BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Pennywise Power, LLC ?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pennywise Power, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 455-4674 Fax: (877) 455-4674 1201 Fannin, Houston, TX 77002 http://www.pennywisepower.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is a retail electric company.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pennywise Power, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pennywise Power, LLC include:

  • 33 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Pennywise Power, LLC include:

  • Response to 33 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 23
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 33

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 08, 2011 Business started: 10/15/2008 in TX Business incorporated: 09/29/2010 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Public Utility Commission
1701 N. Congress, Austin TX 78701
http://www.puc.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: 888-782-8477
customer@puc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tony Marcella, Director of Operations Ms. Stacy Davis, Manager Ms. Elizabeth Killinger, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Marcella, Director of Operations
Related Businesses
Reliant Energy Green Mountain Energy Company Allied Warranty, LLC NRG Home Services NRG Energy, Inc.
Business Category

ELECTRIC COMPANIES

Alternate Business Names
U.S. Retailers LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1201 Fannin

    Houston, TX 77002 (877) 455-4674

  • P.O. Box 2229

    Houston, TX 77252

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These guys have screwed me for the last time! I am one ticked off homeowner. From ****** to ****** I used **** kwh at an average rate of $.******* for a total of $******. On **** ***, I replaced both of my 16 year old 10+SEER AC units (one for downstairs and one for upstairs) with brand new 16+ SEER systems. I couldn't wait to see how much money I would save over the next billing period during the hottest time of the year. Boy was I in for a surprise. My statement was emailed to me today and what a shocker! My bill increased to $******! I checked the usage and I only used **** ***, so almost a third less. The rate, however, jumped from $.******* to $.*******, effectively doubling! I was on the variable rate plan so expected minor fluctuations in the rate, but I sure as heck did not expect the rate to double, and in the middle of the summer! DO NOT FALL FOR THE PENNYWISE LOW INTRODUCTORY RATE. IT IS A TRICK! THEY WILL SUCK YOU IN, DOUBLE YOUR RATE, AND THEN TELL YOU THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. This is actually the 2nd time this happened to me as my fixed rate plan expired and converted to a rate that was twice as high. When I signed up for this plan, it was only $.*******. That lasted for 2 billing cycles, then wham! We just doubled your rate again, sucker! Okay, that's the last straw for me. PENNYWISE YOU WILL NEVER, EVER GET MY BUSINESS AGAIN!

Desired Settlement: I would like the rate of $.******* applied to my bill with statement date of ******. Applying that rate toward usage of **** *** would result in charges of $******, NOT $******. The difference to be refunded to me would be $******.

Business Response:

At Pennywise Power, we take complaints very seriously.  We always appreciate hearing from our customers and want to ensure their concerns are addressed.  Please see below for a summary of our findings:

Issue

**. ****** is disputing the price per kWh invoiced for his electric service at ***** ******* ***** *****.

History

On *** ** ****, an online switch request was received from **. ****** requesting to enroll the electric service at ***** ******* ***** ***** effective the next scheduled meter read date.  **. ****** and agreed to enroll in Pennywise Power’s Wise Buy Monthly price plan.  The Wise Buy Monthly plan is a variable, month-to-month plan.  Emails confirming **. ******’ enrollment request were sent on *** *** **** to *********************.  The emails included links to **. ******’ electricity facts label (EFL), terms of service agreement, and a copy of “Your Rights as a Customer” document.  Additionally, **. ******’ EFL states the following:

            If my price can change, how will it change and by how much?

The price applied in the first billing cycle may be different from the price in this EFL if there are changes in TDSP charges; changes to the Electric Reliability Council of Texas or Texas Regional Entity administrative fees charged to loads; or changes resulting from federal, state or local laws or regulatory actions that impose new or modified fees or costs that are outside our control. After the first billing cycle, it can increase or decrease by any amount.

On *** *** ****, **. ****** contacted Pennywise Power regarding his account status and was advised that his switch request to Pennywise Power had completed.  Additionally, **. ****** acknowledged that he enrolled on a variable, month-to-month price plan with no cancellation fee; however, inquired as to the price per kWh and was provided with his plan details.  **. ****** advised that he would monitor his invoices for price increases and inquired as to available options for the balance due on an additional Pennywise Power account.  At that time, **. ****** was provided with an explanation of the billing and charges of the additional Pennywise Power account.  

On **** *** ***4, an invoice for $****** was sent for the billing period of *** *** **** through **** ** ****.  This invoice reflects Wise Buy Monthly plan with an energy charge of ***¢ per kWh.

On **** *** ****, an invoice for $****** was sent for the billing period of **** ** **** through **** ** ****.  This invoice reflects Wise Buy Monthly plan with an energy charge of ***¢ per kWh.

On ****** ** ****, an invoice for $****** was sent for the billing period of **** ** **** through ****** ** ****.  This invoice reflects Wise Buy Monthly plan with an energy charge of ***¢ per kWh.

Resolution

Pennywise Power, like other retail providers, offers several variable and fixed rate plans.  A customer can choose a fixed-rate plan with a minimum term contract that would not change from month to month.  Such plans can have lower rates because Pennywise Power is able to forecast how much electricity is needed for their long-term customers allowing them to negotiate a better price for electricity in the market. With variable rate plans, Pennywise Power must purchase electricity quickly based on current market prices.  Depending on current market conditions, these prices may be higher or lower than the negotiated price for fixed-rate plans. 

Pennywise Power apologizes for any inconvenience **. ****** may have experienced regarding the price fluctuations experienced with the Wise Buy Monthly plan.  A review of **. ******’ account determined that the account has been invoiced correctly based upon the terms and conditions disclosed on the EFL.  No adjustments are warranted at this time.

For any additional questions about this concern, please contact me at the number below. I’m available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

******* ********

Customer Support

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have used Penny Wise Power for several months and they increased our rate over a 1 month period by 10 times. We usually pay around $*** and our last will was for $****** on ****** ***. I understand rates can go up but this is ridiculous. I would like the Stat of Texas to do an investigation into their billing practices and gouging customers by increasing the rates. I would like to request a full refund and also plan to contact the Attorney General Office and request a full investigation into fraud at this company.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of $****** and a full investigation by the State of Texas.

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s Response to BBB Case #********

At Pennywise Power, we take complaints very seriously.  We always appreciate hearing from our customers and want to ensure their concerns are addressed.  Please see below for a summary of our findings:

Issue

*** ******* is disputing the price per kWh invoiced for his electric service at **** ******** ***** *****.

History

On ***** *** ****, a contract expiration notice (CEN) was emailed to *** ******* at ************************** advising that the current price plan was expiring and that his account would transition to the Wise Buy Monthly plan with the first meter read date on or after *** *** **** unless the account is enrolled in an alternate price plan or he selects another retail electric provider (REP).  The CEN included links to the term of service agreement, a copy of the ‘Your Rights as a Customer’ document and the electricity facts label (EFL) for the Wise Buy Monthly plan.

On *** *** ****, an invoice for $****** was emailed to ************************** for the billing period of ***** *** **** through *** *** ****.  This invoice reflects the Wise Buy 7 pricing and includes a statement advising, “Your current plan is effective through your meter read on or after *** *** ****.

On **** ** ****, *** ******* contacted Pennywise Power requesting to cancel his electric service as his current price plan was expiring and he did not want to be subject to a higher rate.  *** ******* also requested assistance with logging into Online Account Management (OAM) on PennywisePower.com.  A Pennywise Power representative reset *** *******’s password to allow access to OAM and reviewed available price plans for the account.  *** ******* declined to change his price plan at that time.    

