Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Breakaway Cruises

Additional Locations

Phone: (956) 761-2212 Fax: (956) 761-1255 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Padre Blvd., Sea Ranch Marina , South Padre Island, TX 78597 http://www.breakawaycruises.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in tourist activities on the water such as fishing, dolphin watch, parasailing, jet skies, snorkeling and firework cruises.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Breakaway Cruises include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Breakaway Cruises
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 2005 Business started: 05/01/1994 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Bryant, Owner Mr. Brad Burrows, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Bryant, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Brad Burrows, General Manager
Business Category

FISHING CHARTER SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Padre Blvd., Sea Ranch Marina

    South Padre Island, TX 78597 (956) 761-2212 (956) 536-2245

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P O Box 2460

    South Padre Island, TX 78597

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had booked this business on a Tuesday, for a sunset sail. They said no problem, we will leave at 3:45. At 3:35, (too late to book with another cruise)they called to cancel stating there were not enough people to take on the cruise, but that I could book for tomorrow. I had told them that it was my anniversary, and do they guarantee that they will be out tomorrow. She said, "yes." The next day I called them at 1pm, to make sure they were going to go out. She stated yes we are for sure, you don't have to worry we are going." Again 10 minutes before we were to be there she called and said they had another offer, some cruise ship, and instead of honoring their promise, they were canceling our previously booked cruise, then she told me she had already called another place and they would take me. When I called that place, they said they had not heard from breakaway cruises that day and that they were already booked. I hate complaining, however this was a pretty low way to treat customers and it ruined our ability to be able to enjoy a sunset cruise for the short period of good weather when we were on the island. If they just would have told us earlier, it wouldn't have been so mean, and wrong, and I want to share this so anyone else wanting to come so they can be sure to book somewhere else and have a more enjoyable time than we did.

Desired Settlement: I just want to make others aware of the terrible way we were treated. There is nothing I personally want other than to make sure others are not taken advantage of like we were and lied to.

Business Response: I have called and spoken to **** **** and apologized for the experience they had at Breakaway Cruises. I have offered for her to come back and take the trip free of charge.  I also gave her info on condos we own to get her a great discount for her next trip down here. I also emailed her all my information so she has a record of it when she plans her next trip.

 
**** *******
Breakaway Cruises
************ 

Consumer Response:

They did offer this, however as I told him, three times in a row our trip was cancelled and we had called twice the last day and they confirmed it only to cancel it with 30 minutes of due departure. When I asked them that day what they could do to make it right she said sorry the boat is gone. They ruined our romantic anniversary as this was then too late to go with a different cruise line. 

While we appreciate the offer, I do want it nets that this offer and apology was only made after I contacted you. However the owner did try to make It right, and we appreciate the effort. 

They did email me the offer.

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

Rhi Muey


 

 

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked a parasailing trip for 2 for $80 which was set for 1pm. We arrived there at 12:30 to check in and paid, as we sat there we watched the crew prepare the boat after about 30min it seems we were ready to take of but the boat would not start, We could see some confusion happening and they were trying different things to start the boat. So after 1 hr of sitting and watching this we decided to cancel because we did not want to waste more time AWAY FROM OUR FAMILY. We go up to the desk and the girl is like ow no its just gona be another 10min. we kindly said we would like to cancel and get a refund since this is a failure on your behalf YOUR boat is not starting, then she stats we have a no refund policy. SO WE WASTED 2HRS OF OUR FAMILY VACATION. We would like to get a full refund

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $86

Business Response: The person filing the complaint is correct. i full refund will be issued today. 

i will contact him directly also.
 
 
**** ******* ************
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Breakaway Cruises
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)