modifications he made when stopping the leak at that time also.   Obviously there was a leak, or no changes to the a/c would have been made.   Further he acknowleded responsibility for breaking the ladder to the attic and said that someone would be sent to replace it based on the coversations he had with the owners of Air National, they were out of town the last time he came but they planned on taking care of the problems.

 

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

Edith Demayo


The leak is a direct result of the a/c leaking into the attic,  I have several pictures and can show where the water was leaking from before the tech stopped the leak when he came out to do so.   

Business Response: We will set up an appointment with *** ****** to see exactly where the water leak is coming from and what is causing it.  If the leak really is coming from the AC unit and it's not due to a clogged drain line (which is excluded from our responsibility as stated on the back of her contracts) we will fix it.  However, because of her omission that other people have been in her attic, roof repair guy, we cannot take responsibility for the attic steps.  It is very unclear as to where the blame lays.

Consumer Response:

 

The person that comes out for this appointment, I would suggest sending the owner or owners to follow up and they will need to take measurements of the water damaged area and bring a ladder to install so he/she can get into the attic, since the last repair tech from Air National broke it and the rigged repair did not hold when he came to try to stop the water leaking from the a/c unit. There is significant water damage to the wood surrounding the a/c unit and the sheetrock in the living room ceiling directly under the a/c unit and leak. Please make sure Air National sends a contractor to take measurements for the repair / replacement of all damage caused by Air Nationals workmanship and employees.

The time given to resolve this matter is passing quickly, I am requesting again for the matter to be resolve outside of the courtroom. Should I need to pursue legal action I will not only ask for the repair/replacement of all damgage I will also ask for an additional monetary settelment to make sure that any future issues caused by this a/c & heating system can be taken care of by a more professional and reputible business. The maximum amount allowed for in Small Claims Court will be requested.

 

*** ******

 

 

Regards,

***** ******


 

The person that comes out  for this appointment, I would suggest sending the owner or owners to follow up and they will need to take measurements of the water damaged area and bring a ladder to install so he/she can get into the attic, since the last repair tech from Air National broke it and the rigged repair did not hold when he came to try to stop the water leaking from the a/c unit.      There is significant water damage to the wood surrounding the a/c unit and the sheetrock in the living room ceiling directly under the a/c unit and leak.         Please make sure Air National sends a contractor to take measurements for the repair / replacement of all damage caused by Air Nationals workmanship and employees. 

The time given to resolve this matter is passing quickly, I am requesting again for the matter to be resolve outside of the courtroom.  Should I need to pursue legal action I will not only ask for the repair/replacement of all damgage I will also ask for an additional monetary settelment to make sure that any future issues caused by this a/c & heating system can be taken care of by a more professional and reputible business.       The maximum amount allowed for in Small Claims Court will be requested.

 

*** ******

Consumer Response: all issues remain unresolved until all repairs and work is complete.

Business Response: We currently have an appointment with Ms. ****** on  to address her issues.  We had an apt on *** *; however, my office staff made a mistake and sent an inexperienced installer out to her home.  He was neither authorized nor capable of making the correct diagnosis.  I will send in an update after the *** **** appointment.

Consumer Response:

The individual who identified themselves as “******” came to my home said he was hired by Air National to "clean up their mistakes or fix complaint issues".  Further this individual stated that several issues needed to be corrected on top of the damage caused by installation technicians and leaking air conditioning unit.   The individual that came to my home said that the duct work was installed poorly, that the heating unit was installed the wrong direction in conjunction with the a/c unit that Air National had previously installed.  The drain pan was not the correct one that was installed under the a/c unit.  The individual sent out by air national also stated that he would need to verify that the heating unit sold to me by Air National was the correct one to work properly with the a/c unit installed in March of this year. 

It is my understanding that the individual sent to my home was to find all possible issues and then recommend the needed solution which was either repairing, replacing, or correctly installing the entire unit, the a/c duct work, heater etc.   Also to repair the damaged area of my ceiling and also replace the ladder that allows access to my attic.