On **** *** ****, an invoice for $****** was emailed to ************************** for the billing period of *** *** **** through **** *** ****.  This invoice reflects the Wise Buy 7 pricing and includes a bill message that advises *** ******* that his current plan is set to expire with the current billing period.

*** *******’s account transitioned to the Wise Buy Monthly plan effective **** *** ****.

On **** *** ****, an invoice for $****** was emailed to  ************************** for the billing period **** *** **** through **** *** ****.  This invoice reflects the Wise Buy Monthly plan pricing.

On ****** ** ****, *** ******* contacted Pennywise Power regarding a charge to his financial institution account.  *** ******* was advised that his account transitioned to the Wise Buy Monthly plan which has a higher energy charge than his previous plan.  *** ******* disputed the price per kWh invoiced and requested to speak with a manager.  *** ******* was advised that a manager was not available at that time; however, a request could be submitted for a supervisor to return his call when they become available.  *** ******* inquired about available options including a possible credit to his account and was advised that he could change his price plan; however, that would not affect the **** *** **** invoiced charges.  At that time, *** ******* advised that he would escalate this issue through external parties and the call ended.

Resolution

Pennywise Power, like other retail providers, offers several variable and fixed rate plans.  A customer can choose a fixed-rate plan with a minimum term contract that would not change from month to month.  Such plans can have lower rates because Pennywise Power is able to forecast how much electricity is needed for their long-term customers allowing them to negotiate a better price for electricity in the market. With variable rate plans, Pennywise Power must purchase electricity quickly based on current market prices.  Depending on current market conditions, these prices may be higher or lower than the negotiated price for fixed-rate plans. 

Pennywise Power apologizes for any inconvenience *** ******* may have experienced regarding his account transition to the Wise Buy Monthly plan.  A review of *** *******’s account determined that the account has been invoiced correctly based upon the terms and conditions disclosed on the EFL.  No adjustments are warranted at this time.

For any additional questions about this concern, please contact me at the number below. I’m available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

******* ********

Customer Support

************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Pennywise Power to close out my account as I would no longer be at my apartment after *** ***h. I called a couple days before *** ***h. I was very specific to request that power be cancelled by Midnight on the **** ** ***. I remember the agent stating that they couldnt close it same-day, but that someone would visit the apartment to read the meter the following day.While I was talking to the agent, I remember verbally confirming that the next bill I paid would be my last. I go to college so Im tight on money. Im always very clear about cancellation fees or final bills. The agent told me that my next bill would be my last.I waited for the *** bill to become available, and an email was sent to me on *** *** for $*****. I paid this amount on *** **** and have bank records to prove it. I even logged into PennywisePower online website and can see my payment for ***** on their website.Despite this final bill payment of $***** which I confirmed with their agent, months later, I got a Final Notice of a total amount past due of $******* I logged into their account and saw that during the month of ****, I received a bill of $*****, as part of a 31 Day Billing Period from ******** to ******.This is insane. I had called to cancel, received notification of cancellation over phone, and confirmed last bill payment over the phone. I was out of the apartment on by **** **** and paid the bill *** ****. For me to receive a $***** bill for four days of use while I was actually during this claimed billing period is impossible.Now Im wondering if my account was even cancelled. Have I been paying for other people using electricity even though I called to cancel? Was the agent I spoke to not clear about what a final bill really was?The only reason I know about this Final Notice at all is from a letter. Now instead of studying for a college exam Im writing a letter explaining the deception or theft of this company. I never should have chosen this company.

Desired Settlement: I want the account reviewed by Pennywise Power and the bill either cancelled or a new total drawn up to reflect only the electricity used while I was there - UNTIL *** ***H.I understand people make mistakes and the agent I spoke with early in *** could have made a mistake while he spoke to me. I understand I need to pay for electricity that I use, but I was there for 10 days during *** and paid $***** *** **** with the understanding that $***** would be my last bill.

Business Response:

Issue

*** ******** is disputing the final invoiced amount for electric service at **** ************ ******* *****

Resolution

On **** *** ****, *** ******** contacted Pennywise Energy to advise that final invoiced amount of $****** reflected the billing period correctly. 

On **** *** ***** a payment of $****** was posted to the account to bring the account to a zero balance.

For any additional questions about this concern, please contact me at the number below. I’m available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

**************

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  

Thank you for your time.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with PennyWise Power in March of 2014 for the 12-month automatic withdrawal plan. It was advertised by PennyWise Power website as having no early cancellation fee.I received a letter in the mail yesterday on May 12, 2014- "invoice was rejected by your bank due to insufficient funds in your account." The charges were for $87.34.I called Wells Fargo to inquire. They said that PennyWise Power never attempted to draft from my account. That likely, PennyWise Power must have either had the wrong routing number or wrong account number. Secondly I had more than $2,700 available in my bank account.I called PennyWise Power. They said that they were not at fault, and could not verify my banking account information because they had deleted it since they cancelled my automatic withdrawal plan. They also charged me a $30 fee because of the automatic withdrawal problem but admitted that they weren't charged any fees by my bank. They also charged me a ~$5 late fee.I went online and made my $87.34 payment. I also reestablished the automatic withdrawal plan online. I took a picture of the web browser for proof. I planned on cancelling with PennyWise Power after securing services with another supplier, but first I called PennyWise Power again to confirm the no cancellation fee. The customer service agent told me that there is actually a $150 early cancellation fee, and that the no early cancellation fee that was/is advertised on the internet was incorrect.This is outrageous.

Desired Settlement: I want a $35 refund. I also want to be given the option to cancel with Pennywise Power with No Cancellation Fees.My account number w/ PennyWise Power is ***************************** ******

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s Response to BBB Case # ********  

At Pennywise Power, we take complaints very seriously.  We always appreciate hearing from our customers and want to ensure their concerns are addressed.  Please see below for a summary of our findings:

Issue

Mr. ****** is requesting a $30.00 refund due to a non-sufficient funds (NSF) charge and a late charge of $4.37 for his electric service account at **** ******** ******  *** ****** is also requesting to switch his service away from Pennywise Power without an early cancellation fee. 

History

On March 21, 2014, Mr. ****** completed an online enrollment and agreed to switch the electric service at **** ******** ***** to Pennywise Power effective the next meter read date.  Mr. ****** agreed to enroll on the Pennywise Power Wise Buy 12 plan.  This plan includes an energy charge of 4.6¢ per kWh, a base charge of $9.95 for usage below 1000 kWh in a billing cycle, a base charge of $0.00 for usage at or over 1000 kWh in a billing cycle, and Oncor (ONC) electric delivery charges passed through without markup.  The plan is a 12 month term with no cancellation fee.  Mr. ****** also enrolled for the automatic bank draft option for the account.  Mr. ****** was provided with a terms of service agreement, a copy of "Your Rights as a Customer" document and an electricity facts label (EFL) at the time of the enrollment. 

On May 1, 2014, a payment for $87.34 was posted to Mr. ******’s account.

On May 7, 2014, Pennywise Power received notification that the May 1, 2014 payment for $87.34 was not honored by Ms. ********** financial institution.  At that time, a $30.00 NSF fee was assessed to Ms. ********** account.  Correspondence advising Ms. ******** of the returned payment was sent on February 6, 2014.

On May 8, 2014, a late fee of $4.37 was placed to Mr. ******’s account.

On May 13, 2014, Mr. ****** contacted Pennywise Power to check on the status of the returned payment.  The agent reviewed the account and advised Mr. ****** to contact his financial institution to inquire why the payment returned.  The agent also credited the late charge of $4.37 to the account.

