BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Artistic Floors

Phone: (713) 539-6910   http://www.artisticfloorshouston.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides commercial and residential flooring contractor services, including: granite, marble, tile, slate, hardwood, terrazzo, and decorative stained concrete floor installation, repairs, maintenance, and refinishing.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Artistic Floors include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business

While this company is currently an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, the company has not responded to one or more customer complaints brought to its attention by the bureau.  Accredited Business’s must answer all complaints in a timely manner. The bureau has notified the company that its status at the BBB will be revoked if the complaint(s) is not answered.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 03, 2008 Business started: 07/20/2007 in TX Business started locally: 07/20/2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Juan Esteban Duran, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Juan Esteban Duran, Owner
Business Category

FLOORING CONTRACTORS

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3-17-14 a contract was written up for a job on my house to have the tile removed from my house and replaced with new travertine tile in my entry way,kitchen ,Landry room and guess bathroom new backsplash in the kitchen and remodel the master bathroom and once all the work was complete the travertine floors was suppose to be polished and my wood floors was to be sand &refinished as stated in the contract the total came up to 12200 dollars and a deposited of 6100 was giving I was told by the owner of artistic floors ******* that the whole job would be finished in three weeks well here it is two months later and my house is not close to being finished and I have to call him between 5 & 10 times before I get an answer it took them over a month just to get the tile down in the kitchen entry way backsplash and Landry room so I called him and told him I no longer want him to do my master bathroom I just want him to finish everything else that he has started and he keeps on telling me he's going to do it but its two months later and it's still not done as of 5-19-14

Desired Settlement: I want him to come finish what he started I need my guess bathroom finished my travertine floors need to be polished and my wood floors need to be sand&refinished as stated in the contract and my moldings need to be put back in place that they removed and it needs to be done by 5-24-14 or i will take further action

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

 

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is garbage. Not only did they take waaayy longer than the contracted time frame, they put layers of tar on our floor with planks of wood and placed USED FLOORING in our house!!! they rarely showed up to do the work, and its been almost 2 months since they started and our house is still incomplete! we have asked other companies/contractors to look at our house and every one of them told us we had been scammed and have never seen wooden floors installed like that before.not to mention the USED wooden flooring that they were installing and charging us NEW wood prices. We have no place to stay but here and I have a 3 year old daughter who lives with me and is forced to inhale these toxic fumes from the tar they put.

Desired Settlement: We are out about $4,500. We not only want that back, but also the amount it will cost to fix our walls, floors, glass door, and tiles that they ruined during their work.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments:

After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 12, we agreed to a floor installation from Artistic Floors and paid more than 50% of the total cost because the flooring was special order. In writing Mr. ***** stated that the work would be completed in one week.On January 18, furniture moving and demolition of the old floor began and progressed almost with interruption for a week. On most days, the workmen arrived later than promised and one day did not show up at all. The repair of the underlying concrete proved more than he had estimated and we agreed that we would rather have the floor done right than rushed. More layers of levelling compound were done. At some point, we had to insist on work done on weekends only while we could be at home - we had used up our available time off from work.The workmen worked one day of the weekend they said they would work both days and they have not showed up again nor have they answered our calls or emails. The floor work is not done. My furniture is stacked to the ceiling and we are camping in our home rather than living comfortably.

Desired Settlement: We would like Mr. ***** to finish the work as promised. He has told me he has the special order flooring in his possession. If he does not want to finish the project, we would like the flooring he ordered for us to be delivered to our house so that someone else can finish the project.If he will not deliver the flooring, we need to consider what refund is due to us.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.