Further, during the inspection of needed repairs, I was in the attic with this individual.  So I know what problems and issues he found that needed to be addressed.   Secondly, on my way out of the attic, due to the fact I had to use an alternate ladder to gain access to my attic,  this ladder came out from underneath me and I fell, having to catch myself as my arm was scraped up by the side of the attic entrance and a gash was tore in my right hand, having to react so quickly to catch and stop my fall to hit the concrete floor in my garage,  I have been sore and feel as though I am experiencing a form of whiplash or strained muscles do to the incident

When I contacted **** last week to set up the appointment for the ****, I made this appointment with the understanding all needed repairs would be made at that time.   I also informed **** of the fall incident as a direct result of needing to use a less secure method to gain access to my attic while their representative was here.

The information received today from Air National via the correspondence from BBB, is an indication that Air National does not intend to follow through with their representatives recommendations to settle the matter and issues that I have at this time.

It is my feeling that the general response to my compliant is a method to put off the matter being brought to trial in Small Claims Court.  Once again I remind Air National that I gave them a 20 day grace period in which to make all needed repairs and replace all needed parts or materials associated with the air conditioning and heating unit they installed in my home also to repair the damaged ceiling and replace the broken attic ladder.   I am being more than co-operative in extending until the **** for all repairs etc. to be completed. I called and left a message again today with **** regarding this matter, she advised me that someone would call me back.

I will not accept another delay for any reason other than if an emergency in my family should arise and I need to reschedule the appointment.  A reschedule or appointment delay will not be accepted on the part of Air National.   If as of ******** *** **** at 5:00 pm all repairs have not been completed I will file the Small Claims Motion the morning of ******** *** ****.  

This notice is sent via BBB correspondence and via fax to Air National, ******** *** ****

*** ******



***** ******


 

 

Consumer Response: Name correction for technician that came to my home on ******** ** **** ***** *********, contact telephone number *********** When I typed the previous correspondence, I picked up the wrong contractors name and typed it into my information. This e-mail is to correct the name only of the person who Air National sent to my home during the last appointment. I have also faxed an updated letter with the correct individuals name on/in the contents of that letter ******** ** * **** at **** pm to Air National. The deadline for all complaints to be resolved remains ******** *** **** at 5:00 p.m. otherwise a small claims suite will be filed on the morning of ******** *** **** ** ******

Business Response: On *** *** ****,  Air National sent ***** *******, part owner, to Ms. ******** home for further inspection.  He found that the furnace was installed correctly; otherwise if would be blowing out of her returns, which it was not.  He found that the water leak is coming from her secondary drain line.  The secondary drain line is above the primary and the only reason it would leak from this line is because the primary drain line is clogged.  As stated on our contracts, we are not responsible for clogged drain lines.  Here are several reasons why: 1) Most AC drains in this area are plumbed into other piping, such as tubs and sinks.  If a tub or sink gets clogged from hair or other debris and backs up the AC, we cannot control that nor should we be responsible since that is caused by activities other than AC.  2) If the drain line isn't plumbed into other lines, then the drain runs outside of the  home.  We have seen, in the past, where lizards and other bugs or lawn care debris clogs it and backs up the line.  Again, these are things we cannot control and are not responsible for.  While ***** was at her home, she mentioned that the ceiling was stained, ***** reminded her that on his first visit she pointed out the same stain.  We installed her unit back in March 2012, it ran for months with no leak, proving that our installers cleared the drains during install.  Regarding her attic steps: Ms. ****** told my office staffer, ****, that she had a roof repair guy out to her home, he was in the attic.  She did not complain about the steps being broken until after his visit.  Ms ****** blames our technician, ***, but since the steps were broken after another company's man was up there, that says to me that he broke them, not our guy.  **** remembers this conversation very well and will testify to it.  Currently, we are not responsible for her clogged drain line, please see the back of our contracts.  Nor are we responsible for her attic steps since the timeline shows that the roof repair man is the one to blame.