Resolution

As a courtesy, the returned payment charge of $30.00 was applied as a credit to Mr. ******’s account on May 19, 2014. 

A review of Mr. ******’s EFL verified that an early cancellation fee would not apply to Mr. ******’s account if Mr. ****** chooses to switch away from Pennywise Power.

For any additional questions about this concern, please contact me at the number below. I’m available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

**** *********

Customer Support

713-488-5061

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been with this electric company for two years now. My mother set up the account for me and decided to do paperless billing. January *** of 2013. I live in a one bedroom apartment. The bills seemed to be relatively normal price range to start with and I had no complaints since paperless meant cheaper rates. My mother passed away in April of 2013 and since I'm an only child and she was my only parent I had a lot going on. I decided months later after the chaos to check my bank statements and realized pennywise had been charging me almost 200 dollars a month.(September *** 2013 bill for $149.46 October *** 2013 bill for $162.62 November *** 2013 bill for $164.29 Decemeber *** 2013 bill for $138.84 January *** 2014 bill for $154.48) Which is completely outrageous considering it is such a tiny apartment. I called to find out why the prices were significantly high. **** (representative I spoke with)said I hadn't renewed my contract. I was neither informed of the contract becoming expired (which in their agreemnet says 30 days before) nor did they waive any of the ridiculous fees. They said I should've gotten a letter. I hadn't recived a letter or email. Nothing. I panicked and told them to renew my contract for the least of time (7 months) to lower the billing price. I checked the bill after renewing and again the bill is for 179 dollars. During my work break I called pennywise and they put me on hold for 20 mintues and then told me their supervisor was busy and would call me back. I have yet to recieve that phone call. I work minium wage at starbucks and don't have the time or money to be wasted on electricity that I'm not using.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that's due back to me. All my coworkers who live in Sugar Land Texas and stay in a one bedroom apartment pay around 50 dollars a month more during the summer. These bills are Way to high and this company just avoids you and doesn't resolve the issues.

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s Response to BBB Case #*******

At Pennywise Power, we take complaints very seriously.  We always appreciate hearing from our customers and want to ensure their concerns are addressed.  Please see below for a summary of our findings:

Issue

*** ****** is disputing the invoiced charges for her electric service account at **** *** ********* ********* ***** and requests a refund due to overbilling.

History

On January *** 2013, a contract expiration notice (CEN) was sent to *** ****** advising that her current plan was due to expire effective the meter read on or after May *** 2013 and that if another price plan or retail electric provider (REP) was not selected by this date that her account would continue on Pennywise Power's Wise Buy Monthly plan.  A request was not received from *** ****** to change her current price plan; therefore, her account transitioned to the Wise Buy Monthly plan effective May **, 2013.

On June **, 2013, an invoice with a credit balance of $103.13 was sent for the billing period of May **, 2013 through June **, 2013 with a deposit refund of $225.00, a deposit interest credit of $0.02 and current charges of $121.89.  This invoice reflects Wise Buy Monthly plan pricing.

Subsequent invoices sent to *** ****** from July *** 2013 through November **, 2013 reflect Wise Buy Monthly plan pricing.

On December *** 2013, an invoice for $154.48 was sent for the billing period of November **, 2013 through December **, 2013 and reflects Wise Buy Monthly plan pricing.

On December **, 2013, *** ****** contacted Pennywise Power regarding her usage and invoiced amount and was advised that her previous price plan had expired and she is now being invoiced under the Wise Buy Monthly plan.  *** ****** was offered the Wise Buy 7 plan and was advised that changing the plan will not affect her current invoiced amount.  *** ****** agreed to change her plan to the Wise Buy 7 plan and her request was processed. 

On January *** 2014, an invoice for $179.04 was sent for the billing period of December **, 2013 through January **, 2014 and reflects Wise Buy Monthly plan pricing.

Resolution

Pennywise Power’s Wise Buy Monthly plan is a variable month-to-month price plan and as disclosed on the EFL, except for changes allowed by law or regulatory action, the price reflected on the EFL provided to *** ****** in April 2013 will be applied during the first billing cycle on the Wise Buy Monthly plan.  The price may change in subsequent months at the sole discretion of Pennywise Power.  After enrollment in the Wise Buy Monthly plan, the current price for the product is available by logging into her online account at ******************************** or by calling Pennywise Power’s customer care at **************.  Additionally, invoices sent to *** ****** advise that she can obtain the information about the price that will apply on her next invoice by contacting a Pennywise Power customer care representative at ***************

*** ******** account has been invoiced based upon the terms and conditions disclosed on the EFL.

A review of the December *** 2013 plan change call determined that *** ****** was not clearly advised regarding the effective date of her price plan change request.  A request has been processed to rebill *** ******’* January **, 2014 invoice to reflect the Wise Buy 7 plan pricing.  *** ****** will receive a corrected invoice.

Additionally, on January *** 2014, a request was sent to CenterPoint Energy (CNP) to confirm the reported usage at *** ******’* premise from August *** 2013 through January *** 2014.  On January *** 2014, Pennywise Power received a response from CNP advising that the disputed usage has been verified by a subsequent reading dated January *** 2014; therefore, no usage related adjustments are needed.

For any additional questions about this concern, please contact me at the number below. I’m available Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

******* ********

Customer Support

************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pennywise owes me a credit in the $175 range. According to their company poilicy, the credit is to be paid within 45 days of cancellation of services. They said they sent it to the address I canceled my service at which was a mistake on their part because I gave forwarding address when I called to cancel. I called a week before the due date to receive the credit and the customer care rep informed me it had not been sent yet. I called back when I did not received by due date and spoke with maanager the first part of ******* ****. He informed me it was sent but sent to previous address. He said he would send in request to be resent. I called back a week later and customer care informed me the request had NOT been sent and it would be ANOTHER 10 days. I since have called back 3 times and each time have been given a different time table. One of the reps guaranteed me a delivery date that was not met. I called back today ******* and the customer care rep said it would take up to 20 days. It has now been almost 3 months and I still do not have a check for a credit. This company has no problems charging their customers a late fee for non payment yet they receive no consequences when they do not pay customers on time, a time frame which is in THEIR contract. I am getting the sense they are trying to avoid paying money owed to me. All of their calls are recorded so this should be a simple task to look into and resolve.

Desired Settlement: I need to be paid the money owed at the very least.

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s response to BBB Case # *******

Issue

Ms. ***** is disputing the timeframe to receive a refund of his security deposit for his electric service at **** ** ***** ****** *****.

History

A request to close Mr. *****’ account was processed effective ****** ** **** due to an enrollment received for his premise from another retail electric provider (REP). 

On ****** *** ****, a final invoice with a credit balance of $176.35 was sent for the final billing period of **** *** **** to ****** ** **** with a security deposit refund of $225.00, deposit interest of $0.17 and current charges of $48.82.  

On ****** *** ****, a refund check for $176.35 was sent to Mr. *****’ mailing address at **** **** ***** ****** *****.

On ******* ** ****, Mr. ***** contacted Pennywise Power to confirm on the status of his security deposit refund.  A Pennywise Power representative advised Mr. ***** that his refund check was mailed on ****** *** ****.  The Pennywise Power representative advised Mr. ***** of the mailing address currently listed for the account and Mr. ***** advised the mailing address was incorrect.  At that time, a request was processed to update the mailing address to **** ********** *****.  The Pennywise Power representative advised Mr. ***** that a request to investigate his missing refund check can be processed once his refund check has been missing for 45 days.  The Pennywise Power representative advised to contact Pennywise Power after 45 days if he had not received his refund check within that timeframe.

