Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Coastal Bend Foundation Repair North Division

Phone: (281) 259-8574 Fax: (281) 259-8661 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 1428, Montgomery, TX 77356 http://www.coastalbendfoundation.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in foundation repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coastal Bend Foundation Repair North Division meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Coastal Bend Foundation Repair North Division include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Coastal Bend Foundation Repair North Division
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 06, 2011 Business started: 01/12/2009 in TX
Business Management
Mr. Chad Cheshire, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Cheshire, Owner
Business Category

FOUNDATION REPAIR & HOUSE LEVELING

Alternate Business Names
Coastal Bend Foundation Repair

Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 1428

    Montgomery, TX 77356 (281) 259-8574

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had coastal bend come out to repair part of our foundation, both the owner and his partner came and looked at it. On several occasions I asked them if it was going to be a problem to do half of the foundation and the do the other half at a later date. They both said that it would not be a problem at all. They did the work and gave us a warrenty for it. All of the knock out spots in our concrete look terrible. We contacted coastal bend again when we were ready to do the other half of our foundation and they sent a contractor out to look at it. He said that we needed an engineer, so I called and spoke to the owner. He said that he would come out and look at it and we would go from there. He never came out and I continued to call and no one would return my phone calls. I called several times over the course of the summer. Finally, I gave up and contacted another foundation repair company to come out and finish our foundation. He did the rest of the work and did not recommend an engineer. We should have used this other company in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what the best outcome will be. We spent alot of extra money on this job because we had to go with another contractor completely. Your company caused me alot of stress also and I will definitely do alot more research before we have any big jobs done.

Business Response:

June 17, 2015

Re: BBB Case #********

When Coastal Bend Foundation originally met with Ms. *** ********** we explained the repairs the home would need to have a stabilized foundation. Coastal Bend Foundation explained for the best results the home would need to have exterior piers installed on the entire perimeter of the home. At the time Ms. ********** only wanted Coastal Bend to do the garage area (11 piers), and would have the rest of the home (24 piers) done at a later time.  Coastal Bend Foundation did the repairs to the home on September 2011.  We have not received any warranty issues with the 11 piers that Coastal installed around the garage area.

Ms. ********** contacted us early this year to price having the rest of the home worked on. Coastal met with Ms. ********** and informed her she would need an engineer to look at her home. The **** ** ****** has implemented a permitting process for foundation work. The city now requires an engineered plan to be submitted with the permit. Only a licensed engineer can do this paper work. We gave Ms. ********** a few names of engineers that have done work for us in the past.  We are sorry to hear how unhappy Ms. ********** is with the work Coastal did, but Coastal Bend Foundation will not take any short-cuts when it comes to our customers homes. We will always abided by all rules and regulations that the county and city has implemented for their area.

Coastal Bend performed all the work under the original contract and was paid in full. There have been no problems or complaints since 2011. If Ms. ********** would have got us the engineer report we requested we would have been glad to price her new work.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  First of all I contacted the company over a year ago on several occasions they did not return any of my calls.  It was not this year.  I was not told that I needed an engineer because that is what ****** **** requires actually this is the first I have heard of that.  This company did not follow through with what they said they would.  Again when I contacted the owner, he said that he woul d come out and look at my home again an see if he thought I needed an engineer and never came out.  This is not how you should do business.  I will also be contacting the city today to see if that statement about the engineer is true.  Also the man that said we needed an engineer did not even use any tools to determine the all he did is walk around.  
[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,


  ***

Business Response:

To whom it may concern

We are following the rules and standards set forth by the industry. We are under no obligation to Ms. ********** following the completion of the original contract dated 2011, with the exception of warranty work. No warranty work was requested, so we have no obligations.

We will not engage in a verbal argument through the BBB because Ms. ********** did not want to go through the engineering process.

Also, we are under no obligation to rebid a job once the owner turned down it initially. Once again, we have done nothing wrong so we have no offers for Ms. ********** but that we are sorry she feels the way she does.

2/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Coastal Bend Foundation Repair North Division
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)