Consumer Response:


 This case will be handled in Court.   It is unfortunate that the business owner is not telling the truth.  He did not inspect anything, I was in the attic with him when he started with his diatribe of lies and excuses I told him to get out of my attic because obviously he would not be willing to not only see but admit the numerous problems I was going to point out to him.  Also, he tried to convince me that "water runs up hill" that in itself should prove he doesn't know what he is talking about.

The a/c and heating system have many many things wrong with it. Including numerous places that have huge holes creating leaks in the airflow, so I am getting an estimated amount of 60% of the airflow that should be coming through the duct work to the vents.  I have had someone take the pictures of everything that is wrong and will use these pictures and the testimony of that person in court to prove my claim.

Per my conversation with ***** on ******** ****,  I clearly stated that EXCUSES for issue would not be entertained, that if the repairs needed were not made by the close of business day (5:00 p.m) then this matter would be taken to court.       That the conclusion their contractor came to by finding all the problems with system was the truth and he needed to take responsibility for the problems.  Air National sent their own employee (contractor) out to find out everything that was wrong with the system so it could be fixed.  ***** stated on ******** **** while at my home that the individual they sent out was not experienced or qualified to make that determination and the only reason they said so many things were wrong with the system is so they could make money by fixing it.    

I would recommend that ***** be prepared to provide contact information for ALL of the Air National employees that were sent to my home,  the most recent person being *** who I understand was terminated for not knowing what he was doing, or doing poor workmanship/installs/ repairs.  Also this response is a legal written request for copies of all documentation including warranty information that is associated with the entire system installed in my home by Air National.      The copies can be mailed to ***** ******,  **** ******** *** ******* *****. ***** if requested documentation is not received prior to the hearing date I will request that a subpeona be issued to have the documents produced.

I will clarify that I have pictures to support my claim of the many things wrong with the system that was installed in my home by them.  Further I have contacted the companies that manufactured the unit installed and none of the system goes together, this includes both pieces of equipment installed in March that was supposed to be purchased as a"NEW" system and should be matching equipment/parts for that system.

Air National and it's owners and representatives leave me no alternative but to take the matter to court and let a jury decide the outcome.

******** *** ****

 

Regards,

***** ******


 

 This case will be handled in Court.   It is unfortunate that the business owner is not telling the truth.  He did not inspect anything, I was in the attic with him.  Further, the a/c and heating system have many many things wrong with it.   I have had someone take the pictures of everything that is wrong. 

Per my conversation with ***** on ******** ****,  I clearly stated that EXCUSES for issue would not be entertained, that if the repairs needed were not made by the close of business day (5:00 p.m) then this matter would be taken to court.       Air National sent their own employee (contractor) out to find out everything that was wrong with the system so it could be fixed.  ***** stated on ******** **** while at my home that the individual they sent out was not experienced or qualified to make that determination and the only reason they said so many things were wrong with the system is so they could make money by fixing it.    

I would recommend that ***** be prepared to provide contact information for ALL of the Air National employees that were sent to my home,  the most recent person being *** who I understand was terminated for not knowing what he was doing, or doing poor workmanship/installs/ repairs. 

I will clarify that I have pictures to support my claim of the many things wrong with the system that was installed in my home by them.  Further I have contacted the companies that manufactured the unit installed and none of the system goes together, this includes both pieces of equipment installed in March that was supposed to be purchased as a"NEW" system and should be matching equipment/parts for that system

 

******** *** ****

Business Response: I do not feel that we have any other choice but to go to mediation with *** ******. She is already stating that she wants to take us to court and is starting to "legally" ask for documentation. We will, of course, not provide any documentation to her directly. she can see evidence that we submit during mediation or she can have her lawyer go through the proper channels to request such documentation. We are not telling lies, she just refuses to accept that the damage is her responsibility and not ours.

Consumer Response: Please make sure that it is posted for other consumers that this case is being taken to court and is NOT resolved. I will update once the jury awards the amount being sued for with the case number / info. This case is NOT resolved even if the BBB is required to close it for what ever excuse they have, the company did not provide satisfactory response they bought time with LIES. Ms. ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to mediate the complaint but the consumer declined.

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/27/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service