On ******* *** ****, Mr. ***** contacted Pennywise Power to confirm the status of his security deposit refund.  The Pennywise Power representative processed a request to investigate Mr. *****’ missing refund check and advised him to allow 21 days for the investigation to be completed.

Resolution

On ******** *** ****, a refund check of $176.35 was sent to Mr. ***** at **** ********** *****.

Multiple attempts to contact Mr. ***** were unsuccessful.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

11/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has made it impossible to reach them. The customer service phone number disconnects automatically every time I call, no matter what. I have tried to pay my bill online. I forgot my password and asked for a reset. The links they have emailed me are for URLs with error messages, the webpage will not load. I have attempted this several times as well. I have medically-necessary machines in my home that need electricity to run. This puts family members at a severe health risk. I have been unsuccessful at my many attempts to pay my bill and risk getting my power turned off.

Desired Settlement: I would like my service to be cancelled without penalty of any kind so that I may switch to a more reliable and responsible utility provider. I would like this matter resolved quickly so there is no interruption to my service and that my family's health is not at risk.

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s response to BBB Case# *******

Issue

Ms. ******** states that she is having trouble making payments using Pennywise Power's website and phone system for her service at **** ******** **** ******

History

On **** *** ****, Ms. ******** contacted Pennywise Power and agreed to enroll on Pennywise Power's Wise Buy 11.  This plan offers an initial energy charge of 6.3¢ per kWh, transmission and delivery service provider (TDSP) delivery charges are passed through without mark-up and a base charge of $9.95 per billing cycle for usage under 1000 kWh.  This plan is a term price plan for 11 months and has a cancellation fee of $150.00.  Ms. ******** was sent a terms of service agreement, a copy of "Your Rights as a Customer" document and an electricity facts label (EFL) on ****** ** ****.

On ****** *** ****, Ms. ******** called in to process a one-time payment to the account.  Ms. ******** advised that multiple attempts were made using the automated phone system in which she was disconnected.

On ******* *** ****, an email was received from Ms. ******** advising that she was having trouble processing a payment using the automated phone system and that the online account management system at ********************** was not accepting her login information.

On the same date, a reply by email was sent advising that the password for Ms. ********'s account was reset.

Resolution

A review of Ms. ********'s account determined that Ms. ******** agreed to the terms and conditions of Pennywise Power's Wise Buy 11 plan.

As a courtesy, Ms. ********'s account was allowed to switch away from Pennywise Power for 30 days without penalty.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

9/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were not notified that our plan expired and our rates markedly increased. I called and waited on hold for a supervisor for about an hour. I was told we could go back on the plan but they could not do anything about the past month bill. The process seems extremely dishonest. If we can go back on the same plan, why can we not have the past months bill readjusted accordingly?

Desired Settlement: I would like this past months electric bill to reflect the old rate

Business Response:

Issue

*** ****** is disputing the notification for the ending of the contract for his electric service account at **** ***** ******* *****.
History

On *** *** ****, a web enrollment was completed and *** ****** agreed to enroll his electric service at **** ***** ******* ***** with the next scheduled meter reading effective **** ** ****.  *** ****** agreed to enroll in Pennywise Power’s Wise Buy 12 Plan.  This plan offers an energy charge of 4.4¢ per kWh, Oncor (ONC) delivery charges of $6.24 per month and 2.63¢ per kWh, and a base charge of $9.95 each billing cycle in which the usage is below 1000 kWh.  The term of this plan is 12 months and has a $150.00 early cancellation fee.  *** ****** was mailed a terms of service agreement, a copy of "Your Rights as a Customer" document and an electricity facts label (EFL).

On ***** *** ****, Pennywise Power emailed a contract expiration notice to *** ****** advising his electric account would be transitioned to the Wise Buy Monthly after the expiration of his current contract under the Wise Buy 12 Plan in **** ****.  The letter also advised him to contact Pennywise Power to review available offers.

On ********* ** ****, *** ****** contacted Pennywise Power via phone to inquire about his billing statement.  The Pennywise Power representative reviewed the account and advised *** ****** that his contract expired with his **** ** **** meter reading.

Resolution

In reviewing the account, the contract expiration was emailed out in accordance with the terms of service for the plan on ***** *** ****.  Notification of the contract expiration was also disclosed on the billing statement issued **** ** ****.  At this time, adjustments are not warranted. On ********* *** ****, a voicemail was left with my name and direct contact number of ************.  I am available Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. to review the account.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

9/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********* *** **** at approx, 7:00 am, Pennywise Power disconnected our electricity. We received no disconnection notice from them as required under the P.U.C. CUSTOMER PROTECTION RULES FOR RETAIL ELECTRIC SERVICE. No email, no US mail, no phone call.Please do not believe Pennywise when they claim that the required notices were sent, as I can assure you they were not. They even told me to check my spam folder, but there was nothing from them. All their other emails came in fine. Why suddenly an issue with something as important as a disconnection notice?They did this on a day the temp. was supposed to be near 100 degrees. We are on the ******** Texas program and were not offered any type of payment plan.Furthermore, our rate was changed from 6.1 to 12.5 cents per Kw hour in our second month of service, with no advance warning! When we signed up we were told the rate could change, but was based on natural gas prices. When I called to complain about the doubling of our rate in one month, I was told the first month's rate was a "promotional" rate. We were never told this. Pennywise still offers a 6.3 rate for new customers on Powertochoose.org, with no mention of the rate being "promotional".It is shameful how Pennywise power is treating its customers.You would truly be penny wise and pound foolish to use this company for electricity.

Desired Settlement: Refund of difference in rate between month one and month two.

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s Response to BBB Case #*******

Issue

*** *********** states that her electric service was disconnected without notice and is disputing the invoiced price per kWh for her electric service account at **** ****** **** ****.

History

On **** ** ****, an online request was received from Rebecca Sander to switch the electric service at **** ****** **** **** to Pennywise Power.  *** ****** agreed to enroll in the Wise Buy Monthly plan. This plan offers an energy charge of 3.0¢ per kWh, Transmission and Distribution Service Provider (TDSP) delivery charges and a usage charge of $9.95.  The usage charge will not be included for each billing cycle in which the usage is 1,000 kWh or more.  During the online switch request, *** ******’s provided automatic payment information.  On **** ** ****, a confirmation email was sent to *** ****** at ***********************.  The confirmation email included a link to the terms of service agreement, a copy of "Your Rights as a Customer" document and an electricity facts label (EFL). *** ******’s switch to Pennywise Power completed on **** ** ****.

On **** ** ****, an invoice for $173.12 was emailed to *** ****** at ***********************.  This invoice reflects the billing period of **** ** **** through **** ** **** the current charges of $173.12 include an energy charge of 3.0¢ per kWh.  This invoice states, “Do not pay- your card will be charged on **********.”

On **** *** ****, a payment of $173.12 posted to *** ******’s account.

On ****** ** ****, an invoice for $346.61 was emailed to *** ****** at ***********************.  This invoice reflects the billing period of **** ** **** through ****** ** **** the current charges of $346.61 include an energy charge of 9.4¢ per kWh.  This invoice states, “We would like to make you aware that the energy charge you pay has changed this month, which is in accordance with your Terms of Service, and can be found in the Charge Details on this invoice.”  Additionally, this invoice states, “Do not pay- your card will be charged on **********.”

On ****** *** ****, a payment of $346.61 posted to *** ******’s account.

On ****** *** ****, the payment of $346.61 was returned by *** ******’s financial institution.  On ****** *** ****, correspondence was mailed to *** ******s at **** ****** **** **** ******* ***** ***** advising of the returned payment.

On ****** *** ****, a disconnection notice for $346.61 was mailed to **** ****** **** **** ******* ***** ***** due by ********* ** ****.

Payment was not received by the disconnection notice due date; therefore, a disconnect request was sent to ***** Electric Delivery (*****) on ********* ** ****.  ***** confirmed that *** ******’s electric service was disconnected on ********* *** ****.

On ********* *** ****, *** *********** contacted Pennywise Power to dispute the disconnection of their electric service.  *** *********** was advised that a payment of $346.61 was required to restore the electric service.  *** *********** processed a payment of $346.61 and a reconnect request was sent to ***** at that time.  ***** confirmed that *** ******’s electric service was restored on ********* *** ****.

On ********* *** ****, an invoice for $45.72 was emailed to *** ****** at ***********************.  This invoice reflects the billing period of ****** ** **** through ****** *** **** with a credit balance forward of $346.61, a returned payment of $346.61 and current charges of $45.72 include an energy charge of 9.4¢ per kWh.

Resolution

The Wise Buy Monthly plan is a variable price plan and the energy charge of 3.0¢ per kWh is applied during the first billing cycle; this price may change in subsequent months at the sole discretion of Pennywise Power.

*** ******’s account has been invoiced based upon the terms and conditions disclosed on the EFL and terms of service.  Additionally, Pennywise Power’s records do not reflect that returned mail was received for *** ******’s account.

Multiple attempts were made to contact *** ****** regarding her account; however, the attempts were unsuccessful and messages were left.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments:  Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I signed up I was told I had to send them some paperwork saying I was a new resident at the address. I faxed it to them. I called to verify they got the fax and I was told they had to wait 24-48 hours to verify that. Not really sure why. I called again the next day, I was told my power would be turned on by 2pm that same day. When I returned home at 9pm from work that day I still had no power. They have no customer services open that late or on the weekends. So I was stuck with no power all weekend. Monday I called them again. They said they never got the paper work I sent. I refaxed it. Again I called to verify they got it. I was told the same thing. They could not verify it they had ti wait for it to be procesed. I spoke with two different floor managers and got the same run around. Needless to say. I had to refax that paperwork 5 different times. I asked for callbacks 2 different times from the manager above the floor manager and never recieved it. I lost groceries and went 7 day with no power in this texas heat. I payed them $225.00 up front just to grt the runaround on my hookup. I was very unhappy with the way they handled themselves, and the complete disregard for what their customer was dealing with. I want to be compensated for the goceries I lost about $100 and for having such bad service and having to wait so long for a hook up because they keep losing my papdrwork. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: $100 for my lost groceriesI also want my deposit back since I wasn't hooked up when I was told I would be. That can be credited to the account or refunded

Business Response:

Mr. ******** is disputing his requested service start date for the electric service at ***** *********** ***** *****.  Mr. ******** is also requesting reimbursement due to no power.

History

On **** *** ****, Mr. ******** completed an online enrollment for electric service for service at ***** *********** ***** ***** effective **** *** ****.  Mr. ********’s request was processed.  The online enrollment advised that there was a switch hold in place for the service address and supplied requested documentation to be filled out to verify that Mr. ******** was a new customer for the service address.   

 

On **** *** ****, Mr. ******** contacted Pennywise Power to advise that the required information to have the switch hold released was faxed in.  A Pennywise Power representative advised to allow 24-48 hours for processing of the fax.  The agent confirmed that the connection date was listed for **** *** ****.  The connection date was changed to **** *** **** at Mr. ********’s request to have service begin as soon as possible.

On **** *** ****, Mr. ******** contacted Pennywise Power to verify the status of the connection.  A Pennywise Power representative advised that service would be active for **** *** ****. 

 

On **** *** ****, Mr. ******** contacted Pennywise Power to report that he did not have electric service at his home.  The representative reviewed the account and advised that the switch hold was still in place for the account and to allow until the end of the second business day for the review of the documentation to release the switch hold on the account.

 

On **** *** ****, Mr. ******** was able to confirm that the switch hold information was received and processed.

On **** *** ****, service was activated for Mr. ********’s account.

Resolution

I advised Mr. ******** that a claim for lost food of $100.00 has been forwarded for review by our Claims Department and he would be notified of the research by phone.  The deposit would not be refunded as this serves to establish payment history to the account.  The deposit can be refunded back to the account after 12 months of good payment history. 

Mr. ******** has my direct contact number for any additional concerns and questions about his claim.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.

7/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Good day. I recently relocated from ** to ***** and was apartment hunting. I called ********* ***** to inquire about their electrical services and estimated prices. With their business, before even quoting you, you have to give them a "projected" address to see if their business even services that area. I gave them the complex's address/apt that I looked at to see if I did decide to go with this apartment they would be able to possibly provide my electrical services if I found their rates were reasonable. Long story short, I found an apartment ** mins closer to my place of work and decided not to go with that apartment. Little did I know, this company had made an account number for me from my inquiry/call and set up electricity for the apartment I hadn't even signed a lease for. They sent me an email charging me for a months worth of electricity for a residence I never moved in to, and never signed a lease for. I was baffled by this. How could they do something so **********?!?? They should be stopped. They sent me two emails asking for the account balance. How they can charge me for electricity to a place I do not even reside is my biggest concern. If they can do this to me, they can do this to anyone. I do not owe them any money and I do not want this on my credit. Please, please, help!!

Desired Settlement: Revoke the monies that they say I owe them for a service they never rendered and completely discontinue whatever electrical services are being used under my name at this place that I can prove I never resided at and never had a lease for. I do not want this on my credit, and I do not think it is right to charge someone for services they never authorized.

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s Response to BBB Case # ******* 

Issue 

*** ****** is disputing the invoiced charges for the electric service account at **** **** ***** ***** *****. 

 

History 

On ***** *** ****, *** ****** contacted Pennywise Power and agreed to enroll the electric service at **** **** ***** ***** ***** effective *** ** ****.  During the enrollment, *** ****** was advised that a $****** security deposit would be required in order to complete the enrollment and that if she needed to make any changes or cancel her enrollment request, she would need to provide at least * business days’ notice.  At that time, *** ****** provided her authorization to submit an enrollment and processed a payment of $******.  *** ****** requested that a letter be sent to her apartment complex confirming that she requested electric service at the premise and her request was processed.  The Pennywise Power representative advised *** ****** that it can take up to ** hours for the Confirmation of Application letter to be faxed to her apartment complex. 

 

Later on ***** *** ****, *** ****** contacted Pennywise Power to confirm the status of her Confirmation of Application letter and was advised that it can take up to ** hours for the letter to be faxed to her apartment complex. 

 

On *** ** ****, *** ****** contacted Pennywise Power and requested to cancel her pending enrollment, advising that she was no longer moving to **** **** ***** ***** *****.  A Pennywise Power representative began to review the enrollment cancel disclosures and advised *** ****** that there may not be enough time to cancel her pending enrollment; as a result, she may be responsible for any charges assessed until Pennywise Power is able to complete her request.  At that time, *** ****** disputed being responsible for any charges related to **** **** ***** ***** ***** as she was not going to be living at the premise, then disconnected the call.   

 

On *** ** ****, an invoice for $**** was sent for the billing period of *** ** **** through *** ** **** with a credit balance forward of $******, a cash deposit request of $****** and current charges of $****. 

 

On *** *** ****, *** ****** and her financial institution contacted Pennywise Power to dispute the deposit payment of $******, stating that *** ****** did not authorize a payment to Pennywise Power.  The Pennywise Power representative processed a request to investigate her account. 

 

On *** *** ****, the investigation of *** ******** account determined that *** ****** provided authorization to enroll the electric service at **** **** ***** ***** *****.  In addition, *** ****** provided her credit card number in order to satisfy the requested security deposit.  A Pennywise Power representative attempted to contact *** ****** to provide the results of the investigation and advise her that she needed to cancel the electric service account; however, the attempt was unsuccessful and a message was left. 

 

On **** ** ****, an invoice for $***** was sent for the billing period of *** ** **** through **** ** **** with a balance forward of $**** and current charges of $*****. 

 

On **** *** ****, a disconnection notice for $***** was sent to *** ****** due by **** ** ****. 

 

On **** ** ****,  an invoice for $****** was sent for the billing period of **** ** **** through **** ** **** with a balance forward of $*****, a late payment penalty of $**** and current charges of $*****. 

 

On **** ** ****, Pennywise Power received notification that a new enrollment request had been processed for **** **** ***** ***** *****, resulting in the closure of *** ******** account effective **** *** ****. 

 

Resolution 

A review of *** ******** ***** *** **** enrollment call confirmed that *** ****** provided authorization to complete an enrollment in her name at **** **** ***** ***** *****.  Additionally, at the time of the enrollment, *** ****** provided her credit card number in order to satisfy the $****** security deposit request. 

 

On **** *** ****, a late payment penalty of $**** was credited to *** ******** account as a courtesy. 

 

On **** *** ****, a final invoice with a credit balance of $***** was sent for the final billing period of **** ** **** through **** *** **** with a balance forward of $******, a deposit refund of $******, a deposit interest credit of $**** and current charges of $*****. 

 

As a courtesy, a credit for the invoiced charges from *** ** **** through **** *** **** of $****** will be applied to *** ******** account.  A statement of account detailing*** ******** account charges and credits will be sent on **** *** ****. 

 

******* ********
******** *******
************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed up for new service with Pennywise Power on ****** for a new home we purchased at ***** *********** ******** ***, Tomball, TX *****. After signing up it prompted us to select a date for the electricity to be put in our name. The soonest date they had was ******. We immediately contacted Pennywise Power to request a sooner date for the changeover. The electricity was already turned on in the builders name, **** ******. When we closed escrow on ********, we were given 3 business days to put the electricity into our name or it would be turned off. The electricity was being turned off on ****** so we had to put it into our name by that date. When we contacted Pennywise by phone, we spoke with a Supervisor who I believe was named *******. We spoke with him on ****** (the day we placed the order) and again on ****** (the day we cancelled the order). We asked him to move the switch date up to ****** or sooner. He told us that the soonest date he had available was ******. We explained that this date would not work as we would be without power for over 3 days!!! We had already moved into the house and had food in the refrigerator, it was 35 degrees outside, etc. We told him that we would have to go with another company since he could not move our date up. He threatened us by saying that we could not switch to another company because Pennywise had already placed the service order with *********** ****** and once they do that you can not change to another company. We called *********** on ****** and spoke with a woman there who stated that this was completely false. The order had not been completed yet and she told us we could choose any service company we wanted. On ****** we set up a new account with ****** ******. They switched service into our name that day! We were shocked when we received a bill today from Pennywise for $20.64 showing they would be charging our card on *******. Apparently, they switched service on ****** from ****** ****** to Pennywise without permission.

Desired Settlement: We called Pennywise Power on ******* and spoke with *********. We explained the situation and told him this account should have been cancelled on ******. He told us if we tried to cancel now they would charge us a $150 cancellation fee. We want this account cancelled now and we will not pay a cancellation fee as we cancelled on ****** and Pennywise had no right to switch our account back to them on ******. This company appears to be extremely shady in their business practices and operation.

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s Response to BBB Case # *******

Issue

Ms. ****** on behalf of Mr. ******* is disputing the enrollment of the electric service at ***** *********** ******** *** to Pennywise Power. HistoryOn ******* ** ****, an online request to enroll the electric service at ***** *********** ******** *** was received from Mr. ******* effective ******* ** ****.  An online enrollment confirmation email was sent to Mr. ******* confirming his enrollment request.  On ******* ** ****, Ms. ****** contacted Pennywise Power requesting to change the service start date.  There was not enough notice provided Pennywise Power to change the service start date; however, Ms. ****** was advised that if she agreed to cancel the pending enrollment, a new enrollment could be submitted for her requested date.   Ms. ****** requested to speak with a supervisor and her call was transferred.  Ms. ****** declined to cancel the pending enrollment at that time stating that she would contact the transmission and distribution service provider (TDSP) to expedite her request.Later on ******* ** ****, Ms. ****** contacted Pennywise Power advising that she wanted to cancel the pending enrollment scheduled for ******* ** **** and that she would be switching the electric service account to another retail electric provider (REP).  A Pennywise Power representative advised Ms. ****** that an enrollment from another REP would close the account; therefore, it was not necessary to cancel the enrollment. Mr. *******’s enrollment completed on ******* ** ****.On ******* *** ***** an invoice for $20.64 was sent to Mr. ******* for the billing period of ******* ** **** to ******* *** ****.On ******* *** ****, Ms. ****** contacted Pennywise Power to dispute the enrollment.  A Pennywise Power representative advised Ms. ****** that the account became active on ******* ** **** and that there was a valid agreement in place.  The Pennywise Power representative also advised Ms. ****** that Pennywise Power did not receive notification advising that the account would be switched to another REP. ResolutionOn ******** ** ****, a review of Mr. *******’s account confirmed that a valid agreement was received on ******* ** **** to enroll the electric service at ***** *********** ******** ***.  Ms. ****** was advised that if the electric service was switched to another REP, then the account would close.  Pennywise Power has not received notification of a pending switch to another REP.

As a courtesy, Reliant's early cancellation fee will be waived if Mr. ******* switches his electric service to another REP by ***** *** ****.

 

 

**** *********

Customer Support

713-********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am truly surprised that this company, Pennywise Power, and its employees continue to LIE.   I called Pennywise Power on ******* to discuss this matter and spoke with *********.  He advised me that he had reviewed all of my calls where I spoke with ****, ******* and ****** at Pennywise and that we never requested a change to another company. Upon receiving my BBB complaint, I received another call from **** ********* on ******.  At that time, he identified himself as the person from Pennywise Power handling the BBB complaint.  He continued to tell me that I never switched away from Pennywise Power, that he reviewed all calls I had made and I was in a contract with them.  He also contacted me on ****** and we spoke on ****** and on this last call I asked **** not to contact me again as there was no point in arguing. The response from **** ********* to my BBB complaint is below.  I have added my responses in green.

 

Issue

Ms. ****** on behalf of Mr. ******* is disputing the enrollment of the electric service at ***** *********** ******** *** to Pennywise Power. 

This is correct.

HistoryOn ******* ** ****, an online request to enroll the electric service at ***** *********** ******** *** was received from Mr. ******* effective ******* *, ****. An online enrollment confirmation email was sent to Mr. ******* confirming his enrollment request. 

This is correct.

On ******* ** ****, Ms. ****** contacted Pennywise Power requesting to change the service start date.  There was not enough notice provided Pennywise Power to change the service start date; however, Ms. ****** was advised that if she agreed to cancel the pending enrollment, a new enrollment could be submitted for her requested date. This is not true. I contacted Pennywise Power 10 minutes after we placed the online order for enrollment. At that time, I was told that there was no sooner date available for install than ******* ** ****.  I explained that this date would not work for us as we had to change the service into our  name by ******* ** **** as the builder, **** ******, would be turning off the electricity on ******* ** ****. They explained there was nothing they could do as that was the soonest date available for service transfer.   Ms. ****** requested to speak with a supervisor and her call was transferred. I did ask to be transferred to a Supervisor and I explained the situation to him as well. His name was *******. He confirmed that there was no sooner date available for the service transfer than ******* ** ****.  I informed him that unfortunately I would have to choose another service company for electricity since they could not move the date up.  ******* then proceeded to threaten me and told me that we could not change providers as Pennywise had already placed the transfer order with *********** and once the order is placed no other company can submit a request for transfer.  Ms. ****** declined to cancel the pending enrollment at that time stating that she would contact the transmission and distribution service provider (TDSP) to expedite her request. I told ******* that I didn't believe him and I would be calling *********** myself and speaking with them directly regarding this. I told him not to cancel the pending enrollment just yet and I would call him back shortly. I then immediately called *********** and they confirmed this was a total lie.  They told me that there was a service request from Pennywise to transfer service on ******* ** **** but that I could choose any provider I wanted and that Pennywise could cancel the pending request at any time.Later on January 3, 2013, Ms. ****** contacted Pennywise Power advising that she wanted to cancel the pending enrollment scheduled for ******* ** **** and that she would be switching the electric service account to another retail electric provider (REP).  A Pennywise Power representative advised Ms. ****** that an enrollment from another REP would close the account; therefore, it was not necessary to cancel the enrollment. I contacted Pennywise Power on ******* ** **** AFTER I enrolled for an account with ****** ****** (see attachment showing my enrollment date and time with ****** ******).  I instructed them that I would like them to close our account immediately as we already opened an account with ****** ******.  The account with ****** ****** was opened on ******* ** **** ** ***** ** and it was switched into our name 5 minutes later. Mr. *******’s enrollment completed on ******* ** ****.  Our account with ****** ****** began on ******* ** ****.  On ******* ** ****, Pennywise Power slammed our account with ****** ******.  They stole the account from ****** ****** and had no right to do so. I had no idea they had even done this until we received their invoice on ******* *** ****. On ******* *** ****, an invoice for $20.64 was sent to Mr. ******* for the billing period of ******* ** **** to ******* *** ****. This is correct.On ******* *** ****, Ms. ****** contacted Pennywise Power to dispute the enrollment.  A Pennywise Power representative advised Ms. ****** that the account became active on ******* ** **** and that there was a valid agreement in place.  The Pennywise Power representative also advised Ms. ****** that Pennywise Power did not receive notification advising that the account would be switched to another REP.  THIS IS A COMPLETE LIE.  I contacted Pennywise Power on ******* ** **** and spoke with *******.  I instructed him to cancel the account immediately that day as I had already switched it to ****** ******. He told me he would cancel the account that day.  I'm sure these calls were recorded so this information should be very easy for the CEO of Pennywise Power to obtain so he/she can see how his/her employees are lying to customers.Resolution

On ******** ** ***** a review of Mr.********* account confirmed that a valid agreement was received on ******* ** **** to enroll the electric service at ***** *********** ******** ***.  Ms. ****** was advised that if the electric service was switched to another REP, then the account would close.  Pennywise Power has not received notification of a pending switch to another REP. I have attached proof of the start date of service with ****** ****** which was on ******* ** ****.  When Pennywise Power slammed our account with ****** ****** on ******* ** **** it closed out our account with ****** ******.  When I contacted ****** ****** on ******* to discuss the situation, I was told that we would need to reapply for a new account with ****** ******.  We opened an account with them again today, ******** ** **** and I've attached proof of this as well.

 

As a courtesy, *******'s early cancellation fee will be waived if Mr. ******* switches his electric service to another REP by ***** *** ****. *******?  The company **** works for is Pennywise Power, correct? Let's be clear that **** ********* and Pennywise Power are not doing us any favors in waiving the early cancellation fee.  They had no right to SLAM our account with ****** ****** on ******* ** ****.  They also have no right to charge us $20.64 for the 18 day billing period of ****** - ******* as this amount should be paid to ****** ****** as our provider and NOT Pennywise Power.  Furthermore, they are not entitled to an early cancellation fee as this account was cancelled with Pennywise Power within 24 hours of the time the order was originally placed with them.  

 

 

**** *********

Customer Support

713-********

It's unfortunate that Pennywise Power treats its customers in such a disgusting manner.  We were originally referred to Pennywise Power by friends of ours.  It's important to note that we CHOSE Pennywise Power as our original service provider.  The only reason we initially switched away was because of their service transfer date being too far out.  But due to their horrible customer service and constant lying we will never do business with them again.  

 

Regards,

***** ******


 

 

Business Response: In reviewing the Pennywise Power records, there was not a request from a different REP to switch service for the date of ******* ** ****.  Due to transactional requirements within the market, the service start date on Mr. *******’s account was allowed to begin for the requested date of ******* ** ****.  Please contact the current REP to verify that the enrollment for ******* ** **** completed. 

As of ******** ** ****, our records indicate that the switch to another REP has completed.  The cancellation fee from the contract with Pennywise Power has been waived.

 

 

**** *********

Customer Support

713-********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

I was prepared to close out this complaint until I received additional bills from Pennywise Power!  This is unbelievable considering that in the last response from **** ********* on ******** ** **** he indicates that he has waived the early cancellation fee.  I'm attaching the following documentation showing again my original enrollment date with ****** ******, my re-enrollment date with ****** ******, three bills that I have received from Pennywise Power (the 2nd bill clearly shows a $150 early cancellation fee) and a status page from Pennywise Power which shows that our service was started and stopped on ******* ** *****  This page comes from their website after we login.  I've now attached proof that clearly shows that the responses from **** ********* on behalf of Pennywise Power are blatant lies.  There is no point in continuing this argument back and forth.  The following is attached:

 

Proof of original enrollment with ****** ****** on ******* ** ****

 

Proof of re-enrollment with ****** ****** on ******** ** **** *** bill received from Pennywise Power for $20.642nd bill received from Pennywise Power for $184.533rd bill posted online from Pennywise Power for $34.53Online status page showing that on ****** Pennywise Power started and then stopped service. 

 

 

Regards,

 ***** ******


 

 

Business Response:

Pennywise Power's response to BBB Case # ******* Rebuttal

 

In reviewing the account, Pennywise Power was not able to complete the cancellation of the enrollment for service as of ******* ** ***** 

 

As a courtesy to the account, a credit of $34.53 would be applied to the account. 

 

A corrected invoice reflecting a $0.00 balance is currently in the process of being issued.

 For any additional questions or concerns, I can be reached at 713-******** Monday through Friday, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.   **** ********* Customer Support************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company started to charge me on a month to month bases while I was under a one year contract. I called them to inform them of this issue. They said that they would summit an investigation order and that it might take to 2 months to resolve. For three months I payed them over a hundred dollars more a month than what I was supposed to. Later I received a credit for about 2xx and change dollars. I called them again and told them that it should be a bit more than that according to my calculations. They submitted another investigation order. The next credit was for only 114 dollar which was less than the first credit. They said that they had made a mistake the first time, but they couldn't really tell me where that mistakes was. I looked at the adjustments they made. It seemed like they remove some money here just to replace it somewhere else. It was a big mess they created. They were trying to make adjustments from the first adjustments. They kept giving me the run around, giving me explanations that didn't make sense. What they kept adjusting was the delivery charges which shouldn't change according to Oncor. I called them to clarify this. Oncor said the charges would only go up if my usage went up. If my usage was the same from last year and this year, the delivery charge should be almost identical. The delivery charge per walt stays the same. They never resolved this issue. It was useless talking to them. I had to explain my self over and over to a different person every time. I wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy. I don't know how they stay in business when it takes 2 months or more to resolve any issue and the end it doesn't get resolved.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that I over payed during those months. Which it should be close to $300.00 and compensation for all those hours and hours I spent on the phone with them.

Business Response: Pennywise Power’s response to BBB Case # ******* IssueMs. **** is disputing the ****** *** **** corrected invoice received reflecting a credit balance of $114.99 for the billing periods of ******** ** **** through ****** *** **** for her electric service account at **** ******** *****. HistoryOn ******* *** ****, Ms. **** contacted Pennywise Power and agreed to switch her electric service at **** ******** ***** to Pennywise Power effective the next scheduled meter read date.  Ms. **** enrolled her account in Pennywise Power’s Wise Buy 12 Plan.  This plan offers an energy charge of 4.6¢ per kWh, a $9.95 base charge per billing cycle when kWh usage is less than 1000 kWh, and Transmission Distribution Service Provider (TDSP) Delivery Charges of $5.87 per month and 2.6757¢ per kWh which are passed through without mark-up.  The term of this plan is 12 months and it has $150.00 early cancellation fee.   Ms. ****’s account was transitioned to the Wise Buy Monthly Flex Plan effective ******** ** ****.  The Wise Buy Monthly Plan is a variable price plan. On **** ** ****, a review of Pennywise Power’s records determined that due to a system issue, a contract expiration notice (CEN) for the Wise Buy 12 Plan was not sent to Ms. **** in December 2011 prior to the ******** ** **** transition to the Wise Buy Monthly Plan.  At that time, the billing periods of ******** ** **** through ****** *** **** originally billed under the Wise Buy Monthly Plan were reinvoiced under the Wise Buy 12 Plan pricing. In addition, on July 9, 2012, CEN was sent to Ms. **** advising her that the Pennywise Power Wise Buy 12 Plan would expire with her first meter read date after August 2, 2012 and that her account would transition to the Wise Buy Monthly Plan unless she enrolls in an alternate price plan.  This notification also included the electricity facts label for the Wise Buy Monthly Plan.  On ****** *** ****, Mr. ****** on behalf of Ms. **** contacted Pennywise Power regarding the invoices received reflecting the Wise Buy Monthly Plan. Mr. ****** stated that Ms. **** had received the **** ** **** CEN that the Wise Buy 12 plan would expire on or after ****** ** ****.   At that time, the Pennywise Power representative processed a request to investigate Ms. ****’s account.  On ****** *** ****, Pennywise Power received notification that the electric service at **** ******** ***** was being switched to another retail electric provider (REP) effective ****** *** ****. On ****** *** ****, a final invoice for $115.83 was sent to Ms. ****.  This invoice reflects the final billing period of ****** ** **** through ****** *** **** with a balance forward of $0.00 and current charges of $115.83.  This invoice reflects the Wise Buy Monthly Plan pricing. On ****** *** ****, a corrected final invoice reflecting a credit balance of $212.55 was sent to Ms. ****.  This invoice reflects the billing periods of ******** *** **** through ****** *** **** with a credit balance forward of $761.83 and current charges of $549.98.  This invoice reflects the Wise Buy Monthly Plan pricing. On ****** *** ****, a corrected final invoice reflecting a credit balance of $114.99 was sent to Ms. ****.  This invoice reflects the billing periods of ******** *** **** through ****** *** **** with a credit balance forward of $761.83 and current charges of $646.84.  This invoice reflects the Wise Buy 12 Plan. On ****** *** ***** a refund was processed for the credit balance of $114.99. ResolutionAttempts have been made to contact Ms. **** to provide her an explanation of the final account credit balance; however, the attempts were unsuccessful and messages were left.   

******* ******** ******** ******* ************

Consumer Response: ******* ********** response just states the obvious and what everyone else explained on the phone. Her response is not detailed and only states what the second investigation concluded. She doesn't explain why the energy delivery charges for the final corrected invoice are not consistent from month to month. I did my own simple math that apparently  they are not able to perform. I simply multiplied the usage with the correct money amount per kWh which is 0.046. This amount was charged all through my 2011 energy usage under My Wise 12 Plan. I could no longer log on to my account since I submitted this complaint therefore the corrections I made start in march of 2012. The following corrections were all made to original bills and NOT THE SECOND corrected invoice. For all these bills the energy delivery charges were consistent and depended on the usage which was about 0.034/kWh.  In March I received a bill for $64.45. The kWh was charged at $0.047 for 627 kWh which amounts to $29.47. Under the Wise Buy 12 Plan the kWh was charged at $0.046 which amounts to 28.84. A difference of  $0.63. In April I received a bill for $64.37. The kWh was charged at $0.047 for 626 kWh which amounts to $29.42. Under the Wise Buy 12 Plan the  kWh was charged at $0.046 which amounts to $28.80. A difference of $0.62.  In May I received a bill for $82.93. The kWh was charged at $0.053 for 804 kWh which amounts to $42.61. Under the Wise Buy 12 Plan the  kWh was charged at $0.046 which amounts to $36.98. A difference of $5.63.  In June I received a bill for $96.36. The kWh was charged at $0.055 for 1,066 kWh which amounts to $58.63. Under the Wise Buy 12 Plan the  kWh was charged at $0.046 which amounts to $49.04. A difference of $9.59.  In July I received a bill for $229.05. The kWh was charged at $0.125 for 1,418 kWh which amounts to $177.25. Under the Wise Buy 12 Plan the  kWh was charged at $0.046 which amounts to $65.23. A difference of $112.02.  In August I received a bill for $224.67. The kWh was charged at $0.105 for 1,602 kWh which amounts to $168.21. Under the Wise Buy 12 Plan the  kWh was charged at $0.046 which amounts to $73.69. A difference of $94.52.  The differences between these months, not counting January and February, add up to $223.01. The amount refunded was $114.99. There's a $108.02 difference still owed. For the last billing month of ****** *** **** through ****** *** **** I remained in the month to month plan while the investigation was going on for the overcharges. I was charged $0.107/kWh for 738 kWh which amounts to 78.97. Out of courtesy for all my to time wasted, they should honer the $0.046/kWh.  A difference of $45.02, for a grant total of 153.04.   ****** ************ ****

(**** ******** 

Business Response:

On ******** *** ****, a review of Ms. ****** account determined that the monthly TDSP pass-through charges were double billed in error.  The account has been corrected and a corrected final invoice (billing date ******** *** ****) with a credit balance of $57.71 was sent to Ms. ****.

 

******* ******** ******** ******* ************

 

 

Consumer Response:

The reponse given does not go over the corrections I made to the overchareges made during the months in question. They only refunded $57.71 of the $108.20 still owed to me.  The response also states that the monthly TDSP was double billed in ERROR. What is TDSP? They also made an ERROR in the kWh I was being charged, which they have not reponded to. It's rediculous that I as a comsumer have to spend this much time to get a straight forward refund from a "professional" business. 

Business Response:

Pennywise Power’s response to BBB Case # *******

On January 9, 2013, a ******* representative contacted Mr. ****** (spouse) to discuss what he felt was a discrepancy in a refund amount provided to his account regarding a price plan change.  Mr. ****** agreed to an additional credit of $75.00 for resolution of the issue.   On January 10, 2013, a refund check in the amount of $75.00 was sent to Ms. **** at **** ******** ***** *********, Texas 76017. Mr. ****** has my contact number for any additional concerns. 

******* ********

Customer Support
713-488-5905

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/31/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/11/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service